0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

DigiTech Death Metal Distortion Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    The Death Metal is mean, evil, and will rip your guitar sound to shreds. I used this pedal for the majority of my band's guitar tracks on our last recording and it was perfect. This is an essential pedal for metal, industrial, thrash, and gothic. We even use this on our bass rig.

  • from Texas October 18, 2013Music Background:
    Beginner Guitar Player

    Awesome for messing around

    I am a total beginner and was looking for something when my lessons became boring. This pedal keeps me going and is VERY metal.

  • from Brown City, MI USA April 5, 2008Music Background:
    aspiring musician

    Perfect for more than Death Metal

    Though the name suggests that the pedal would be used for primarily Death Metal, you can use this baby for pretty much any metal you want! It may only have four knobs but with each turn you go deeper and deeper into metal perfection. There is no limit to what you can do with this pedal, each combination of turns gives you a whole new type of distortion, though all are fantastically heavy and well rounded. If you can think of a type of metal, this pedal can do it! I've made this thing have violin like sustain and I've had it crunch with the like's of Metallica and Slayer.

    Me and friend jam all the time and I'll tell you what, I'm glad this pedal has two outputs, I'll plug into his mixer and my amp at the same time for tonal nirvana, while his mixer is delivering my leads, my amp is there for backup effects, it's like hearing three guitars (because my friend plays one too)! If you are a professional looking for a sinister pedal at a very friendly price, or your a an aspiring musician (like myself) looking for your first pedal to metal out too, you should definately be on the lookout for this one.

    I dropped this thing down a flight of stairs (on accident) and you wouldn't have even noticed if you didn't see me drop it. All I know is that if you buy this pedal, be prepared to shred, 'cause this thing is perfect.

  • from St. Louis, MO USA November 30, 2007Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Incredible

    The DigiTech DeathMetal has the best tone money can buy. If you play Metal, you need one of these!

  • from Maine August 30, 2006Music Background:
    Musician

    Awsome

    This pedal is perfect. This pedal is one of the best I've used, the distortion on it is so heavy!

  • from May 7, 2017Music Background:
    professional touring musician

    It does what it's supposed to.

    Death Metal is supposed to be noisy. The people on here complaining about this pedal being noisy or raunchy, are posers.

  • from oakland December 4, 2009Music Background:
    punk, industrial, hip hop, blues, jazz, synth punk, no wave.

    It's good on bass.

    I picked this up for guitar and it really wasnt my cup of tea. I guess I skew more punk/hardcore in that way. But on bass guitar it is an immense pedal. I suppose becuase lots of death metal guitarists tune to D or C, so along with the low EQ and my basses active eq getting a solid low end with grind was no prob.

  • from Atlanta, GA, USA September 16, 2006Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Not Suggested For The Tone Freak

    When I first ordered this pedal, I was extremely excited about getting it, as at the time I had just gotten into death metal. When I recieved it, I was quite happy until I actually plugged the thing in. I turned it on, started jamming, and was dissapointed. As is with most DigiTech effects pedals, you can tell that it sounds, well, digital. The problem with the pedal was that it was a digital pedal. Before I got this, I didn't know the difference between digital and analog pedals. It sounds okay, but the digital sound just isn't right for me. Another problem I have with it is it's really noisy. When I use it, my humbuckers pick up all sorts of unnecessary noises, which doesn't sound good at all in recordings or on stage. On a positive note, this pedal seems like a beast. I don't foresee it ever breaking, no matter how much abuse it recieves. If you're looking for a sweet pedal to give you awesome metal/death metal tones that you can use in front of people, look elsewhere. But if you just want some high gain, noisy, dark tones, and don't mind if they sound digital, then this could quite definitely be your fix.

  • from Taunton, MA USA March 6, 2006

    WHOA!

    what a HEAVY sounding pedal!! I must say, it's got the perfect name, that's for sure - if you're into Death(R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner), Morbid Angel, Lamb of God, Nile, or similar bands GET THIS PEDAL! Don't be put off by the fact that it doesn't have a gain control - if you're even considering something named "Death Metal", you'd have the gain cranked anyways... LOL The 3 tone controls are VERY responsive - more than darn near any pedal I've tried! This enables you to actually get a wide range of tones from this pedal. I've also had no problems whatsoever with the battery life - not sure why anyone else would... it's analog, not digital, so batteries should last longer than in a comparable digital pedal. It says METAL and that's what it does - VERY WELL!

  • from SK. Canada February 1, 2005

    Death Metal Pedal is truly killer..

    I just got the Digitech Death Metal pedal.. I must say that it kills every other distortion pedal I have played, even the line 6 Uber Metal pedal and the BOSS Medal Zone.. Although all three are good, I would suggest buying the Digitech Death Metal Pedal over either of those. The sound is amazing, the tone control is great and covers a great range that can be made to sound great for any guitar. .

  • February 1, 2005

    I'm impressed!

    I really like everything about the Death Metal pedal except one thing, battery life. I've had it for quite some time and it just sucks batteries like no other. I put a brand new battery in it right after I bought it, and after only about 3 total hours of playing time on it, the battery is already almost dead.

Questions about the DigiTech Death Metal Distortion Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway