0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Yamaha DXR15 1100W 15" Powered Speaker Reviews

5.0 stars based on 13 customer reviews
Questions about the Yamaha DXR15 1100W 15" Powered Speaker?

Questions about the Yamaha DXR15 1100W 15" Powered Speaker?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from GA December 7, 2016Music Background:
    professional

    These are great!

    I've been using these regularly for 4 years and have been thoroughly pleased. Great clarity, bass, volume, definition.

    They're also lightweight and pretty durable!

  • from Oak Island, NC April 16, 2016Music Background:
    Keyboard player

    Superb Mains

    Have used these for 4 gigs now and the accolades from "groupies" has been that the sound never was better. Bass response is very good. These are extremely powerful and extremely accurate in detail. Love them!

  • from United States March 26, 2015Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Super Speakers !

    Okay, I own 2 QSC153s and they are phenomenal cabinets that we use for mains. We have a 5 piece high energy rock band.Had the JBL 735s and returned them. Very cheaply built. So then got the QSCs. and they ROCK !! Then I went out looking for a back up active speaker that could be used in a pinch in the off chance one of the mains had an issue.{which would really be an off chance. The QSCs are rock solid!} Figured I would use an extra speaker as a powerful monitor. ENTER the Yamaha DXR15. WOW I was surprised at how powerful and clear they are with GREAT bass response. Just to check it out I put the DXR on one side of the room and the QSC153 on the other. Sounded fantastic ! {Held it's own} The mids in the QSC gave it the edge but I am impressed with the DXR. So much that I bought another one to pair with the QSCs for bigger shows and since we have two Yamaha DXS15's subs to sit the DXR's on, it's a freakin WALL OF SOUND !! Great gear !

  • from Absecon N.J. January 20, 2015Music Background:
    DJ

    FINALLY!!!!!

    First I would like to thank Ian Roegels for the top notch customer service and getting my Yamaha DXR15 speakers to me with blazing speed, Sweetwater is now my go to shop for all my audio needs. These speakers are amazing, the clarity and deep bass in these cabs are unmatched at this price range, I just got them today and my wife had to make me shut it down, I've been deejaying since 1982 and these are the best speakers I've owned, great job Yamaha and Sweet water.

  • from Ballston Spa, NY July 7, 2014Music Background:
    Keyboardist & Singer. Live Sound.

    Amazing speakers.

    I got rid of my Mackie SA 1521Z's for these. Light Weight and very clean with a nice balance of highs, mids & Lows. Yamaha out did themselves with these and the DSP processing works great. I would buy the covers also just for that added protection. I run sound from stage and everyone is always asking me, how do you get that sound with just these 4 speakers. We use 2 Yamaha DXR 15's and 2 JBL 18" powered subs.

  • from Schaumburg IL December 21, 2012Music Background:
    DJ

    Loud

    These speakers just scream.... Compared against all the other powered 15" speakers and these didnít even give them a chance to whisper. Both can fit in the trunk of most cars as well. I highly recommend these. If you are just looking for speakers to play music on around the house/studio look elswhere cuz these would be over kill. Just way to loud.... #STARSKI INC

  • from City Island, NY November 9, 2012Music Background:
    Piano Technician, Musician

    DXR 15 - a fabulous speaker!

    Yamaha has a great speaker on their hand with the DXR 15!
    I've got six of them for my Hauptwerk Virtual Pipe Organ System and they sound GREAT!

  • from Seattle, WA USA August 2, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    The best sounding speaker ever!

    To be honest, I was not a big fan of Yamaha when it comes to powered loudspeakers, but.... this speaker is really something. I compared DXR15 to K12, EON515XT, PRX615 and ELX115P, but this speaker killed all of them completely at high volume. It kept up really well keeping all its clarity and powerful bass. You will be amazed how loud it gets!!!

  • from WASHINGTON October 28, 2016

    Amazing Speaker

    I am full time audio engineer for a mid sized university and use the speakers in all of my roving, portable PA systems. They sound amazing and are incredibly durable. The built in High Pass Filter and FOH/Monitor switches allow you to customize the sound of the speaker to manner in which it will be used.

    My only knock on the speakers is that the cabinets are designed to produce a lot of bottom end. When using them in a voice amplification setting, make sure to engage the High Pass Filter switch on the back to get rid of the boomy sound. Even though we were adding in the HPF on our mixing board, we still had to engage it on the speaker cabinet to clean up the sound.

  • from Denver September 22, 2015Music Background:
    Professional DJ & Musician

    DXR15 = Great Sound at a Great Price

    I'm a professional mobile DJ with 25 years experience. My gigs consist of music from the 70's & 80's, latin, rock and modern dance music so I was looking for a speaker that wasn't too bright but was clear and warm sounding. This is where a 15" speaker comes in handy. I have owned many powered speakers over the years. So after tons of research and demos I decided to go with the DXR15's.

    I looked at the others in this price range and found most to meet my needs but the DXR15 seemed to shine through more than the others. Very clean and loud speaker, nice lows and clear highs. Since i already own subs I thought about going with the DXR12 instead of the 15 but wanted the option to use them without subs and while the DXR12 is also a great sounding speaker it just didn't produce enough low end for my needs. That said If i was only going to use them with subs than I would have gone with the DXR12. The rear mixer and DSP section covers all possible scenarios and there's a great mono/stereo feature that allows you to daisy chain additional speakers in stereo. I also looked at the DSR15 but found it to be much larger, heavier and overall just a bit overkill for a typically mobile application. If I was going to create a ground stack with multiple subs per side than I would prefer the DSR15 as it is more powerful and better suited for that kind of application.

    In the last 2 weeks since my purchase I've used them a few times. With and without subs and they sound great. Clean & loud! This speaker does have some size and weight to it but I don't find it to be anything unmanageable. I can easily lift them to mount them on a pole and I'm only 5'8". My only gripe with the DXR series is the finish on the speaker, It seems to scuff very easily. For this I purchased a pair of the yamaha padded covers so it's no big deal. But it's always a good idea anyway to buy covers for your speakers so they don't get accidentally damaged during transport. But other than that the speaker is very well built and sounds great. I couldn't be happier with my decision. And as always Sweetwater does a great job of answering questions and connecting me with the products i need!!

  • from Forest, Va January 17, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Great speaker! Loud , clear and beautiful.

    Great speaker! Used for home parties. Loud with good bass and of course with with great clarity. Would have given a five but one of the threaded mounting holes was size M8 , all should be M10. Had to modify to use M10 eyebolts. That included taking the speaker completely apart, not cool!

  • from City Island, NY September 19, 2012Music Background:
    piano tuner, Organist, Music Director, Music Teacher

    Great sound at a great price!

    I bought 6 Yamaha DXR 15s for a Hauptwerk virtual organ project and they have proven themselves to be lifesavers! They are easy to handle and tweak as needed and they sound great!

  • from California August 9, 2012Music Background:
    Drummer

    Great Deal

    I own VMPS RM30s at home and I have lots of sound treatment to go with them so I needed a speaker with volume but it also had to have the quality of sound I was used to. The quality of the sound is fantastic I listened to the 12 before the 15 but the 15 had the bass without a subwoffer. I wanted somthing for bacyard partys so they had to be potable also. Ilove the sound of these speakers!! They don't sound great in a small living room but they were not designed for that pupose. They sound fantastic outside!!!!

Questions about the Yamaha DXR15 1100W 15" Powered Speaker?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway