rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Sennheiser e609 Silver Reviews

4.5 stars based on 73 customer reviews
Questions about the Sennheiser e609 Silver?

Questions about the Sennheiser e609 Silver?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Jeffrey Green

    This is such a great mic for mic'ing guitar cabinets. No cabling connectors stick out to get bumped and the sound is very focused without getting pointy or woofy. The price point makes this sonic-upgrade a hard mic to pass up when comparing it to the long time standard.

  • Mark Thompson

    Low on funds and looking to record your best guitar solo ever? Instead of following everyone else and buying the obvious brand for a little less money, reward yourself with an audio upgrade to the E 609 Silver. Your ears will still love you in the morning.

  • from May 30, 2017

    Impressive

    The sharpness and clairity of this microphone is very impressive! Especially for the cost. No regrets in purchasing this. Highly recommend!

  • from Owosso Mi April 24, 2017

    Sennheiser e609 Silver

    Great communication, lightning shipping, top notch help all adds up to a perfect transaction. Permanent customer!

  • from Johnson City, TN February 6, 2017

    Great!

    Excellent mic, I had to make a choice between this and the Shure sm57, which I have owned before, and decided to go with this. No regrets from me! I mainly recording an EVH 5150 iii 50watt and it handles the extremely high gain very well.

    Highly recommend!

  • from Brazoria Co, TX November 7, 2016Music Background:
    Noob

    Great Cab Mic

    I had some cheap vocal mics that did OK, but lacked bottom end sensitivity and, because my 1x12 cab is on an angled stand, I always had to watch out for the mic stand whenever I turned on/adjusted/plugged in /etc with my amp. This mic picks every nuance from my cab, so recordings sound just like the real thing, and now the floor space in front of my amp is clear of trip hazards.

  • from sevierville, tn October 19, 2016Music Background:
    over 30 years

    Had 1, wanted more

    I've had one of these for recording my guitar amp. I used to use the sm57, these did not have the noise that I have come to expect in sm57's. I got two more for drum mics they are extremely good for this as well, as I have come to find out. I will buy more when budget allows for all the drum heads.

  • from MD October 10, 2016

    Sennheisere 609 Silver

    These mics are great! I own 3 of them and use them every week.

  • from Champaign, IL September 16, 2016

    Great Microphone!!!!

    I love this microphone. It's so easy to set up, with less room for error. I use this, and a SM57 to mic my second guitar amp (for stereo sound). I would say that I'm equally impressed (if not more) with this microphone. It does not require a mic stand, but you can use one if you have one.

    Sweetwater sent this out to me promptly and I had it in a day. Awesome service and great supportólike always!!!

  • from wicomico, VA July 22, 2016

    Better than s57

    great sound and no stand!!!!

  • from July 14, 2016Music Background:
    4+ years

    Sennheiser e609

    Let us just say this is exactly what I was looking for in a microphone for recording an amp. This is close to an SM57 however, without the need for a stand. Now since I got this mic, I actually record my amp with both mics, as that allows me to capture all of the sound of the amp while recording. The SM57 I have pointed and the direct middle, with the e609 off to one side. Works and sounds great!

  • from Somewhere in Colorado... July 10, 2016Music Background:
    touring/recording/licensing/MI industry

    What you hear is what you get

    You really can't beat what you get for the price. We used to mic amps with these for live shows when I was touring, and they always did a great job with rejecting stage noise and being the simplest to setup- so I finally decided to come back to them for mic'ing things up for my own studio- and I have to say that after years of futzing with 57s and condensers and off/on axis etc.- it is INSANE to be hanging a mic over my vox amp and pretty much not thinking about it after that. The tone I hear in the room is what goes down on tape/hard drive/whatever future thing we find ourselves using- I typically send it through a Neve 88RS emulation in my UA interface- but even without it, the results sit exactly where I need them in the mix and the only EQing I find myself doing after is purely for the aesthetic of the production or the needs of the mix.
    Obviously, you won't record something better than you put in- so if your rig is noisy or your interface/mixer is a nightmare, these probably won't fix that- but if you are tone obsessed and have already invested in clean power supplies etc., you'll be happy- and you'll probably slap yourself periodically for not doing this sooner.
    So... you know... get this. You'll be back to buy more of them...

  • from July 3, 2016Music Background:
    Recording Technician

    A $100 dollar mic for a $1000 tone !

    Since I record guitar amps with the e609 (and the e906 too) I can't hardly think of a safe alternative. They deliver a fantastic "ready to mix" tone out of any amplifier. I hardly need to eq too much. The curve is great !

  • from Clarksburg, WV June 25, 2016

    Great Guitar Mic

    Great mic for any kind of guitar speaker cabinet you use it on. And to be clear it does not sound like a Shure SM57. They are both great mic's but different in just about every way possible. First off the way you can use the mic - instead of using a mic stand, you can simply run the cord through the handle and hang the mic where you want in front of the speaker. It is very light on weight and streamline. Making it easy to use just about anywhere. The Sennheiser e609 delivers a lot of punch but also has a more even tone from top to bottom than the 57. Note: This is nothing against the SM57 because I use both. The e609 has a lot of mid range clarity that is all its own. I have used the e609 for scratch vocal take when recording demo's and works really well. Very different compared to my Shure SM7 that I normally use but it has a flat response with out much color and is very clear. If you want a great mic you would not go wrong purchasing the Sennheiser e609.

  • from Nashville, TN January 11, 2016

    One bad *** Mic!

    I wasn't sure about this mic when I bought it to mic my various guitar amps, but since I've been using it I can say that it reproduces my tone perfectly (Fender & Vox amps)... Love It! This thing is small and really light.

  • from NC November 27, 2015Music Background:
    Professional

    Great for any application!

    Great microphone for a nice crisp, clean tone. You won't get the signature sound of a 57, but that's not what it's made for. Find the sweet stop on your speaker, hang or place the mic, and you're good to go!

  • from October 25, 2015

    This is what it sounds like when lightening strikes!

    Two days ago, we recorded an outstanding tenor sax player using the e609. The results? The musician who recorded the tracks LOVED the way his sax sounded. I have used this microphone on snare drum with great success. It's a great way to minimize hi-hat bleed. Of course, it sounds amazing on almost any guitar amp you put it on. This can be an excellent microphone to begin with if, you are going for that trashed out AM radio sound as, a vocal effect. I've owned an e609 for over 10 years. Trust me, this is no one trick pony, it's a workhorse. Buy at least one, you won't be sorry.

  • from Florida August 17, 2015

    Works Perfect

    Used this mic for the first time this weekend, was awesome

  • from bethel,ohio January 15, 2015Music Background:
    guitar and drums

    Great mic

    GReat alternative to the sm57. I use both depending on the amp.

  • from Los Angeles, CA November 3, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Best Microphone for Guitar Amps

    I've been using Shure SM57 to mic guitar amps for years, but the Sennheiser e609 sounded a tad better in capturing the tone of a Marshall stack. Pair it with a condenser microphone and you're set in having a great guitar tone.

  • from Phoenix, AZ August 14, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist

    Nice mic

    perfect mic for my amp

  • from Houston August 12, 2014Music Background:
    pro

    Sennheiser E609 mic

    It doesn't get any better. Been using an sm57 which finally died...decided to move up to the only thing better...got the best!

  • from NC January 12, 2014Music Background:
    Worship leader, ex studio musician

    Awesome!

    I will first say that I've always been an sm57 guy. But upon reading reviews, I decided to go against everything is know and pick this mic up. I am completely BLOWN AWAY. If your on the fence about picking this mic up. Just buy it. You won't regret it!

  • from Ann Arbor, MI January 2, 2014Music Background:
    musician & recording engineer

    Sennheiser e609 mic is excellent

    This mic is an outstanding value for guitar amp sound. I got it predominantly for live sound, but am now also using it in the studio.
    It has a good balanced sound, and is easy to use as it doesn't require a mic stand: just hang it in front of your speaker and you're good to go.
    I use a boutique tube amp, and I feel that it captures the rich tone and dynamics accurately. Sure, you can find better mics for studio applications, but they will cost substantially more.
    If you are playing live or doing your own studio recording on a budget, and can only get one mic, than this is the mic to have.
    For studio recording, I pair the e609 with a Rode NT1-A condenser mic, and get outstanding sound. For live sound, I just use the e609.

  • from Winters, Texas December 20, 2013Music Background:
    I have been a musician for over 50 years playing and singing at a pro level for many of those years. I ran a live sound system business for a number of years setting up systems for up to 7500 people. I play keyboards, pedal steel, dobro, 6&12 string guita

    e609 mike

    We are using the e609 mikes on all the amps in our cowboy church band including: Guitar, mandolin, pedal steel guitar, Fiddle,dobro, and acoustic bass. the sound we are getting thru the mixing board is excellent! The mikes are well built and easy to setup. This was a great investment and good use of the church money.

  • from United States November 20, 2013Music Background:
    Tech Director

    Great Mic, Great Price

    Really happy with this mic. Excellent quality, built well and sounds really good for a mic in this price range

  • from Maryland USA March 2, 2013Music Background:
    Recording and Live Sound Engineer

    Much Better Than I Expected

    I used this mic doing rythym and lead guitar tracks in the studio. Recorded the same tracks with another popular mic that I have been using for quite sometime. I was quite supprised at the difference in sound comparing both mics during playback. The e609 has a much warmer and less compressed sound than the other mic being compaired.
    I hignly recommend you to give this mic a try. I think you will be quite pleased with the results. I may have to add one or two more to my mic box.

  • from Michigan August 6, 2012Music Background:
    Performer, Educator, Recording Hobbyist

    Outstanding mics

    What a great mic! I use these to mic steel pans from above on a very loud stage. Previously used 57's or 58's placed below. All of our FOH engineers are absolutely blown away by the difference. Less bleed, warmer sound, no feedback issues...you name it. Obviously an industry standard for guitar cabs, and fantastic for this application as well.

  • from Knoxville, TN May 14, 2012Music Background:
    Audio Engineer, Live & Studio

    Where squares fit into circles.

    Incredible clean sounding microphones tuned perfectly for guitars. The mics are idiot proof and a no brainer. Stickem' on a stand or drape it over the cab, can't go wrong. Sounds great when you put one on the front of the cab and another behind the speaker, just don't forget to flip that phase or you'll be like, "Huh?, that can't be right." Great for horns and trumpets too! This mic will remind you why sm57's are only a standard but not a must have. If you have some extra moolah, add a couple of these puppies to your rig.

  • from February 8, 2012

    Great Mic!

    Got this to capture all the body from my Dr. Z Maz 18. Perfect

  • from Buena Vista, CO USA September 5, 2011Music Background:
    Serious Hobbyist

    Guitar Amp Mic

    I give it 5 Stars because it does exactly what is supposed to and is VERY convenient (No extra mic stand). I can not tell the difference between this mic and the standard SM57. So...Great Mic!

  • from Chicago February 2, 2011Music Background:
    Weekend warrior!

    Perfect live mic!

    This mic cannot be any easier. Put in in front of your amp, listen, adjust and ignore. I cannot speak to studio usages. My amp sounds like "my amp mic'd" going through the mains! No noticeable coloration. And aweomely, no stand in front of my amp to deal with anymore!

    Like all mics the proper placement and EQ'ing is important. I find the amp's sweet-spot usually on the first go and at the board it's a breeze. Start flat, find the proper mic point, and carve out anywhere that's not exactly perfect!

    I found problems at first when I didn't realize that if the amp is tilted the mic can move or if the cable has too much memory it can twist. Easy solves! (duct tape)

  • from Louisville Ky June 7, 2017Music Background:
    Semi-pro

    Great mic for guitar amps

    What can I say, a great design allowing you to place the mic right against the speaker and without the use of an amp mic stand!
    Specs are comparable to the other brand but the flat design will allow for better placement. Been wanting to try one for a couple of years now, I'm glad I took the plunge. You know what they say, sometimes less is more. Smaller mic but big in sound! Try one today!

  • from Phoenix April 26, 2017Music Background:
    Pro guitarist

    Sennheiser e609 Silver

    Great for micing guitar amps!

  • from February 15, 2017Music Background:
    Promoter

    It Is Better not Best.

    They have added a few tweaks to the old model though i was very impressed when i purchased for use; for me i would say I always did prefer the old versions.

  • from Half of the country January 10, 2017Music Background:
    Semi pro

    Great mic

    Don't laugh. I used it in front of a fender champion 40 for a clean sound gig several times and its great!

    Also in front of a Mesa recto cab balls out live.

    Very good cab mic.

  • from Montana June 30, 2016

    Great Mic

    Sounds good in various positions when mic'ing amp. Very natural sound. If sound is good it will come thru.

  • from woodlawn, TN June 12, 2016

    Nice mic

    Sounds great transfers my amp to pa perfectly

  • from woodlawn, TN May 15, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist / musician

    Great guitar mic

    Transmits my amp sound perfectly so small and powerful dynamics are great I would recommend for any serious guitar player.

  • from Pittsburgh March 30, 2016

    Best guitar cab mic

    Love the 609, sounds great and reproduces the cab tone fantastic. Also more flexible on placement. Clearer tighter response than a 57, and better than the more expensive 906.

  • from February 20, 2016

    Sennheiser e 609

    The Sennheiser 609 is a great microphone for miking guitar cabinets and drums. Although I am sure it might be used for more than that. I was having an issue recording drums with a SM 57/58 and did not want to use 421s for some clients because of the profile. The 609 has a lower profile and gives a flatter response than 57/58s and takes high DB levels, is clean and is built solid well worth the going price.

  • from Plymouth Indiana December 16, 2015

    Sennheiser e609 Silver

    Performs as advertised. I mic my Peavey Vypyr 2 through church PA. Way more accurate sound than going direct to PA. Very pleased especially at this price point!!

  • from Florida November 24, 2015Music Background:
    Play out 3 to 4 times per month

    Micing my amp just got easier.

    I bought the e609 to replace a broken SM57 and I'm glad I did. The Senn is much easier to dial in a sweet spot, and not as critical for placement.

  • from March 19, 2015

    This is a killer microphone!

    I had to give this 4.5 stars because it requires a proprietary clamp (it comes with it) if you wanna use it on a stand. If you lose that clamp, I dunno how long it's gonna take to get a new one. Sure, You can hang this mic over the top of the amp but that's not a position I would use.

    The mic itself is astoundingly accurate for recording guitars and has cut my tweaking time down dramatically. Why? Because unlike my Shure SM57, it handles the correct dynamic range for mid-range instruments. This is an affordable home run for Sennheiser.

  • from NC February 18, 2015Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Sound Designer, Active Musician

    Real Performer

    So, I've owned my e609 for a bout 7 years. Used it for a show last week, just to show you it's still 100%.
    I've used it in the studio, but that's not it's forte. I pair it with an AKG 414 for some heavy rhythmic tones but this mic belongs on the road!
    I'm a fan of Shure sm47's but this mic just really works with my set up. the ease of use and how quickly you can just set it over the cab can make a big difference.
    The Sound:
    It is a bit raspy (treble happy) but in reality that's the kind of signal that the board operator wants and can work with. I've tried it with some snares just to see how it sounded and thought it was pretty good but still better off just throwing on a guitar cab.

    All in all, Fantastic guitar mic, road worthy and dependable, just don't try to get creative with this one.

  • from Kimberly, Idaho August 4, 2014Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior

    Sennheiser e609 Silver

    I had been borrowing one of these from a friend for home recording. Decided to buy one for myself. Easy to use without a mic stand by draping the cable over the amp. Nice quality made in Germany.

  • from Chattanooga TN May 21, 2014Music Background:
    Venue Production Manager

    Great ROS - Return on Sound

    This mic is a great alternative to the Shure SM57 for micing guitar cabinets. The reproduction of sound is accurate and it can handle high SPL without distortion. I like the low profile and ease of placement. This mic works well on a Z-bar or mic stand.

  • from Geneseo, IL December 19, 2013Music Background:
    Home recording enthusiast, song writer, Parttime Pro

    Nice Mic

    Sweetwater comes threw again with a great price.
    Bought this to use in my home studio, mainly in an isolation cab.
    A/B with an SM57, in the iso cab, this mic to my ears has a much fuller sound. No harsh top end.
    Using it to mic up an Egnater Rebel 30 combo and single coils, open air, it picks up that top end tinkle you hear.
    this has become my new go to mic for guitar amps.

  • from Johnstown, PA October 10, 2013

    Sounds Great

    I like it a lot and still working with it, have not found the perfect placement yet to duplicate the sound of the amp, but it is getting close.

  • from Prosper, Texas April 24, 2013Music Background:
    long time amateur musician

    great amplifier microphone

    This is an amp mic. I've been using an SM 57, but this has a flatter more linear sound, thus less coloration. It's not as versatile is the 57, but for amplifier Miking, it's much better.

  • from Rochester, MN March 15, 2013Music Background:
    Professional musician

    Sennheiser e609 Silver

    I wish I hadn't waited so long to buy this mike. I'm a professional guitarist and for decades have used the traditional Shure 57 on a small boom mic.
    Not only is the e609 WAY more convenient (no mic stand needed), it has a very faithful sound. My amp comes through the PA more accurately.

  • from Quail Valley,CA July 26, 2006Music Background:
    Guitarist, Live and Recording Engineer

    Versitile!!!!!!!

    Though I've herd pepole say good and bad things about the e609 from sennheiser using it is the real test. It when used close on a cabnit brings great clarity for live sound. And I've used it on kick drums and cajons as well as other percusion, though it would not be my first choice it preformed great with proper setup and a little tunning. This is a great large diaphram mic.

  • from Salt Lake City, UT USA June 21, 2006Music Background:
    Recording Artist/Producer

    SWEET!

    It took all but 10 minuets of tinkering to get this mic to sound good. I have read reviews that claim it to be "boomy", or "mid-rangy". I have found that a tiny boost in the high shelf (+2 or 3 db), will bring out the best in this mic. The low end and mid-range can go untouched. Or you can use subtractive EQ to acquire the same effect. It sounds very full, clear and transparent. I cant wait to try it out on some percussion instruments. I am very happy with this mic. I will likely buy one more.

  • from Oklahoma June 14, 2017Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Good for the price!

    Good mic, great clarity

  • from August 29, 2016

    Nice

    Great for up close and personal with louder volumes. At lower volumes I would not recommend this mic. Sennheiser mics have proven to be good workhorses for me for the past couple of decades, hoping this will perform the same.

  • from Cincinatti April 6, 2015Music Background:
    Player

    Sennheiser e609

    I like this mic. It works well I may buy another.

  • from Seattle, WA November 18, 2014Music Background:
    drummer, live sound engineer, recording engineer

    Does what it's supposed to, really well!

    This sounds great on guitar amps and is very sensitive to the "sweet spot", in a good way. It picks up every nuance so you can really change the sound depending on where you place it.

  • from Indiana October 17, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Recording Engineer, Guitarist

    Live Sound

    I haven't had a chance to shoot out with the sm57, but one thing I love about this mic is its ability to lie flat on the grill by hanging the cable through the handle loop of many amps. Now this might seems superficial, but in a live situation, sometimes stands can be limited. and a full band with brass section and 5 vox might push that limitation. This fact of hanging the mic can get you out of a few sticky situations. Tonally, I have had zero problem with getting a good guitar tone out of these live.

  • from sacramento ca. July 1, 2013Music Background:
    Live sound engineer

    Easy to use

    Great mic for guitar cab good clean sound

  • from United States January 27, 2013Music Background:
    Ammeter Producer/Engineer, home studio owner

    Solid, Versitile

    Solid mic, good with guitar amp. Has a sound that is as good but distinct from the SM 57. I'm also currently using it on a project to add some punch to a kick drum since the cheap kick mic I had was nothing but bass so it definiitely has other uses around the studio.

  • from Miller, MO USA April 9, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician, Recording Engineer

    Sennheiser e609 Silver

    A great little mic for the money.
    Use it on my amp to record my fiddle and it's so much better than trying to record direct. Will recommend it to all my friends.

  • from Michigan December 19, 2011Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician

    Not only, but also. . .

    As a singing drummer I was looking for a very low profile mic I could position in front of my mouth without protruding out and getting smacked with a stick. I also wanted a mic that minimized bleed from the snare, etc. Just for the heck of it I tired the e609 and, with a tiny bit of EQ, it worked surprisingly well. I know it's not marketed as a vocal mic and it may not suit every voice but it sure solved my problems quite nicely.

  • from Somerville,ma July 14, 2009Music Background:
    musician

    this mic has balls!

    I just received this mic and put it right to work. Nice clarity, put it right up to the guitar cab and it sounded good you can't compare it to a 57 but it definateley has BALLS.

  • from Springfield, OH July 16, 2006Music Background:
    Recording engineer, pro musician

    Just what I was looking for!

    I have previously owned and ran a project studio some 10 years ago and now am getting back into it again. So, I'm in the early stages of aquiring some decent mics. My first project was to find a good mic for guitar amps. In the past I had always used SM57's and found them capable but not exactly the best. I wanted something this time around that wouldn't color the sound as much as an SM57. Well with this E609 I have found just that. It has all that familliar bite and attack of an SM57 but it stays less colored or compressed just like I wanted. So far I haven't had to add any EQ on my guitar tracks with this mic, it is just perfect for my taste. I have mixed it with a condeser mic to give it a more airy feel which worked out great. This is my first experience with Sennheiser mics and after such a great response I got my eyes on some others to check out now.

  • from Colorado July 31, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Recording Enthusiast

    Andy

    The e609 is a good mic. It gets the job done, looks good and is convenient. I think a lot of it's popularity is due to the form factor. Just hang it in front of your grill - no mic stand required - ver rock n roll. However, if you want to upgrade to a great guitar cab mic, spend a little more and get an MD421. Sounds better, more versatile - just don't let your drummer near it or you won't get it back. But, if this is how far your budget will stretch, it will get you heard nicely.

  • from NY May 11, 2009Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    A More Convenient 57.

    Thats all it is. Doesn't sound any better or any worse.

  • from Nappanee,IN November 29, 2014Music Background:
    live, and studio

    senn e509

    Awesime tonaliity, great respones. Thanks Matt!!

  • from Grand Rapids, MI USA October 5, 2010Music Background:
    Professional Recording Engineer and Live sound Engineer

    Expected more.

    I bought this mic along with some SM57's to have a little bit of variety in my collection. For guitars I'm not all that thrilled by it. It seems to have a nasally tone to it. The 57's have a bit more bite in the high end. I feel that it could do well for rhythm guitar tracks though. I have had a little more luck on drums though. Under the snare worked great and it also worked on a toms pretty well too. It's shape makes it nice for different situations too.

  • from Portland, In. September 4, 2010Music Background:
    Home Studio Recordist/Musician

    No Wow, But Nice

    I read an article in Recording magazine about how to avoid frequency build up in your guitar tracks and the most simple solution was to not mic everything with a SM57. So thus the reason for buying thismic. I did a shoot-out of sorts and ran both through my Grace m101 pre into a Presonus Comp 16. The Sennheiser was better at capturing the lower frequencies, and that was about the only difference my ears could discern. I would buy this mic again because I believe it is simply a different brush with which to paint my musical canvas.

  • from Nashville, TN February 1, 2013Music Background:
    Recording, Mixing, and Mastering Engineer

    Not a Guitar Mic, but...snare, maybe?

    Relatively speaking, the e609 silver should be able to compare with a Shure SM57. It does (well, sort of). It competes in the same sort of range and tonality, but it's very brittle and nasal with even a half-stack amp blasting into it. I tried this mic on several different cabinets, at many different positions and distances. On it's own it just sounded incredibly hyped in the highs. Very shrill and ear-piercing for me. Paired with a Royer, we found some better, but still not 100% useable results. So, personally, I wouldn't use it on a guitar at all. What did, however have great success with was the bottom of a snare drum! Depending on the snare, of course, but paired with an SM57 on the top, some great overheads, and the e609 Silver on the bottom, we found it to really shine exactly where we needed it to! I don't regret buying this mic at all. For the price, it's a great alternative to the 57, and can serve up a little brighter when you need a little more grit.

  • from Kalamazoo, MI June 14, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Something to consider

    My goal is to get the sound I hear from the amp through the microphone.Close mic'ing will naturally compromise the sound somewhat. Head to head with a SM57 this mic degrades the tone more significantly. But that is a matter of personal taste. This mic can be useful, tracks can sit well in the mix. There are a few things to consider. This mic likes amps that are running "Loud", it does not sound good in the center of the speaker,and the low end bump does not enhance your sound. This mic is easier to set up than any other,
    and placement is critical for the sound. ( When is it not?) I do know you
    can get good results with this mic, but it is not without issues.

  • from Portland, OR January 30, 2011Music Background:
    recording engineer / musician

    Not a fan

    I just don't like the sound of this mic on a guit cab nearly as much as a 57. I also find it easier and quicker to get a good sound out of a 57.

  • from Seattle, WA September 28, 2006Music Background:
    full time engineer

    No MD-409

    First, for the price, the 609 silver is an OK mic for certain things.
    But just to clear any confusion that this might be the alternative to finding an original MD 409, it is not. (I haven't heard an e906. Maybe it's better.) Just to remind myself, I went back out to the studio to compare them side by side again on electric guitar. Compared to a 409, the 609 silver is nothing like it. The 409 sounded natural, balanced and full. It sounded like my guitar going though my amp. The 609 is voiced quite differently. The low end bump is voiced much higher into the (honky) low mids, and there is a sharp high peak that sounds pretty edgy and unnatural to me. The strangest thing is compared to the 409, and other mics I put up, the tone of the 609 almost sounds like something is partly out of phase. Odd. I went in there trying to like it again, but I just reminded myself why I haven't used it in a while. For even less money, I'd get an Audix i5 if you want something different than your 57's. Or just be done with it and get yourself a Royer! :-)

  • from Chandler, AZ July 1, 2005

    Versatile and Useful

    I am not a big fan of just dropping a 609 down in front of a guitar cab, but I like a bit more space between the microphone and the speakers, just to let it breath a bit. My favorite electric guitar sound is with an Sm57 aimed near the dust cap and the 609 our near the edge to catch some low end depth. Big and full sound!
    My favorite application for this microphone is on snare drum. It simply cuts through the mix. Solo the snare and you will be thinking to yourself, "this is just ripping my head off." I have never found it's equal in this application.

  • June 1, 2005

    not for me

    This mic is quickly becoming a staple in studios, stages, and amp simulator plugins. Personally, I don't love Sennheiser mics. And this is no exception. In a shootout with 57s, U87 clones,EV Pl6 mics and a bunch of others, this one sounded way midrangy. little bottom. Almost boinky. It can handle the SPLs though. and its it might be just the thing for someone.

Questions about the Sennheiser e609 Silver?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway