0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Sennheiser e604 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Sennheiser e604?

Questions about the Sennheiser e604?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from July 19, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-pro

    Drumking

    Sounds great on my toms and snare!!!!!! It's a great mic and very versatile.

  • from GA May 27, 2016Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Engineer, Church Systems Design

    It's a great Percussion Mic, too!

    Just to add to the conversation with something different-- I absolutely love the sound I get from these mics on hand percussion. I use these guys on bongos, congas, djembe, front of a cajon... Picks up the nuisances of the percussionist very well in live performances without feedback issues. The tone is clear, snappy without being harsh, yet gets the mid-range tones with good presence so that the earthy tones of hand percussion comes through the mix.

    Embarrassing True Story: One of these little guys snuck into my laundry once, and survived the washing machine! I was sure I had killed one of my favorite mics, but after giving it a couple days to be sure it dried out, I plugged it up and it worked fine. Under critical listening, it did sound a bit different after soap and water, but not enough to bother with. Once back in the rotation, I never could tell from FOH which of those three e604s took the plunge.

    Bought them originally for an alternate sound on drums (we also have Audix DP7 kit, and BeyerDynamic TG Drum Set Pro XL, plus add ins like a self made speaker mic, a Sennheiser e602, and Shure SM57). There's no 'best' they are all just different. I switch them up depending on the drummer and the type of set. On toms they're a good midline between the punchiness of the Audix d2 / d4 and the clean D58c. For snare, it's really the snare-- we have a few snare drums that roll through the rotation, and I vary the SM57, 5i, D58c, and e604 depending... Okay, actually, I use the D58c on the bottom of a snare, and vary the other three on the top. Certainly give them a try and see if they fit the sound you're going for.

  • from April 3, 2016

    Sennheiser e604

    Great for snare drum, absolute must have.

  • from October 2, 2015

    Great buy!

    Great microphone for the price, along with great customer service.

  • from Elko,NV January 7, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    I Love this mics for Drums

    The e604 uses a capsule similar to the MD421. You can recreate the drum tone with a natural roll off on the highs. I use it to get that clean/deep tom sound. I love the frequency range it offers. I also like this mic for distorted guitars in certain cases. The new e604 has a better shock mount than the older one.

  • from Saint Paul,VA. July 17, 2007Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    The e 604 and the may mic setup

    You guys will not believe the sound this setup makes. I've been drumming now for 12 years and I'm blown away by the sound quality. The sm 57 were my first choice, always, untill a friend let me here his setup w// the 604's. Well' that did it!!! and when I heard bout the May mic system, that just put it over the top!! I play aggressive, and the clip-on style just got in my way of playing. If you're a real drummer, and want to get rid of all the "in the way mics", then the may mic w/ the e604's are the way to go!!

  • from Illinois February 28, 2007Music Background:
    Engineer(Live/Studio), Percussionist, Hobbyist, Student

    WOW

    The absolute best tomtom mic for THUNDEROUS DRUMS....period. Sounds great on metal/rock guitar too!

  • from July 18, 2015Music Background:
    home recording studio 10+ years

    Used these for years

    I had 4 of these that I used for well over 10 years. They work well and hold up. I had to buy a replacement after one of the took one too many direct hits... but after 10 years I cannot complain. I use these on toms and have never had an issue.

  • from Portland, OR USA July 9, 2012Music Background:
    Producer

    Essential

    Really awesome mic for high or low toms. Brings out the body and warmth. An essential mic for making a recorded drum kit sound great.

  • from Tampa, FL July 3, 2012Music Background:
    Professional Full time Recording Engineer/Producer

    "Plug n' Play"

    I have long loved the sound of MD421s on toms (and kick for that matter) so when these came out and claimed to offer at least a little of that mojo in a compact package I was very interested. I've been around them a lot and know them to be great mics, but never owned my own until recently. I love that this is a versatile mic that can be used with good results on a lot of stuff other than just toms - snare, amps, horns, even kick. This is the type of mic that seems to work with very little effort.

    I recently put this on a steel snare with a coated head and without touching a thing it was just an absolutely fantastic sound. Crisp, good body, nice fundamental and just the right amount of ring to it. I tried a couple of other mics next to it and they both required substantially more EQ to sit right in the mix than did the E604 track.

    Love it. gotta have more.

  • from Chandler, AZ July 1, 2005

    The best dynamic microphone for drums

    Sound-wise, the 604 sounds similar to the SM57. But it is definately better because of the 604's very fast transient response. I have used SM57s as overheads and pretty much hated the sounds because everything sounded so closed and dead. 604's (taken off their shock mounts) work wonderfully as overheads (sounding very similar to condenser microphones), I have used them as very small podium microphones, with an SM57 windscreen over them they look very clean and professional. On guitar, they sound like a 57. I love them on drums, very fast attack, the mount isn't perfect but it works very well in most situations. I like to use them on toms and snare bottom. Sounds good, and you don't have any extra microphone stands taking up space.

  • July 1, 2005

    another secret weapon

    I wrote a review on a -secret weapon- that I used, and this is another mic for that arsenal.

    The e604 uses a capsule similar to the MD421. With a little EQ, you can get close to how they sound. Without EQ, you get a very -in your face- sound. It sounds nothing like an SM57...the sound you get out of an e604 is crisp, clear and BIG. It does not have that brittle top end that a 57 has and captures the tom very accurately. The proximity effect was perfect...just a little bit to make it larger than life, but not so much like the 57 that it sounds unnatural and flat.

    The mic is lightweight (you won't believe your hands) and incredibly durable. It WILL NOT affect your drum's acoustics. The clip is fantastic...no stands, easy to adjust, easy on/off and very durable. It has a cord clip as well that you can make everything neat and accessible.

    We use these for studio and live depending on our situation. If you know your stuff, you can use these instead of 421's. If you have a crowded drum kit, hate stands, want something INCREDIBLY EASY that works, use these. Get the 3 pack because they are a STEAL. They all came with individual pouches, clips and bubble bags to keep them safe, however you could probably drop one off of a building and it would work just as well. I am shocked at the abuse they can take.

    Anyways-- it's a great tool for live and studio. Easy to use, sounds crystal clear and is inexpensive. If you mic toms with 57's or something else and can't upgrade to the 421's, use these by all means.

Questions about the Sennheiser e604?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway