0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Epiphone DR-100 - Ebony Reviews

4.5 stars based on 30 customer reviews
Questions about the Epiphone DR-100 - Ebony?

Questions about the Epiphone DR-100 - Ebony?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from October 20, 2016

    Great Guitar

    I bought this while I was in the process of moving as a guitar I could have just follow me until I had a permanent place and could get my other guitars out of storage. I immediately feel in love with it. This guitar has a richer sound than my other acoustics and holds its tune very well. No fret buzz, no intonation problems, and its price makes it even better.

    I would highly recommend this to anyone starting out or as a guitar you can bring from place to place if you're worried about damaging a more expensive guitar. I would also recommend it to anyone who has been playing for years because it's an overall solid guitar.

  • from North Las Vegas, NV October 17, 2016

    Great first guitar

    This is the first guitar I've purchased and I couldn't be more happy. It has a great sound and the price was too good to pass up. I would definitely recommend this to someone who wants a guitar but doesn't want a hole in their pocket.

  • from Bruce Crossing Mi March 19, 2016

    Dr-100 Epiphone Acoustic

    I needed a guitar to take camping or to just tag along with me wherever I ended up in the great outdoors and could leave the high end stuff at home...Oh my, to my surprise, this guitar blew me away...Sound projection, playability and over all quality I just couldn't believe...So...I bought two more to keep just in case one got damaged...Buy one...or three of these jems, you won't be disappointed...And as far as Sweetwater goes..I've been dealing with them for several years...the greatest place there is to get all your musical needs...doesn't get any better...

  • from Wausau, WI January 27, 2016Music Background:
    7155730308

    Excellent customer service!

    I'm just a beginner and I don't know a lot about guitars. I can say that my guitar and accessories arrived promptly and in perfect condition. I'm impressed with the quality of this guitar, but even more impressed with their excellent customer service. They followed up after I placed my order and also after delivery, just to make sure that I received exactly what I was expecting. I would definitely refer others to Sweetwater.

  • from Long Island/NYC Area August 19, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    perfect

    Needed a low cost guitar to play (not my primary instrument) and this guitar worked put perfectly. For a beginner or anyone that wants an inexpensive acoustic guitar that sounds and feels great for the money, you can't go wrong with this.

  • from Payete, Idaho May 7, 2015

    Epiphone DR-100 - Ebony

    I was impressed with the quality and performance of this guitar. I bought it for second guitar for our home studio. I highly recommend buying this guitar, you will not be disappointed.

  • from Denver,Co May 7, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist Guitarist. I love to play guitars.

    I can't I believe I waited so long to get an Epiphone acoustic guitar

    I love this acoustic guitar. The set up on this guitar is great, no problem with neck or body. I can't wait to try it with Dean Markley ProMag Plue acoustic pickup,

  • from Cordova (Memphis), TN March 16, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist, guitar and mandolin player

    Good value!!

    Excellent guitar. I've owned many through the years including a couple of Gibsons and I can say this one ranks high on the list considering what I paid. The build is very good and the finish is excellent. Ready to play right out of the box. Tone is great, volume is excellent. I have small hands and the neck design and size is very good for me. I don't think you can go wrong with this guitar. Sweetwater does a great job. It was shipped the same day I ordered it and it was here in two days. Very well packed.

  • from Birmingham, AL. January 30, 2015Music Background:
    Church musician for many years

    Excellent value for a guitar, far better than the price

    I have been playing guitar for near 50 years and I have owned many quality guitars that such as fender, gibson, and kramer a USA model. After lowering the action on the DR100 to suit my style of playing, which is finger style. The playibility, action, and sound are very good, and this coming from a very hard to please guitarist. Even after lowering the action it has very minimal fret rattle and I mean minimal. Very good guitar that no doubt some professionals would be impressed with. More than happy I purchased it.

  • from Ozark, AR August 29, 2014

    Bought for my son but now I want one

    I thought this would be a cheap, disposable guitar for my young son. Boy was I wrong! Not only is it a well made guitar but it plays and feels like one of the big boys. I play it more than I play my expensive acoustic (much to the chagrin of my son).

  • from Tempe, AZ March 31, 2014

    Great buy!

    First, I would like to thank Sweetwater for excellent service.
    The guitar came in secure packaging. I wasn't expecting too much from a low cost guitar, but I was taken aback when I played on this instrument! It has great tone, a bit more on the low end so this rhythm guitarists will enjoy playing on this! The build quality is great and it is made of solid wood, no sheets like on other models at this price point. I play the bass and casually play on acoustic but I seem to be attracted to play on this beauty more often. The action is just right for me and it didn't need any sort of truss rod adjustment! If you are stuck at this price point, look no further than Epiphone DR 100!

  • from Gary,Indiana United States February 27, 2014Music Background:
    song writer

    Epiphone DR-100 - Ebony

    I am just amazed at that play ability of this guitar I plan on doing some recording with this guitar. It came well packed great service I will do more biz with sweetwater in the future

  • from United States January 10, 2014

    Great guitar

    Bought it as a x-mas present for my girlfriend and she loved it.

  • from PuebloWest, Co April 12, 2013Music Background:
    none

    Epiphone DR-100

    Amazing product, informational instructions are easy to follow. Great beginner guitar. Bought it for my 15 yearold son and he loves it. The Epiphone DR-100 looks and sounds beautiful. This was the best online customer service I've ever had. Very customer oriented. I will definitely purchase from Sweetwater in the future! You all are fantastic! Keep up the great work!!!

  • from United States April 3, 2013Music Background:
    Student touring musician

    Amazing

    This is truly a wonderful and affordable starter guitar. Also good for campfire playing because its loud and if it gets damaged its not a very expensive guitar. If you play gigs I would not recommend it as I said a starter guitar. Would recommend it for beginners as a touring musician.

  • from Apple Valley,Ca March 20, 2013Music Background:
    Sound engineer.

    One word.... Fantastic

    This guitar is an affordable incredible music device. It sounds as great as a much more expensive guitar. I love it, it's gorgeous too. The strings provided may need to be swapped for better ones. Truss rod may need to be adjusted. Other than that it sounds good. Also the action may need to be changed depending on your style of playing.

  • from Hartford City, IN USA March 2, 2013Music Background:
    Avid Guitarist

    Un-matched Quality for the Price

    This is my 4th Epiphone purchase since 1970 and the quality of this guitar has not changed. I purchased this one for a new guitar student and dropped by Sweetwater in Ft. Wayne to handle it. Strings low to the frett board make this insturment easy to play whether your a beginner or seasoned guitarist. The sales staff are top of the line as well as their facility. Back to the guitar...The sales rep. was up-front as he informed me that the tuning keys could stand to be up-graded (which I agree), however; the DR-100 stays in tune and has nice rich tones. For a sweet deal, I recommend both the Epiphone DR-100 and Sweetwater Music.com.

  • from Maysville, KY January 2, 2013Music Background:
    Music student, Recording artist

    Fantastic value

    I was just looking for a replacement acoustic to my Yamaha F335. When I picked up this guitar at the local shop, I didn't expect much. But then I played it and was completely shocked- the guitar sounds incredible. It's also very well-made and feels solid. There are no action/intonation problems to report, no sharp frets, nothing is wrong with this instrument. Plus, the natural finish is wonderful (the ebony finish is also well-done. The sunburst could be better, but it's nice). The finish on the neck, really nice. Doesn't grab your hand or anything. Whether it be for your beginner guitar player, a backup acoustic, or just an acoustic to have around, for $100, you absolutely cannot ggo wrong.
    I'm definitely going to see how well it records, then re-review.

  • from west bend, WI November 9, 2012Music Background:
    certified recording engineer, hobbyist

    simply unbelieveable

    I've been playing guitar now for about a decade but had kinda fallen off for a while (life)... i was very skeptical about this guitar cuz of the price but i said s**** it for the price what do i got to lose ill try it. this guitar is great just about perfect for my playing style im not the biggest person in the world so i like the smaller body of it but the sound that comes out is huge!!! (fitting to my personality) ive been so happy n nobody can believe what i paid for it after playing ive even installed pickups on this beast. customer service is great really make you feel good bout your purchase n more like your not just another number r sale to them they give a crap. ill keep buying from here for years

  • from Kansas October 3, 2012Music Background:
    1 year.

    Great guitar..BETTER SERVICE.

    I bought this guitar and some other stuff, because i quit playing a couple months ago and wanted to start again. First off the guitar when I got it I was amazed on how nice the finish really was. Its a beautiful guitar. The strings on it were actaully not bad but I switched it for my favorite Ernie Ball super slinky and now it plays even better. Came pretty good set up out of the box. Tighten the truss rod just a tad but that was it. It has a awesome sound to it, its different but in a really good way. I LOVE THIS GUITAR. Second was sweet waters amazing service. This company is awesome and I will ALWAYS shop with them fast shipping, better then guitar center and musicansfriends hands down. Keep doing what your doing sweetwater.

  • from Ca, USA June 6, 2012

    My son loves it

    He is 17 and taking guitar lessons with it. Thanks for the fast shipping and great customer service!

  • from April 17, 2016

    Guitar

    Great guitar! Holds tune after first couple days and has great acting! Love it!!

  • from Trent Woods, NC May 16, 2015

    Epiphone DR 100 Ebony

    So happy right now just received my ebony guitar and played it, it sounds really good, love the look, and for my small hands it is perfect. I will recommend this company they were awesome to talk to and swift to get me this awesome guitar thanks Sweetwater will be doing more business with you.
    Thanks again,
    Tanya Gilkey

  • from Illinois February 6, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Excellent!

    The shipping was super fast! Everything is up to par and sounding great, although the high E string busted as I was trying to tune, but that's bound to happen every now and then.

  • from Findlay, OH USA November 17, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, student

    Awesome guitar

    This is an amazing guitar! Sounds great. Quite easy to hold the strings down. Stays in tune fairly well. A few minor finish flaws. Also, no biggie, but they forgot to send the candy.

  • from Franklin, NC June 9, 2012Music Background:
    Earnest Underachiever

    Wicked

    Wicked guitar for the little money.
    Came well packed and set up perfectly.
    Don't even think about ordering anywhere else.
    Great service, great follow up.
    Gorgeous machine.

  • from Monroe, Michigan January 22, 2017Music Background:
    My folks forced me to take lessons when I was eight years old. I hated it because as a little kid I wanted to play outside and not practice. Now I wish my parents were alive so I could thank them for insisting that I learn to play.

    more then I expected

    I am blown away with the quality of this cheap little guitar. I am over seventy and just wanted an acoustic to mess with when not playing my Ibanez electric. This is gonna be fun to play this summer when sitting on my deck and relaxing.

  • from Jewett City, CT December 31, 2015

    Decent well made guitar

    This ain't a bad beginners guitar or a kick-around campfire guitar. Comes with an allen wrench to adjust the neck. I had a slight buzz at the top of the neck, but a 1/4 turn on the adjustment put it back in good tune. Good idea to keep the wrench around as humidity and such will affect the wood. Well made guitar. Thanks to salesman Tommy Winter for personal attention to my quickly received order

  • from Fort Wayne, IN March 8, 2013Music Background:
    15 years as a musician, first year learning guitar.

    Great beginners guitar!

    The Epiphone DR-100 is an excellent beginners guitar. It is very forgiving on the frets and is easy to play. For a $100.00 guitar you can't beat the price. I was surprised at the sound that this guitar provided. The sound was full and rich, something I was not expecting. Again, this is a great guitar for any player who is starting out and for the price if you end up not liking or don't want to play your not out a lot of money. The only bad thing about this guitar is the size of the frets. The neck and frets are little in the big size which made playing certain chords and notes very difficult and that is the only reason why I moved "up" in my guitar. Other then that, this is a great guitar at a great price.

  • from NW arkansas September 9, 2016

    ya get what ya pay for....

    The fret buzz alone should mark this item as defective.. I've had it set up .. new strings and truss rod adjusted and still cant kill the fret buzz ... it feels cheap and plays cheap. Compared to my old pawn shop guitar this thing is a toy. I so wanted to ship it back but i just could not be bothered to drive 40 miles to drop this POS off.

Questions about the Epiphone DR-100 - Ebony?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway