0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 2

TC Electronic Dark Matter Distortion Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 26 customer reviews
Questions about the TC Electronic Dark Matter Distortion Pedal?

Questions about the TC Electronic Dark Matter Distortion Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Montague, MI January 11, 2017Music Background:
    35 year experienced hobbyists and avid basement rocker.

    Another great TC Electronics product!

    Ok. There's a million different distortion pedals you could choose. I chose this one because I'm a very loyal TC electronics fan and I needed a separate distortion pedal in my signal chain. My main rig is an 84 Gibson Standard into Marshall DSL40C with a Creamback speaker. That's no way I can improve on that however, I use an A/B switch to a pair of Peavey's for my Clean channel and a looper. Enter the Dark Matter. It's perfect for my style and preference. The separate bass & treble controls are a plus. It's super well-built and designed which is typical for TCE. Not all distortion pedals fit all players and equipment but this is a brand that you can trust so it's worth a try. This is my 4th TCE pedal and not my last!
    Rock Out.

  • from San Antonio Texas January 2, 2017Music Background:
    Beginner Guitar

    TC Dark Matter Distortion

    First one I have owned and so far I like it and it works great!

  • from Left coast Nor-Cal November 15, 2016Music Background:
    rhythm and noise

    Dark Matter Distortion.

    I bought this opened the box when it arrive plugged it in to my amp modeling Digitech GSP1101.
    it does old tube amps very very well.
    first into the 57 Deluxe ... Bingo! Them the Twin with a coarse amount of grit, then light touch . mmmm nice. smooth
    then the JCM 800 oh my a nice big clear sound , smooth , no fuzzy edges, wonderful.
    I like what it does with my gear.
    I bough the Dark Matter and MOJOMOJO at the same time, they arrives promptly free of charge
    at my front door.
    The customer service is great. This is where I shop for music gear Sweetwater Music setting the bar very high for great customer service.

  • from Northern California July 4, 2016Music Background:
    Semi Pro bass player, worship leader

    This distortion matters......

    This Dark Matter Distortion works well for both guitar and bass. Plenty of grind when you need it and you don't lose any low end punch. Not for metalcore or other extreme metal music this is ideal for classic rock from the 70's and 80's. Really good eq and there is a voice switch to change the character of the grind if you like. Pair this with either the Spectra Comp or the Hyper Gravity compressor to make your guitar or bass sound huge!

  • from Detroit January 30, 2016Music Background:
    Hack

    Killer pedal

    This was my first pedal, and I just love it's versatility and the overall variety of sound I can produce. Highly recommend.

  • from October 1, 2015

    Excellent

    $45? Super price for this killer pedal. I recently bought a Mojomojo (also $45) and the more expensive Spark Booster for my rig. Three awesome pedals. I'm very impressed with tc electronic. As for DM, the individual bass and treble knobs, in conjunction with the voice switch, really allow for sweet solo tones. Great deal. Highly recommended. Thanks TC and SW.

  • from USA August 21, 2015Music Background:
    Pro

    Flavorful Grind

    In one respect, distortion pedals are like clothes... they each impart a unique style to your tone. Some distortion pedals will make your sound just plain bad, others are workable, and then just a few classics have a sound that makes your tone sharp... these pedals make you want to play more and explore your tone in even greater detail. The Dark Matter distortion is this latter type... difficult to disable because it quite simply sounds good with everything!

  • from USA August 21, 2015Music Background:
    Pro

    Perfect!

    Within the past month, I have become a huge TC Electronic fan! Years ago they had a free reverb VST that was better than many commercial products! My first purchase was the MOJOMOJO and the sound was perfect. Next, I snagged the Dark Matter distortion... again, it does nothing more or less than what you want your favorite distortion pedal to do. I was so please with these two pedals that I have since purchased the TC Electronic Alter Ego 2 Vintage Delay and the Hall Of Fame reverb. All I can say is, if you buy these pedals, you won't be disappointed.

  • from Argenta, Il. (Central Ill) August 5, 2015

    Dark Matter stomp box

    I was interested in what different stomp boxes for guitar would sound like .
    (The descriptions in magazines and on line were interesting and stoked me up to get them) . Last year I purchased the Roland GR-D and was very pleased the way it preformed. I was looking at an e-catalogue and saw the TC Electronic Dark Matter box that looked very promising and well under what I thought it would cost. The next week I talked myself to purchasing it. The video pushed me over the edge. Besides I could always send it back. I received it in the mail (days before I would have started looking for it to arrive). The sounds that came out of my amp were great. It was a $50 It has a very big range of distortion sounds for the size and cost. I am now two for two and am saving up for my next box. And you can bet I will buy it from Sweetwater.

  • from WICHITA, KS July 14, 2015

    Another high quality TC Electronic product.

    This is my fourth TC Electronic pedal, and they are all among my best. The Ditto Looper was my first, great. Then I got the Alter Ego Vintage Echo, fantastic studio quality sound. Next was the MojoMojo, which is the best low overdrive pedal I have yet tried. Because I liked the MojoMojo so much, I had to try the Dark Matter. Just got done ripping away with this through a Fender 68 Custom Deluxe Reverb, and all I can say is, it did not sound like a Fender Amp; more like a high end metal amp. Maxed out the bass on the amp and the bass tone control on the Dark Matter, and Wow, I was off into Metal Fantasy Land. What ever you are doing TC Electronic, please keep doing. Four pedals so far from them, and as good as or better than pedals I have paid 200 dollars for. High quality tone shaping.

  • from Pennsylvania March 18, 2015Music Background:
    session player touring bassist

    TC Electronics dark matter bass guitar

    I'm pretty much a tone freak everything's got to be perfect I used Ampeg SVT VR Heads all tube avatar 410 cabinets with the Delta pros and 14 watts RMS.Warmoth basses the cost me over 1800 dollars a piece.for bass guitar this pedal does it all I can use it as just a clean boost the little bit of grind that breaks up like an old SvT or full distortion which is still in a weird way crystal clear and without losing any low end I don't know how they did it but this is the only pedal I found that can do what I just explained hats off to TC Electronics I have 3 other pedals after I bought the dark matter I gotta jump into tc dreamscape chorus and the tc poly tune tuner which is unbelievable tuner.you can't go wrong with TC Electronics every Pedal i have tried from them has sounded way better than the rest.

  • from PA March 29, 2014Music Background:
    Seroius guitarist and recording hobbyist

    Dark Matter Distortion

    I have been using in the box effect unit for years but in front of those units like the PODHD 500 and my tube amp (Peavy Vypyr 120w) this is a great addition. I can't believe how kicking this on even with a distorted chain adds more power and definition and just awesome boost and tone to what already is a good dialed in sound. In all my years I have never got a bigger sound for shredding and leads. It just boost, distorts, and gains nicely and just makes the rig sound bigger and better. With all knobs a1 12 o'clock and the voice switch in the up position it's as close to the Petrucci sound I have been after for years The line 6 has a Mesa amp simulator and then you can add the units effects like delay and reverb to nail that tone. As described this is distortion, not fizz, not overdrive,so it really performs and sounds like it's supposed to. Dark Matter is a cool name for it too and as usual tc electronics products are of the highest quality. John Ptak and Sweetwater was great as usual and it arrived at my front door 73 hours after the order was placed. Impressive.

  • from Detroit, MI February 14, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Very versatile range of distortion and "plays well with others"

    I read alot of reviews saying this is not the most aggressive gain pedal andsince purchasing the Dark Matter I would say that is a relative statement. On it's own into a clean amp it is capable of fuzz-like distortion to my ears.

    I run a Catalinbread Octapussy > TC Spark Booster > Dark Matter and must say I can get just about any flavor of distortion, EQ boost, volume boost that I need. I still get GAS for Fuzz Pedals but I know the tone I need is probably already on my pedalboard, in my amp, and more likely best discovered through honing my playing technique.

  • from Northern,CA> February 25, 2012Music Background:
    6yrs school beging in 79.chasen VH till now

    the Marshall pedal.

    this is what a distortion should sound like.
    and at this price,Yes! i finally got it right.
    its not meant as a metal pedal.
    it makes my amp sound high end for sure and
    the two separate tone controls,the only way to fly.
    if this is your first distortion quest,BUY IT!.
    other experienced guys,you owe it to yourself to try it!

  • from Washington State, USA February 13, 2012Music Background:
    Amature guitarist and hobbyist for 30+ years. Hard rock, blues, etc.

    Not Your Typical Distortion Pedal

    The Dark Matter Distortion is not a typical fuzz type distortion pedal. It is more of a distortion tone pedal, meaning it gives you the same type of tone and distortion effect you would get in an overdriven tube amp. As such, it is responsive to how hard or how soft you play. In addition, it is more of a natural sound with variant intensity in the distortion itself.

    The distortion is not oversaturated like some distortion pedal effects. This is more old school. TC Electronic keeps the quality high end and offers more traditional rock or blues like tonal options in this pedal. You won't get insane metal distortion out of this box. On the other hand, TC Electronic offers those who need more distortion the Rotweiller Distortion pedal, a high gain intense distortion sound compared to the Dark Matter.

    I am pleased with Dark Matter Distortion as I am with all the TC Electronic stompboxesl. Highly recommended.

  • from Tallahassee, FL May 19, 2017Music Background:
    "I play the guitar because I like it, not because I am good at it."

    Versatile Distorion

    I am still experimenting with the different tones one can get from the Dark Matter Distortion. It has a wide range of sounds from rattling rat-like to smooth and creamy distortion. I have not tried the Tone Print function, as yet. I will when I have more time to spend with the unit.

  • from February 5, 2017Music Background:
    Blues rock / Punk / Ambiance Guitarist

    The most afforfable versatile hard rock distortion yet

    The only reason that I am not giving this stomp box the 5 stars it rightfully deserves from my tonal perspective is precisely that it is a distortion that might not appeal to everybody. Some of the critiques are valid in other words. This is a dirt box not meant for those who like a more compressed and very consistent sound, certain metal players for instance. Having that said, since I lean more towards blues rock, punk and that more marshall like guitar tone this distortion has been pure sonic heaven since day one . I love how it responds to every nuance of your picking and how the pedals eq options plus the myriad sounds you get by rolling down or up the guitar volume make this pedal more than just a very affordable intro to those passionate about guitar tone. The pedal is able to sound bluesy specially with the neck pick up selected, warm for hard rock, lead work and yes even metal. This pedal gets a bit into the territory of the Boss DS-1 and the ProCo Rat while leaving enough room for experimentation and personal tweeking
    This is a keeper.

  • from January 11, 2017

    YEP!

    Fist of all ~ I love Sweetwater! Tried out 3 or 4 pedals, settled on this one. I'm a Blues player so I don't need a lot of distortion but do like it's drive effect. This one does the trick, plus tonal control, and if I need a lot of distortion well, this is a distortion pedal. Plus I got the demo and $ off! What a deal! Once I got it home, I'm very pleasantly surprised at the range I can get out of the pedal. For $ Yep, well worth the $'s paid. Thank you Sweetwater!!!

  • from Westfield, MA May 12, 2016Music Background:
    Bar Bands

    Great Deal

    I ordered this one night after a night of "celebrating", and didn't remember I had until it arrived at my door. So naturally I was a little apprehensive given that I had pulled the trigger on this thing in a less than clear state. Well, I had nothing to fear! This pedal does sound great. I have an OCD pedal which I love for drive, but this pedal brings a sweet flavor of gain. Build quality is solid. The low price makes me wonder why TC can't offer more of their pedals at a discount. Would love to see the flashback or HOF offered for something close to this!

  • from California November 13, 2015Music Background:
    I'm an old dude that grew up on Zepplin, Van Halen and hair bands! Been playing over 35 yrs

    Great Pedal

    Really is a great pedal even if it cost more it would be a good deal. Very versatile pedal and despite the name it's not one of those one tone mid scooped pedals that are single focused. At $100 usd you'll have a hard time finding a better deal.

  • from NYC June 8, 2011Music Background:
    pro gtr player/teacher in NYC

    great tone

    the name is a bit misleading (although i like it), the pedal has a great overdrive quality up to ripping distortion. Very open sounding, not compressed. As stated it does a killer job of acting like a real tube amp, play lite and it cleans up, dig in and it crunches. Same idea happens when you roll off the volume. This is a very musical pedal with a variety of tones (SRV to Rhodes), highly recommended.

  • from South Carolina April 17, 2017

    tc electronic dark matter distortion pedal

    i really like the pedal ,and stack it with the mojomojo it has that little bit more of a edge for harder sounding
    distortion ,and a uniqueness to your sound

  • from Normal, IL August 6, 2015Music Background:
    semi-pro home recordist

    Nice pedal

    I've been enjoying this pedal since I got it. It has a warm sound that still has enough cut to make it in a band. The tone controls have enough range to give a wide variety of sounds. It seems to work well with both single coils and humbuckers. I have a large collection of fuzz and distortion pedals and the Dark Matter is a welcome addition to my pedal board. There is enough variety with the voicing and tone controls to get some unique sounds. This pedal is capable of giving you a high level of distortion tunable by the EQ which works well for a raging lead. It also plays well with other pedals I've put compressors, fuzzes, and ODs both before and after the Dark Matter with good results. I recommend this pedal to anybody as it goes from OD to a grinding distortion and it's from TC Electronics and you can't go wrong with them.

  • from USA September 29, 2011Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Good starting point.

    Sounds great as a sustaining boost or as a stand alone rythym distortion. Keeps your tone in tact and the low end is nice. With high gain settings on the pedal it is easy to overload your amp if you use high gain amps causing serious low end build-up on lower strings. Other complaints would be the treble control seems to have little effect on the sound whether is at 0 or 10. Also when you buy true bypass pedals you have to deal with the popping noise they make when turning them on and off. Great pedal but not mind blowing.

  • from Sacramento April 4, 2012Music Background:
    12 yr rock/blues guitar player

    Dark Matter Review

    I have several TC pedals and I have my favorites, the Dark Matter displays the great look and feel of a well made product, the average score is based on the thin sound it produces. The distortion sound is what I expected but the voice switch does not seem to offset the thin sound. When I put it behind the MojoMojo pedal it works out.

  • from May 17, 2016

    May Be a Good Pedal, but Not for Me

    I play through a Fender Champion 20 amp and an MIM Strat with Humbuckers for home studio recordings. I got the TC MOJOMOJO previously, and thought this would a good logical companion to the TC DM Distortion. The MOJO is a wonderful pedal. After experimenting for a while with both pedals together along with the amp settings, I just couldn't find a suitable sound resembling anything playable. Not the distortion I was hoping for at all, plus no matter the settings the distortion was always muddy. I didn't have this problem with combining the MOJO with my Outlaw Widow Maker distortion pedal, so I don't think it's a problem with my amp itself. It's something about this pedal that doesn't play nice apparently with my amp. This may be a great pedal for somebody else, and the build quality is solid (which is why I give more than 1 star), but it just didn't work for me. I'm returning it.

Questions about the TC Electronic Dark Matter Distortion Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway