0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Fender Duo-Sonic - Capri Orange with Maple Fingerboard Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Fender Duo-Sonic - Capri Orange with Maple Fingerboard?

Questions about the Fender Duo-Sonic - Capri Orange with Maple Fingerboard?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from WA January 30, 2017Music Background:
    Punk, funk, grunge, and blues.

    It's great.

    It's really good, feels good to play, and most of all it looks awesome. The only problem I have with it is that the pickup selector switch is a bit sensitive.

  • from January 14, 2017Music Background:
    Pro

    Wow this guitar is fun!

    I have the "too many" guitar collection. American Tele and Strat, Gibson les paul and sg,
    Prs custom etc.
    this guitar is so much fun to play..it's sounds great, it's clear and full of harmonics, the neck is
    Ridiculously fast ...it's has a soft almost bare back side and a varnished fretboard.
    It's smaller body is comfortable but not light ....the whole body resonates
    Great sustain....everything is nicely finished
    Can't beat it for the price
    Highly recommended

  • from Parker, CO January 10, 2017

    Simply AWESOME!!

    This is the guitar players all over - beginner to pro - really needed Fender to build. It's wonderful to play, sustain for miles, tuning stable, comfy, and the tone... whatever is in those white pups - it works! and then some ; }
    I own everything from cheap toss away beaters to top-shelf PRS and this is the guitar I can't put down. I'm going to buy another just to have in case something happens to my current one - I love it that much!

  • from Virginia December 26, 2016

    I Love This Guitar

    I have always bought American made Fender electric guitars. When this guitar became available the only reason I bought it was because it was introduced for the first time in the year I was born and I liked the color. I have never owned a Mexican made Fender. When I received this guitar I was shocked at the quality and finish. The guitar is a joy to play and sounds really good. I am sure in time I will replace the switches and pickups but for the money, it really is a nice guitar. I like it so much I plan on buying another one in a different color. It has also made me realize I need to look at the other Fender models made in Mexico. This will be the third guitar I have bought from Sweetwater. I highly recommend them for your musical needs. Their staff is excellent and each guitar I have bought from them has been setup to where all I had to do was tune it and play.

  • from Chicago December 8, 2016

    A blast to play , hard to put down

    Well built, good quality workmanship, sounds great & just fun to play.

  • from OK November 26, 2016

    Great Guitar

    This guitar is so great! Easy to play and wonderful sound. Get compliments all the time on the sound that comes out of it. Glad to have this one in my collection.

  • from Southbridge, MA November 4, 2016Music Background:
    solo, bands, sessions

    Spank and sparkle galore!

    The Fender Duo-Sonic was delivered today and I've had the opportunity to spend about a couple of hours with it.

    The body is finished in Capri Orange with a satin natural finish to the neck. The fingerboard is maple. Overall quality was excellent. As received, the tone knob was a little loose. A tweak on the set screw took care of that issue. The frets are nicely finished and don't protrude past the edge of the neck. I am going to slightly round off the corners of the bevels. Not that there is anything wrong with them, it's just a personal preference. And since I have the tools to do such a job, it really is no big thing.

    The action as received is what I consider a classic set up, i.e., at the 12th fret 5/64" clearance for the low E (6th) string and 4/64" clearance on the high E (1st) string. Intonation was spot on. The bridge is a Fender hard tail with strings through the body. There are no fret buzzes and the strings bend cleanly on the 9.5" radius neck.

    Tone? Well there is Fender spank and sparkle galore. The note attack is crisp and clean with all the spank you could want. As the note then blooms and fades, you get this wonderful sparkle or shimmy. Testing was done on an AC30X2 using the top boost channel with the bass, treble, and tone cut controls set to the 12 o'clock position.

    Using the bridge pickup and the tone knob full on, this thing has more twang than a Tele. Rolling back the tone control moves you into Strat bridge pickup territory
    Using both pickups with the tone knob full on sounds very Tele-like while rolling back the tone control brings up a scooped midrange tone very reminiscent of the bridge/middle pickup selection on a Strat.
    The neck pickup with the tone control full on sounds somewhat like a Tele or maybe a little brighter. Roll off the tone a little bit and it sounds like the middle/neck pickup position on a Strat.

    The Duo-Sonic as a 24" scale versus the 25.5" scale of a Strat or Tele. This certainly doesn't seem to be much of an issue, neither good or bad.

    Overall, this is a nice little guitar and is going to be a "keeper".

  • from October 5, 2016Music Background:
    Plays in bands, studio work

    5 star guitar for under 500 bucks!

    WOW... Fender REALLY nailed it. This is bar none the most comfortable playing, characterful sounding, inspiring guitar i've ever owned. It can full on rock, do surf and indie styles, and even jazz with careful manipulation of the tone and volume controls (no joke). I'm not sure if the pickups are ceramic or alnico but they are bright and jangly with a full bottom end. A very exciting sounding set of pups. Speaking of the tone and volume controls, lord are they effective. It doesn't loose high end definition with the volume rolled off and there are at least 4-5 usable settings on the tone control. The neck is perhaps the shining star of this instrument. Insanely smooth, fast finish on the back, perfectly comfortable C shape... and it's not too small! But it's also not a chunker. Right in the sweet spot. Also the short scale makes it so easy to do bends. Other pros- great tuning stability because of the fixed folded steel bridge (which does wonder for tone and sustain), and such cool colors!

    Pick one up before they discontinue them again or raise prices!

  • from New England March 2, 2017

    Sweet and Tasty

    I owned a 1959 Duo Sonic back in 1973. I got it for $125. I liked it...it had a maple neck with the desert sand color with the copper guard. The finish was kind of tacky so I stripped it down to the alder and left it natural. It was a very responsive guitar (the scale on this year model was 22.5). I needed cash at some point back then so I put an ad in THE BUY LINES (a used items trade paper...back in the days of computer non-existence). I get a call from a guy who wanted it. An hour later he shows up to my house in Jersey and it was one of the guys from the BLUES MAGOOS. Cool. So he buys it. But I never should have sold it. It was a little screamer. ENTER TODAY. Fender reissued them with some updated specs. It is patterned after the mid-Sixties versions with its 24 inch scale and updated bridge. It is hard to make a comparison with my old '59 because it has been far too long since I held it. I will say this: this guitar has a personality. It allows you to coax more out of it because of its smaller size. You can cradle this baby as much as you want. It has a sound not duplicated by a Tele or Strat. And that is good. When I play a tele or strat...I use .09-.42 strings....with this guitar I can use .010s and get more gutsy-ness out of the little beast. It looks cool and funky, sounds sweet and plays nicely...and finally what this country needed was A GOOD GUITAR.......

  • from Rochester, NY November 8, 2016

    Great Guitar

    Really like this guitar, good guitar in this price range. Love the color and feel of the neck.
    Great service from Sweetwater, my guitar play well right from the box. I also talked to my sale
    rep and was told to call him if I had any problems when my guitar arrived.

  • from North Carolina March 29, 2017Music Background:
    Club Bands, Rock

    Okay Except for 3-way Switch

    I went for the short scale because as I age I'm having arthritis in my wrists and switching to a shorter scale bass worked, so I thought I'd give a short scale guitar a try. The short scale definitely improves comfort, but the 24" is maybe a touch too short for me. If I were going to keep this I'd have my pro redo the setup. As one other reviewer noted, the cheap 3-way switch is a problem. Sensitive with some snap, crackle and pop, and only the middle position doesn't hum. Otherwise frets are properly dressed. The finish on the maple neck, maple fretboard, Capri Orange body are all fine. Lightweight, but not like it's a toy. It's a good looking guitar overall that plays fine. I hope they do more with the Capri Orange.

Questions about the Fender Duo-Sonic - Capri Orange with Maple Fingerboard?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway