0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

ART DJ PRE II Reviews

4.5 stars based on 35 customer reviews
Questions about the ART DJ PRE II?

Questions about the ART DJ PRE II?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from January 23, 2017

    Turntable Preamp

    A really decent little unit, not bad for less than 40 bones. One thing I don;t like is the fact that it doesn't have a power switch. Inconvenient, but baffling - it's a cheap and simple addition, might just have to do it myself.

  • from Illinois January 19, 2017

    Turntable Preamp

    I needed the preamp since my new receiver/amp doesn't have a phono input for my turntable. The ART DJ PREII works just as I needed. It gives me the functionality I need at a reasonable price and the LP's I play on the turntable are again able to add to my musical enjoyment.

  • from South West WI November 3, 2016

    nice little phono preamp

    I hooked this unit to my 1975 Sansui SR 212 and now I can hear its full potential
    I am so glad I unearthed the vinyl and equipment...SweetWater makes it so easy!

  • from Tacoma, WA August 7, 2016Music Background:
    Music Lover Who Records LPS

    Great Adjustable Preamp

    I bought this to combine with my Novation Audiohub 2X4 interface for recording albums. I bought the Audiohub first and wasn’t able to adjust the recording level. The input signal was either too low or too high causing clipping. Now I can record with my Audiohub using HIGH gain while using 100PF (will depend on your cartridge) and the FLAT response and 0 (zero) on the Gain. Now my recordings are at -2dB to -3db, which is a perfect dynamic recording level. Grounding my turntable was great as it fixed the hum I was seeing on the spectral display in Adobe Audition CS6, but not hearing. I know many complained about the bright blue light, but I found a better solution for it. I bought a Livewire Power conditioner (6-outlet) and only have my turntable, preamp, and audiohub plugged into it. It not eliminates surges, spikes, EMI/RFI issues it takes care of the bright blue light by turning it off when done using the setup. This is a great preamp that has turned my recordings into masterpieces! They are cleaner, clearer, and much more dynamic. Money well worth spent!

  • from Crown Point May 7, 2016Music Background:
    I can turn on the radio

    ART DJ PRE II

    I want to digitize some old vinyl and my existing record player required a pre amp to connect with my amplifier. It just plain works. Simple and not expensive.

    What was most impressive was from the time I placed the order until after I received the order sales and support were there for any questions. Can't beat Sweetwater for support.

  • from Allen, Tx February 3, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarist 30 Years

    Nice amp

    This does a really good job with the turn table. Very nice price for the function. For personal use it is perfect.

  • from Connecticut October 6, 2015

    Review ART DJ PRE II

    Great pre amp that I selected with the help of the sales engineer. He asked the right questions and guided me to the right amp for a great price. I am now able to use my 1970's turntable by routing it through the amp to my receiver.

  • from Sonoma County May 24, 2015

    Awesome

    I love this phono preamp. It has a lot of power and can be dialed up to give more or dialed back to give less. Sounds wonderful with my older equipment. I have it set just a tad below top dead center. The blue led is pretty brilliant so I put a sticker over it to help mute the brightness. Outside of that, this unit is perfect.

  • from nappanee, IN May 18, 2015

    Art DJ Pre II

    Added another turntable to home stereo system. Worked like a charm! Once Sweetwater got me what I needed at a great price. You guys are the best.

  • from Island Falls Maine April 29, 2015Music Background:
    Bass player

    Nice little Pre !

    All you need to make you and your turntable happy with a computer sound card & Audacity.
    (For transferring LP to Digital)

  • from United States October 27, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    excellent performance

    bought this preamp to play a vintage pioneer pl-41 manual turntable circa 1971. plays like the day i bought it. more than enough power with very sensitive output adjustments.very satisfied. appreciate the metal housing as opposed to cheap plastic cases.

  • from McKinney, Texas October 20, 2014Music Background:
    Former Rock Drummer.

    Love this preamp.

    This is a fantastic little phono preamp. It has excellent specs and features. Can't beat it for the price. Very easy to install and use. I set it up and am enjoying my vinyl collection again. Highly recommend this unit..

  • from October 10, 2014

    ART DJ PRE II Phono Amp

    It works great. I'd give it a 5 if it had an on/off switch. Now lets see how long it lasts!

  • from Québec, Canada February 28, 2014Music Background:
    Musician and music lover

    DJ PRE II PHONO PREAMP - PURRFECT

    Price and performance ratio for this preamp is 10/10. Rugged device that does the job perfectly. Nice clean response and just enough gain to make your turntable alive again.

  • from Lake Charles, LA October 12, 2013Music Background:
    Vinyl Junkee!

    Great Pre Amp In Small Package!

    This is a perfect little preamp to get your phono signal exactly how it needs to be before going to the receiver.

  • from Petaluma,CA June 22, 2013Music Background:
    music production student

    mind blowing

    i could not play my numark turntable an i need it for my class an you guys all ways have what i need, oh yeah thanks to andy B for all the things you have help me even with somethings i did not need great job and thanks to the sweetwater team.

    your friend
    steven wesley

  • from Orlando, FL February 23, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Just what I was looking for at a competitive price

    Just needed a pre-amp to use my turntable to digitize my Vinyl collection. All done, good sound quality, good dynamic range

  • from Manhattan Beach, CA February 11, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Enjoying my vinyl LP collection.

    I bought the DJ PRE II pre-amp to connect my turntable to my AV receiver. I'm now enjoying my vinyl LP collection. The only I don't like is the LED power indicator on the front. It's too large and too bright. I'll be looking for something to install over it to soften the glow.

  • from Wisconsin Dells, WI February 11, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, recording hobbyist

    ART DJ PRE II

    After reading multiple reviews I decided to give this unit a try..and at this price, how could it really be? I was absolutely blown away!!! It replaced a Behringer PP400 that I had used for a couple of years.

    The soundstage is awesome..much fuller than the PP400. When I compared some wave files of the exact song between both the DJ Pre II and the PP400 there was an noticeable difference. The file captured with the Art seemed to be wider and much fuller. This sound translated well when I converted the files for redbook cd burning!!

  • from WI February 1, 2013

    Art DJ PRE ll

    Can finally enjoy the warmth of vinyl.
    Sweetwater's followup and informed sales reps were a pleasure to work with. Communication dealing with the small purchase was excellent.
    Ron

  • from Foley, AL January 25, 2013Music Background:
    Musician Hobbyist

    Great piece of gear

    I concur with being an essential device to hooking this up to receivers and mixers without a built in preamp for your turntable. This is also a good device for connecting to your sound card on your computer for converting your albums to wav or mp3 files. I know that some would say you need the USB version of this for conversion but it depends on whether you like the A/D converter on the ART or your sound card. Myself, I think the sound card on the computer works just fine and I've noticed no difference in quality of the recording. I'd prefer an on/off switch also so that's why I'm giving it 4.5 stars. Otherwise, a great product!

  • from Fort Wayne, IN January 16, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Product

    I replaced my Kenwood stereo AM/FM receiver/JBL speakers with a Sony Sound Bar/Subwoofer and this preamp to simplify my audio setup. I still wanted to be able to play my LP collection on my turntable.

    This preamp is very nice especially for the price. It has an adjustable gain control so that I can balance the volume with the other sound bar inputs. The sound quality seems excellent. The case is very roughed.

    I would have rated the unit as a 5.0 if it had an ON/OFF switch. I had to wire up a separate switch for my setup.

    I would recommend this preamp to my friends!

  • from Apex, NC January 15, 2013Music Background:
    Music Enthusiast

    Art DJ Pre II works great with old turntable

    I recently replaced my old failing Fisher turntable with a very nice Technics SL-D5, and discovered that I needed a pre-amp to boost the signal into my equally old Fisher receiver. The old turntable had not required a pre-amp. I was specifically looking for something with a good signal response, and the Art DJ Pre II had very good reviews compared to similar products. The price was very reasonable and it sounded well-made.

    The product performed exactly as specified. It was easy to connect and provided the necessary signal boost so my records play at a normal volume again. We tested it on a live concert recording and the audio sounded better than with the old turntable. The combination of the Technics and the Art DJ Pre II produced very nice results.

    The unit is well made. There is nothing flimsy about it. It has a couple filtering options (button controlled), which I assume will be helpful for certain kinds of music, although I haven't played with it enough to notice any significant difference. The gain is adjustable, with a handy LED that shows signal clipping. The Art DJ Pre II does not have a power switch, and the blue power on LED is very bright, so the unit puts out a lot of light all the time unless you unplug it or connect it to an on/off power source. It might be nice if a future version included an on/off but this was a pretty minor flaw. This is a great product!

    Sweetwater also provided outstanding, personalized customer service.

  • from Charleston, SC January 3, 2013Music Background:
    Professional Musician and Music Distribution sales

    If you need a Phono pre amp for home use this will do

    This gets the job done and the price is reasonable comparatively.
    I really have no idea why manufacturers don't put a preamp into phonograph turntables.. seems lame to me.
    We are happy with what this brings to the table for the money though.

  • from Nashville, TN December 28, 2012Music Background:
    Home recording, live performance

    Very solid

    Works great as a home audio solution for modern receivers with no phono input. Low noise. Rock solid.

  • from Cabot, AR November 13, 2012Music Background:
    Recording engineer

    Good price

    For the price it is a good item

  • from Holland, MI May 21, 2012Music Background:
    listener

    pre amp

    Works great, and it's good to hear my old vinyl again. I like the adjustment, but the blue LED is a little too bright.

  • from Bloomington, IN USA March 31, 2012Music Background:
    Multimedia Artist

    Awesome Preamp !

    I have purchased a new turntable and was looking for a decent and not too expensive Phono Preamp. Found some ideas on the internet and for the buck and features this one was a winner. Sweetwater has delivered another great piece of gear to my house. The setup was a very self-explanatory. There is a brief setup diagram printed on the package. Within 5 minutes I was able to play the LP on my new turntable connected with my stereo amplifier via ART DJ PRE II. I especially like the Gain knob on this preamp. It definitely helps to push the audio level a bit higher. No additional noise was detected. Crystal clear quality of sound. I am giving it 4.5 stars because of the lack of the Power switch. The unit is powered through the included power adapter. Once you plug in the power adapter to the electricity source the ART DJ PRE II stays ON all the time. I was concerned about it, so I have called Sweetwater. Got an explanation that this type of gear can stay ON all the time and that's normal. Well, it does stay ON all the time in my house, and so far nothing goes wrong. But I still wish there would be an option to turn the unit off. Solid build piece of gear. Metal case definitely build to last. Love the overal small size of this preamp. You can even hide it behind your turntable if you want to. Overall, a VERY GOOD experience with this preamp. If something would go wrong with it I would definitely buy another one. Excellent quality for a VERY reasonable price. If you are shopping for a good quality Phono Preamp then get this one, while they still make it ! You won't regret your choice. ;)

  • from Miami-Fla March 26, 2012Music Background:
    Performer

    Fast, courteous sale.

    The equipment delivers what was said. No regrets so far.

  • from Houston February 7, 2012Music Background:
    Rock and Roll fan.

    ART DJ PRE II

    Low price, fast delivery and friendly service. The ART DJ PRE II works great. I am glad to have this unit with the output control.

  • from Dublin, CA, USA January 23, 2012Music Background:
    Ex-Musician, Hobbyist

    Art DJ Pre II

    Product arrived on time, worked as advertised and I received 2 follow up phone calls. That is over the top exceptional as the item cost under $100. That is just not done anymore.

  • from NY January 17, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    ART Preamp

    After a recent purchase of a new receiever, I discovered that most manufacturers are no longer including a phono preamp in the chassis. I have an excellent Kenwood turntable that I thought would then take the path of my laser disk player. But I discovered this preamp, ordered it, hooked it up and my recored collection that I haven't touched in 25 years sounds terrific. For the price, you can't beat this little wonder.

  • from San Leandro,CA USA January 8, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist w/large collection of vinyl

    A great buy

    This unit surprises, the cost understates its performance.

  • from Sterling VA October 17, 2011Music Background:
    AV Integrator

    worked great!

    Worked great! Plugged in and everything worked great out of the package. The level adjustment is a great feature to allow you to balance the sound with the other source components.

  • from Fort Wayne, IN February 1, 2005

    Does a great job affordably!

    This little no-frills box from ART proves that they've done it again! I am a professional digitizer, and I digitize many of not-so-well-cut vinyls from small pressing houses. Easy to set up, effortless to operate, it brings preservation of vinyl to an affordable level without sacrificing quality. A must for anyone serious about platters.

Questions about the ART DJ PRE II?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway