0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

M-Audio Delta 1010 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Ryan Sloan

    Have you been itching to get a Pro Tools LE system but have hesitated to make the jump because of the limited bandwidth of USB/FireWire connectivity and relatively limited expansion capabilities? This is your answer! Combined with M-Audio's Pro Tools M-Powered, the Delta 1010 offers an ultra-stable, high-bandwith PCI native Pro Tools solution. Also great for "old school analog" diehards who already have a trusted outboard mixer and prefer to use their DAW as a "tape recorder" - two Delta 1010s yield an incredibly affordable, zero-latency 16 in/16 out system!

  • from Corydon, IN July 17, 2010Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Rock solid unit

    I have had this since 2000 and have NEVER had an issue with it. It's followed me through many computer and DAW upgrades starting WAAYY back with Win98. Now I use it with Win7 64-bit wiht nary a hiccup. They're really good about keeping the driver updated. It's been the anchor of my studio for many years and highly recommend it.

  • from San Antonio, TX June 19, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Home Studio Owner

    This product needs another 5 STARS

    I upgraded to the Delta 1010 from the Delta 1010lt (lower quality version of this card with no breakout box). For those who say that the 1010 is just a 1010lt with a fancy box for $400 more are MISTAKEN! The 1010 is MUCH higher quality than its lower quality cousin. For one, you get balanced, 1/4" input and outputs as opposed to unbalanced RCA connectors. Boo. Second, the converters in this thing SMOKE the 1010lt. Period. Don't get me wrong, the 1010lt is a great budget card and I highly recommend it for that purpose. But if you're going for quality and have the $ to spend, do the right thing. Get the Delta 1010. Happy shopping!

  • from RGV South Texas July 2, 2006Music Background:
    Hobbyist~!

    Delta 1010

    Wow loved this unit I am getting another Delta 1010 for my G5 running Cubase SX3! works flawless and no midi issues??? note you might have to run it with a mixer to add more volume to your external inst..example Synths, but not a huge issue..I'd say get it they are cheap in price but very pro-audio quality in design....simply awesome product!

  • from Houston, Texas July 15, 2007Music Background:
    Musician and Audio Engineering

    Delta 1010 Experience

    I have been running my Delta 1010 interface for probably close to 5 years now, and I have worked the literal poop out of it ever since day-one of purchase. As far as audio goes it is been rock solid. I have not had such a positive experience with the midi on the 1010. I attempted to struggle with its stability on and off for about a year, but upgrades never did improve its stability. It is not big deal because what little midi do do I run it through an M-Audio Midi Sport 2X2, which has always been rock solid. For the money and the quality, I have never, no not one time, regretted purchasing the Delta 1010.

  • from September 27, 2006

    Still going...

    I purchased mine in 2000 and with the exception of two minor repairs (capacitor on the PCI card I think) it's been going strong ever since. In six years I have *never* had a driver-related crash running Nuendo & Wavelab on XP.

    A couple of small caveats:
    1. Direct monitoring in Nuendo is a sketchy. Audio is not passed through the software. Apparently Not a problem for all users. No solution yet.
    2. Using an internal SATA drive hosted by a SIL controller: Terrible clicks and pops will accompany audio on the 1010's inputs and outputs (the latter implies that audio going through the 1010's inputs will be recorded to your host software *with clicks and pops intact*). The solution is simply to make sure that the SATA controllers for your internal audio drive are not made by SIL.

    If you're after a PCI solution, and if you can live with only 8 channels per box/card to a max of 32 channels (motherboard permitting) and a single stereo S/PDIF I/O per card then the 1010 could be just the ticket.

    Consider that I bought it back then for TWICE what you'll pay today, and it was *still* a bargain... You can hardly go wrong.

    Of course, YMMV.

    Peace

  • from NJ September 16, 2006Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Stands the test of time

    Like my heading says, this unit has been around a while and is still not irrelevant - even with better equipment coming out monthly.

    I bought mine in 2000 - over 6 years ago and since then it has run everything from Cubase VST 5.1 to Acid to Sonar 3.1 (my present DAW). I never had any real problems - except the capacitor issue that was common to the pre 2002 units and was fixed for free. The drivers are rock solid - works with anything you can throw at it.

    Of course, there are drawbacks - no ADAT lightpipe (although there was a seperate add-on box at one time), no dedicated monitor outs, and no power switch. However, the sound quality and versatility is the unit's claim to fame.

    The really good part is the fact that the unit has dropped about $300 since I bought it 6 long years ago - so it is a steal if you need a solid PCI card based audio interface with 8 I/O's.

    I plan on using mine until it dies- it has done me right so far.

  • from Montebello, Ca. March 29, 2007Music Background:
    DJ, Producer, Recording Engineer and Mixer.

    My two Delta 1010's

    I have two M-Audio Delta 1010's synced together on my computer. No latency issues. No timing issues. No incompatability or resource issues. Works great with Sonar 2.2 with Windows XP (SP2). Has been for a year now. Strongly recommend buying this unit. To get the most out of it, I recommend using with an outboard analog mixer. Since I have two, I got 16 anolog outs to my mixer. Can not say enough good things about the Delta 1010's. It's job is to bring audio in and out of your computer and it does it's job well.

  • from March 31, 2006

    This ROCKS!

    Hey I have had this unit for 5 years. It runs strong all day and night! You can do surround sound if you want with cubase / Nuendo. Buy it now!

  • from August 1, 2005

    Flawless

    this machine has been flawless for me!!! I use it with reason and I have not one complaint...well worth it!!!

  • from Dallas , Texas July 1, 2005

    Very high end sound

    This is a good unit. Very good sound quailty.
    Can't beat the price

  • February 1, 2005

    Don't waste your money

    Since I owned this unit, the MIDI IN causes a glitch in the audio all the time.

    It is unusable for my software synths, etc.

    I am getting ready to bag this for a MOTU firewire unit.

    I use a MAC dual G4 using MAC OSX.

    Again- don't waste your money on this piece-o-crap.

Questions about the M-Audio Delta 1010?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway