0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Sennheiser e935 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 44 customer reviews
Questions about the Sennheiser e935?

Questions about the Sennheiser e935?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Minnetonka MN June 29, 2016

    Awesome

    This is the best mic I've ever had

  • from Inver Grove Heights, MN April 13, 2016

    Unbelievable...

    Not much to say after reading the other reviews... I have used EV mics before and more recently the industry standard SHURE SM58.. I am a solo acoustic performer and will just say that the Sennheiser e935 is a game changer for me.. A night and day difference... Clean clear vocals with a pleasant sounding eq curve are obtained by running this mic just about flat (I had to cut the mids a bit - using the Line 6 L3t) Thanks Sennheiser for the great mic and Thanks Sweetwater (Derek Kemp) for the great service !

  • from Covington December 30, 2015

    Great Microphone

    I have used numerous microphones over the years for vocals. Shure SM58,57, Audix OM2,5,6 and Sennheiser e835. All are good mcs in my opinion. However, for my voice, the Sennheiser mics sound best. I'm still very happy with the e835.It has been my go to mic the past year. I just received the e935 for Christmas. I have tried it thru my pa system and it sounded great. I did a test comparing it to the e835 using the same exact settings in the same channel of the mixer. Basically, I just switched out the mics on the cable. The e935 did sound better than the e835. More clarity and definition.
    I would definitely recommend this mic to anyone.

  • from November 24, 2015

    Sennheiser e 935...WOW!

    Strong and dynamic! Picks up all the nuances of a voice from the soft breathy phrases to the growls of bluesy songs. Very happy with this instrument!

  • from Wheeling WV, WV July 29, 2015Music Background:
    Touring Audio Engineer

    Best Sounding vocal mic under $200

    Sure there are better souring vocal mics out there but Im betting big money you can't find one below 200 bucks that sounds this great on so many different vocal types. For a dynamic mic the high end is unusually clear and smooth but still sounds nice and thick throughout most of the frequency range. It is now my "go to" mic for just about every vocalist. The value cannot be beat either.

  • from United States May 19, 2015

    outstanding

    I now plan to purchase the 865 condenser. All the hype is absolutely true! Great mike.

  • from Spring Hill, TN January 17, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Fantastic Mic!

    I have several of these and love them! I do a lot of live performance recording (venues, etc.) These are great on vocals. They not only sound good, but I really like how much they reject the other instruments. It allows me a lot more flexibility when it's time to mix back in the studio.

  • from Bowling Green, OH December 29, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Vocalist

    Great dynamic mic!

    I switched to this mic 2 years ago, when I decided to leave the outdated Shure SM58. I tried Shure's Beta series (awful), Heil's PR-20 and PR-22, and Audix's OM3. When I finally tried the e935, the clarity and response blew me out of the water. This mic sounds so much more natural than any other dynamic mic in its price range. The e935 has good low frequency response for male vocalists, and yet remains airy and clean for female vocalists. This is now my go-to dynamic mic for all live vocals.

  • from United States June 3, 2014Music Background:
    student

    great company

    excellent piece of equipment to accent my studio. Customer service is great

  • from Mason, Ohio May 11, 2014Music Background:
    Recording artist - musician

    What a difference!!! - Part 2

    Last night we performed live and as we were setting up the sound guys presented me with the mics they brought for us to select (the usual 4). I told them I had a 935 with me and their eyes almost came out of their faces and told me "that is the best mic for female singers". So, we set my 935 and WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!! Her voice just carried, clear as it can be with minimum EQ. Her words were being understood by everybody (finally!!!). She hypnotized the audience!!

  • from Mason, Ohio April 30, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, home recording, song-writter.

    What a difference!!!

    I am the musical part of a singer/songwriter duo. My partner (the singer, a mezzo-soprano) uses a wireless Beta 58a. People complain constantly about not understanding her. We always have to practically kill the low frequencies with the 58 and raise her mids and mid-highs. This 935, needed practically nothing!!! Well, I had to install a windscreen in order to try to reduce some the power-surges of my singer (she can belt with the best). We had a rehearsal last night with our supporting band and we used the 935 instead of her 58 and everybody was complementing her new sound. The clarity of her voice was remarkable (with the 58 it was more "muddy" Next test, recording!!!

  • from Rush, NY USA March 8, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur Musician, that has played in bands all my life.

    Sennheiser e935 - Outstanding!

    I have been a singing in bands for a number of years now. I have tried numerous microphones in the past and most recently I purchased the Sennheiser e935 mic. As soon as I plugged the e935 in to test it, I was completely amazed. The clear and projecting tone was above anything else I had experieneced. I also use a vocal effects processor, and that combined with the e935, made my vocals really stand out during our last band job. It gave me a renewed sense of sounding more like a professional and I had a number of people pass back positive comments to me. I am 100% totally satisfied with the purchase of the Sennheiser e935. I just wonder why it took me so long to make that selection in my mic.

  • from Greensburg, PA February 21, 2014Music Background:
    Singer-Songwriter, Hobbyist

    Unbelievable Microphone

    I've sang through a lot of different microphones over the years and haven't found anything other than the 58 beta that even comes close to the durability and flexibility of the e935. This microphone can handle just about anything you throw at it... Trying to stop myself from buying another one right now and was hoping that by typing this it would distract me, but if anything I'm about to add another one to my cart. God Bless Sennheiser.

    I run this through my Fishman sa220 and it is a beautiful pairing.

  • from Sandyston, NJ USA April 2, 2013Music Background:
    I play music whenever I can.

    Senn e935

    I bought this mic for my wife. We do mainly open mic's, and she brings her own microphone with her. We had been using my SM58. If it ain't broke, I usually don't fix it, but I thought she would dig a mic of her own. At first she was not wild about it, because the sound was too good, but now after a few performances she wouldn't use anything else. The e935 has great clarity, which really helps her voice to cut through. I'm no sound tech, but I can hear that this is a great mic.

  • from Marion, Indiana March 4, 2013Music Background:
    x-pro musician, recording engineer, old guy

    We were unprepared!

    Once again our sales guru, Greg Baum, was right. You can't blow spit into a Shure 58 for 25 years without it effecting the preformance of the mic. If you haven't tries a Sennheiser on stage, bet one and be prepared for the clarity and full range response.
    The e935 is not there most expensive, but I am not sure how much better it could get. As always, thanks Sweetwater!

  • from Central Illinois January 4, 2013Music Background:
    Rock Vocalist

    Sweeeeet Water!

    I have dealt with Jason @ Sweetwater on several purchases and have always been happy with my purchases. When I described my needs for a Microphone, he suggested this Mic. It was exactly what I needed and exceeded my expectations! Thanks again Jason & Sweetwater.

  • from Toledo, OH December 31, 2012Music Background:
    Southern Gospel Vocalist

    Amazing!!

    I have tried nearly a dozen mics for vocal use in live performance, but when I tried this one I was blown away! Outstanding clarity, natural warmth, and absolutely NO handling noise made this mic my favorite instantly. This is definitely the best dynamic mic I have ever used. If you are looking for an upgrade from the Shure line, this mic is the solution.

  • from Westminster, CO October 29, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Great Mic

    With or without any effects added, this mic is fantastic.
    It has to be the quietest mic I have every handled and is very comfortable in your hand. Remember, the mic and guitar (or keyboard) are the 'source' of your music, so both have to be of quality and this mic is.
    Worth every penny.

  • from New Jersey September 17, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician (Singer, Guitar)

    This Mic Rocks

    This mic gives you everything it says and some. I have been using Sennheiser's for years now. I love my e835, which I have turned countless musicians on to. It is warm and really cuts through the mix, but the e935 has just so much more presence and warmth as well as clarity. I cannot believe for this price, I found a mic that I love more than my e835. Other's have tried to get me to use Beta 58s's and Audio Tech. and such, but I have never liked their feel and response. For me, the best microphones out there for the money are Sennheiser, period, end of discussion.

  • from Huntsville, AL February 27, 2012Music Background:
    Live sound engineer, musician

    Amazing!

    This mic is the way to go! I was hooked on blue mics and then found out about these, had a shure sm58A beta, blue encore200, and the sennheiser.... Of course I got this one. The Shure, wayyyy to hot harder to control. The Blue, very dull had to boost the gains up alot just to get normal playing volumes. Sennheiser, took both those good sounding mics and put them to shame!

  • from Miami, FL November 9, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Steeldrum Musician and Recording engineer

    Excellent Good Mic!!

    Got this mic for vocals after hearing all the great reviews. Went to my local music store and tested the e 935, EV N/D 767 and e 838. I was very impressed with this mic over the EV N/D 767 and it sounded better than the e 838 also. Very strong and well built mic. I highly recommend getting this mic if you're a vocalist looking for a very strong, excellent sounding mic.

  • from July 8, 2011

    E935

    Love this mic. Everyone should own one.

  • from San Francisco,CA November 15, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician-(Lead Female Singer)

    Awesome Microphone!!!!

    I compared many microphones before buying this one. Let me say this mic delivers a warmth and a richness like a mic that is 3x the price. I was sold once I sang into it!!!

  • from Greenfield, IN September 19, 2010Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Incredible

    The band Keane turned me on to this mic. I decided to purchase one and give it a shot and it definitely outperformed the expectation. I gave it to our church for the worship pastor to use replacing his B87 he uses IEM and was very thrilled after the switch. The sound this Mic produces is worth at least twice the price they ask for it.

  • from Lowell, MA March 9, 2008Music Background:
    Student of myself. Rapper, Ghost Writter

    Fantastic Results

    I totally was not expecting this mic to be as good as it is. I write and record hip hop music and found this mic to be perfect for the application. This is the best mic you can get before you start heading into condensor mic territory. I have this thing hooked up to my macbook pro through an M-Audio Fast Track USB and the sound quality is amazing.. I was able to redo the dubs on some of my songs and tottaly made them sound much cleaner and crisper than the original gritty recordings.

  • from Southern Oregon coast January 5, 2017Music Background:
    Lifetime being a "wanna be"

    Sennheiser e935

    OUTSTANDING MIC!!! Beats the pants off my old Shure SM58. Wonder why I took so long to try a Sennheiser! Brandon was great in helping me to select the right mic for what I needed. I'll be back
    for more!

  • from New Mexico October 26, 2016

    Sennheiser e935

    A really, and I mean really, good microphone that fits my baritone voice perfectly. Our lead just started using one too and he is very happy with it. He sings right on the mesh and the sibilants and plosives are well controlled and the voice is clear and easy to listen to.

  • from Los Angeles November 1, 2015Music Background:
    singer

    Really nice mic

    I like this mic a lot. It really is good for my voice. I put a wind screen on it because it is a bit sensitive to plosive sounds - p's and b's and that is corrected with the screen. I have not found it a problem with other noise and if you have any voice at all you don't need to eat this mic to be heard. The only reason I did not rate 5 stars is because of the sensitivity to plosives.

    I set up for other singers and everyone sounds good with this mic.

  • from Sacramento, CA February 23, 2015Music Background:
    I have been singing and teaching voice for many many years. Mostly live, nightclub gigs singing popular and jazz styles.

    Sweet Little Mic

    Been using SM58 for many years. This mic has better fidelity. It seems crisper and cleaner than the Shure. It has a nice, solid, well balanced feel in your hand, and is resistant to feedback. I don't want to badmouth the SM58, it has been an industry standard, go to mic, for decades.
    I took off half a star simply because only time will tell how it will hold up with professional use. But, no doubt this is a nice little mic, you will like it.

  • from Pensacola, FL July 31, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician (weekend warrior)

    Smooth and Clear

    I've been using a Sennheiser 835 for 10 years and since I do mostly back-up and only 3-4 lead vocals per night, I thought "what's the difference" and was blissfully ignorant. Finally, after years of pleading from my sound man, I did some research and bought the 935. Um...it ROCKS! I noticed, immediately, that this mic has way more gain and clarity that the bargain mic I was using before. My vocals sound better in my IEMs and that makes a huge difference. More clarity, smooth sound and great gain before feedback: If you are a guitar player and have put off buying a new mic...stop, put down the guitar and get this mic. You will not be sorry!

  • from Metamora, MI January 27, 2014Music Background:
    Semi Pro

    Great Mic

    I love this mic. The sound is clear and no feedback. It makes my voice sound fuller and clear, plus I think it being all black makes it a nice looking mic. I play keyboards and I have to move it around allot for different stage configurations and it pick my voice up really well. I like these mics better that the Shure sm58 that everyone uses. Our drummer also uses a Sennheiser. I really like it. You won't be disappointed with it.

  • from Indianapolis, IN April 30, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    It's like butter

    I'm quite impressed with the 935... it has a pleasing tone balance with smooth highs and a limited proximity effect. Of course, everything is application specific; SO - I put it on my vocalists for: a 50's/60's early rock cover band and a celtic folk/rock band because this mic is not harsh at all and fits the vocals right in the sweet spot. I work with another modern alt/hardrock group and for them I stick with the Shure Beta's because they have more of a "cutting edge" to it. So the 935 isn't perfect for everything (no mic is), but it's certainly worth a try.

  • from New york December 9, 2006Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    w935

    This mike rocks..

    I has smoothness..and clarity , it has high rejection..of feedback...
    just used it this tuesday..and the house walls were brick..with slick wood floors... not a peek...just set it on the stage...and watch how every performer will pick it out for their mike..it really enhances suttle vocal passages...and tames loud vocals... it's a great mike..for those who have a voice a la Patti labelle, Chaka, A Keys, A franklin.. range..but like any good instrument try before you buy...

  • from California February 4, 2016Music Background:
    Classic rock cover bands...americana....folk

    1st Class Vocal Mic

    Used all the standard live vocal mics over the years....it's only Rock n Roll....but this mic delivers on many levels....clean clear musical...sits nicely on top of the mix...it's definitely a step up...money well spent

  • from Clarkston, WA January 14, 2016Music Background:
    sound guy/bass player

    e935 - with two different singers

    I got an e935 after reading reviews and talking to a friend in a touring band ...

    Two friends have used it, the first a female lead singer ... she used it with her hard rock band and really liked it, she noticed the clarity in her voice right away and had no problem switching from her 58 to the e935, she told me she's probably going to get one ...
    (BTW, she's uses my Telefunken M-80 when we are doing our acoustic rock thing).

    Next the 935 was used on New Year's Eve in a blues/rock/soul trio for a sort-of lounge blues gig ... the comment from the singer/guitar player was he liked the sound, but it was a lot more sensitive to distance than an SM-58, he moves around quite a bit and noticed that he needed to be on the mic more than he was used to ... so in that respect it's like some of the Audix OM mic's, it's more sensitive to distance than a 58.
    He was wanting me to swap the 935 out for a 58 (I didn't bring a 58 to the gig) ... so for the last set I switched to the M-80, I had to bring the trim up as the M-80 is lower output than the 935, but as soon as the he talked into it his response was "YES!" ... the M-80 is smoother sounding with the same level of clarity as the 935 ...

    The bottom line, I was hoping the e935 would be a less expensive ($170) alternative/replacement for the Telefunken M-80 ($250) ... it is, but it isn't, for sure the audience probably couldn't hear the difference, I've used the 935 and a Beta 87 at an open mic, I preferred the E935 it was easier to set and forget for the variety of voices ...
    The 935 is a really nice mic, a great mic value overall, with clarity that makes vocals stand out it a nice way ... it's pretty close to what I was looking for, maybe 90%-95% there, but I'm spoiled by the M-80

  • from October 18, 2015

    sennhieser

    Great Mic great service

  • from Streamwood, Illinois August 26, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Very Satisfied

    A huge improvement from what I was using. The output is good and it has great clarity. I'm happy with my purchase.

  • from Tallahassee, Fl. December 28, 2012Music Background:
    singer/songwriter/band member with a small recording studio

    nice alternative

    I bought two of the e 935s to give to two people that I sing with and when I tried one of them out ,I really liked it. That night ,I gave one to one of my friends and it sounded, really, much better than the 58 that he had been using.I based my purchase on reviews and forums and on the voices that my bandmates have and it worked. I think 58s are fine for some,but the e 935 gives you more. I hear more definition with the Sennheisers AND I think that Sennheiser has good customer service,if ever needed. Sweetwater is great to deal with,too.They make it easy and quick and very personable.

  • from Portland, OR, USA January 10, 2007Music Background:
    Play in small acoustic band

    Quality Microphone

    The e935 is a great dynamic mic. Excellent for vocals, it picks up the sound nicely even at some distance, or can be sung very close-in.
    Though it's not billed as an instrument mic, I tested with an acoustic guitar against some other popular dynamic mics and it was a clear winner. I use a condenser mic for studio work but prefer dynamics for live, and this one delivers.
    I see it billed everywhere with a frequency response of 40 - 16000, but its manual claims to go clear up to 18,000. Whichever is right, my ears say this mic does the job.

  • from July 12, 2016

    Sennheiser Microphone

    So far the mic has put out a good sound for me, very clear, no feed back thank you

  • from Little Rock, AR November 27, 2015Music Background:
    Piano player and singer

    e935

    These are great when they are working. I am on my 3rd one in just a few months. The keep losing there power. I have no idea what is going on with them.

  • from MA October 1, 2005

    THIS WILL BE THE NEW STANDARD

    THIS WILL BE THE NEW STANDARD IN LIVE VOCAL MICS. IT WOULD BE A STEAL AT 199 EVEN.

    I USUALLY DON'T DO REVIEWS BUT THIS PIECE DESERVES ONE BECAUSE IT MAKES FOH'S JOB EASIER

    CLARITY, HI GAIN BEFORE FBACK AND PUNCH LIKE YOU WOULDN'T BELIEVE. WE HAVE DONE OVER 50 SMALL GIGS IN 3 MOS, ROTATING 4 OF THESE PUPPIES ON LEADS AND THE IMPROVEMENT WE GET IS INCREDIBLE--

    -BECAUSE ITS CLEARER WE CAN USE LOWER MONITOR LEVELS FOR THE SINGERS
    -HAS A NICE HOT OUTPUT- ALL PROS KNOW THAT YOU CAN WORK A GATE AND COMPRESSION BETTER W/ A HOTTER SIGNAL. SOUNDS GREAT WHEN BUS'D TO OUR HD24 AS WELL
    -CLEAR, CRISP TOP END. IT DOESN'T HAVE THE BRITTLE SHURE SOUND THAT HELD US BACK FOR YEARS
    -MADE OF SOMETHING FROM ANOTHER PLANET.

    5 OUT OF 5 STARS FROM A LONG-TIME SHURE GUY

  • from london,england July 1, 2005

    a great mic

    i dont know what was wrong with the guys mic in the last review but it must have been faulty as the sennheiser e935 i have is great. the new 900 series was actually developed by someone who used to work for shure microphones.i have used an shure beta 58 a sennheiser e845 and now the e935 though i havent yet tried the e935 in a live setting, just used it at home and tried it in a couple of music shops. i have tried the e935 out alongside an beta 58 and a audio-technica ae6100.out of all the beta 58 came out the worst as it sounded weak and thin though some times this sound can help cut through the sound of say a loud metal band but the down side is once again it can make your voice sound thin but the very nasally sound of the beta 58 did help me when compared to my sennheiser e845 which didnt seem to cut through the mix the shure was used for live band performances.in one shop the audio-technica ae6100 sounded a little clearer than the e935 but lacked a little less wieght but i think the ae6100 would cut through a loud mix nicely (as good as a beta 58)but would sound much better than a beta 58 giving a fuller sound.the e935 also seemed to have a presence cut in its sound but one that sounde different than the ae6100 not nessercerly better or worse just different. in another shop i tried out all three mics again and the beta 58 didnt sound as bad as before but the audio-technica ae6100 sounded better with a more fuller powerfull sound.in this shop both the ae6100 and the e935 sounded the same clarity wise but the e935 seemed to have more balls to it, with more bottom end as well as a presence in the sound. as i havent yet used the e935 in a live setting i cant state whether it cuts through a loud mix/band as well as sennheiser state but i think it might as it does have a nice presence to the sound but also manages to found full at the same time giving a certain power to the sound.

  • June 1, 2005

    Disappointed

    I love Sennheiser - I own two 835's and the back up vocalists in my band use them. For the lead vocalist, I purchased the e935 and was highly disappointed. The 835's are louder in the monitors. Sound people have told me the mic is no good. Maybe I just bought a lemon, but I am not impressed with this mic. It has no power at all.

Questions about the Sennheiser e935?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway