0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

dbx DriveRack PA Reviews

4.5 stars based on 8 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Paul Allen

    I've been working with church PA systems and mixing for over 10 years now and every room has it challenges. The DriveRack PA is the unit that has the tools to solve all of them in one box for an amazing price.

  • from Kansas City, MO October 5, 2006Music Background:
    Owner of a rock music school

    Difference maker!

    This unit has made my life so much easier that I can't imagine being without it! I use the unit two manage six 18's and four horns in a permanenet instalation situation. Once set...I am without feedback, I have infinately more punchy bottom and the room is EQ'd perfectly! I also use the compression settings to make sure I do not blow anything. Cool unit...get one!

  • from Kalispell, MT September 25, 2008Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Good processor for the money

    This processor works great when you want real control over your pa. The eq and compressor/limiter built-in are just the beginnings of the many features that give you ultimate control over everything in your system. The feedback reduction works well when you are really driving. I had some feedback with a mic, the dbx picked it up and killed it before it blew everyone's ears out while letting me get control of that mic. This feedback reduction is a must have for live sound where you are driving hard. This product is a must have for someone who wants more control and extra features. Set up is easy.

  • from Colorado July 26, 2006Music Background:
    Live Sound Hobbyist

    A pretty good piece for the small-mid PA system

    I bought one of these for my mid size PA rack. I have passive speakers and often combine my system with subs from another guy. If you use the driverack auto-eq function and then review it's settings, you'll get a sweet sound even if you don't have a golden ear. The built in crossover is nice two. Just one rack space is all it takes. Haven't really worked that much with the feedback or subsonic stuff. I have used the auto eq. on my monitors just to get a general set of levels, then transferred those to a 31 band eq. and move the driverack back to the mains. The bigger driveracks are much better, but of course they are more $$$

  • from Montpelier, VT USA July 22, 2006Music Background:
    drummer, live sound, recording and editing

    great all in one package

    The dbx driverack pa is a great place to start for anyone looking to begin the process of creating a pa system. You get an eq, compression/limiter, crossover, subharmonic synth and a couple other goodies all in one easy to tote package.
    On the negative side, I found that the interface was a little bit hard to navigate at first and you still have to tweak the eq for it to sound right, even if you use the setup wizard. And the system does add some noise to the signal chain. But overall it's a good buy, especially for someone looking to get a start in the world of sound reinforcement.

  • from March 1, 2005

    This driverack has done wonders !! The sound quality is amazing! It's a "must have" product no matter what type of gear you have.

  • from Kansas City, MO May 1, 2004

    Consultant

    First off, I would like to offer congrats to the folks at DBX for such a fine product, obviously people who know what they are doing designed this unit. It would be nice if that same team could dessiminate a portion of their knowledge in order to supply a more complete owners manual. That being said, I found this device easy to use, I had a little longer startup time because I use (4) MACKIE 1400i's bridged for each speaker which are (2) EV-sb180's for subs, and (2) EV-Sx-500's for the mains, none of wich are included in the built-in library. Once past the initial setup everything else came easy. I would recommend this unit to anyone needing to save time, simplify their setup, and for those who would like even more blinky lights in their rack! ;-)

  • from Kansas City, MO May 1, 2004

    driverack PA

    First off, I would like to offer congrats to the folks at DBX for such a fine product, obviously people who know what they are doing designed this unit. It would be nice if that same team could dessiminate a portion of their knowledge in order to supply a more complete owners manual. That being said, I found this device easy to use, I had a little longer startup time because I use (4) MACKIE 1400i's bridged for each speaker which are (2) EV-sb180's for subs, and (2) EV-Sx-500's for the mains, none of wich are included in the built-in library. Once past the initial setup everything else came easy. I would recommend this unit to anyone needing to save time, simplify their setup, and for those who would like even more blinky lights in their rack! ;-)

  • from el paso tx February 1, 2004

    driverack pa

    First I'll like to say to the DBX people, more latent terms are needed for the manual. Now for the review, I've had my drive rack for over a month I'm a mobile D.J / K.J. I've use the driverack PA successfully on 20031110 for the first time, the driverack PA brought my system to life, I am using 2 sw118IV and with all the critics out their I have never heard these subs sound like they did on that day. My mid and highs are through eminence 1inch drivers cerwin vega 15 and jbl pro gt 15 wow is all I can say. For a beginner no experience with driverack I highly recommend this equipment. what's feeding all of this in case your wondering QSC 1202 for the hi/mids, crown Xs700 for the lows, clip lights never came on, mic feedback was zero, I'm still amazed.

Questions about the dbx DriveRack PA?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway