0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Apogee Duet for iPad and Mac Reviews

4.5 stars based on 35 customer reviews
Questions about the Apogee Duet for iPad and Mac?

Questions about the Apogee Duet for iPad and Mac?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from December 27, 2016

    apogee duet for iPad and mac

    wonderful almost as good as Sweetwater

  • from June 30, 2016

    Couldn't be happier with it

    Super clean with great preamps. Looks great and is easy to use. Perfect. I believe I can get radio ready recordings with this bad boy.

  • from June 7, 2016

    Quality of Apogee Duet

    I'm a big fan of transparency when it comes to A/D, D/A conversion. Any wanted color can be added another way, but get an accurate signal. The duet was a step up from the 48kHz I got started with. Not only does it go up to 192kHz, but it even sounds better when I run it as low as 48kHz. It's a good convertor, the software to configure the hardware is simple and straightforward, and the touchpads to clear the meters etc... are in a convenient location. Definitely glad to have it!

  • from San Diego September 5, 2015Music Background:
    Chf Engr/Sr. Producer/HDTV Audio

    Based on AD/DA500 series

    I purchased an Apogee AD 500 in 1991 to use as the 'front end' of my DAW. I LOVED that box, and wish I had kept it for its classic Apogee sound. That being said, being able to add that 'Apogee sound' to my iPhone, iPad or Mac is an AMAZING thing!! Who would've thought that, almost 25-years later, the 'sound' of the AD 500 is still kickin' on an IOS device!!!!

    This is a great product, not only for capturing sound, but if you want to work on a mix on your Mac (or IOS) device, it WILL be consistent and give you "the sound" whatever it's plugged in.

  • from Miami Beach July 8, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, producer

    Duet for IPad and Mac

    Wow!!!!!!
    I love it!!!!

  • from Atlanta Ga area May 6, 2015Music Background:
    Voice actor

    You can't go wrong with the Duet for Mac

    The Duet was recommended by my engineer Ed Nystrom to upgrade my equipment for voice over. Before I received the Duet, I did an A/B test just to see if I would notice a difference and WOW was I impressed. I would not be confused with being an engineer but the quality was a real difference maker.

  • from Lawrenceville, GA January 1, 2015Music Background:
    Recording engineer, Classical vocal performer

    Big Performance in a Little Package

    I record classical and acoustic performances from solo artists to large ensembles and choirs. I have the older Ensemble and thought that was marvelous, so when I needed a small interface for simple stereo recording I bought the Duet. What a great purchase. The preamps are even more nuanced than my older Ensemble and you can't ask for a better DAC than what Apogee provides. I loved the performance so much I upgraded my Ensemble to the Duet's newer sibling the Ensemble Thunderbolt. Great work Apogee!

  • from NJ December 26, 2014Music Background:
    Pro musician, professor of music

    The Apogee Duet for iPad and Mac

    I've been around music and recording technology for decades. I was also skeptical about any A/D converters that happened outside of the box (with a break-out cable). I've used Avid's products since the AudioMedia III card and MOTU since the original 2408. So, I decided to check out Apogee.
    I was beyond impressed and completely blown away by the quality of the The Apogee Duet for iPad and Mac. First of all, it is build solidly and the construction is second-to-none. The ease of use with the front display is remarkable, and the Maestro 2 software is wonderful to navigate.
    The sound of the The Apogee Duet for iPad and Mac is pristine. This is the first review that I've felt compelled to do because of the quality of the unit. Apogee has surely earned its name -- they are definitely at the apogee of the audio industry!

  • from owensboro, KY October 29, 2014

    "Man! What a differnce!" -80's son of a gun commercial"

    This is a life changer for home studio use. Super clean recording. No buzzing like with my beginner level interfaces of the past. The instruments come alive now and punch me in the guts. Love this thing.. Can't wait to try it with my PA for live shows.

  • from October 16, 2014Music Background:
    Music Producer, musician

    Awesome pro audio interface! The Best of the market!

    This Apogee is awesome. No problem and very easy to install and to use with Mac products. Is the best audio interface to make professional recordings with a very high resolution! And now, it has MIDI input to your MIDI controller and it can be used with iPad, iPhone without less quality. Great work Apogee!

  • from Southern California May 2, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist Producing, Recording and Mixing of Hip Hop Music

    Awesome!

    I upgraded from a low-level Focusrite and the difference is obvious in both my monitoring and recordings. What a difference! If you are on the fence about spending the extra hundreds I strongly suggest you find a way to make it happen. After 4 months of daily use I have yet to encounter any of the issues I was initially concerned about such as weak drivers, connection breaks, or the lack of inputs. With this interface I feel like I may be set for years to come.

  • from minnesconsin April 3, 2014Music Background:
    all of it

    oh man

    all the hype is exactly as it should be. got the duet, now i can't wait to buy the quartet. i was a little skeptical about running maestro software and what that would be like, turns out you can totally record in pro tools without even opening maestro (it's a neat and lightweight background program, not bad at all)

  • from Cape Coral, FL USA January 26, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    I love Apogee!

    This is my first Apogee device. Everything about it is amazing. It's low latency it can go down to and the converters on this little guy are mind blowing. The preamps are super clean and sound awesome when you drive them hard with the soft limit on. Def the best small interface I have ever owned. This badboy is going to be part of my mobile rig for a long time to come.

  • from United States December 23, 2013

    Great sound

    I was using another much cheaper audio interface, but when I plugged in the Duet I could notice more detail in the any sound running through it.

  • from Berkeley, CA July 31, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Student, Analog Synth Enthusiast

    Great Interface for Home Studio

    I am very pleased with this interface as it was perfect for my budget and studio needs. I have a Moog Slim Phatty and the converters on the Duet provide clean recordings into Logic. I also noticed a cleaner, warmer and more detailed sound during playback into my Focal CMS 65's. I upgraded from an M-Audio Fast Track Pro and can say that it is a big step up in sonic quality. The guys at Sweetwater are very helpful and I plan on buying more gear from them in the future!

  • from LA June 10, 2013Music Background:
    Electronic Archives

    Duet 2 vs Duet iPad 3rd Gen

    Yes this is the one! Apogee finally got it right! The redesign may not seem to be that big of a deal but the Duet 2 was never really stable and lacked a bit on the low end. This thing blows my Babyface Snow out of the water. No joke. Sure it still misses the digital ins/outs but the sound is pure bliss. Just perfect. Tested under OS 10.7.5 and 10.8.4 and no glitches, no freezing, no static. Mac only as always and you can use it with your iPad. The integration is perfect. Joy ooh joy. Cheers

  • from Virginia, USA May 10, 2013Music Background:
    audiobook narrator and commercial voiceover talent

    I want to marry this thing I love it so much!

    I'm an audiobook narrator with a home studio. I was having trouble with an M-Box that was on its last legs, and my Sweetwater rep suggested this little unit. WHOA. Easy to set up, I love the Maestro software that comes with it, love the simplicity of the design and controls, and the sound...with my Neumann TLM102 hooked up to the Duet, there is SO much more headroom!! I didn't know there would be such a difference. After hearing what this unit can do all by itself, I not only got rid of the M-Box, I also sold a tube preamp that had been helping the M-Box limp along. The Duet is all I need for great-sounding recordings. This is one hot little piece of equipment...I am in love...you should totally get this thing. Absolutely worth the price and then some.

  • from Westmisnter, MD USA May 4, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer & songwriter

    Apogee Duet for iPad and Mac

    very nice interface, very Mac friendly, thats what i love the most, and being able to record with my iPhone or iPad, its really awesome, actually I wasn't very excited about the iPad option, but now that the option is available, actually i found it very handy, I have an iMac 27 inch, so I was planing on recording one song using the echo ambience of my bathroom, just as an experiment, and being able to use my iPhone was so simple that makes me make more things that i would never imagine to do if I would have to take my iMac, I have a recording session to record voices and Im already plaining on bouncing all the backtracks and just record the voice with my ipad mini, so i don't have to take all my set up, Im justs planing on taking with me just one stand, a mic, interface, iPad and my duet, also being able to record at 192 kHz is awesome, even thought people say that there is no difference because you can't hear it, but with pro tools 10 at 32 bit floating point and recording at 192 kHz i get more resolution, and sounds very crisp, the A/D convertors are awesome, and very handy option if you have external pre amp very easy to turn them off, so you can have any other external pre amp, i really love it, you shouldn't hesitate, if your environment is Mac, this is the best interface you can buy

  • from Terre Haute, Indiana April 13, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Musician

    Apogee Duet for iPad and Mac

    I was going to ask Marcos Sanchez, my Sweetwater guy, why the Apogee Duet was so expensive, but after we brought it in and set it up I knew the answer. The quality is second to none! It's well built and enhances playback as well as recording. And frankly, I've never seen preamps with so much headroom. This little unit has truly revolutionized the way that we record and play back.

  • from Sherrill, AR, USA March 18, 2013Music Background:
    Gospel composer, singer, musician

    Rock Solid

    This my first apogee interface. I own the Scarlett 2i2, Audiobox, 2 firebox, 2 Apollos, and more. I must say that this interface works great and sound good. It is easy to use and the drivers are rock solid. I bought my Duet 2 as a portable solution with my MacBook. I'm using it with pro tools 10 and it functions well. I love my Duet 2 and I am glad that I exchanged my Forte for the Duet 2.

  • from Acton, MA November 26, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur Vocalist (on again, off again)

    Compact and high quality.

    This is a great device but I sometimes wish I had four sliders on the front panel (In1,In2,Out1,Out2) instead of having to cycle the single control knob's function between them (just a tap on the knob to switch), So consider that before choosing a compact device like this one. So know... what's great about this.

    I have an old MacBook (late 2008 non-Pro) running Garage Band and Logic Pro X. For monitoring I use my home stereo (McIntosh powered Klipschorns, not your usual musician setup). The Mac is fast enough for my backing track plus the two channels input from the Duet.

    This device worked right out of the box and behaves beautifully with either music studio software. Great sound and probably as good an interface as is possible given the two (assignable) toggle control buttons and the single knob shared level control.

    Again, if you want full instantaneous control of levels you may want to consider a real sound board, but I have no knowledge of cost or ease of configuration and use. This one is perfect for my home practice and recording use.

  • from December 2, 2015Music Background:
    Performer, Songwriter

    Apogee USB Duet

    After the breakout cable for my FireWire Duet started giving out, Apple announced that it would not be supporting FireWire with any future OS upgrades. The breakout cables on my old Duet were thin and definitely the weakest part of the Duet system. However, I needed to be able to have something small enough for me to record into while traveling. So, I decided to try the USB Duet because it looked like the breakout cables were better made. I was not disappointed. The new breakout cable is much sturdier and I don't have to worry about the wires inside the cables breaking as much, the new level controls are easier to use than on my older Duet, and the sound quality is good. The only negative is that the latency will adjust itself into a bigger latency from input to hearing if I take a break with my recording program on. I never had this problem with the old Duet on the same program so I think it is related to the new Duet. It just makes me take extra time resetting the latency rather than starting back on my recording. Overall, I am pleased with my new Duet: the excellent sound quality that I have come to depend on from Apogee; and ease of use.

  • from Key West, FL October 29, 2014Music Background:
    video production company owner

    Apogee Duet 2 with Audition and Premiere

    After several attempts to find the right audio interface for my professional editing suite, one of the Sweetwater techs advised me to try this Apogee unit. It performed as advertised within both Audition and Premiere on my new MacPro and the sound quality is excellent. Being designed for the Macintosh platform it also outputs the audio out for all the other apps on my computer. I especially appreciate the unusually generous mic gain because we use large-diaphram dynamic mics to record voice overs.

  • from Seattle October 23, 2014Music Background:
    Instrumentalist, music lover

    Fantastic DAC/ADC

    I use the Apogee Duet primarily as a simple mono/stereo preamp and ADC for live music, and as a high fidelity DAC. It excels at both. I Also use it to rip vinyl into high resolution digital files. I never really like digital sound all that much, and still prefer vinyl/tape, but the Apogee has been An ear opener...love it.

  • from ATL, GA October 3, 2014Music Background:
    Mixing Engineer, producer.

    Can't go wrong

    Jumped in the water and copped one of these.
    Used a Focusrite Safire prior. I'm using this for mix monitoring.
    Man, i had such a hard time reaching whats in my head for the mix.
    I've been more focused, failing in my levels and frequencies just write.
    this is just works.
    i won't pretend it's the best it gets as there are, obviously, higher grade, even from Apogee, but you can't go wrong with this.

  • from Bronx, NY 10473 August 8, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Best audio interface.

    Really good sound quality and preamps. Very low latency. It works perfectly well with Logic Pro and GarageBand. What I like the most is how well it works with the ipad.

  • from NYC February 6, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist recording artist

    Reliability issues - theory

    I have had a Duet 2 (for Mac OS) for over 5 years and it has always worked like a charm. I believe the reliability issues have to do with Apple. I recently got a top spec MBP 15" and the Duet became extremely unreliable, frankly unusable. It would disconnect constantly. I got it refurbished by Apogee but the problem persisted. Doing some trouble-shooting I discovered that there were no issues like this when I used my Mac Book Air from work. I thought maybe the USB ports were faulty on my MBP. Finally I decided maybe they just weren't producing enough power. I plugged in the Duet using it's own power supply and it stopped disconnecting entirely. Problem solved!

    It seems Apple's USB ports are just not producing enough current, especially on the more powerful laptops. That's my theory and I'm sticking with it. The Duet sounds amazing as always. 4 stars because I don't love the breakout cable.

  • from Chicago June 3, 2015Music Background:
    Producer

    That Apogee Sound!

    The duet is great for my needs (a basic home studio), nice sound & features! I would've loved to have gotten the Quartet, but I got what I could afford right now. Apogee's only competition is Universal audio Apollo. S/O to my main man Jimmy @ Swetwater! He'll take good care of you!

  • from West coast December 14, 2015

    Apogee duet 2

    Why the 3.5 and not a 5.0? Its sometimes noisy. The volume is sensitive maybe even overly. I spend lots of time with it just adjusting levels on everything. Probably more so than recording. They did not include the cables for your iphone or ipad so more money I have to spend. I think its a 150 dollars too expensive. But other than that. It sounds decent. Im not sure if it sounds too much better than my old ux2 but give it time when I learn the ins and outs more. I like the fact that it is made in usa. I am going to hold onto it.

  • from United States August 23, 2013

    Good amp/converter, awful cable

    I'm using my Apogee Duet 2 for voice recording. As a mic amp and as a digital converter, it is fantastic. I definitely notice a step-up in quality compared to previous amp-and-converter all-in-one products I've owned.

    A major problem, however, is the breakout cable. There's no "click" to signify it's connected; this thing will slide right out of the Duet if you're not incredibly careful. Any tug or weight on the cable whatsoever, and it will disconnect. Adding to the difficulty is the fact it's a breakout cable, adding extra weight that you have to make sure doesn't tug on the cable at all.

    For $650, I would think I wouldn't have to deal with such a basic issue as whether a cable will stay connected. Otherwise, it's a good product!

  • from Los Angeles, CA December 16, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Great Hardware, Problematic Firmware

    The audio quality is superb, the breakup of what's controllable with hard vs soft controls is sensible, and the Apogee Maestro tool is stable and easy to use. Documentation is pretty good as well.

    However, the interface is very problematic when using battery-powered devices, like an iPad or MacBook. One needs to connect and re-connect the lightning cable several times just to get the interface to light up. Apogee Support has reproduced this and acknowledged the problem, but they have yet to address the issue.

  • from February 7, 2016

    Not Recommended/Please read

    Have used for roughly 4-5 years. Constantly drops USB connection, buggy, static electricity will shut down until if you simply touch it after walking. Would expect much higher quality control for a unit that boasts such tight integration with OSX. But, this is a consistent issue for Apogee products, as I have studio friends that share my frustrations.

    The only plusses of this unit is the sound quality is good for the price, and fast software updates for OSX. But, there are other, much more reliable options out there at this quality/price point. I will be pursuing those options soon.

  • from March 23, 2015Music Background:
    EDM Producer

    Good quality hardware, AWFUL reliability

    I owned a Duet for iOS and Mac for a month and returned it.

    The sound quality was good, but boosted the highs on both A/D and D/A conversion slightly. This gives it the impression of sounding "better" when in reality it's coloring your sound. Now, the A/D converters *did* sound more pristine to my ears than any of the others I had a chance to try during the time I owned the unit, even taking into account the high end boost. So, until I have a chance to try an RME Babyface, I will say that the unit probably has the best sounding A/D converters of anything in the < $700 range. The build quality of the unit seemed very good. Significantly better than the Forte. The features are good, too - the assignable buttons are a pretty good idea so those things you do every day are quick. So that was the good.

    The bad: this interface is utterly unreliable. I used the unit with a 2014 MBP, OSX 10.10. When it worked, things were fine. But generally within 30 minutes it would disconnect. In the middle of using my DAW. Overnight. When I looked at it wrong. All the time, it would just disconnect from the software. Once that happened, I had to remove all power from the unit and restart the DAW to get it to work again.

    And, if that's not enough, perhaps a firmware upgrade would fix it... but THERE IS A SIGNIFICANT BUG that has been around for OVER A YEAR in the drivers or firmware updater that prevent firmware updates from a Mac. The solution is to plug the unit into an iOS device. That may be fine for you, but they don't actually provide a cable to connect it, so unless you're actually using it with an iOS device you won't be able to update the firmware.

    Apogee support took nearly 2 weeks to respond to my request about the unit only to say "it shouldn't be disconnecting, try to exchange it where you bought it or get an RMA".

    It's a shame because I wanted to support a US company making audio products but in the end had to return the thing because it just wouldn't function properly.

  • from NJ May 7, 2014Music Background:
    Everything

    painfully mediocre

    Its fine. its portable- thats its best quality. It isn't quite "pro" really- I'd say its high end pro-sumer......decent mic pres- decent a/d.......the d/a is pretty mediocre though- I am returning this product in a few days- in so many words it is nowhere near a symphony i/o or lynx. unfortunately.

  • from Chicago November 22, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, Producer

    Great sound, but two have been faulty and they have bad driver support

    The first of these I got worked excellently the first few hours I used it. Fantastic sound for such a compact interface. It worked for perhaps a day, when it shorted out on me completely. I received a replacement and while it still turns on, I am unable to go any further than that, apparently due to a conflict with OS X 10.9. I'm surprised an interface this popular and touted by Apple is not only -extremely- unreliable, but unable to work on their software. I'm very disappointed. Perhaps I'll write a followup review if I ever get one to work for longer than a couple hours. :(

Questions about the Apogee Duet for iPad and Mac?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway