0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Wampler Tom Quayle Dual Fusion Overdrive Reviews

4.5 stars based on 23 customer reviews
Questions about the Wampler Tom Quayle Dual Fusion Overdrive?

Questions about the Wampler Tom Quayle Dual Fusion Overdrive?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Mike Winebrenner

    Usually when I bring home a new toy, it's met with rolled eyes and a large sigh from the missus. The Wampler Dual Fusion Overdrive Pedal has been the one exception (even if it was initially just because it looked "pretty"). Ultimately though, it is the tone I have been able to get out of the pedal that's won her seal of approval. Having two pedals in one and optional routing gives me some amazing tonal capabilities. The Paisley Drive right side is a huge benefit because of its signature clean and beefy tones. Combining it with the crunchy and warm overdrive tones with the back end of the Euphoria creates a wonderful pedal experience. It sounds amazing - and she likes it- so what more would I want from a pedal?

  • from New Jersey December 31, 2016

    wampler Dual Fusion

    LOVE THIS PEDAL ,BEST PEDAL ON MY BOARD WOKE UP MY TONE !! RESPONDS WELL AND SOUNDS GREAT. THANK YOU AT WAMPLER PEDALS ,AND THANKS TO GUYS AT SWEETWATER FOR YOUR HELP AND SPEEDY DELIVERY

  • from August 29, 2016

    Dual Fusion

    Just what I was hoping for. Great character on a variety of single and double coils. Very versatile. Still mining it, but am very, very pleased.

  • from April 1, 2015Music Background:
    Progressive rock, hard rock, worship

    Awesome

    I got this to almost skeptically since I really like my Fulldrive 2. When I first A-B'd them, I noticed how transparent the Dual Fusion side 1 was compared to the fulldrive, pairing really well with my strat. However, the fulldrive still had that fat tone a lot of us love. Imagine my surprise when I switched to the Dual Fusion side 2 and... The fulldrive tones were available right there! Then, stacked, it provides a more versatile option compared to the fulldrive boost.

    Bottom line, the Dual Fusion is hugely versatile, from transparent OD to distortion and everything in between, including fulldrive tones :)

  • from Marion, IN March 6, 2015Music Background:
    Semi-pro. - Studio--

    Great Pedal, Great Service. (thanks Aaron Regenold)

    The only overdrive you will ever need ! I primarily play R&B, smooth Jazz and funk. This does that plus so much more. Just for fun I clicked on both channels and cranked the gain to max on both channels; the result : super distortion that still has clarity and harmonic squeals on any note and the guitar I play is an semi-hollow body with stock pick-ups. I play through a '65 reissue Fender Twin. It made that Twin sound like a high gain metal amplifier. I always hated OD/distortion pedals because they get wimpy when you roll back the volume on the guitar. Not this one. It "feels" like an amp. Country-classic rock-blues- or even metal......it can handle any situation WELL. The SWEETWATER service is second to none. You feel like you are talking to a friend...not a salesman. I ordered the pedal at 10:00 am on a Friday. Fed-ex was at my door at 10:30 am the NEXT DAY. Awesome people at SWEETWATER-- Geniuses at WAMPLER.

  • from Eureka, MO USA December 4, 2014Music Background:
    Lifelong guitar player

    Awesome Pedal

    This is the best distortion pedal I've ever heard. It has an amazing tone, and it is incredibly versatile. I like being able to set a rhythm tone, and then step on the other button to get a boost in gain and volume. I can easily get my solos to be heard with this pedal. The tone is great! It has that fat woody amp distortion sound I like. I use it 1 into 2. I monkeyed around with it for a couple weeks, trying all the different combinations. 1 into 2 works best for me. I'm using a 40 watt tube head with EL34s, and I could not be happier with the sound I'm getting. Well Done!

  • from Buena Vista, CO October 13, 2014Music Background:
    Ex-Semi Pro and OCD Hobbyist

    Great Pedal!

    This is the best OverDrive Pedal I have ever found. It sounds as good or better than my Seymour Duncan Twin Tube Classic that has real tubes. It has replaced the equivalent of three pedals for me. Great Tone!

  • from Oak Harbor, OH May 6, 2014Music Background:
    Student hobbyist

    A must have! You need this for great tone.

    It is quiet when on, sounds awesome with hums and singles. I have not even scratched the surface of what it can do, but it is so transparent to your set-up it only adds what you want it to. Not really a musical thing as it sits on your pedalboard, but, the finish on this pedal is beyond cool. These pictures do not do it justice.

  • from Fort Collins, CO April 30, 2014

    Great Pedal

    I have always been a "Fewer Pedals is Better" type of guy, and when I wanted to get an overdrive, this one definitely stuck out to me. After getting it and trying it out, this pedal is fantastic! Very versatile, I almost dont know what to do with all the knobs. My favorate setting it the vintage stacked into the modern, with the vintage a little gritty and the modern very gritty. Right now I have this and a chorus pedal before my amp and I could not be happier!

  • from Henderson ky March 29, 2014Music Background:
    Guitar player

    One awesome pedal

    This pedal sounds great with single coils or humbuckers this thing is a tone machine. The day I got this pedal I played for 5 hours straight kudos to Brian wampler.

  • from January 30, 2014

    Best OD Pedal Ever

    I have used several boutique pedals and this is the best one so far for my taste.. Very Clean, Trasnparent and very responsive to my picking attack. Very Smooth Creamy sound.
    In my pedalboard I use ch1 and ch2 independently with my loop switcher and is extremely versatile in that setup.

    And last but not least thanks to sweetwater for excellent service.

  • from St. Louis, MO, USA January 24, 2014Music Background:
    Pianist, Guitarist

    Worth a Hard Look!

    I have sent a number of pedals back because they suck the tone right out of my rig, or have a high noise floor which I hate. This pedal does none of those silly things, it is the most transparent and flexible pedal I have ever tried, no contest. I will certainly be keeping this on the board. I really like the Wampler Ego compressor, so I thought I would give this and a few other Wampler pedals a try, and this one is the cream of the crop. Amazing tone, amazing flexibility, dead quiet, I am beginning to think this Wampler guy is pretty sharp.

  • from United States September 30, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    AMAZING - Considering buying another!!

    Picked up this pedal to mix in a few new sounds. ABSOLUTELY worth it....best pedal I've ever played. I'm running it into a Mesa Boogie Mark V and using a low gain clip sound on the vintage channel, and a mid gain throaty setting on the modern channel. I have the boogie set to higher gain settings on channels 2 and 3 and a sparkling clean on channel 1. Not only does this pedal virtually give me an additional 3 channels, it sounds great on top both of the gain channels of the Mark V. Using a Music-Man JP12 (humbuckers) and a Fender Strat (vintage single coils) - pedal handles both incredibly. Does not change the tone of the amplifier - completely transparent and VERY responsive!! This pedal destroys everything else out there (including more expensive ones). You have nothing to lose by buying this, but everything to gain!! It's so good I'm considering picking up another one to have even more tones available.

  • from Snoqualmie, WA June 9, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist, vocalist, recording engineer, studio owner, general music nerd

    Worth every penny if you love tone

    This pedal offers the best tone I've found at this price point and is incredibly flexible. I've been able to tease modern and vintage sounds from this pedal that I've sought after for years and its ease of use is stunning. An amazing upgrade that doesn't require a van load of gear and fantastic in the studio as well. I've been using it straight into a low wattage Blackheart amp as well as direct. The routing options are especially impressive and I'm still learning how to use these effectively by routing signals through different amps and/or channels on my DAW. The designers had loopers in mind when they designed the routing but I'm finding other uses for it too. You can pay for this pedal by selling the ones you won't need anymore... that's what I plan to do. Highly recommended.

  • from Bainbridge, GA May 18, 2013Music Background:
    Guitarist, Educator, Composer

    No confusion, not JUST for fusion!

    Like a majority of gigging guitarists, I have a bag full of (generally) good OD pedals but I'm always looking for that perfect "go-to" pedal. When I saw the specs and the demos for this I was impressed and ordered one immediately (special thanks to Bob Furlong!). I have been MORE than impressed with its performance. While I do play some fusion-type stuff, I predominantly play rock, blues and pop styles at gigs, with some hard rock thrown in occasionally. This pedal REALLY gives you a plethora of incredible tones & features for all of these needs.

    The first channel is a modded Paisley drive, which I keep on for everything needing dirt. Very firm, beefy tone, reminiscent of a plexi. The 2nd channel is based on a modded Euphoria, which-when added to channel 1-thickens the sound and works for me as a boost that doesn't just kick the volume or even distortion up, but adds another tonal dimension.

    Here's the big selling point for me: it provides a beautiful open & responsive overdrive that gives clarity to thick chords, yet enough compression to provide smooth, sustained lead tones. Even better, this quality is retained in either channel independently or when both are used together. For me this is the "holy grail" of distortion!

    It isn't cheap, BUT a Paisley and Euphoria together would cost over $400, and then having them modded to work together better would kick that cost up quite a bit. The routing ability isn't something I anticipate using, but it's a really cool, well thought out feature, indicative of the Wampler brand. This is truly a wonderful product, and it sounds corny but when I'm playing clean stuff I really look forward to the moment I get to kick this thing on! BTW, the sparkly purple paint job is awesome, too!

  • from Florida October 4, 2016Music Background:
    Pro Guitarist and Instructor

    Sampler Dual Fusion Overdrive

    Pedal sounds Awesome! But I did have an issue with two pedals. The first one the backplate didn't fit properly. Sweetwater did exchange it promptly. (I love Sweetwater) The second pedal also had a chip in the finish on the bottom. I decided not to exchange it. My hope is that Wampler will be notified and do what they have to do to fix the finish problem. Two out of two is a problem. Otherwise I love the pedal.

  • from Caliente AZ July 19, 2014Music Background:
    soundman, hobbyist

    Stackable goodness

    Stackable overdrive circuits are great! Stackable variable boost and overdrive circuits even better. The endless tones out of this box with various guitars are well worth the investment. I love the touch responsiveness, dig in for sweet overdrive, lighter touch singing clean tones.

  • from columbus ohio March 19, 2014Music Background:
    lifelong amature/slightly pro

    dual fusioni wampler

    I am still playing with the knobs but the unit is an incredible value, versitile in how it can be set up and used. Both channels have a nice degree of touch sensitivity and the sound is organi and natural sounding. No unintended compression which is out of the ordinary for a lot of overdirves. Seems to be very well build. It will be a standard on my board.

  • from San Diego, CA December 16, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Dual Fusion overdrive

    This pedal is very transparent and flexible, wiht a vary 'amp-like' sound. It excels from the slightly gritty to the singing sustain and many points in between. Very responsive to my guitar volume, so I can often leave it on and control how much effect I want from the guitar.
    With the Wampler Hotwired pedal next to it on my pedal board, I can cover a lot of territory in the overdrive landscape.
    I had bought a Euphoria Drive for the smaller of my two pedal boards. As much as I love the Euphoria pedal, I'm contemplating getting another Dual Fusion for my small pedal board to replace the Euphoria, due to the flexibility of the Dual Fusion.

  • from New Jersey October 18, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar Player 35+ years

    Amazing - Better for Single Coils

    Amazing amp-like tones and clarity all the way through no matter how hard you drive it. I have been running it through Fender twin reverb. If you have a good clean tube amp, this pedal will give you a ton of head room and enough natural tube sounding distortion that you can replace all of your shred amps. It sounds best with single coils, which makes sense since Tom Quayle is a single coil guy. Most of my guitars have humbuckers and, without tapping the coils, the sound is a little harsh and needs to be eq'd and detailed back to handle the output. That said, I highly recommend buying one. Exceeded my expectations and the head room and tone are stellar. As with my tube amps, I prefer to push the master on each channel way up and then dial in the gain to taste. Channel 1 is more dynamic while channel 2 is where the gain sits. I may have to substitute single coils on a few instruments to get the tone the pedal was engineered for. Either way, worth every penny.

  • from Chicago suburbs July 30, 2015

    Smooth and Versatile

    Like other reviewers, I've had most overdrive and distortion pedals at one point or another. I usually find them to be very good with one rig and not so good with another. I play through a Deluxe Reverb and a Marshall JVM now. Finding a pedal that works well with both isn't easy--especially when you start mixing in strats, teles, and Gibsons. But this pedal is very flexible and I've tried it with both amps and my Strat and ES-335. It works well with all of them.

    I've used the OCD for years, and an Angry Charlie from JHS just recently; but I wanted something that could be saturated or dialed down to light crunch. I also wanted something smooth--not harsh. Channel 1 is very bright, but I don't find it thin. I have the tone dialed way back. This can be used like a low OD, semi-transparent pedal like the Morning Glory, or an AC Booster (xotic). You can dial up a good amount of gain too, if wanted. Channel 2 is very dark and there's a lot of sustain and smooth distortion available in this channel. It's an interesting mix. Stacked it sounds great. Note the channel order switch is dependent on how you plug in the pedal--it's not like a Fulldrive circuitry or an Xotic BB-Plus, where the toggle takes you from CH1->CH-2 to CH-2->CH-1. So if you want to play with the order, you have to move your patch cables (unless you're going in stereo). No big deal (I like the Ch-1 into Ch-2 config anyway). But worth mentioning.

    This is a very good, versatile pedal. It is going on my board while my other ODs/Distortions will be put in a box in the closet for the time being.

    As usual, a great deal and great service from TJ Bechill. Thanks

  • from October 14, 2013

    Great Pedal

    I just got my Dual Fusion last week and so far it seems like a great pedal. I bought it as a possible replacement for my Fulltone FD2, which is a good pedal as well but has some key short-comings...specifically, it doesn't sound great at lower amp volumes and the tone can be a little too mid-heavy at times.
    The features on the Dual Fusion are awesome and as far as sound quality goes, channel one on the DF was an immediate improvement over the FD2. The mids are nice and flat with a lot of clarity in the high frequencies. The tone knob has a pretty big range and the low end stays tight without being sterile, even at bedroom volume levels.
    The second channel is also nice but not quite as useful as it seems to push a lot of low mids and lows...much better suited to single coil pickups rather than the humbuckers I play through most of the time. On the "throaty" setting you can get some tones that are close to a tube screamer but I still really have to jack up the tone control to maintain clarity. Again, it's probably good for weaker pickups but I definitely prefer channel 1 as my main rhythm drive channel.
    Running both channels together is high gain heaven. TONS of sustain and chunk in there...all the while keeping articulation intact. It won't give you that super-scooped out death metal tone but you can definitely get some Dream Theatre, BTBAM, Scale the Summit prog-metal tones out of this pedal. The tiniest amount of added gain on your amp will really push things over the top.
    Overall I'd say the Wampler beats the FD2 for me in terms of rhythm and high gain overdrive tones. However, I don't think I'm going to get rid of my TS808 just yet because the DF doesn't quite capture that classic overdrive feel in the same way...a little disappointing considering the price but I still don't regret buying it.

  • from November 26, 2013

    Very Nice. Not worth the $.

    There is a lot of hype around this pedal that I don't think is 100% justified. It is true that it is a very versatile pedal that is capable of many very good tones. It is also very well constructed and innovative. However, there are a couple of drawbacks that I noticed after having used it for a few months.
    First of all, those who say this pedal is like having the Paisley and Euphoria in one box are not being completely accurate. The two circuits may be based off of those pedals, however, the Paisley has a presence switch that the DF doesn't, and the Euphoria's voicing switch has three options to the two on the DF...plus separate knobs for high and low EQ. Not a huge deal but it means there are some restrictions on the flexibility of each side of the DF.
    The other thing is that the individual channels don't sound all that amazing on their own. The compliment each other in that the vintage channel emphasizes highs and high mids, and the modern channel emphasizes low mids. But the problem is that if you set up your amp so that one side sounds really good, the other side might not. The individual channels also don't have all that much gain on tap either. On a clean amp you really need to crank the gain to get a decent amount of saturation. My tube screamer and full drive pedals both have more available gain than the DF's individual channels.
    Of course running both channels together gives you all the gain you'd need in most cases but you have to be careful how you use it. If you have a bit of dirt dialed in on your amp, using both channels on the DF can give you a lot of unexpected feedback. It's better if run through a clean amp this way. I've noticed that depending on how you have the two channels routed, the character of the individual sides changes. The first one in line seems to retain more definition and attack whereas the second in line becomes a little unfocused. I tend to run the modern channel first in line since it tends to be a bit on the muddy side to begin with.
    Overall I can say that this pedal definitely sounds different than most others I've tried. The tone is very transparent and rather than the pedal adding a lot of its own voice to the sound (like a tube screamer would), it sounds more like the pedal expands upon the natural frequencies from your guitar and pickups. Probably not a great idea to use a junky guitar with it. If I had been able to try it before buying it I may have reconsidered given how much it costs but I wouldn't go so far as to say I regret buying it. Maybe my opinion will change with some more time spent with it.

  • from Michigan July 4, 2014Music Background:
    34 years as professional musician

    Wampler Dual Fusion

    The first stage (1-Vintage) is thin sounding so I use my Centaur Klon for that stage and then use the second (2-Modern) for heavier distortion. I was disappointed when the input jack came loose and would not tighten again. Sweetwater stepped up immediately and replaced the pedal at no cost. The pedal is ok but I'm looking for a more natural sounding pedal (like the Klon) for that second stage. I'm extremely impressed with Sweetwater's response. I visited your facility last month during GearFest and was shocked at the size of your facility. Really impressive and your customer service is exceptional. Thanks guys (and gals!)

Questions about the Wampler Tom Quayle Dual Fusion Overdrive?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close