0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

dbx DriveRack PA2 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 23 customer reviews
Questions about the dbx DriveRack PA2?

Questions about the dbx DriveRack PA2?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Indiana December 7, 2016Music Background:
    Novice Sound Guy

    Easy to set up and great results!

    I am a sound volunteer at our church of about 200 people and we were running a simple system of a board running directly into amps so we decided to add a dbx DriveRack to our system and I was honestly nervous about setting it up but my awesome salesman Ben Porter was there for me every step of the way and it was way easier to set up than I feared and we are extremely pleased with the results. I have had people in our first service comment about how much easier it is to understand people talking and the praise team in second service has never sounded so good! We liked it so much we bought a second one for speakers in another room! Thanks Ben!!!

  • from MA August 19, 2016

    Amazing Sound for Live Sound!!!

    If you want professional sound for your live shows you will need this. I want to thank my personal sales engineer Dustin Keesbury who recommended this unit for me and is extremely knowledgeable of any music gear I buy.

  • from West Michigan August 17, 2016Music Background:
    Sound Engineer & Bass Player

    dbx DriveRack PA2

    I Can't Imagine Any Tech Operating Without This. It's Auto Set Parameters Are Fabulous And The Tweaking Adjustments Are Understandable. I've Used The Standard Original Drive Rack PA And I Moved It To The Monitors. (Fixed That Problem To.) With The Drive Rack PA 2 The Fronts Are So Clear It Is Hard To Distinguish The Live Performance To The Bands Own CD Playing On Break! It's That Good. Also The Set Up Feature Uses A Modern Sound (People Friendly Other Than Pink Noise). This Is Good When The Arena Is Occupied. I Love People Coming To Me And Instead Of Criticizing My Mix Saying That's The Best This Band Has Ever Sounded And How Do You Do It! I'm Impressed Also With The Laptop Control That Saves A Lot Of Running Back & Forth. This Is A Cost Effective Improvement That I'm Sold On!!!

  • from July 14, 2016

    Great unit

    After it works its magic on your main speakers very little adjustment is necessary as far as tone goes for your mains

  • from Deltona,Florida July 10, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician,sound engineer and home studio owner.

    SWEET!

    Get this because it makes your setup easier and your sound system so much better.
    Mike Baldonado and Sweetwater have my business for life,they are the absolute best.

  • from Fort Lauderdale, Florida May 6, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer and back ground vocals.

    Review dbx DriveRack PA2

    I was shopping for an equalizer for my PA to improve the vocals and to clean and improve the sound to karaoke tracks for my karaoke aplication. Looking at the reviews and DJ's advise, between all the other brands, everything pointed to the dbx brand. The search was narrow between the dbx 1231 and the dbx Drive Rack PA2. accordingly to my budget. I called Sweetwater and spoke to Ed Nystrom and he advice me to get the dbx Drive Rack PA2 because not only I can equalize the 2 channels but 6 channels with the PA2 equalizer, also have so many other functions, like the crossover adjustment for the sub woofers, speaker optimizer with feedback suppression, Auto EQ, compression, and mobile device control. With the app you can make the necessary adjustments to your system in a fly without causing any wear and tear to your equipment. In top of that I got a $50 instant rebate, good until June 30, 2015. This is one of the best investments I have done for my PA. Thanks to Sweet water and Ed Nystrom for advising me to get the dbx DriveRack PA2 and the help after the sale with technical support! I'm also planning on buying the RTA mic.

  • from Sioux City, Iowa November 25, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, 40 years of onstage experience

    No more BAD PA nights!

    I am amazed! We bought this unit because we played a job in the "Tin Can from Hell", a bar with Tin sides and a cement floor. It was an EQ nightmare. We don't want to give all our money away on a soundman every night, and this was the perfect solution. It was recommended to us by a soundman. We added just a router, and it formed it's own WiFi signal, which makes it easy to stand out front and use your pad or smartphone to run through the set up. The set up is easier than we expected. We also purchased the RTA mike and let the system do all the settings. We are running everything through a Mackie Pro mixer and powered EV speakers. Every musician at our next job was really impressed with the sound. Even a sound man was impressed. He came to see and hear the DBX in action, knowing it was time for him to move into the Digital age.
    This driverack remembers what your last setting was, and you can label each venue and store it for future use, making your next setup even easier! The wizard remembers your basic PA configuration, which makes it even faster to set up each new place you play.
    This unit costs what a soundman charges for 1 night at a small venue, so it's a great value. Our band has been playing for 26 years and finally we don't have to fear some of those acoustic nightmares that every band runs into.

  • from Fayetteville, North Carolina July 7, 2014Music Background:
    DJ over 20 years

    DriveRack PA2

    This piece of equipment is very unique. It has really enhance the sound quality of my entire QSC speaker system. I really love the APP that allows me to. On troll the system with my IPhone and IPad.. Also I want to thank my favorite sales rep Ms. Katie Stockman... Your company is my first choice for business of the year 2014.. God bless you and the Sweetwater family..

  • from Philadelphia June 22, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Game Changer

    I have had the original dbx drive rack for a number of years. The PA 2 is epic. I mix an 8 piece live band. Crowds, room sizes, and venues vary from week to week. You need an ethernet connection to use the "app" on a wireless device. I am using Verizon's 4G LTE. Monthly fee for the service but it allows be to be out in front of the band to make adjustments on the fly. I am using QSC 153 and 181 subs. WOW, what a difference the PA 2 makes! I highly recommend it!!

  • from coldwater mi May 5, 2014Music Background:
    live pa, electrical engineer, theatre tech

    drive rack pa2 software

    i have had a driverack pa since shortly after it came out, i love it. i bought the new pa2 and the new software, well great. i have longed for the remote interface and just installed the unit this weekend and the remote software is more than expected. Haven't had time to do the adjusting but expect it to be just as good

  • from United States March 22, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    The One youve been waiting for DRPA 2

    Affordable systems processing and monitoring, ease of use, easy setup and application, and with the Ipad, Iphone and Android as well as PC control, this is the one youve been waiting for, Sounds excellent, Features that are functional, can be tuned easily, allows you to Walk the Venue and tune the House EQ as needed, Store and reuse settings, Import multiple manufactures specs and settings, and the new LIVE RTA feature is much improved and easy to get a great room EQ and then monitor it on your device.

  • from September 8, 2016Music Background:
    Gigging musician with a day job... ;-)

    Well worth it!

    I was a little bit skeptical that this unit could do all that it promised. I have to admit I was impressed by all it does. Once everything is up and running, IE software, cable management, network, and some REAL time with the instruction manual it does a great job.

    So here's why I didn't give it a 5.0... One, the feedback suppression does work well, but I still found I had some feedback issues when using handheld condenser mics (Neuman KMS 105 and Shure KSM9). Now to be fair I did push the gain and volume, and AFS feature gave me more latitude to run the mics a bit hotter. I couldn't get my dynamic mics to feedback under any circumstances so that was quite nice. Two, given that the best elements of this unit are the 'wizard' functions, I was a touch surprised that DBX doesn't bundle this with an RTA mic. If you decide to purchase the DriveRack getting an RTA mic is a must and it really brings the best out of the unit. And my last criticism would be why not have the unit come loaded with a router for desktop, laptop, tablet access? Thought I was kicking it old school when I had to dig out an ethernet cable and drop $14.00 more bones on a DHCP router.

    All in all, this thing is the bee's knees and I'm looking forward to getting more oriented with all the functionality it really has.

  • from Hampton, VA April 3, 2016Music Background:
    Played in garage bands for 45 years

    DEQ Drive Rack

    Your package deal was right up my alley and in my price range. The drive rack was easy to install and set. Looks like it will be an asset when we play "out". The setup was also step by step and even a non-audio guy like me was able to do the setup without extreme difficulty. Thanks to Andy Miller for the e-mail discussion that sent me in the right direction.

  • from Austin, Tx January 16, 2016Music Background:
    Bassist, Guitarist, Vocalist, FOH Engineer

    Incredible Bang For The buck

    When I started playing in bands in the 70's if you had a Shure Vocalmaster PA with a 6 channel head and 50 watts per side, you were pretty much king of the hill. Back then, bands like Pink Floyd were playing large venues with less than 1000 watts of audio power.

    Fast forward 40 years...and now I'm playing clubs with 6,000 watts using digital consoles, lightweight power amps, and super efficient speaker designs. And up until recently, I was using a crossover (albeit a good on from dbx) that was basically designed around 50 year old technology. That didn't make a lot of sense.

    Enter the dbx DriveRack PA2. If you use it for nothing more than the AutoEQ for the room, it's worth the money. The system I've been using let me do that, but it required running pink noise at performance level for several minutes. If you're a bar band and trying to set up in the afternoon for your show, the bar flies that are in the venue are going to complain non-stop. But with the PA2, it uses a sweep frequency signal that completes before said bar flies have time to turn around and figure out what's going on.

    Now, add in a precision crossover that doesn't introduce the phase errors that a conventional analog crossover would, system limiting and compression, feedback suppression (which I haven't needed since the system was EQ'd to the room we were in), and a host of other features and you've got an insane amount of processing power for the money and in one stinking rack space.

    Oh...did I mention networking capabilities allowing you to run this thing from your tablet, PC, or smart phone? Yeah...it does that too, and with one of the best user interfaces I've some across in a long time. Since we were already running a WiFi network for our Presonus console, it was a no brainer to add this in. If you're in the same position, the way I did it was to keep the WiFi router at the power rack with the PA2, and added a Wifi extender with an ethernet port at the FOH console...that way we were able to keep everything on the same network.

    We took our PA2 out for is maiden voyage this weekend, and our regular fans were coming up after the first set asking what we were doing differently. Their words..."we've never heard you guys, or any other band for that matter, sound so good".

    Whether you're using a modern digital system or a conventional analog one, the dbx DriveRack PA2 will put you way ahead of everyone else out there. That is, unless they have one also. In that case, you had better keep practicing.

  • from Mesa AZ December 7, 2015Music Background:
    System Tech, Live sound Engineer

    DBX PA2

    At first I was a little leary. first time I used the unit the quality of sound was a little lacking, and it seemed like I had to crank up my board output substantially to make a difference. It took me a while to get familiar with the custom settings. however after doing some shows, and tuning the system thru the network, adjusting the crossovers, and tweaking some settings this unit has been awesome! partcularly useful for quick set ups, I also love the RTA Feature as well as the improvements in the feedback supression tool. A dual mono configuration would be verry well recieved.

  • from Brandon, MS October 13, 2015Music Background:
    Live Sound, System Engineer

    Great Product. It just works.

    I love the simple setup of this unit. I can walk into a new room and have it EQ'd and feedback suppressed in under 15 minutes using the on-board wizards. The custom speaker setup is a bit tricky but for the on-board database of selections setup is a breeze. It really takes a lot of the guesswork out but still needs fine tuning after the wizards which is why it doesn't get 5 stars.

  • from Indiana January 5, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist and occasional weekend warrior

    Just What My PA Needed

    For my purposes, I am not using the full capabilities of the DriveRack PA2, so this review is only applicable to the Feedback Suppression, Compression/Limiter, and Crossover functions. In those 3 areas, the product performs exactly as advertised.

    The Feedback Suppression helps push a lot more gain out of the PA (6 dB or more), which is perfect for playing small stages and practice rooms where feedback can otherwise be a real issue. The "Wizard" makes this function a breeze to set up, and the available options are actually pretty useful. This function was my primary reason for purchasing the unit, and I couldn't be happier with the performance.

    The Compression/Limiter functions are good, although I really only use them for speaker protection, rather than trying to affect the sound. With the compressor set at 3:1, -10dB threshold, soft-knee, it performs as expected. The sound remains clean and uncolored.

    The Crossover settings are easy to use, and do the job well. The crossover frequencies may be individually set to any range you want (to 0.1 Hz tolerances), and can even be overlapped between drivers if you choose. After playing around with this for an hour, I came back to the boring conclusion that the industry-standard 80Hz crossover point is actually the best (for 15" full-range mains and 18" subs).

    I also love having a total of 6 speaker outs (3 stereo pairs) that can be configured with any crossover settings; so I could run side-fill or other additional speakers at some point in the future.

    One slight disappointment I had was with the difficulty in matching this product's attenuation with my board and power amplifier. The DriveRack PA2 has a switch for 2 different attenuation settings, but no way to tweak it further. So I have to work around a difference of about 3dB between signals. I have docked 1/2 star from my rating for this. Otherwise, I love what the DriveRack PA2 has added to my PA system.

  • from Sweetwater July 26, 2014Music Background:
    Scooby Doo Ending

    Zoinks!

    Umm...the DriveRack PA2 does everything the PA does. Actually it has a bit more than the original PA since there are 8 PEQs available for each output section; I believe the original PA only had 3. Anyway, I love the update and I'm shocked by the AutoEq. It gets rid of those annoying resonances

  • from December 27, 2016

    Yes, Yes, Yes

    The DriveRack PA2 made a major improvement to my system. Auto EQ improved from original DriveRack. Make sure you get the RTA mic other mic's just wont work correctly. Highly recommended & simple to use.

  • from December 22, 2015

    dbx DriveRack PA2

    Excellent piece of equipment. The documentation is lacking so it is a little intimidating to set up. Router is a must.

  • from United States May 5, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound 35 years

    DBX please update the firmware

    The ethernet interface facilitates the use of this unit compared to Driverack PA, Drive Rack PA+ and the 266. Easy to set up a wireless network to adjust the unit. The unit is great if you need a simple stereo set up using the auto wizard. The unit has limitations if more advanced set up is required. If DBX would upgrade the firmware to enable 2 channel mono and output gain control, then this unit would be a true game changer.

  • from May 27, 2014

    It is awesome and mind blowing

    Very friendly

  • from Atlanta Georgia May 5, 2014Music Background:
    LProfessional Live sound engineer

    DUMMIED DOWN version of a once very useful tool

    It is def­i­nitely NOT bet­ter than the orig­i­nal ver­sion (not the more recent ones)

    The dum­mied down wiz­ard exclu­sive options makes this for amateurs only.

    The inabil­ity to enter in your own speaker specs if they are not listed (which would be more likely than not) makes the gain struc­ture a best guess. If your speaker is not in the library, the only option in the “tun­ing” wiz­ard is - NOT LISTED then no abil­ity to say the speaker is ACTIVE, or to select the input gain. The only choice is either PASSIVE or TWO WAY, and both think this is a passive system with outboard amplifiers.

    This results in either hav­ing to over drive your mixer to send enough sig­nal through the DRPA or clip the input of the DRPA. Also no straight for­ward INPUT/ OUTPUT adjustments.

    This unit was designed for amateurs who depend on a machine to replace inex­pe­ri­enced ears and knowledge of the speakers they have.

    The orig­i­nal DRPA was a great tool in a pro­fes­sional sound engi­neers bag. Now it is noth­ing more than auto­tune for singers who can’t sing in tune! (That was an anal­ogy btw)

    PS: Yes there are references all over on how easy it is to update speaker tuning library if yours are not in the current ones provided. I have yet been able to actually see how that is done other than the circular rhetoric from DBX that is reposted as fact. Prove me wrong with screen shots of where this is on any menu with detailed step by step instructions.

    I would be more than happy to be proved wrong since I have loved all past DBX products I have ever owned.

Questions about the dbx DriveRack PA2?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close