0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Sennheiser e 602 II Reviews

5.0 stars based on 17 customer reviews
Questions about the Sennheiser e 602 II?

Questions about the Sennheiser e 602 II?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Wichita, KS (aka, the middle of nowhere!) January 21, 2017

    Awesome Microphone on an SVT810! WOW!!!

    I bought the 602 II almost a year ago and finally got around to seriously using it today. Running it through a Tascam UH7000 into my laptop (running REAPER). I had to mike up my bass rig (MXR M81 Bass Preamp, SWR Stereo 800, Ampeg SVT810E).

    The first thing I noticed when getting levels was that placing this mike is super easy- you can clearly hear sonic changes as you move it across the front of the speaker cone. This mike really makes it easy to get the instrument (bass rig, in my case) to sit in the mix.

    I needed to capture what I call my ultimate "Lost Child of Doug Pinnick and John Entwhistle Tone" (courtesy of a DIY Compressor driving a Boss OC-2, into a guitarPCB Guitar/Bass Driver DIY, and finally into the above gear), and this mike easily gave the track the heft, punch, presence and edge that makes this kind of tone come alive.

    I'm sure that this thing is a great mike for the kick, but if you need a seriously Neve-like bottom end for recording a bass rig, this is an awesome go to!!

    BTW, shouts out to Justin Rix for helping the transaction go smoothly (and for the lastest additions as well!). The crew at Sweetwater are what true customer service is all about!

  • from Phoenix, AZ November 27, 2016Music Background:
    Bassist - jazz, blues, ambient, avant garde

    Not just for kick drums

    Finally got a chance to mic up my bass cabinet with this mic. Wow. I had my 1974 bassman 50 pushing 2 Weber bass15 speakers and this mic running through a Heritage audio '73jr into the preamp bypass of my Audient ID22. Previously I have been using a DI into the '73 jr and using amp emulators. That was a good method, but with this mic I have a next level sound. My old DI recordings sound thin in comparison. Now they sound like a bass ought to. Huge and Vibrant, with a greater sense of space and musicality and realism. I may be ahead of you with my gear collection, but this mic is the real deal for recording bass cabinets and may be a good place to start...

  • from Eugene OR April 12, 2016

    Great for toms too

    I use them on toms when I want some rock beef ..I have 421's too but I end up using the 602's more for rock .. For faster tempo songs I like it better than my B52 on Kick

  • from April 6, 2016

    Awesome Kick Mic!

    What is there to say? It's one of the industry standard kick mics. Sounds great and has plenty of punch.

  • from Grand Rapids, MI October 7, 2015Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/Player

    No fuss low end.

    We've tried many mics on bass drums. The e602 II simply sounds the best right out of the box. We use very slight compression and no EQ, and the sound sits perfectly in the mix.

  • from June 22, 2014Music Background:
    Live sound engineer, Recording engineer, Musician

    The best kick microphone, period.

    I use it live, and have experience with all the leading models available.
    Beta 52 - great low end, but tubby. However, killer combo with Beta91a.
    D112 - sounds like cardboard box. I run out of EQ with this one with some kicks.
    D6 - fantastic as a single mic. Owned and loved.
    602 II - bigger low end than D6, better with closed jazzy kicks as well, more broadband high frequency pickup - you can select where to boost. It's an upgraded D6 as I see it.

    You can now get away with starting your sound check with channel 2 if you're in a rush.

    There's still some 250-300Hz you would sometimes want to clean slightly, however miles away than most mics.

  • from Omaha, NE January 24, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Mixing Engineer

    Thee best kick drum mic on the market!

    This mic sounds HUGE. It has such a pure and natural tone to it that can probably make any kick drum sound great. The low end is massive and really doesn't need any EQ, if so, very little. Thanks Sweetwater, and thanks Sennheiser for making quality products.

  • from United States December 3, 2012Music Background:
    Engineer, Musician.

    Very Solid

    Solid sound, solid construction. Amazing kick mic even with out EQ. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a tight low end with out that hyped type of sound. Well worth the money!

  • from Milledgeville, GA. March 1, 2008Music Background:
    Live Sound Technician/Engineer, Pro Musician

    THIS MIKE ROCKS AND/OR ROLLS

    As a PA system tech, I have the opportunity to read up on and at times experiment with new gear for our house band. I orriginally ordered the kick pack compilation with the intent of only utilizing the stand for the existing D112. The drummer and I (having used the D112 for years) were slightly reluctant to using the Sennheiser. However, after one night of playing, we were both sold on it's response, tone, and especially it's consistency in sound reproduction at different dynamic levels.

  • from boston January 19, 2007Music Background:
    recording engineer, live sound engineer, guitarist,drummer, in a band

    Borrowed it pretyt nice

    i have used this for a month about, my school was having a horrible musical and i started talking to the guys that came in to mic it up, they let me borrow it when i told them im using a st55 condenser on my bassdrum, this mic outperformed everything i ever put on my bass drum, it is quiet the mic, works awesome with the firepod pre amps

  • from December 5, 2016

    Lots of Kick for the money

    The 602 replaced a 20 year old D112 that always sounded boxy to me. Great improvement over that 'industry standard' mic. I also like that it's streamlined enough to get inside a small hole in a reso head, which was another fault of the D112. Very happy with the sound I'm getting now although I still mix it with a bit of a BFD3 bass drum sample to get a super punchy sound.

  • from Tampa, FL October 14, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    602 Kick Drum Mic

    Found a great mic at an affordible price! So far I have used it with two different bands, (R&B band with an 18" kick and Rockabilly band with a 14" kick). Straight plug and play deal with both bands. Little to No EQ and your set for awesome sound.

    I have to give a shout out to Aaron and the Sweetwater crew. I ordered the mic monday evening online. Aaron called to verify on tuesday morning and i hand the mic in my hand noon Friday. Took it out that night for its first gig. Couldn't be easier to order gear through Sweetwater!!

  • from los angeles, ca March 25, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician/analog studio owner/songwriter/producer

    good kick drum mic

    good kick drum mic. yup. good mic.

  • from Maryland April 17, 2014Music Background:
    Live sound engineering, long time pro player..

    Nice mic

    The most important element is the kick drum itself...If the player has good touch..and the drum sounds great than any pro grade mic will do its job within its own limitations...this mic has excellent gain, nice overall tone and the bandwidth required for a solid representation of of a great sounding kick...I don't know what the other reviewer is talking about when he says it will make you think you are better than you are, as if he knows a secret the rest of don't....But I do know that with a clean well tuned PA and a well played and tuned kick drum this mic sounds wonderful and is great deal as we'll..

  • from Las Vegas, NV November 24, 2010Music Background:
    professional audio engineer and percussionist.

    Great sounding mic for bad sounding kick

    This mic will make any cardboard box sound like a rock kick drum. But be careful, because if you put this on a great sounding kick, you will probably be taking that drum, and the drummer, down a notch or two. This mic compliments modern tuned PA systems and will lie to you by letting you think you know how to get a good sound. So if you don't want to use your ears and talent, this mic will give you a slightly above average, generic sound that most people want to hear.

  • from Chandler, AZ July 1, 2005

    e602 Kick Drum Mic

    I really like the sound of the e602. It is very comparable to a d112, and a 52. Different, but equal performance. The main difference that I have found in the e602 is that the low end response is very omnidirectional when compared to a d112. I have been pointing it down say, 90 degrees off axis to the batter head, and it gives an amazing and punchy low end sound. (no click though), so I use two mics (a beta 91 or even a 57 will work).

  • from East Bay Area - California February 1, 2005

    Thumbs Up!!!

    Recently we had a recording session coming up. I needed to buy more cool stuff from Sweetwater (isn't THAT fun?!). Cool stuff inclued new microphones for each band member. At the advice of my sales-dude extraordinaire (Delvin Wolfe x1378) he recommended this Sennheiser e602 for the kick drum. I record on a Roland 2480cd (also a beauty) and let me tell you, the kick drum never sounded so good on playback.

    This mike rocks. Not only does it have great accoustic qualities but it looks cool too. Our drummer thought it was cool....the whole band thought it sounded great and I got the thing for a fair price.

    Sweetwater has never steered me wrong on advice for proper equipment selection and this is just another example of sales staff that know what they are talking about and don't just sell you stuff to sell you stuff. Delvin, you rock too, dude! But I digress.

    So you need a good kick drum mike? Buy this one; you wont be disappointed. This mike rocks and so does Sweeetwater!

Questions about the Sennheiser e 602 II?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway