0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

ISP Technologies Decimator II Noise Reduction Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 27 customer reviews
Questions about the ISP Technologies Decimator II Noise Reduction Pedal?

Questions about the ISP Technologies Decimator II Noise Reduction Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Rhode Island March 26, 2017

    ISP DECIMATOR II

    I love this product. When I'm working within the pedalboard, I always place one of these pedals at the end of a signal before going into an amp & even "in the box". This way, I can sculpt my sounds with pedals always knowing that the output signal will be "noise free". Also, placing this pedal at the end of any signal allows me to not worry when considering Distortion or Overdrive Pedals that will cause a lot of noise within the signal chain. I own 3 of these because of the way I setup my pedalboard. If I did't have this pedal, I wouldn't have a "clear signal" and my personal sculpted sounds.

  • from Norman Oklahoma February 2, 2017

    Aptly named

    I had a hum in my EVH 5150 50 watt head. The girls at church were complaining. Of course you could not hear the hum when I was playing. You could only hear it when the music stopped. Nevertheless the sisters complained, "he's to loud and to aggressive". The pastor laughs and says, "It's called a amplifier". Lol. To keep the peace, I called Sweetwater to help. They asked what my setup was and told me I needed the ISP decimator and where to put it in my chain. Unbelieveable!!! The hum is gone. In fact, it's so quiet that I keep checking to see if my volumes up before each song and checking my tuner to see if it's on mute mode. With the guitar volume on 10 and on the burn channel of the EVH there is no noise! Complete silence. I don't know who I love more right now, the guys at ISP for the decimator or Sweetwater for their continual willingness to explain, help and put the right equipment in my hands. One thing is sure. I can now crank the PRS Tremonti through the EVH 5150 50 watt and make a loud joyful noise to The Lord, as commanded in Psalm 150, and as long as the decimator continues to due its job, keeping everything quiet, the sisters can't complain. I just realized something, the decimator keeps the girls quiet also. Thats a 2 for 1 special. Lol. Seriously, Great product ISP and great recommendation Sweetwater. I love it.

  • from December 20, 2016

    ISP Decimator II

    ISP Decimator works great! It really cleaned up my pedal board. I figured out you have to keep it pulled back a touch or it can cut out long sustained notes. That said, it was easy to fix by turning the knob back a touch counter-clockwise. Great pedal!! If you play with people or sound guys that comment on hiss, get this thing! Well worth the money. Also- I noticed very little, if any tone loss... and I am hyper-sensitive to tone loss.

  • from Pennsylvania August 23, 2016

    Does the job!

    This pedal will kill any noise you have in front of the amp or after preamp in the loop, but not both. For that you need the G-String version; however if you are just trying to eliminate noise from one particular source (in my case noisy pickups) this pedal will do the job and do it extremely well. The best part is that your tone is left 100% intact. Would highly recommend this pedal for what it's designed to do.

  • from Texas April 27, 2016Music Background:
    Guitarists, DEMONSEED

    definitely does its job, sometimes too well!!

  • from Dallas, TX February 9, 2016

    Best Noise Gate Out there

    After using the Boss NS-2 for years and not getting the result I wanted I decided to buy a Decimator and give it a shot. It completely kills the unwanted feedback without taking away the sustain I'm looking for.

  • from Arizona October 21, 2015

    Noise Reducer

    It works, anybody who has amp chatter and unwanted noise when they're not playing anything, get this pedal, I was worried it would cut the high notes off, but it doesn't.

  • from Rhode Island October 8, 2015

    Decimate II Noise Reduction Pedal

    This pedal is designed to immediately be placed or very shortly after your distortion pedal on your pedal board to get rid of any "line noise" or "humming-like" sounds. In one configuration of my pedal board, I saw how it worked to rid the horrible "line noise". However, in another configuration, I was able to stop the "line noise" WITHOUT needing the pedal. Yet, I'm not an engineer, but placing this pedal on the pedal board shortly after the distortion pedal and adjusting it's dial, produced a nicer sound overall. Therefore, if you have heavy "line noise", this pedal may very well help you. Otherwise, you can experiment with this pedal to hear how it may alter your sound making your guitar sound "sweeter" - no punt intended. I prefer using this pedal.

  • from St. Louis August 2, 2015Music Background:
    Former Audio Design Engineer for Ampeg, Semi-Pro Musician, Owner of an Audio Electronics Repair Company

    MXR Smart Gate vs ISP Decimator 2

    I have several pedal boards for different projects, all using the same amplifier type most of the time, a V-Series V3112 or V30H. This is an all tube 30W, 2 channel, shared eq., high gain, class A amplifier. Aside from some pedals being noisier than others, my biggest problem is the amplification of external noise that a Class A amp can have depending on the surroundings in addition to the internal noise it produces on the high gain channel.

    I play in a Styx tribute band and several cover bands doing many genres but mostly hard rock and modern rock tunes where high gain is needed. So, my gain is not as high as a Triple Rectifier Ch3 and very few songs have a need for percussive accents or multiple quick pauses.

    I bought both of these pedals as they both seemed to be what I needed, but I was unsure how the decay would be as I many times roll my volume down to reduce gain and need notes to naturally decay. I also use the clean channel often and need to make sure that it will not choke these off either.

    Both pedals certainly do the job they state either in the front or in the effects loop, however there are noticeable differences that made the smart gate the winner for me. This all after having to remove a pedal that was causing some high frequency noise artifacts that made things difficult. Once I found this culprit it gave me a better perspective.

    The following comments are based on the pedal being used in the effects loop as this is the only way to quiet down the distortion channel hiss and noise. I used it them with the amp above as well as other very high gain amps that I own.

    The Decimator 2
    This pedal worked great for killing the high gain noise, but in order for me to find a balance that worked with the clean channel and rolling down my volume on the dirty channel, it did not do what I needed it to on the distortion channel with my guitar volume at max and the amp gain at 8. What the decimator pedal does do well is start and stop quickly. If you are playing heavy stuff with the need to start and stop on a very high gain setting, without worry of a long note decay, then this pedal is the bomb. The other point about this pedal is that it clamps all noise in all frequencies so it is dead quiet as compared to the smart gate...again making it more ideal for a very high gain amp setting.

    The Smartgate
    I own a couple MXR Noise Gate/Line Drivers from the early 80's. I used these pedals for years but they react more like the Decimator hence I found my self in a worst spot when trying to use them with the Styx project where I am constantly on my volume knob versus all out gain 90% of the time. So, here is where the smartgate has features that take the original MXR pedal to the next level. The two different trigger ranges really make a difference. I use the lower setting mostly but found the higher setting worked great for the very high gain amps I own. Bottom line is it makes the trigger point easier to dial in on. The other feature that I found was good...and bad depending on the situation, was the frequency range switch. If you have a noise in a certain range, this switch will omit it or dampen it to an acceptable level. Being able to narrow in on a smaller range really helps the decay sound more natural. I will say however that if it knocked down the noise another 3-6dB it would really help when in the full range mode, but overall it is very acceptable and a good trade if the decay is helped by this. The thing that shines the most is the way it samples and monitors the signal and applies the gate. It makes the decay extremely natural and slowly omits the noise at the same time that the signal dies. Great job on the design engineers part on this.
    So, when using this pedal in the front end, the frequency range selector can really help keeping things natural versus the decimator. I found that it did a much better job. Also, I have limited space on my pedal board so I did not want to have one pedal in the front end and one in the effects loop. So, I suppose from what I have read that using two decimator pedals in tandem via the 1/8" cable may make it better suited for my application but that means more real estate and more money. The smartgate seems to accomplish this task in a single pedal with adequate results.

    Bottom line...the Smartgate does many things very well, takes up a little less real estate on your pedal board, and can save you money in certain applications. For me it was the clear choice.

  • from Champlin, MN April 19, 2015Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter

    Does The Job

    I needed to replace my Boss noise reduction pedal, and this came highly recommended. It's easy to use, and does a pretty good job. I do wish that there was a sensitivity setting such as on the Boss pedals,but if you keep this in the middle or less, it's not much of an issue. My issue with the Boss pedal was an audible cut when the gate closed, and the Decimator II has a smooth end point.

    It is a little more challenged using single coils, especially on my Squier Vintage Modified Jazzmaster. It's great in the noise cancelling position, but you really have to crank the knob if you are running the neck or bridge pickup alone. This could be due to the amp as well, as I am playing through my Egnater Tweaker 40. On my Behringer and Cube amps, the latter which seems to have some noise gating built in, I have much less noise to "gate," so to speak.

    In clean settings, the pedal is lovely, and with humbucking pickups and high gain, it takes care of any extra noise.

    Not quite perfect, but pretty danged close.

  • from March 30, 2015Music Background:
    Played guitar for around 6 years

    The feedback is gone!

    I use this pedal with my Peavey 5150 and it's definitely something I'll never go without. Before I got the Decimator the feedback was awful, but with it there's absolutely no excess noise. I would highly suggest the Decimator to anybody dealing with excess noise/feedback!

  • from nebraska February 24, 2015Music Background:
    strat hack

    decimator awesomeness

    It really is as good as they say. knocks out the noise from the poorly wired area I practice in.

  • from Eureka, MO USA December 4, 2014Music Background:
    Lifelong guitar player

    decent noise reduction

    This pedal works OK. It's not great it's just adequate. The construction feels cheap. The battery clip was made to use once or twice. Definitely use a power supply. The case is big and clunky, but it seems sturdy. There is about no cool factor with this pedal. It just does what it does.

  • from Valrico, FL September 23, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Audio Engineer.

    Natural Sounding Noise Gate!

    This noise gate, as opposed to what a couple of reviews have said, does decay naturally if placed correctly on your pedalboard. ISP recommends inserting it as the very first pedal in the chain. However, I find that only works effectively if you either have two linked Decimators (one in front of the chain and another as the first pedal in your FX Loop), or a Decimator G-String.

    If you're only using one Decimator, then you'll need to experiment with placement to see where it works best for you. Compressors, especially when set high, bring up the noise floor, so you need to keep that in mind if you use one in your setup.

    This pedal is well built, and will last you a long time. Highly recommended!

  • from Charlotte, NC September 19, 2014

    ISP Decimator II

    Does exactly what it's supposed to do, without killing the tone of your guitar. It will eat batteries very quickly, so I would recommend getting a power supply.

  • from Kansas City, MO June 20, 2014Music Background:
    Intermediate Musician, Guitar Enthusiast

    Worth Every Penny

    My amp had a hiss that was so bad I thought it was unfixable. My amp turned up with gain would strike blood curdling feedback into any ears within a mile radius. This pedal silenced the feedback. Absolutely blown away. Trust me, I sat and thought a long time before dropping the money on this pedal, but now that I have it, I can't live without it. Just dial it into your feedback and you're good forever after. I have this thing near cranked and my tone is still very stable. I don't know how ISP does it but they really outdid themselves with this. Absolutely top class.

  • from Fargo, ND April 25, 2014Music Background:
    16 years playing exp, production, engineering, touring/recording artist

    Just buy one already!

    It's a noise gate. You need one.

    But really, this noise gate should be simulated by every digital guitar processor and amp simulator out there! It's easy to use, doesn't fail, and cuts clean! What more could you need?

    Works great live! I've found myself wishing for a simulated plugin of this gate to use in Protools (instead of bussing tracks out).

    Just make sure that if you're running it with batteries instead of a power supply, you'll need to unplug any cables after each use, otherwise you'll be going through batteries like they're going out of style!

  • from Anderson, IN March 13, 2014Music Background:
    27 years of playing

    It works

    Plug it in, give it some power, turn the knob until the hiss stops, forget about it. It works that easy and that well. I'd buy one again in a heartbeat.

  • from February 26, 2014Music Background:
    Worship, rock, over 25 years playing

    Not for everyone

    Based on reviews, I had high expectations of the Decimator 2. However, at least for my rig, it did not live up to them. I must say it works well controlling hum but the notes would not decay naturally. And if your gigs have you playing clean and high gain, this pedal is not the way to go because it is not 'set and forget'. You would need to turn on and off along your distortion. I tried it both on my effects chain and in the effects loop.

    With my rig, I must say the Boss NS2 handles both clean and high gain as 'set and forget'. I did not see that coming but I A-B'd them and the Boss won. More natural note decay without the sputtering the ISP made at the trail off point.

    The ISP is heavy, built like a tank. I can see it working well for metal, distortion always on type of applications. It simply is not for every rig...

  • from Indianpolis February 16, 2014Music Background:
    26 years. Hobbyist at this point.

    Buy one.

    OH I hooked up that Decimator II and I am VERY happy. Why didn't I add one to my board long ago. Won't go without one from this point on. I got a couple buddies coming over to check it out. Hard to believe that removing that little hum, could make such a change.

  • from Connecticut February 7, 2014Music Background:
    Regular slug just pickin'away!

    Decimator II Noise Reduction Pedal Review

    Been looking around for a pedal like this and got a recommendation from a friend. This one is really good! A wide range of adjustment and REALLY sturdy!
    RECOMMENDED

  • from Washington DC January 15, 2014Music Background:
    guitar player

    Simply the Best Noise Reduction pedal available

    I don't like noise suppression. I hate crazy noise in my guitar rig even more. High gain rigs = noise. I actually went AGAINST the advise of my Sweetwater sales rep (sorry I doubted you Aaron, never again!) and went with a Boss noise gate because I thought I could use the loop function to separate out 4 or 5 noise causing dirt boxes, compressor and auto wah. The Boss killed ALL of the tone - it was literally like I had wrapped a quilt around my amp. FAIL. I returned the Boss pedal (thanks Sweetwater!) and went with the ISP Decimator 2. I really cannot explain the difference but it is simply amazing. I ordered a 2nd ISP and I run that in the effects loop of my Marshall DSL50 (before delay/reverb so as not to cut off trails).. I also am using the link in/out functions with 1/8th inch (3.5mm) audio cable so that the 2 Decimators track my guitar signal even better. This system simply kills 90-95% of unwanted noise and leaves 99% of your tone and the "feel" of your guitar/amp connection like it was before. There will be some noise with any high gain application - I firmly believe the ISP Decimator 2 is a MUST BUY for high gain.

  • from NorCal January 13, 2014Music Background:
    P&W Musician

    Buzz Noise Be Gone!

    I have a Marshall JVM410H that's an awesome amp. The downside to playing through it is the hi gain buzz. After placing the Decimator II in my signal chain, I no longer deal with the hi gain buzz. What a relief!

    If you're thinking of getting a noise eliminator, this is THE pedal you need.

  • from Gordon, GA December 2, 2013Music Background:
    Very Seasoned Guitarist

    Created It's Own Buzz

    I got all new equipment this past August. A Les Paul Studio and a Marshall JVM210H/1960A Half Stack. I had this at the tail of the pedals going into the front of the amp. A Korg Pitch Black tuner, a Dunlop Crybaby Wah, an Ibanez TS( Tube Screamer and then the ISP Decimator 2.

    At first, it did as it was supposed to do. Then, it started adding an extra buzz to the clean channel and the gain channel. I contacted Sweetwater about this, and their great customer service sent me a brand new replacement Decimator 2.

    Same thing happened again. I'm going to try a different one next. I guess it just doesn't want to work with my equipment.

  • from July 17, 2013

    No noise! All tone!

    Got rid of amp buzz and unwanted feedback. And most importantly didn't kill my tone!!!!

  • from Dallas, TX July 4, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar for 30 years, amateur recording

    This could silence an earthquake!

    I have tested the Boss and MXR noise gates/clamps and this pedal did an amazing job of cutting out unwanted noise without touching the sound. I ran 5 different OD/distortion pedals through this bad boy at the same time - the Decimator 2 could be adjusted to cancel out every bit of the hiss, buzz, and squeals (of course you would never run this much gain, I wanted to see how far I could push this pedal). With significant gain, you can set the threshold relatively low and cut out the noise, but keep the great sound without any clipping. I do a lot of home recording as well as club playing and wanted a way to cut out hiss for recordings, as well as feedback when I crank my JCM 800 for shows. This pedal works great in both settings. Word of advice - when you are using heavy gain and have the threshold setting a little higher, but then you back the gain down, you may want to adjust the threshold to compensate the lower gain. In other worlds, if you have your threshold set too high (too high for the amount of gain you are using), you will notice the performance of your sound drop a bit. A simple fix, just drop the threshold down a bit. Finding that perfect setting is very simple. This pedal is the way to go.

  • from Hanover, PA June 22, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    It's Majic

    I don't know what it does or how it does it, but this pedal really cleans up the signal. It makes all of my guitars sound awesome. I wouldn't say it's completely transparent, but It cleans up your signal in a good way. Single notes pop off the fretboard. It gets rid of the muddiness. It's much improved over the first generation decimator. I even convinced my band mate by A/Bing it against the first generation pedal. He put his old decimator on eBay and ordered the decimator II right then. You should give it a try.

Questions about the ISP Technologies Decimator II Noise Reduction Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway