0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Sennheiser e945 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 32 customer reviews
Questions about the Sennheiser e945?

Questions about the Sennheiser e945?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from May 23, 2017Music Background:
    50 years a drummer

    True Story

    OK...true story. My bass player owns a major (and I mean MAJOR) sound system rental company in the Southeastern United States (they did the sound for the last Bob Dylan concert to pass through here...get the picture?). Anyway, I'm just a singing drummer but I know what I like and I like Sennheiser. So, after extensive research (not really), I switched from my Sennheiser condenser headphone mic and bought the e945. Make a long story short, after only one gig the aforementioned bass player, a guy you would figure could have any mic he wants wholesale (sadly, he's still using 58s), turns to me and says "I have got to get me one of those!" So I bought him one. I bought my guitar player one, too. I'm not rich, but they're my brothers and I want them to have the best...and the e945 is it. True story.

  • from March 2, 2017

    Love this microphone!

    I don't have a lot of experience with knowing what equipment to buy. My band mate recommended I get this microphone. I am a high soprano and many times people at our gigs would tell me they couldn't hear my voice on top of the instruments. This microphone fixed that! It pulls the low tones out of my voice so that the audience and I can hear them. I wish I would have found this microphone years ago. It is amazing!

  • from Northeast US January 6, 2017

    Great mic!

    Used good expensive miss for 40 years. This us the best I have ever experienced.

  • from March 14, 2016

    Music Oneband

    Wow..wow...its so amazing sound produce.. you absolutely wont go wrong to buy this mic.. i have 5 expensive microphones, but i love this one the best.. sweetwater is the best service..thanks

  • from Nashville December 9, 2015Music Background:
    Live and recording since 1978

    Great mic

    Does what they claim it does. Using your regular gear and mics, set up for play. Then plug in the e945 and you will notice how it cuts through the FOH and monitors. You will have to turn it down in the mixes. The e945 requires far less EQ than any other mic with any vocalist. All this with way less feedback. You will only think it costs too much money until after you buy and use one. I bought one at first, then I bought one for everyone in the band.

  • from Minneapolis May 25, 2015Music Background:
    Musician/club owner

    Outstanding

    For years I have been an advocate of SM58s - not any more. This mic gives crystal clear highs and subtle depths that leaves the competitors standing. Read somewhere it is the best female vocal mic available - I can tell you that as I am a deep baritone and I still haven't heard anything that comes close. Many many thanks to Ton Maxwell for what was just part of a large order - BOSE, Mackie, Behringer and all the rest. I would never consider buying from anywhere else other than Sweetwater.

  • from Lady Lake, FL January 27, 2015

    Sennheiser E945 Supercardioid Microphone

    I've been using the Sennheiser E835 for a couple years. I really work close to the microphone and although I was pleased with the sound of the 835 I noticed that if I got loud too close to it there would be a little bit of a distorted signal pass through. That's not a diss of the 835. It's a great mic, I just had to be careful with it. I'd seen good reports on the E945 so I thought I'd upgrade and try it. I ordered it on Friday and was pleased to find it at my mail station Monday afternoon. We had a 4 hour outdoor gig scheduled for that night so I used it. To be brief, I am amazed at the sound quality of this microphone. If what I was hearing in my monitor was any indication of what the audience heard,..then I am well pleased. The sound engineer was impressed as well. The detail this mic reproduces is wonderful. It made me want to sing better. It's hard to put things like this into words. If I was singing a "screamer" it handled it well without distorting .If it was a soft song the detail and presence were right there. I would highly recommend this microphone to any one who needs a quality vocal microphone for live use. I've not used a better one.

  • from November 8, 2014

    E945

    Awesome mic!!! The best mic for the money

  • from United States July 29, 2014

    sennheiser e945

    It is amazing. The sounds is really clear and sharp.

  • from United States May 16, 2014Music Background:
    Gigging at Gunpoint

    Nothing short of incredible

    I was about to give up on my vocalizer, then it occurred to me that I was using the wrong mic. The mic I bought initially was causing a feedback loop in my array speaker, due to it's force field the size of a football stadium picking up everything in my practice room. So I asked Aaron what he thought I should use, he suggested this mic and the e935. Figured for a little more I'd get the e945. Every cent spent was worth it, not only did it clean up my feedback problem, the sound quality improved to where I don't have to french kiss the mic while screaming to get response out of it. Works great at lower volumes and picks up my range perfectly.

  • from United States May 14, 2014Music Background:
    Working cover bands since 1977

    Great mic

    So much more responsive than the Shure SM58...you don't have to kiss the mic to hear yourself...clear rich tones, even from me!

  • from United States January 28, 2014Music Background:
    pro musician and singer

    best sounding mike out there

    i had a sm58 it was a good mike but this one blows it away

  • from Kailua, HI December 28, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Producer, Recording Engineer

    Not For Everyone

    After years of using trusty old Shure SM and Beta 58 microphones at gigs, I began to grow curious as to whether there was a better mic out there for my voice. After trying out various mics at gigs (AKG D5 & C5, Shure SM86 & Beta 87a, Audix OM5 & OM7, Sennheiser e835 & e845), I was led to explore the Sennheiser 900 series by the recommendation of a few friends. So, I borrowed an e945 and e935 and compared them pretty intensively (back and forward for a few hours a day) for about two weeks.

    First off, don't let anyone tell you that Shure is the "industry standard," and therefore the best choice. Yes, Shure is a time tested favorite. But if you research the touring rigs of chart-topping artists, Sennheiser will come up at least as much as Shure. Bruno Mars, Beyonce, Blake Shelton, Lady Gaga, Christina Aguilera...the list could go on and on. Bottom line, if you insist on putting any importance on "what the pros are using," Sennheiser is as good as any.

    Second, don't let ANYONE tell you that the 935 and 945 are the same, minus the polar pattern. They sound quite different from each other, and a voice that sounds great on one could sound totally uninspiring (or downright unpleasant) on another. I personally found that my voice benefitted from the e945's extra clarity and presence, along with the tight and responsive lows (it sounds way more ballsy than any Shure that I've tried). My bandmate, on the other hand, sounded piercing on the 945ówe were both literally cringing when he sang anything in his upper register. The much warmer e935 was perfect for him.

    The moral of the story: this mic sounds like no other, and with the right singer it can be the perfect choice. The presence is not overdone like I found some competitors to be, and it far more pristine and clear sounding than any other mic I have tried. However, you really need to try a range of mics to decide if it's right for you, because no mic is flattering on everybody. I hope to never sing live into anything else now.

  • from Kettering, OH March 6, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    An absolute beauty

    I've used a beta58 for more than a decade and though it's been a solid workhorse, I've grown a bit weary of having to drastically alter the board's EQ to suit my voice.

    The e945 sounds absolutely beautiful flat or with a touch of EQ.

    At a recent show I nearly started laughing while singing because the nuances and subtleties that I hear when I sing in a quiet room by myself were presented for all to hear-which helped me more fully express the song. It was just beautiful.

    I cannot imagine a better mic for my voice.

  • from Nashville, TN February 16, 2013Music Background:
    Singer, Songwriter and performer

    Can't be beat for the money!

    Have used sure Sm-57, Sm-58, Sm 57Beta and Sm 58BGeta and still do. But, I purcahsed an e945 and found it to be the best purchase I ever made. After a week of use, I went back and purchased another one as a birthday gift for my son. He is extremely fond of it as well.

  • from usa February 7, 2011Music Background:
    performing musician

    Sennheiser e945

    Tried a lot of mics at the NAMM show. My research from wearing headphones pointed me to the 945. I play in a classic rock band and in an acoustic trio that sings a lot of harmony. Finally made the investment in this mic. After several gigs in both bands I can tell you it is worth every dollar over my sm58s. The added gain lends a clarity to my vocal that I didnt have before. My band mates are jealous and saving their gig money to but the same mic.

  • from usa February 7, 2011Music Background:
    performing musician

    Sennheiser e945

    Tried a lot of mics at the NAMM show. My research from wearing headphones pointed me to the 945. I play in a classic rock band and in an acoustic trio that sings a lot of harmony. Finally made the investment in this mic. After several gigs in both bands I can tell you it is worth every dollar over my sm58s. The added gain lends a clarity to my vocal that I didnt have before. My band mates are jealous and saving their gig money to but the same mic.

  • from Toronto, Canada September 21, 2010Music Background:
    Enthusiast....hobbyist gigging band. Classic Rock and Modern Rock

    Can't be more satisfied

    I went to my local guitar shop. I had them plug in 4 microphones. The Shure SM-58, the Shure Beta 58A, the Sennheiser e935 and the e945.

    Researching products, it is easy to get caught up in "what are the pros using". Everyone wants to use what their idols use. I was prejudiced to Shure as a result. Big Mistake. Before you buy any microphone try out a bunch. I had the rep plug them in on a clean signal with a good P.A.

    After singing into them for a good 30 minutes, the Sennheiser e945 was the one I kept going back to. The clarity was heads and shoulders above the others. I noticed that the Shures were too warm for me. My voice sounded more "nasal" through those. The e945 gave me the most clarity. I was convinced. Running direct, head to head comparison's, I could not beat the range of this mic. From as low as my voice could go to (approaching) scream....this mic handled it.....as crisp as can be.

    Using it in rehearsals now for 3 weeks, I must say it cuts through our classic rock band mix just wonderfully. My bass player had an old Shue SM 58 in his bag. I pulled it out and tried a couple songs. I was so glad I stuck with the Sennheiser.

    Hey....here's the problem. People, even veterans, are afraid of change. Shure uses older techonology and it is a workhorse no doubt that has stood the test of time. HOWEVER, It might not be the best anymore. This mic will give any of the Shure mics a run for their money.

    However, each has a different voice and likes a different sound. Try out as many as you can before you buy. But please, make this one you try. You won't be dissapointed.

  • from Atlanta, GA December 11, 2007Music Background:
    Pro Singer

    WOW

    Absolutely blown away! Our guitarist, who is also a sound engineer, suggested this mic for me. It is EVERYTHING he said it would be. The adjective I most hear describing this mic is "rich" and it is so true. An amazing microphone. By the way, if the sound engineer can't "deal" with this mic, then he is an idiot, IMHO. It IS cool, however to see that my gain needs to be turned down much lower than everyone else's. Major power and beautiful richness from this mic. I can sing loud OR soft on this mic, whereas I've found Crown works best for soft and SM58 works best for loud (with me). Can sing anything on this mic! I need a Sennheiser endorsement.

  • from St Louis November 8, 2016Music Background:
    Weekly Gig-er

    Very Clean and Clear

    I'm a former e835 user. Then,I felt it was time to go to the next level. Wow - a real difference maker. It picks up everything close. I really like it for my gigs! Very crisp sound. Worth it.

  • from Chicago May 17, 2016Music Background:
    Musicician and musiclover for over 45 years!

    e945

    One of the best mics I have ever used in a live setting.

  • from Philadelphia, PA April 30, 2014Music Background:
    Sound engineer, pro musician

    e945

    After using SM58's for years I wanted to try some higher end vocal mics. After reading countless reviews and trying some of the options out there I decided on the Sennheiser e945. I couldn't believe the difference.
    The e945 really brings out the warmth in your voice. It is especially noticeable when singing soft parts, just move up on the mic and the vocal still stands out in the mix. I've been using one for two years and couldn't be happier. The rest of my band have all tried the mic and since purchased their own. Need I say more.
    I'm sure there are other great mics out there and it's always best to try a few out before deciding since we all have different demands, but if you want a great vocal mic I have no reservations about recommending the e945.

  • from Spokane Valley , Washington October 2, 2012Music Background:
    from total amature to pro...and all in between..for 50 years..

    Audio velvet

    I have been using the "popular" brand of mics for many years. They were/are very reliable. But, the sound was not what I wanted to hear. My new Sennheiser e945 is in a class of it's own. Great sound, it will not feedback..(so far). The pricing was very reasonable. The mic is built lika a tank!! I highly reccomend this mic....

  • from Thessaloniki, Greece June 23, 2011Music Background:
    Rock Band Singer (part time)

    Top notch. Natural sound, Cutting through easily.

    First off, I sing a lot of grungy rock stuff in a pretty loud rock band. Eg. Pearl Jam, Nirvana, Audioslave, Guns n Roses, Whitesnake . All the vocal "explosions" are getting through smoothly.

    Nice natural sound. Sound engineers (even though they usually deal sm58's) dont seem to have any trouble with it.

    Very good rejecting feedback, even with monitors in close range (small clubs etc).

    Having worked with other dynamic mics (included the cheaper sm classics) I highly recommend this one.

    It's reasonably priced, and delivers what you pay for. Would only switch for a better (and more expensive) condenser mic, if I knew it could stand up on our loud stage.

  • from Chicago February 2, 2011Music Background:
    Weekend warrior!

    Sounds great needs

    Great sounding! Natural! Proper vocal EQ'ing. Very smooth EQ curve so EQ'ing at the board is a breeze and no surprises like on other mics which have an odd-ball peak or dip.

    Very clear lows and no mud!

    Missing that last half a star due to super sensitivity of the monitor placement - seems to be larger back pattern than other supercardiod mics. And also that gain before feedback is lower than many other mics I work with so while I may be on the e945 and be at +-0 the other singers will be at -10, -15. Don't freak out on this, it just takes 1 quick lesson and WELL worth it!

  • from Columbia City, IN USA August 4, 2009Music Background:
    Instrumentalist, Vocalist, Electrical Systems Engineer

    Just a really excellent microphone for live sound!

    The only reason I would consider giving the e945 anything less then a 5.0 rating is that I am still slightly addicted to the proximity effect of the Shure mics, but wow, is this a great one! As an engineer/musician, to me the e945 is as good as anything I've heard among the dynamics. It's everything you'd want if your top priority is a natural, clear, smooth and accurate sound for the stage. GBF is very good, despite what a few others seem compelled to believe for whatever reason(s). Super mic.

  • from April 27, 2017

    E945

    Excellent vocal mic for live performance. High gain before feedback. Very clean, clearer sound. For our group, these have replaced the beta 58s.

  • from April 1, 2016

    e945

    great mic. clean deep sound. good for my lounge act.

  • from Santa Maria August 28, 2015

    Sennheiser 3945

    Great Microphone. Love it!

  • from Windsor, Ontario, Canada January 10, 2012Music Background:
    Keyboard Player, Live Sound Engineer.

    Finally, great sound with no feedback

    I purchased this mic after owning the e865, and having to deal with constant on stage feedback with live performers. I wanted a mic that had similar quality but more resilience to feedback. The e945 was the solution. It's very close sonically to the e865, but when playing live on stage, it's very hard to notice the difference. Highly recommended.

  • from jersey city, nj June 17, 2006Music Background:
    engineer, pro musician

    I agree

    Same issue here. And whenever someone other than me is doing sound, they can't deal with this mic and end up making me use their ShureSM58 instead (ugh.)

  • from u.k. February 21, 2006

    disapointed.......

    firstly i have to say im a fan of sennheiser mics. i own both an e845 and e935 but i was dissapointed by this mic. the actual sound is very good, its clear and present with punch but also warm with a alot of bass responce. it has a nice smooth sound too, but the thing that dissapointed me was that sennheiser say this mic can get 3-6 db's more GBF than a e845 which i found in band rehearsal to be totally untrue. it created much ,more feedback when i compared it directly to my e845. i have to say i was skeptical anyway when i read that the e945 has only 20 db off axis rejection compared to the e845's 25 db. as a conclusion i would say this is a very nice sounding mic but dont expect to be getting maximum gain brfore feedback from it!

Questions about the Sennheiser e945?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway