0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

TC Electronic Ditto X2 Looper Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 40 customer reviews
Questions about the TC Electronic Ditto X2 Looper Pedal?

Questions about the TC Electronic Ditto X2 Looper Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Southern, Illinois January 14, 2017Music Background:
    Part Timer

    Game Changer!

    I purchased the Ditto X2 Looper after a long wait and I really love it! I've used it for over a year with no problems. I take care of my gear and don't stomp too hard. I do a seated solo act using a drum machine, and can tell you that I step on the silent left bypass switch to record, then when I'm ready for playback I step on it again for almost instant playback. I stop my drums before playback and then synchronize it with the music when I restart it. Occasionaly things go awry! LoL! If you're playing without an electronic drummer it would be a piece of cake! Plenty of loop time for a song but you really can't save it unless you leave the power on. I've always wanted to play lead along with some of my songs, so for me it's a dream come true! I usually sing the song, start playback, synchronize drums, stop playback after leadwork and play chords again with drums to stop the song. It does make for a long song, but I use it maybe for one song a set. I haven't gigged with it yet, but I could. One lasr thing of note, I recommend a boost pedal or 2nd overdrive to get you above the loop volume. Enjoy!

  • from Auckland NZ September 6, 2016Music Background:
    Session work, producer arranger, live performer, singer songwriter

    Magic in a box

    I have to say first of all purchasing online has been a little scary for me as I'm not US based so I ended up on eBay where the experience was rather frustrating as to who knows the biz and who do you trust. Eventually I spotted Sweetwater and the experience has been a relief, great service, safe and secure and you get a real person as in a tech and they know the biz...fantastic. I really appreciate Mitch Gallagher's video reviews.

    So the Ditto X2 looper I was really interested in a looper with an extended loop facility plus battery and mains power and I got that and more. It's great to have the extended loop feature. The 42 seconds I was used to didn't do it for me even to cover the middle 8. The other features I haven't explored yet such as the storage and fx,s feature but I expect to over the next few days. Great product, thanks team.

  • from Indiana July 30, 2016Music Background:
    Long time guitar player, my instrument of choice. Also play the piano, banjo and harmonica. Played as a soloist, different bands genres, some recording, mostly a hobbiest now

    Absolutely Amazing

    This is one of the coolest pedals I own! It is so intuitive and easy to use. I know it will help make me a better musician! TC Electronic rocks

  • from New York City November 10, 2015Music Background:
    Semi Pro

    Some corrections

    I don't have much to add to the glowing reviews, which I agree with. But I do want to respond to a couple of the critical ones. Somebody complained that the Ditto doesn't go directly into recording mode when you hit the "loop" footswitch for the second time, meaning that you have to hit it again to get the unit to overdub. This is onle ONE possible setting, but the other one, where the second tap on the switch goes directly to recording, is an option as well. Read the manual before complaining! Somebody else had a criticism that the loop's length is defined by the first "track" you lay down, and that you can't add to it in length once you've "closed" it. Now, I don't know all loopers out there, but I've owned two before the Ditto x2, and that is in my opinion the only way technically possible. It makes musical sense, as well. I don't think it's fair to name something as a shortcoming that describes pretty much the very character of the device you're talking about. It's like writing about a microphone and complaining that there was feedback when you held it close to the speaker! "It's a great guitar, but when I turn the pegs, it goes out of tune. Not cool!"

  • from Chicago October 27, 2015

    Straightforward Loops

    A completely solid device. Meets every expectation. Even the USB interface is good. I was able to plug it into my computer while it was still running. It automatically stops the looper and goes into upload mode. When I unplug it, I am back in action right were I left off.

  • from TX October 2, 2015Music Background:
    playing guitar for 10 years

    Great looper! User needs great coordination/timing

    This pedal is the definitive looper pedal available, in my opinion. However, like all great pedals, you need to practice with it to get good at using it. It takes quite a bit of hand/eye coordination and timing to begin looping and then playing at the precise moment and beat of the song you are playing. It has been a struggle for me (even after playing guitar for 10 years). However, once you get the timing down right, it is invaluable for being a single guitarist in a band wanting to add layers to your songs, or for recording new jam riffs for playback. Plus, if you record a new jam riff you like, you can upload it and save it via the included USB cord to your computer. Optional, of course.

  • from Oklahoma cave September 29, 2015Music Background:
    nothing but metal.

    dito BABY!!!

    IV been thru alot of pedals that say there the loop of loopers...but dito I must say is tha shiznit!!!!!...who needs a stinking extra guitarist?!!! I HAVE THE DITO!!!!

  • from July 11, 2015

    So easy

    I owned the earlier model but needed a dedicate stop button. This does the job perfectly. If you are looking for compact simplicity this will serve you well.

  • from Nashville, Tennessee April 29, 2015Music Background:
    Catholic Choir boy

    Super Duper Looper

    Great Quality yet Simple to use...

  • from Tx February 9, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, hobbyist for 22 years.

    Awesome:

    There are great loopers out there. Eventide, Empress and EHX's delays all offer this. No disrespect to them, they are all fabulous delay pedals.
    However, I'm a big fan of keep it simple and get to the point. If I can't figure it out right out of the box, then there's too much unnecessary business going on.
    TC Electronics hits everything on the money. The switches don't click or make any noise in the signal path when engaged or used, the stop switch function (also used to reverse or half time the loop) is extremely useful, and one can make their initial loop as long as they want without an annoying click track in the background. Meaning: you can set your own time and, as long as it doesn't exceed the 5 minute max, you're good. You just have to make your initial loop as long as, if not longer, than any loop you wish to layer over it (the first).
    Also, you can back up your loops via a provided USB cable.
    I play guitar while using my DAW and Moogs. It's incredibly awesome to be able to save loops once you've got them just the way you want them.
    It's just a simple, straight forward, great sounding, no noise, looper pedal.
    The only way TC could improve upon this is adding another switch to perform an overall delete, but that may be overkill.

  • from La Puente, CA December 13, 2014Music Background:
    45-year guitar player

    Why You May Need a Looper or Two

    I opted for the X2 over the "on-sale" Ditto - it's 1/2 speed & reverse effects (within the effect) can be very useful. I like to "synch" loopers, too...

  • from Ypsilanti, MI August 17, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Beautiful and simple

    I've worked with numerous loop pedals, and this one blows them all away in terms of sound quality and ease of use.

    The foot toggles are quick and responsive, which makes accurate loop timing incredibly easy. The onboard FX are quite nice as well. I've seen some reviewers complain that they are gimmicky, but I've found the "reverse loop" toggle to be very fun and inspiring for creating ambient sounds.

    The stereo ins/outs make more complicated setups possible. I currently run guitar through one side, and a vocal mic through the other (out of a small mixer with 1/4" outs). The Ditto delivers even in this more complicated setup.

    Beautiful unit, great design, easy to use, dirt simple. Just like TC said!

  • from Northport, AL July 12, 2014Music Background:
    Pro guitarist, 50 yrs

    An Impressive and Useful Pedal

    This pedal is great for practice, as well as live... the added effects of reverse and 1/2 or 2X speed is quite impressive. The ability to load jam trax, is a great feature for practice. You can't go wrong with this on your pedal board!

  • from Boston MA June 16, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Ditto X2

    Excellent product, works like magic. I use it for live performance situations, it works great, sounds great.

  • from Sao Paulo, BRAZIL May 31, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist (10+ years)

    An excellent investment

    It's was a really great deal with SW. This pedal is awesome. I'm very satisfied and I'll probably order more guitar stuff from TCE here.

  • from Bishop Texas May 15, 2014Music Background:
    Hobby

    Ditto X2 Looper

    works great for practice and creating just great.very pleased.and as always Sweetwater support team great service and support thanks Derrek S.

  • from nyc April 3, 2014Music Background:
    not much,pro musician

    ditto 2 looper

    does it as it should easy and great sound

  • from San Francisco April 20, 2017

    Love it!!!

