0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Evans Torque Key Reviews

5.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Evans Torque Key?

Questions about the Evans Torque Key?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from June 6, 2016

    Huge Help

    When used in conjunction with the "Drum Dial" tool, simply can't be beat for tuning drums.

  • from Asheboro, NC USA November 4, 2013Music Background:
    Current band member

    Amazing!!!

    This key works fantastic! It saves so much time, although is no substitute for fine tuning by ear.

  • from June 1, 2013

    great tool

    you still need your ears, but this tool will save you a LOT of time...works as advertised...wish I had one of these earlier....

  • from Keene, Texas March 29, 2012Music Background:
    Beginer-Intermediate

    New to tuning

    I spent just about every night for about a month tuning my first real drumset. It was very fun but frustrating at times. I watched every video and read almost every writings out there on tuning. I had this from the start and I used it and regular drum keys and my fingers of course, I can tighten them pretty tight with just my fingers. tried every position of top and bottom heads. When it was all said and done this tool works, some complain about the range of settings but it is actually has basically infinate adjustments. The actual numbering in the dial is just not how i would have done it. See the dial says 0-9, and there is 5 clicks between each number, it doesnt even get to my finger tight till around what I would call 5.1 or 5.2 meaning 1 or 2 clicks past 5. It doesnt even grab or turn anything at all on setting 5, I believe this is where some get confused with it. That should be 0, but its not its 5. The thing is that it will go way past 9.5 till it is so tight you would never have a drum as tight as this thing can go. After all this I finally ended up using this tool almost exclusively on all my drums. After choosing a setting for top and another for bottom and evely adjusting them going around quickly starting and lossening and breakaway at the same spot I put it on over and over all the way around the drums several times them test the tone at each lug. I only tightened 3 lugs out of my whole set counting top and bottom to get each skin completely intune by ear with its self.

  • from Anaheim, CA March 9, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    REALLY Cool

    This thing works REALLY well. Of course, it isn't a substitute for using your ear. But it's a pretty good tool for getting close, and then using your ears for the fine-tuning.

  • from Ramond wa January 6, 2012Music Background:
    drummer vocalist for 30 yrs

    nice

    no nonsence tuning , very easy, works great

  • from Kalamazoo, MI February 9, 2012Music Background:
    Worship Coordinator

    Great time saver!

    Our drummer was skeptical at first but is a beleiver now. This is a must have for drummer, especially if you move your set frequently.

  • from Indianapolis, IN August 18, 2011Music Background:
    Multi-Instrumentalist; Home Recordist

    An Eminently Handy Tool

    This is one of those "where have you been all my life?" kinds of products. In response to criticism I've read of this and like devices, it bears noting that, no, it will not tune your drums for you; nor will it replace your ears as your primary tuning implement. It is merely a tool. But for the purpose of getting all of your lugs equally tensioned, what a handy little tool it is! I use it to to fine-tune after tuning by ear, and I swear my drums sound ever-so-slightly better as a result, with fewer dissonant overtones. It's like buying a socket wrench set after trying to make do with a cheap adjustable wrench: it won't fix your carburetor for you, but if you already know what you're doing, it sure will make it faster and easier.

Questions about the Evans Torque Key?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway