0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Sennheiser e835 Live Vocal Microphone Reviews

4.5 stars based on 93 customer reviews
Questions about the Sennheiser e835 Live Vocal Microphone?

Questions about the Sennheiser e835 Live Vocal Microphone?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Mark Thompson

    What a great deal! After using another brand of microphone at the same price I now use the Sennheiser E835 in all my systems where sound quality is important and needs to be affordable.

  • from January 2, 2017

    Evolution mic

    I had a chance to use one of these prior to purchase knew I was getting an awesome mix

  • from Pottstown, PA December 30, 2016Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Fabulous

    Love the sound quality from this Mic.
    Got a dozen.

  • from Girard, PA. December 26, 2016Music Background:
    Working bass player/vocalist over 30+ years.

    Outstanding Mic!

    This mic has tremendous response. Very affordable and it EASILY can compete with a Shure sm-58. I highly recommend and the price point makes it a no-brainer. Super-solid metal body gives it a pro feel. Buy one.

  • from California December 24, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Singer, Guitar Player

    Nice solid mic, Sounds great to me.

    I'm a singer and definitely not a sound engineer or audio gear expert so I don't have much experience with comparing different microphones. I was shocked that this nice quality microphone came FREE with my Fishman Loudbox Mini guitar amp. Thanks Sweetwater.

  • from December 1, 2016

    Great Add On Item.

    I may never use this microphone. I bought the Fishman Loudbox and for the same price as the Loudbox they had an offer for mic, cable, cover, stand and tuner. If there's ever need for a mic I have one.

  • from California November 28, 2016

    Your new vocal mics!

    These are an amazing alternative and improvement over Shure as vocal mics! Highly versatile, possessing excellent spectral balance. Appears to be very well built(in Germany). Very well priced in a 3 pack. Love having a choice besides SM58. Thank you, Senheiser, and Sweetwater!

  • from October 11, 2016Music Background:
    Semi pro

    Great Deal

    Works and sound like a good sax mic. I will use it in my show

  • from August 7, 2016

    Great mics

    I bought the 3 pack of these and they are great sounding vocal mics.

  • from May 30, 2016

    Awesome!

    I've used an e835 for some time, now all of us use e835's! Great sound, reliable and economical!

  • from May 10, 2016Music Background:
    National award winning solo artist

    Wow!!!

    I've been using Sure 58's for many, many years. Since I got this mic. I have not even used my 58's anymore. This mic. is amazing! The warmth, the pickup ability from distances above 4" and literally everything about it is great. I can't think of anything I don't like about it.

  • from Tracy , CA April 15, 2016

    School Choir Mics

    What a great deal the school purchased, money well spent . A bundle of 3 Microphones Sennheiser e835 , , 3 stands and 3 25"feet of cable . Parents are amazed of the clear and beautiful sound the Sennheiser mics puts out . Thank you Sweetwater for recommending this bundle.

  • from March 11, 2016

    Perfect Mic for me.

    For my own voice... I'll take one of these over an SM58 any day. I sound dull on a 58, but the E835 gets me that extra sparkle that I have to go all the way to a Beta58 to get.. Love these mics....

  • from Salisbury, Maryland 21804 January 26, 2016Music Background:
    Gospel Singer

    clear sound

    Great deal, good sounding microphone and quality. I've used the shure microphones for thirty five years
    for rock and roll country and gospel this sennheiser is a good product.

  • from Louisiana December 31, 2015Music Background:
    Over 50 years.

    Replace my SM58

    I got the mic as part of the songwriter's package. Just for the heck of it I tried it out and immediately retired the SM58.

  • from December 30, 2015

    Great

    Best I have ever used - have another being delivered this morning

  • from October 7, 2015

    Sennheiser e835

    I was considering a Shure SM 58, but chose this one to try it out. It's actually a great mic - comparable to the Shure. Recommended.

  • from September 9, 2015

    BLOWN AWAY BY A WINDSCREEN!

    OK guys! Stop right here. Get this one. Seriously fine sounding microphone. Adding a simple
    foam windscreen to this dynamic and its money very well spent! Will give some very high dollar
    condensers scary competition. Add a CL1 Cloudlifter and BAM! .. Verrry tough to beat!

  • from September 9, 2015

    BLEW ME AWAY WITH A WINDSCREEN!

    The e835 can get a bit sibilant and can definitely be susceptible to pop noise. But wanna get blown away? Just add a decent foam windscreen on this puppy! As someone who owns both a Shure SM7B and the venerable AKG C414. With that mod alone, you won't be sorry you did! But to hear a boost beyond expectations, add a Cloudlifter CL1 sometime to your mix. Makes this dynamic jewel sound
    shockingly IMHO better than a whole lot of seriously high-dollar condenser mics, cheap!

  • from Canandaigua, New York September 2, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Gigging musician

    Great Mic

    Great vocal reproduction at a great price!

  • from Raleigh NC September 2, 2015

    Great Microphone

    This microphone sounds great. No complaints here.

  • from Venice Fl. June 15, 2015Music Background:
    26 years playing live and recording

    Better than Shure 58

    Great crisp highs and lows with no coloring

  • from Ironton, MN June 11, 2015

    Great Mic!

    Sound quality is superb. Hard to go back to other mics we've used in the past.

  • from WI May 1, 2015Music Background:
    Trained singer, pro live sound, rock band, big band singing

    The Go-To

    This is it guys; the $100 vocal mic you need to use for every show by default. I've owned a 58 and an encore 100, and used an OM2, and this is, in my opinion, the best. It's not cloudy, and it's clear, but not piercing or shrill. I've used it for rock and big band now, and it's really done a great job at both.
    Just today, I took off the grill and recorded on it with a windscreen. Wow!!! sounds better on me than my NT2.
    Durability is also solid, I've dropped it a ton of times already, no problems.
    All in all, if I had to pick one mic to run a band I knew NOTHING about with, I'd pick this mic. Pick it up, you'll be glad you did

  • from VA April 19, 2015

    Dynamic Is The Word !!!

    This mic lives up to its write up. It picks up sound and it comes through clear and crisp. Enjoyable to use.

  • from Punta Gorda, Florida April 11, 2015

    Great Deal

    For decades I've been a staunch user and advocate for the Shure SM 58 microphone. Don't get me wrong, the SM 58 is no slouch. A few years ago, I was introduced to a Sennheiser wireless microphone and was blown away by it's performance. I did some research an learned that the wired version was designated e835. So... after accumulating some gift cards I decided to invest them into the purchase of my first Sennheiser microphone, the e835. Needles to say, the performance lived up to my expectations. The e835 is solid, and durably designed. It's sensitive and warm to sing on yet doesn't "explode" the low frequencies. I'm glad I made this purchase and, of course, you can't make a bad deal when you order your gear from Sweetwater. Thanks again Sweetwater for taking good care of me.

  • from Central Ohio March 18, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Pastor, Guitarist, Pianist, Producer

    835s Are Great!

    835s have replaced SM58s as my go-to vocal mic. 'nuf said.

  • from Hollis, NY January 14, 2015Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Excellent Product

    Great product!

  • from MD December 26, 2014

    E 835

    Very good product and good service

  • from December 19, 2014

    Sennheiser e835 package

    Sweetwater delivers again. The mic is great and the stand and chord coming together let me get started right away. Goes great with my Fishman Loudbox.

  • from Carlsbad April 16, 2014Music Background:
    karaoke lover, hobbyist.

    The best!

    I love this microphone, professional quality sound!

  • from Ukiah, CA March 3, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician, singer, songwriter

    Lovin' this mic

    After a few gigs with this mic, I couldn't be happier. I've always used SM 57 & 58's for vocals. No complaints, but this mic has a lighter, breathier timbre, which I'm really enjoying. A very expressive tool. I think it will stand up on the road as I'm not planning on beating it and hoping not to drop it. A tremendous value for the price.

  • from Nashville, TN October 16, 2013Music Background:
    Own a Live Sound Reinforcement Company, Weekend Warrior Guitar Player

    Great Workhourse Mic

    This is not the best dynamic vocal mic you could buy, but it is a great sounding, easy to control, built like a tank, workhorse mic. I have seven. I'm not going to get into the "it's better tha a 58" thing. It's different than a 58. I have a bunch of those too. I personally prefer the e835 in most cases. For the money, especially if you buy the 3 pack, I will say these are the best value on the market.

  • from Nebraska September 11, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Awesome!

    Best mic I've ever heard. I've never heard my voice this way before. Thank you Sweetwater, and thank you Sennheiser!

  • from Ontario Calif. USA July 2, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist ( Worship Leader at church )

    This mic has brought a crisp sound to the vocal's at our church

    Most of the time when a singer sing's they will at one time find themselves not on the mic, they seem to be off center. With this mic we have noticed that if you go off center a little, it still pick's up the vocal's very well. This mic makes your vocal's sound very crisp. We are looking at getting more of these mics.

  • from United States June 1, 2013Music Background:
    PROFESSIONAL LEAD VOCALIST

    SENNHEISER VOCAL MIC

    I love this MIC i have always used a Shure and thought it was the best but a vocal coach recommended the Sennheiser e835 and I am so glad she did. Thank you for your excellent customer service. I am very happy.

  • from West Unity, OH USA May 24, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    One of the best mics I have ever worked with!

    I absolutely love this mic! It made my vocals crystal clear. I own two Beta 58s and this Sennheiser sounds every bit as good as they do if not beter. I can't imagine how good the next level up sounds.

  • from Des Moines, IA May 23, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    e835: Sparkling vocals onstage

    I used a pair of these for my duo, The Blenderz, for several years after using EV 757 mics in the past. For me, successful vocal mic'ing requires a very clean, airy high end for great presence and clarity. While the EV's always did a good job, the sound of these Sennheisers was even more amazing. No matter what you are used to using onstage, these mics are sure to be a step up (or several steps up if you have been using dull-sounding Shure SM-whatevers). And for the price?! There is simply no comparison without spending hundreds more (like on the EV RE200 or similar). I highly recommend this microphone for stage vocals.

  • from Spartanburg, SC March 30, 2013Music Background:
    Producer, Recording and Live Sound Engineer

    AWESOME MIC!

    Purchased these microphones for the church! All I can say is that it changed the whole atmosphere! I recommend this mic to all live performers.

  • from Westfield Ma USA February 20, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbiest,bass player and rhythm guitarist

    Great mic, Great price

    A slight but noticeably warmer sound than the popular mics I've been using for 25 years. I replaced all my band vocal mics (6 mics) with these. Can't beat the price for the quality you are getting

  • from New Jersey September 2, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Pro Musician (Singer, Guitar)

    Great Mic for the Price

    These mics are just great. I have been using them for about 5 years now and purchased them in a 3 pack. At the price of the 3 pack, they are practically giving them away. They blow away Shure Sm58's, which i had used for years prior to that, but was always a bit disappointed with the sound. Since using the e835, my entire band has switched to them, about 4 other musicians that I work with from time to time have switched, and now I am looking at the e945. I will never use anything other than Sennheiser for a live vocal mic again. For this price range, these are as good as it gets and then some.

  • from Renton, WA August 28, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer

    Sennheiser great mics!

    I have been using the e835's and have been pleased with their performance which is slightly higher than the industry standard Shure SM58.

  • from Burlington ND USA January 1, 2012Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior Musician

    Can you say KILLER

    These mikes have an awsome reponse and clarity and I recommend them to all bands.

  • from Tillamook, OR August 22, 2011Music Background:
    Singer, guitar player

    A must have.

    A solid, low noise mic with a very crisp response. I will not buy any other type mic for live play.

  • from December 25, 2010Music Background:
    Recording engineer/producer/artist

    Incredible vocals

    I received an e835 (along with a Samson C03 and an interface) as a gift from my dad a couple years ago, as I was interested in starting a project studio. He researched for a very long time the microphones he selected, reading tons of reviews and listening to samples and videos all over the internet, and he certainly made the right decision. The e835 is a stunning microphone for vocals, and it even saw use for drum overheads for a while and it pulled that off pretty well. It sounds clear and full, exactly what I want for my vocal sound. I occasionally run into problems with sibilance and have to use a de-esser (depends on how I EQ it), so that's something to watch out for. Also, I have almost no experience using it for live performances, so I don't know how well it rejects feedback, but for studio recording on a budget and for small acoustic performances, I am extraordinarily satisfied with my e835. It's an incredible vocal microphone.

  • from Harrisburg PA April 25, 2010Music Background:
    live sound engineer, synth/sequencing engineer, remix guy...

    THIS should be the standard.

    This mic has a clarity and response that kicks the 58's butt. It's durable, and requires less massaging than mics like the 58. I know Shure talks a good game, and the talking has worked for them, but the e835 should be the live handheld standard.

  • from Windsor, Canada May 28, 2009Music Background:
    Singing and recording for about 10 years.

    Clear Sound

    Shure SM 58 and SM 57 don't even come close to this mic. If the company Shure was selling this mic, they would probably sell it for $995.00 plus shipping.

  • from Centralia, WA May 30, 2008Music Background:
    Long time live sound engineer and producer.

    Kick the SM58

    I have always believed in the sm58 as the standard for durability meets quality sound never really blaming it for having to crank my highs on the board to 3 o'clock. On a whim switched to the e835 and started with all knobs at 12 o'clock raised the high to 12:30....low to 12:30 and got a perfect sound from both my voice(bass) and my wifes(suprano)! Insane quality, clarity, and durability. Just pick one up and you'll fall in love.

  • from Mission Hills, CA August 9, 2007Music Background:
    Praise Team Drummer, Songwriter, Audio and Recording Engineer

    Outstanding!

    I bought one of these mics for my wife who is the lead soprano of our churches praise team. She was tired of the handling noise associated with the mics owned by the church which included a bunch of Samson's and a couple of Shure SM58's. I was tired of her vocals being muddied up by the Samsons. The e835 seems to have absolutely no handling noise and the audible difference in the portayal of her vocals is way beyond the capabilities of the Samson's and warmer than the SM58 (and I have always been a fan of the SM58). She loves the look, the feel and the sound of the microphone and the other members of the praise team line up to use her microphone when she is not available to sing. When recording the praise team using my Roland VS2480, I find the quality of the vocals recorded using the e835 to be comparable with my AKG C3000 (and a lot less expensive). By the way, we recently purchased Audio-Technica AT892 MicroSet Headworn microphones to use with our new Sennheiser wireless system. My wife is more than willing to give up her headworn mic to another praise team member in favor of using her e835!

  • from Los Angeles, CA March 24, 2007Music Background:
    Recording Artist, Executive Producer, Emcee

    ALWAYS BRING YOUR OWN MIC!

    I have never seen a better mic than this. I'm an L.A. emcee and I gig a lot of places in the underground scene. Many locations have their own mics which have been used over and over and over again by people who don't know how to hold a mic or treat a mic, so usually, they smell god awful and are busted up or something. At this particular venue in Silver Lake, I have been given the opportunity to do shows with sure sm58's and lesser models, so I have used both the industry club standard and the others.

    When I was warned that you can possibly catch cold sores from these mics being spit on all night before I get on as a headliner, I decided to shell out no less and no more than 100 dollars for a mic at the local music store on Ventura by the studio. I copped it just before my set and I never knew I could sound so good. It almost picked up the flaws in my show. If I forgot a word or two, you heard it. No chance of covering it up in the lack of clarity because there wasn't any. none. I got amped, jumped down off the stage and was dancing around in front of the subs and what not before remembering that that would be a bad idea...

    NOT ONE BIT OF FEEDBACK. NONE.

    If you have 100 dollars to spend on a mic, damn the sure. This is every bit as sturdy, and the clarity is unparalleled.

  • from January 11, 2017Music Background:
    Professional/semi retired

    Fishmann Loudebox

    Very impressed with the range of tone I am getting on this small amp using a Taylor 214 CE Koa - hope to play a bit more in the coming days - been a sluggish and soggy start out here in Northern CA,.

  • from December 31, 2016

    Smooth sounding mic

    I like the smooth sound of this mic thru my PA system. Feedback rejection is very good. A better choice for me in this price range.

  • from San Francisco December 12, 2016Music Background:
    Long time amateur guitarist

    Sennheiser e835 Live Vocal Microphone

    The Sennheiser e835 came in a package deal with the Fishman Loudbox Mini 60 watt acoustic amp. I used it for vocals at a backyard wedding and it worked great. Very affordable as well.

  • from North Alabama April 29, 2016Music Background:
    45 years acoustic guitar student

    just above Great

    Thanks to Sweetwater the price on this mike makes a very good mike even better. Absolutely no complaints.

  • from United States September 7, 2015

    Sennheiser e835

    I have used Shure microphones almost all of music career, (40 + years), a friend told me about these mics, so I bought one. The clarity is unbelievable. I have changed my vocal and guitar amp to Sennheiser now.
    And as always Matt Keager at Sweetwater made everything simple and smooth to get me my product.

  • from macedonia ohio April 3, 2015

    e835 mic

    I haven't used it much but so far it is great.

  • from United States March 31, 2015

    Everything I need.

    Got this mic on Ian's recommendation and it does everything I need. The first night I used it our "soundman" had no trouble setting it up with no feedback, something which my previous mic that this replaced had troubles with. Very satisfied with it.

  • from Near the Hood January 28, 2015Music Background:
    Possessed Hobbyist.

    Good Mic

    I'm not not a real expert on mics... Tested it side by side with my SM-58 and although slightly different, it seems comparable. Looks durable. The mic stand clip is nice and tight.

  • from Bell, California December 30, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Singer and Audio Engineer.

    Excellent mic

    Great mic for professional live sound.
    Clear and very low distortion, excellent for pop music.

  • from Cincinnati, OH December 27, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Sennheiser as usual, TOP NOTCH

    Decent mike, has nice tone and looks good. I have only used this during practice but can't wait to use during live performances.

  • from Seattle, WA November 18, 2014Music Background:
    drummer, live sound engineer, recording engineer

    Stiff competition to the SM58

    I actually prefer the sound of this mic over the industry standard SM58, but I'm sure that is just a matter of taste. I think the sound of this mic would work well on any voice at a live show and I plan on adding a few more of these to my arsenal.

  • from United States May 19, 2014Music Background:
    Church Sound Engineer

    Sennheiser Mic Review

    Great mic. We purchased this mic as a replacement for an older mic and really like the quality and sound. Nice to be able to purchase a quality piece of equipment for such a low price.

    Would recommend highly.

  • from St. Louis, MO February 28, 2014Music Background:
    34 years on stage and behind the console

    Mic sounds like it cost more

    For live sound, put these things wherever you can on the stage. They sound amazing. You won't find a better balanced, better feeling, better sounding mic for $99.

  • from Felicity, ohio, USA December 10, 2013Music Background:
    Do perfomances at my church and some othres.

    The Sennheiser e835 - Switchless

    This microphone produces a good sound, the only reason that I gave it a 4.5 was that it does not have a on/off switch.

  • from Maysville, Ky. December 9, 2013Music Background:
    hobby & church

    sounds great

    I got my Sennheiser e835 on a combo deal and wasn't expecting a Shure Quality mic to be honest. I use a Shure Beta 58 condensor mic normally and compared to that one, I am pleasantly pleased to say the gain of the e835 surpasses it in my tests. I sing baritone harmony with a 4 man band and tried this one against the Shure after trying it at home. Its a great mic and I prefer to use it now.

  • from Lebanon May 16, 2013

    Recommended

    Crispy sound, light weight, great for any performance . Best for the price range.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA March 26, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Great Mic, a little better than the standard SM58

    Only thing that is taking getting used to is the fact that it's a flat end as opposed to the bulbous end of the SM58. Great mic though

  • from Aberdeen, MS. January 6, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Sennheiser e835 top notch

    I have used the SM58 for yrs its been my go to road mic but, the e835 has better high end response without giving up any low end. Its now my new go to. Try it for yourself. You'll see!

  • from Salem, OH December 19, 2012Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Great Road Mic

    I only gave it a 4.5 because I personally don't like the shape of the mic. But it works great - better response than the Shure SM58 and seems to take a beating better also. I would recommend this for all you live sound guys who work for more than one band.

  • from Hales Corners, WI October 17, 2011Music Background:
    None

    Nice!!!

    We're just starting with sound and have a lot of hand me downs. The hand held mic we had was from an electronics store left everything to be desired. When I plugged the Sennheiser e385 in for the first time I was very impressed. Excellent pickup, beautiful, clear sound and a price that fit our budget beautifully.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN July 22, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Great Mic

    I have 3 e845 and this was on sale at Gear Fest and the price was right so I figured I would give it a try. I both the e835 and e845 over the SM58 and Beta58. The mids and highs are a lot more crisp and clear

  • from Tulsa, OK June 22, 2016Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    Great Microphone

    I bought 6 of these and are using them almost every weekend. They sound very good. They are just a bit more sensitive than the Audix mics I was using (i5). They are just that more prone to feedback.

  • from Ohio June 2, 2016Music Background:
    classical, historic, R-n-R, metal

    Sennheiser e835 mic

    This mic was included in the Fishman Loudbox Mini 60W package so I actually paid little to nothing for it - it works very well and produces a clear sound when used with that amp. Haven't tried it in any other capacity, but I am very pleased with what I'm doing with it. Convenient size and shape.

  • from Bloomington Il. May 13, 2016Music Background:
    Deverse

    Very good range

    Really just getting to testing these. But I like the great response from close up to about 12 inches out. Allows us to control our dynamics on our own. They seem very durable too.

  • from Williamsport Pa. 17701 September 27, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar player for over footy years

    Nice mic!

    This mic works very well for voice ,or instrument ....and getting it free as part of the song wrighters package was a big plus !

  • from NC June 3, 2015

    Great Mic for free?

    I got this mic as a bundle from the amp I bought. The price is comparable to shure SM58. I cant complaint cause I got it for free. I still prefer my Electro Voice N/D767a. But its a good back up mic for me.

  • from Indiana March 15, 2015

    Sennheiser e835

    Nice mic for the price. Quality built.

  • from Houston, Texas February 18, 2015Music Background:
    Playing and singing Country Music for 63 years

    Country Western singer

    My Sennheiser e835-Switchlessmic works very well for me. It is so far ahead of the one I have been using for years.I would highly recommend it.

  • from Phoenix, AZ July 6, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Band Leader

    Great Price Great Mics

    For what you pay, these are great live mics that do just about everything I need them to.

  • from Annandale, VA & Knoxville, TN July 5, 2014Music Background:
    Event Production & Musical Services

    Bang for your buck

    This mic is not only a clean looking mic for the corporate events, but it also steps up to the plate with performance. For the money, you can't go wrong with it.

  • from san diego June 26, 2014

    e835 highly recommended

    This is a mic everyone who does live sound should have. It has a more transparent sound than the 58s, perhaps better for multi-part vocal harmonies where things can get stuffy sounding. Between 58s and the e835, you could cover most voices/performances and get a good live sound. For the price, highly recommended and a perfect complement to the 58s.

  • from Madison Heights, MI April 23, 2014Music Background:
    Student, Hobbyist

    Great Mic

    Great microphone for on a budget. Good quality and doesn't really pic up background noise. I plug this into my AudioBox USB and it sounds great! Needs a lot of gain but overall and great mic for live performances and for recording in the studio.

  • from Southern California August 5, 2013Music Background:
    Keyboardist Vocalist pro musician

    Great live vocal mic

    I've been in the biz for over 40 years. I've always used SM58's, unless mics were supplied by sound companies. I know they're not the best sounding mic but it was reliable and sound people knew what to do with it.

    Recently I joined a vocal group playing local venues and using their own system, and they all use Sennheiser e835. So, not to have the odd ball mic, I ordered one from Sweetwater. I immediately noticed a difference in clarity and overall sound quality; very pleasing in my in-the-ear monitor.

    The e835 is now my mic of choice. And the cost is about the same as the 58!

  • from Sarasota County, Florida July 5, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Sennheiser mics - what more can I say?

    I've used Sennheiser products before and found, for the price, they are more than adequate for live performances.

  • from New Hope, PA January 19, 2009Music Background:
    Musician, Producer, Engineer (Live and Studio)

    Good mic, tight pick up pattern

    I just started a new live sound gig where the house has a bunch of these mics. I'm both running sound through the PA and recording the performances. The sound of this mic is truly excellent. It doesn't have the midrange peak of an SM58 which in general is a plus as far as I am concerned.

    My only problem with it is that the pick up pattern seems more hyper-cardioid than cardioid. Singers really have to be "on mic" or they completely disappear. I've had a few singers who are used to working a 58 a certain way and it doesn't come off with this mic. That said, I also have had zero feedback issues so take your pick. I think singers in general probably prefer 58s but engineers will prefer this mic.

    Again, when the singer is properly on mic the sound is truly great. Better than a 58 in my opinion.

    I still have yet to audition the Audix stuff, but it's all hypercarioid stuff too and I'm really leaning away from that these days. A wider pick up pattern sounds more natural. If the monitors are properly rung out it shouldn't be a problem.

    Interesting that Shure has released cardioid versions of basically all their mics from beta 58s to even the beta 87.

  • from St.NIcole,Macedonia September 5, 2006Music Background:
    Hard Rock Singer and sloppy bass player:)

    e835 is 2nd e865 is no.1!!!

    Neglect Shure like some "don`t wanna have step child" because this is your proffesional and only choice for pro and beginners!Try singing axl rose`s songs on shure?NOT POSSIBLE!!David coverdale uses this EXCALIBUR so you dont need more questions..Its flaws are hardly any cause this baby makes your voice sound like a opera frontmen singin in Iron Maiden:) Imagine that..Simple its Awesome.But comparing to its younger brother e865..he is only older:) I can now sing everything:G`N`R,Whitesnake,Maiden,purple,zeppelin you name it! and sounds realy great!.The gigs are now my dream come true,no more SHURE NIGHTMARES!!My oppinion for shure:ONLY for weadings!:)Thank you sennhizer.Long live sennheizer

  • from Iowa January 13, 2017Music Background:
    3192770297

    Good Mic

    As advertised and sounds fine.

  • from Hillsdale , MI November 11, 2014

    Great Mic

    This is a really great mic for its price range. Stands up to the good ol' SM58 in every respect.

  • from Chesapeake, Va. February 12, 2014Music Background:
    Soloist. Been singing since I was 13, am now 75.

    Needs more work

    This mike has great sound. It works well in all ranges and my recordings are excellent. That was until I dropped it and the quality was gone. It's a great microphone, but don't drop it.

  • from June 27, 2015Music Background:
    Recording guitarist/vocalist

    Good, but prone to popping

    I agree its better than the venerable SM58. Frequency response is good - low end holds up well and it has the typical 6 dB rise around 5 kHz which gives some crispness to vocals. It sounds great, but It seems prone to popping on plosives ("P" consonants), much more than my favorite mic, Audio Technica AE 6100. Proximity effect is there but not as pronounced as some other mics. I recommend using the 75-80 Hz high pass filter many preamps & mixers offer. There is nothing of interest below 100 Hz for vocals, and this would help reduce plosive popping..

  • from Los Angeles, CA February 24, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Sound Engineer and Musician.

    Sound Great, but don't last

    This mic sounds great - excellent clarity. The windscreen and body are very durable - they do not show wear easily. Compared to a 58, they sound better and hold up better aesthetically.

    My main gripe - I have owned 5 of these for about 5 years, and have had two simply stop working. Meanwhile the 58's that I have that are all beat up and look like they were bought in the 70's are still working great. I am going back to 58's to replace the e835's that go out.

  • from Honolulu March 16, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Electronics Technician

    Broke after one use

    The microphone failed after a single use. The mic dropped from a height about 5 feet from the mic stand to the stage floor. No apparent damage to the outside of the mic but we found the internal coil near the diaphragm "opened" and unrepairable. Can't beat the Shure SM58 for durability.

  • from North Carolina May 6, 2016Music Background:
    Professional singer, songwriter, studio owner

    My e835 does not sound good.

    I received my e835 as part of a package deal with the LoudBox Mini. I have tried to use the mic on several occasions. The output level before feedback is just not good. In addition, there is a distortion in the signal when you sing right on top of it. I have A/B'd with other mics and there is no distortion with the same setup. It may be a bad capsule... So be careful when you buy this mike and make sure you get one that works!!!!!

  • from Rochester, WA July 1, 2004

    Forget anything else

    Absolutely the best starting level professional mic I've ever used, and ridiculously under-rated. I'd say there are a trifecta of microphone companies that rule the roost right now, as far as live applications go, and in my opinion, those are Shure, Audix, and Sennheiser. Each of those companies has their standard start-level mic. Shure has the "industry standard" blah blah SM58. Don't get me wrong, this mic is absolutely bulletproof, and definitely sounds better than several other mics for under $100. Feedback rejection? Not really. Muddy? Absolutely.

    Audix has the OM2. A step up with feedback rejection and clarity... BUT...

    Sennheiser has the e835. In my opinion, there is no better mic for $100. Amazing feedback rejection, excellent clarity (for a cardioid dynamic) and absolutely invincible all metal design. Let me give you an example of a show that covers all the bases...

    I have the wireless version, so I run all over the place. Just last night, I jumped offstage, in front of the big mains and only got a slight squeal of feed back when I ran by 4 feet in front of the main with the side of the mic facing the speaker. I turned and faced the main, and it stopped. That's great rejection. After the show, my bandmates told me they could actually hear me clearly and loudly. That's great clarity.

    Obviously comparing these mics to anything higher up (i.e. beta58, OM5-6-7, e865) simply isn't fair. But at this level, Sennheiser wins.

Questions about the Sennheiser e835 Live Vocal Microphone?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close