    I really love this pedal! It took me a week or two to get good with timing the start of the looping but, once I got it down, this pedal is a dream! It's precise and clean and delivers just what you'd expect from a looping pedal. It is a power hog though (takes two 9V batteries) so I recommend you purchase a dedicated power supply. Thanks to Dennis Konicki for all his great help as my Sweetwater rep!

  • from March 4, 2017

    Ditto Looper X2

    Really like this pedal!!! I am not a professional, so this pedal is essential to practicing with layers of different overdubs. Helps improve my playing!!!

  • from February 15, 2017

    Ditto X2

    This is the perfect pedal for pacticing, creating backing tracks,even downloaing tacks and storing them.
    I am not a professional, but I could see many uses for this pedal gigging.

  • from Massachusetts June 22, 2016Music Background:
    38 years of learning, playing and performing classic rock, blues, and folk, and acquiring gear!

    Better than original

    Bought this to replace an original Ditto. The original worked flawlessly, it just had this annoying limitation of a double-tap to stop a loop. I found this too hard to use live, and would stress on stopping a loop "on time". Enter the Ditto X2, with its ability to assign the FX foot switch to stop a loop with a single tap - heaven! I have not used the reverse and half speed functions yet, and don't know if I will - but for an acoustic solo situation, the ability to record and play back song rhythm parts quickly and efficiently is key. Of course, adding to a previously recorded segment is done the same way as the original Ditto. It does take 9v power sources (One Spot here), as well as 9v batteries (chamber holds two 9 volt batteries, but instructions indicate unit will function fine with only one installed). If you play solo gigs, you should check this pedal out.

  • from Ocean, New Jersey April 23, 2015Music Background:
    40 years gigging musician, worship, etc.

    Great looper

    As an acoustic singer/guitarist the Ditto Looper X2 allows me to lay down loops and solo over them with ease. My needs are basic, loop, play, stop, overdub, and play again. I've yet to experiment with the 1/2 speed and reverse functions probably because I don't see a need for the...at least not yet. I have the first generation Ditto Looper which required a double tap to stop. With a dedicated stop function there is no chance of miss hitting the loop button and starting an overdub function. Performing live as a soloist leaves no place to hide so everything needs to works perfectly and the Ditto Looper X2 is simple to use, with excellent playback quality.

  • from Katy, Texas USA December 31, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    TC Electronic Ditto Looper X2

    Great pedal

  • from United States September 1, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    solid jam buddy

    Not really anything new I can say about this fine product. The only bad experience I've had using the ditto X2 was accidentally deleting a 4 minute long loop that I had been working on for an afternoon. It was completely my fault as I spaced out when using the toggle switch to save my loop for exporting. If you press the left toggle switch up and down then the loop is saved, if you hold the same switch for too long then it deletes the entire loop... I lost my afternoon lol. Beware the save and delete switch are one in the same... poor design choice imo but if you can avoid user error, it is a great tool! Love the FX.

  • from Shelton,, CT June 29, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist, Songwriter and Producer

    Just what the doctor ordered

    I have used quite a few loopers over the years and was looking for something that was simple to use, sounded great and had the ability to link to a computer to store and share loops - all for less than $200. I found what I was looking for with the Ditto X2. It was just what the doctor ordered. Bravo to TC Electronics for making another great product at an affordable price. I should add that, the service from Sweetwater was impeccable, as it has been for the past 12 years. Thanks, Mike Picotte. You da man!

  • from Deep South, Texas, New Jersey June 18, 2014Music Background:
    Gitter n' cymbals

    Simple and does what it should,

    No complaints. Maybe you need more complex, but for simple loopin' here's a gem, boys. Effects on that there toggle, mighty fine gadgets for a little trickery.

  • from Fairbanks, Ak. June 3, 2014Music Background:
    Been playing guitar since I was twelve...bluesy-jazzy-folk

    Ditto/best friend

    Works perfectly as advertised,,its now a very close friend....g

  • from May 24, 2014

    Awesome pedal

    Crystal clear sound, timing is precise. Better than my jam man which I thought was pretty good.

  • from Boscobel, Wi April 23, 2014Music Background:
    enthusiast and worship band guitarist

    fun x 2

    I really am enjoying the Ditto looper x 2. Not all the features are usable to the novice looper at first, but half the fun is discovery

  • from Louisville, KY April 19, 2014Music Background:
    ambient, recording

    This Really Is A Great Looper

    Listen, for the price, it really does not get much better. I've owned a DL4. I would say they are equal in performance, but this one wins the cake at the end of the day. Here's why: Stereo. It LOOPS while running in stereo. If you've ever had the DL4 for looping and bought a second amp and then gone to do some loops, you've been let down. This one can do it. It does everything it says it does so I won't go into that.

    There are just two issues I have with it:
    1. When stopping or deleting a loop there is NO way to do it instantaneously. You either have to double tap the switch OR hold it down (for only a couple seconds). Not a huge deal but sometimes it can matter. The DL4 I think outperforms this device in THIS area.
    2. Once you end the loop length, you are locked in, my friend. Say you loop for one measure of some noodle or riff. Then you want to add a progression on top of that that changes over the course of two or three or four measures, you CANNOT do it unless the original loop you are adding to is that length. Don't know how else to explain and I hope that makes sense cause this can be limiting. I make up for it by just playing the original loop for a few measures before overdubbing - for flexibility in my additions.

    Overall, for the price, this thing is ASTOUNDING. Longer loop time than most loopers, RUNS IN STEREO, reverse, STORAGE (!?), and an insanely small footprint. It is sick. Get it.

  • from known Center of the Universe (Brooklyn, NY ) March 31, 2014Music Background:
    Recorder Engineer/Musician/Home Project Studio/apptronica

    TC Eletronic Ditto LooperX2

    Just another fantastic pedal/peice of gear fromTC. Right on the money.
    I only wish there was a way to access the effects by foot so to be able to go on the fly for reverse and 1/2 speed. Without having to preset.
    Other then that this 5 STARS winner.

  • from DeSoto, MO March 26, 2014Music Background:
    Recovering Guitar-Aholic (Hobbyist)

    DittoX2 gets it done

    The electronics in this unit are flawless when it comes to playback. Nothing added or taken away. No problems with cycle buzz from AC power sources at all. Simple setup and use instructions on a single sheet get you up and running quickly. Any issues with the Original Ditto have been nicely addressed with this unit. No need to wait for a friend to jam with anymore. Lay down that rhythm line your self and rundown your lead or solos on your own. Use the half speed to practice it until your ready to hit it at full throttle. This thing never gets tired. If you run it with batteries it will go through them pretty quickly but the power supply is available at nearly any local electronics store. Its tough, well built, and hard to beat at this price. Don't forget the 2 year warranty from Sweetwater, you really can't go wrong on this one. The only thing I'd ask for from TC is a method to shut down the power when your running on batteries. Otherwise it would get all 5 stars.

  • from Long Island January 16, 2017Music Background:
    Guitar & Keyboard

    Great Little Pedal

    My wife gave this Ditto x2 to me for Christmas. I'm thrilled, it's something I can really use. This little pedal works great. Built solid, and easy to use. Sound reproduction is outstanding. If you need practice with another guitarist and no one is around, you got the Ditto. I haven't had a lot of time to work with it. It's a little tricky getting the hang of timing my playing, but I'm sure I'll get the hang of it. In any case, it's well worth the money.

  • from Marysville Wa. January 4, 2015Music Background:
    Amature Guitar player

    Ditto Looper X2

    This Looper is FUN, FUN, FUN. Easy to use and spot on with what you do. I have two of them because I have them set up in tandem you won't believe what you can do with two of them

  • from Vail, CO May 9, 2014Music Background:
    Full time proffesional musican

    Not quite... but nearly

    TC electronics almost got it right by adding the dedicated stop switch.
    I really don't care about the reverse and the half time effect.... gimmicks... what I do care about, and what I'm used to doing on my older loopers from another company, is, after starting a loop, double clicking on the right switch to begin overdubbing immediately. If you do that with the Ditto X2 it stops. The sound, price and size are great.

  • from Lawrence, KS May 2, 2014Music Background:
    Studio and live musician

    Reverse is worth price of admission

    What a great pedal! Adding the FX button and the reverse was genius. I use this for loops both in practice and live. In practice I use it to solo over. For live I lay down a loop and overdub during sound check, with long chords and some staccatto stuff in the overdub. Then I turn on the FX and start the show with that reverse loop. I have not used the stereo. I use this with a Mesa Boogie Mini Rec 25, and it overloads the amp and cuts up the loop if I out it in front of the amp - must put it in the effects loop.
    Pros:
    Loops forever. Reverse is worth price of admission! 1/2 speed is also very cool.
    Once you get the hang of it, the pedal is easy to use.
    Cons:
    Takes practice to get used to starting and stopping in time so your repeated loop is in time. Will not quantize the loop to be on beat like some other pedals.
    Stopping the loop requires clicking the Loop button two times. I have messed this up live and done an overdub instead, with the original still playing.
    Clearing the loop requires holding the Loop button. For a brief instant the loop starts playing again. This can sound unprofessional sometimes live.
    Only stores one loop (but lots of overdubs). You have to clear between songs to loop something else.

  • from United States April 30, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Good Unit

    The Ditto Looper X2 is a solid piece of kit and it works well. There is a bit of a learning curve - but once you got it down - the unit is easy to use. The instructions are online (other than a diagram showing some of how it operates included in the box) so you gotta go online to really understand the unit and how it functions. I wish there was an on/off switch - but no you gotta unplug either the guitar jack or your power supply. Oh yea, it does not come with a power supply or a battery...so buy the ISpot when you order to save aggravation.

    Overall a good buy. Easy to use. Fun to work with.

  • from Anchorage, AK May 9, 2014Music Background:
    Been a pro player for about 40 years. Solo guitarist since 2003.

    Ditto Looper X2

    The Ditto X2 I have was set on its setting whereby the right pedal stops the loop. On the first gig the loop hung up on me and I couldn't clear it, so out came the old Boss RC 20. I since figured out how to manually clear the loop. However it has hung up on me a couple of times. I don't know if this is just my propensity to find chinks in armor or bugs in software, but it was a disappointment. This came on the heels of having to send back the first ten Ditto Looper which also crashed on its first gig. The Ditto Looper has superior sound over the Boss, and that is and a huge plus. I hate announcing to the world, when I take back over the loop that I'm doing so. With the Ditto, its barely noticeable. The "effects" are toys in my opinion, not conducive to live work. I'm glad they put in the second switch though. 5 mins of loop is all you need. I don't like pre=done loops. I do everything live, and my audience is OK with that, many don't notice. But when you do a four hour gig, having to do the rhythm track gives the audience a nice exposure to pure rhythm guitar and a buffer from the single notes, which can be overused. I use a Boss case for my pedals and I sit while performing. That makes the Ditto Looper's switches harder to hit than the Boss's tapered pedals. And although the Boss' loop volume needs modification to use it with your foot, it is an easy mod, and the Ditto's volume control, almost works as good unmodified. But I have to modify it nonetheless because it has to be used by the side of the foot, and Dittos volume pot is too stiff as is -- one needs a bit more traction on their volume knob. All in all, for the price, and for the sound, its the best. However, I've had my Boss RC for over ten years and I've never had a problem with it so, as to durability the schools out on that.

  • from January 9, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    X2 Discontinued ? Why

    From the start (dec 2014), the X2 I bought has been barely satisfactory.
    Initially awful droning noises came from the unit.
    When I loop, the result is often a distorted loop- unusable.
    Now I believe TCE have discontinued its production.
    Buyer Beware!!

  • from Oklahoma City, OK September 9, 2014Music Background:
    master of the universe

    worst pedal ever!

    i've used hundreds of pedals and I just put it simply by saying that this does not delivery. its a few "beers" short of a six pack. in other words Don't waste your money. The flashback x4 that SW sells is much better. Then again its just an opinion.

Questions about the TC Electronic Ditto X2 Looper Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway