0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

TC Electronic Ditto X4 Looper Looper Pedal Reviews

4.0 stars based on 21 customer reviews
Questions about the TC Electronic Ditto X4 Looper Looper Pedal?

Questions about the TC Electronic Ditto X4 Looper Looper Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Brian
    from Alabama May 18, 2017

    Ditto x4

    Buy one. This is more than a looper. It's functionality allows one to expand their creativity on an exponential level. Whether you're piecing ideas together or honing your skills by playing in front of a backing track you've got it all with the tap of a switch.

  • Serge
    from West Palm Beach, FL April 11, 2017Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great looper!

    Very easy to use. The sound quality is amazing. I have the single looper. As stated in other comments this is 2 loopers in one. The versatility it gives you is way more than the single looper by TC. TC's products are always great. This one is WOW!!! I have other TC pedals as well as other top brands. TC is quiet, dependable and above all easy to use right out of the box. Get it. Definitely worth it. Sweetwater over the last few months has been my go to dealer. Dylan and his mates are fantastic. The personal service is amazing. I use to get my gear from Musicians Friend but no more. Sweetwater is the way to go. By the way I have zero affiliation with Sweetwater. Just a 58 year old hobbyist from Florida that plays guitar on Saturday with his best friend. Rock on!!

  • Duane Anderson
    from left coast March 10, 2017

    Ditto Looper x 4 smooth as silk

    It works are designed. A clever design it is, so simple and direct the interface can be effortlessly employed by a dyslexic playing slide guitar (that would me). This looper works in improvisation playing of the cut/paste/hack/spindle/ mutilate type adventure style. So impressed was I, by the Ditto looper I purchased the Ditto Looper x 4 and it is flawless. yes this almost the same review as my review of the Ditto looper, but the Ditto Looper is 4 times as powerful and 4 times as much fun. If you want to use Looping Techniques either live or in the studio this is the one stop unit to purchase.You will be glad you did.
    All of my experiences doing business with Sweetwater Music have been seamless, smooth and problem free
    Sweetwater Music sets the bar for great customer service.

  • Gary D.
    from Hershey September 28, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist and Educator

    Sweet Ditto X4!

    The Sweetwater-purchased TC Electronic Ditto X4 Looper is pristine and true to one's sound, operates easily, and performs even better than expected. Great for solo or group performances. Great for distorted, processed signals, and even nicer for clean jazzy applications. Kool Beans here!

  • Phil
    from August 15, 2016

    I like this

    Can't believe it's so easy to use! I'm not very technical, and understand little. I usually have to ask for help, so far doing well by myself.....having a little trouble with some of the weird, odd Time signature, it will get better in time

  • Michael Lyle
    from Rock Island, IL May 25, 2016

    Buy It Now!

    The coolest pedal I have ever owned, hands down. I used to have to do this with broken cassette 4 track recorders and answering machine tapes. And glue.

  • De
    from Cali May 22, 2016Music Background:
    Studio guitarist

    Soo dope you'll need rehab

    Great and usable effects invites creativity.

  • Peter Scobell
    from Bear, DE March 18, 2016Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter, performer, producer

    Exactly what I wanted

    I recently found myself in a situation where I was the solitary accompaniment at a high profile performance. Although the set was splendid it sparked thoughts of expanding the sound a bit more as a solo musician. I did some research and asking around and decided to go with the X4. When I received it I spent time figuring it out right away. After getting a knack for the rhythm of punching in and out I was hooked. I believe it's 24 bit so there's no decernable difference between the live sound and the recorded loop. For my purpose it is very user friendly and just exactly what I had hoped it would be.

  • Edward D.
    from March 4, 2016

    Finally an affordable looper with MIDI sync.

    I'd been looking for a MIDI sync-able guitar looper for ages that wasn't expensive. I know higher-priced MIDI sync pedals have some forum-documented issues, but I figured I'd take the chance on this one (knowing Sweetwater would help me out if the pedal had issues helped too).

    This thing worked right out of the box. Buttons are easy to find and engage perfectly. The FX are really fun. I've managed to jam along my synth drum beats and another time along with my friend's Maschine.

    If you've been looking for a pedal with this feature set, go for it.

  • Tom
    from New Jersey February 15, 2016Music Background:
    Bachelors/Educator/Performer

    The Midi Sync You Have Been Waiting For

    If you are a guitarist who wants to record loops live in sync with their hardware sequencers, this is the pedal for you. The "looper that can sync to an external midi clock" wait has been over for a while, but none of those pedals are nearly as functional as this pedal. Also, this pedal is incredibly affordable so there is no excuse to add your guitar into your electronic music rig now. For some background, this is my midi chain for the clock and it works perfectly: electribe 2 (master) --> Ditto x4 --> Roland JDXi.

    The FX's and "serial/sync" mode offers some amazing potential. The decay knob is incredibly useful if you like to stack loops for hours. Even if Midi means nothing to you, there's still tons for you to enjoy.

    Also, this is unrelated to the pedal, but this was my first Sweetwater purchase because no one else had this pedal. I was amazed at not only the speed but the awesome customer service.

  • Casey Wood
    from Lynchburg, VA February 9, 2016Music Background:
    I gig 2-3 times a week.

    A great experience, from all aspects!

    I haven't had the x4 very long, but since it's so new and there aren't many reviews yet, I thought it might be beneficial to share my observations:

    -Right out of the box, it's very easy to use. As advertised, it is made for guitarists, by guitarists and sticking to simplicity is a huge appeal for the Ditto x4.

    -I run the looper in stereo with vocals coming through one side and guitar through the other. It works extremely well for this, so if you're into beat-boxing, harmonizing with yourself, or creating vocal loops for any other reason, Ditto x4 is very capable! One complaint that I have is that sometimes the connection between my microphone cable and the Ditto x4 is bad and will made a buzzing noise, but I suspect that this has more to do with the XLR>1/4 inch adapter that I'm using and less to do with the pedal itself. I've ordered a new cable that doesn't require an adapter and will report back when I receive it and get the chance to try it out.

    -I LOVE the switches in the front that allow the user to customize how the looper reacts. Currently, I prefer flipping the first switch up (so that overdubbing starts immediately and I don't have to click again or wait for the loop to run through) and all of the rest of them I keep in the default "down" mode.

    -Sound quality is excellent!

    -The Decay function is neat and functions more like a really long delay if you want it to.

    -The FX section works really well. My favorites are the "Tape Stop" and the "Hold" function, which I have been informed has a tap tempo and will allow you to "stutter" your loop at whatever speed you like.

    -Customer service from both Sweetwater and TC Electronics is top-notch as always. The Sweetwater guys always email and call immediately after I place my order and I got my pedal in time for my Friday-night gig! I have asked TC Electronics several questions about the looper via their Facebook page and their Support Forum and they responded promptly to both. They even sent me a "preliminary" instruction manual (because the pedal is so new, it seems they haven't created an official manual yet, because they are still realizing all of its possibilities)! Hats off to both companies.

    Bottom line: if you buy the Ditto x4, I'd highly doubt that you'd regret it.

  • Matt
    from California January 28, 2016Music Background:
    Passionate

    Creative Freedom

    2 sync'ed loops +midi sync opens up a ton of potential. Love it!

    Thanks, Sweetwater, for having it first and getting it into my hands so quickly.

  • Customer
    from Dallas December 19, 2016Music Background:
    Corporate media production

    Almost perfect

    I support the other reviews on all their positive points. There are two things I'd love to see in firmware. First, while it can follow an external MIDI clock, control over the various functions is very iffy and not ready for prime time. As the overwhelming majority of users won't go any further than a MIDI clock (if that), such overall control is a non-issue. The second thing is also a power-user thing and of little concern to the majority of users – something that has TC's TonePrint users spoiled rotten – the ability to get into the guts and tweak the daylights out of everything. As this is not a mod pedal, which might have a ton of FX buried deep inside (as with many of the TonePrint-enabled devices), the inability to engage in such brain surgery is also understandable.

    When it comes to timing your loops, this comes with practice. For myself, coming from the world of multitrack tape (with all sorts of punching in and out, compensating for manual flanging - with the thrill of hitting the cross right on the beat, etc.) I honed the ability to punch in at 1/64th before the beat. For those who are new to loopers, the trick is to start and end the loop on the same exact sound and not at the very instant the pick hits the string. No matter. Practice makes perfect. As the device's second looper can be synced to the first looper, you have to learn to anticipate the beat as a matter of course, as the number of loop 1 repeats between loop 2 taps is determined by tapping the loop 2 switch before the end of a loop (which automatically stops loop 2 recording at the end of the current loop 1 cycle.). If you try to punch out right on the beat instead of offsetting your timing, there's a chance you might miss time it and end up with an extra loop 1 cycle (such as 12 loop 2 beats instead of the 8 beats you were wanting),

    Note that recorded audio can be saved via USB as separate right and left channel audio files and transferredback to the unit. It is also possible to take any audio you have – music, a drum track, barking seals, Al Pacino being pulled back in, or whatever – and transfer it to the Ditto as a loop. This is great for when you come up with a loop in practice that you later want to use in your live show.

    About the physical characteristics of the device itself, it is sturdy but not overly heavy. While it has a pair of wide optional stick-on rubber strips you can apply to the the bottom, that won't help much with a lot of surfaces, so it is worth it to velcro it to a pedal board. It has an ample selection of ins and outs on the back (including stereo) but other than MIDI, power and USB, they are all Hi-Z quarter inch.

  • michael young
    from July 24, 2016

    Fun Fun

    I just like loopers for self rehearsal of parts and working out lines over chords. I've had all incarnations of Ditto and this one is by for the coolest.

  • Customer
    from March 13, 2016

    Rad

    It works flawlessly with midi. I'm an electronic dude, so I use lots of synths and drum machines. It's the cheapest Midi synced looper in existence. The decay knob is fun if you want a slow evolving composition. It's simple, with no bs, and just works. I'd buy another for 4 loops!

  • Rob Bennett
    from Terre Haute May 15, 2017

    Ditto Looper

    I Purchased my Ditto last week, it does take a little bit to get a feel for getting the loops synced, Still not 100% with it, but getting better. I connected mine to a beatbuddy, and use the Flashback as a delay. My intent is to have the looper as a backtrack for solo songs in Worship service. I must say, popping out a few chords, linked to a drum machine, I was sounding pretty decent in no time at all. Once you get a feel for it, It is an outstanding addition, for a great price.

  • James West
    from CO June 23, 2017

    Alright

    Great sound, but you can not use this looper live or even as a duo. Timing just isn't there. Maybe good for practicing, but I would look into other models.

  • Marc
    from Oakland, California March 8, 2017

    Great idea, BUT

    I want to love this guy. I bought this back on Sweetwater in April last year and really had high hopes for it. As a Line6 DL4 enthusiast, I thought this had everything I wanted in the looper and more. The second loop being able to sync and unsync seemed liked a dream.

    Now, after less than a year, the Loop 2 switch sticks in recording mode sometimes. It's super finicky. TC Electronics has the worst customer service and offered to fix the hardware for some hundred dollars. I had a Ditto X2 prior to this and started to create crackle/electrical noises. I should have known.

    DO NOT BUY THIS if you are a gigging musician that relies heavy on his gear. This one is not a keeper.

  • David Gans
    from Oakland CA February 21, 2016Music Background:
    solo performer, mostly

    Issues with the X4

    Worked fine out of the box at home, on its own, but I took it out on the road and immediately ran into problems. It would not work with my Voodoo Labs power supply. Despite the fact that it says 300 mA right on the box where you plug the power in, it would not work. There was no manual supplied (nor has TC managed to get a manual up on the web page where they keep such things), so I had to be told by TC via Twitter that it wasn't gonna work without a stronger power supply.

    I had foolishly left the supplied wall wart at home, so I bought another one (1700 mA) at a store and tried that at my next gig. That caused a nasty ground loop when I connected it to the rest of my pedals. So I struggled through several gigs with poor sound, because I had no choice.

    Now that I'm home, I need to find out if it will work with the proper wall wart. If it still buzzes, I'm gonna send it back.

    But I am really unhappy with TC's failure to deliver documentation and the fact that they put bad information right there on the unit itself.

    Lame.

  • Joe
    from NYC March 12, 2017

    Terrible Quality

    At first this pedal worked fine. I loved the way it sounded and recorded. After two months, occasionally it would freeze up and need to be unplugged. Not really a big deal. Then it started to make this loud popping sound. I corresponded with TC and they gave me a few software "fixes" not of which worked. I did some reasearch online and found that this pedal is failing all over the world. Do you self a favor and buy the EHX 720.

  • johnny
    from Battle Ground, WA April 2, 2016

    No MIDI CC support as promised!

    I currently use a Boomerang III and picked up a Ditto X4 based on various product intro videos by TC Electronic, including the Sweetwater demo video. The product rep says on several of the videos that "you pretty much can control the entire pedal with midi cc" but it turns out that is not the case. I checked with their support and then now say it only supports MIDI clock, not MIDI control. Bummer, dude. I sent it back because, for me, it brings little new to the party without the MIDI control.

Questions about the TC Electronic Ditto X4 Looper Looper Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway