0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Dunlop DVP3 Volume (X) Volume and Expression Pedal Reviews

3.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Dunlop DVP3 Volume (X) Volume and Expression Pedal?

Questions about the Dunlop DVP3 Volume (X) Volume and Expression Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Peter Birchenough
    from Honolulu, HI May 7, 2017

    6 month review

    Great pedal, very smooth. Currently using as a volume pedal my board and very happy after 6 months of use. No noticeable changes in tone. Very reliable.

  • Marc
    from Denver, CO August 4, 2016Music Background:
    Bass player, 20 years experience

    Dunlop Volume (X) review

    This passive volume pedal is one of the best I've played on. I run my tuner off the pedal to keep the tuner out of my chain. I can also use the volume pedal as an expression! Rugged and yet sleek design. A must have on a pedal board.

  • Greg M
    from United States April 24, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    Best Volume Pedal Ever!

    I've tried them all and this one is simply the best and most versatile of them all.

  • Eric
    from USA January 14, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Perfect

    No tone suck at all! Super smooth pedal. I was previously using an Ernie Ball Jr. The Jr is a great pedal too but over time the pot wore out and the string started to stretch. I realize they have repair kits but after 10 years it was time for something new. This pedal is all that and a bag of chips. Same size and form factor as my dunlop jerry cantrell wah. 5 stars on this one!!

  • Andy
    from United States January 18, 2015Music Background:
    Touring musician

    Dunlop Volume X Expression Pedal

    Previously owned a DVP1 and that pedal was bullet proof. Years of use and still going strong. Received this for Christmas and it lasted 20 days. The friction unit gave out. Sending back to sweetwater for a replacment.

  • Dave
    from Texas Gulf Coast December 21, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Dunlop Volume X

    This pedal has really smooth sweep for a volume pedal. However, they break too easy. I am writing this review while "on Hold" waiting to talk to a Sweetwater rep. Two in a row have broke . The 1st one went bad with in a month. This one lasted about three months. What happens is the pedal will stop holding in position. ( no matter how tight I adjusted the tension control) it just falls to the full on position. This is the second one that did this in less than six months of less than normal use. " I do not constantly ride this pedal nor do I use it at every gig" I feel that this is a design flaw. Though Sweet water will fix it free for the next 2 years. I am already out shipping cost to send it to them. The function of this pedal is very good. The design and durability totally suck! I will soon purchase another brand as I do not trust this pedal at all.

  • David Cayce
    from Ringwood, NJ February 18, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    ohhhh, really, Dunlop?

    Yeah, almost a decent pedal... there's just one HUGE problem: it's not switchable between the volume & expression sides. You have to get down on the floor and completely reroute the guitar signal to switch from expression to volume, or invest in an elaborate by-pass AB switching configuration, giving up valuable pedalboard real estate. What Dunlop has done here is the equivalent of designing a really nice car that the driver has to come to a complete stop in order to shift gears in.

    Just a little on the extremely dumb side, Dunlop, rendering the Volume (X) extremely worthless.

  • Dale Cross
    from Raleigh February 8, 2015Music Background:
    Working musician

    Great until it broke during Live playing

    Thought this was a great pedal until it locked up on me during our last song. It stuck in the up position, so I had NO volume. I reached underneath and felt what I thought was a ribbon near the shaft mechanism. Due to how tight my pedalboard is and how secure everything is mounted, I couldn't bypass it to finish the song. Not good in front of an audience!!! I may have had it a year and take extremely good care of my equipment. Stays mounted on my board which is kept cased when not in use. This was not abused at all. After looking at it closer, the thin metal ribbon that has some type of sensor on it, snapped in two. Apparently it rotated around a roller. I would think for $120 this would last longer than a year. I only use it on the weekends. I bought an Ernie Ball last night, will not be using Dunlop in the future due to poor quality.

Questions about the Dunlop DVP3 Volume (X) Volume and Expression Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway