0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Tomorrow

Martin DX1RAE Dreadnought Acoustic Electric - Indian Rosewood HPL Back and Sides Reviews

4.5 stars based on 11 customer reviews
Questions about the Martin DX1RAE Dreadnought Acoustic Electric - Indian Rosewood HPL Back and Sides?

Questions about the Martin DX1RAE Dreadnought Acoustic Electric - Indian Rosewood HPL Back and Sides?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Olympia, WA March 27, 2016

    Fantastic Martin

    My first strum of this baby after pulling it out of the box instantly had me hooked. For the price, this guitar blew my mind with the quality and sound. Would absolutely recommend!

  • from Novato, CA February 11, 2015Music Background:
    Recording artist in The Silvers

    Mick from The Silvers,

    I can't believe the full body sound I get from this guitar. I absolutely love this guitar and the resonance it has. And the best part is it didn't break the bank!

  • from Marion, Ohio September 1, 2014Music Background:
    Too many years

    GREAT guitar for the price. You won't be sorry.

    I SAID IT ALL ON THE REVIEW TITLE, SWEETWATER IS GREAT!

  • from Center Harbor, NH August 21, 2013Music Background:
    Lifetime musician

    Great guitar!

    Sweet playing and sweet sounding for an instrument in this price range.
    Martin has it figured out!

  • from California May 19, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, I play many different instruments but guitar is my favorite!

    Awesome Guitar!!!

    For my first guitar I rented a Johnson guitar which was the worst guitar in the world, but I had to learn on something. After a while I wanted to purchase my own, I did extensive research and played many in various music stores. I ended up really wanting a Martin guitar. I really like their unique warmth and bass as opposed to Taylor which is a little bit more on the chimey side. Of course I really wanted a D-28 but just couldn't offored it (hopefully in the future), so I compared each of Martin's lower end models. First off this one had the highest and most consistant reviews. I went into a local music store and tried one myself and it was AWSOME!!! The sound was so good, very clear, full, and well rounded with Martins signature warmth and bass. It also includes a special bonus, a Fishman Sonitone Pickup. I also tested a D-28 and while the dx1rae isn't as pricey and it does have laminate back and sides, it definately held its own and sounds way more expensive than it actually is. Don't write this one off because it has laminate back and sides, it does not affect the sound in any negative way whatsoever if anything it adds to the durability of the guitar. Also don't worry about there not being any fret markers on the fingerboard, there are some on the top edge and once you play it for an hour or so, you get used to it. I would recomend this guitar to anyone wether beginner, intermediate , or even some advanced players, or if you need something to hold you off till you can get that D-28. This guitar is great despite its low price. Definately check it out! And everyone at sweetwater is great, if your unsure about buying online, you can definately be sure when buying from sweetwater! They answer all your questions very fast and have very knowledgeable staff. Thank You Sweetwater!! Anyway go check out this guitar!!!! Or just buy it, you won't be disappointed!!

  • from Commerce, Mi April 23, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Best Guitar I've Played

    This guitar arrived in perfect condition and completely set up to play. The tone and action is incredible, best value for the money. I spent a month looking and playing all types of guitars at the local music stores and always came back to this martin. The whole buying experience at Sweetwater was great.

  • from Solsberry Indiana, USA March 7, 2013Music Background:
    Just love to play

    Love it, love it, love it!

    Martin DXREA is one uf the best guitar that I have ever ownrd.the tone just blows me away, the action is great, and it is a pretty guitar. such a wise investment, I am truely pleased. A very affordable price too. Thank you so much.

  • from Gloucester, VA USA October 30, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist,

    Great Guitar

    This Guitar is great. It has low action. It sounds great acoustically or plugged in! This guitar blows every other guitar at this price rang out of the water. Martin really knows what they are doing. If you are looking to get a guitar get this!!!!!!

  • from United States December 28, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    The Martin DX1RAE

    Great workmanship,really really sweet sound,feels really good in your hands!The only problem is the battery setup,having problems with it staying in place,bounces around a lot,otherwise very happy!!!

  • from Kansas City November 7, 2011Music Background:
    Weekend warrior- Pro musician- 35 years

    Good value in a solid guitar

    I have an older model DX1 dreadnaught that I have played gigs with for about five years. I bought it used from a kid for whom it was his starter guitar (he bought a D-18). Very durable well-made guitar in spite of the synthetics. Full warm balanced tone. I wouldn't be put off by the laminate back and sides. They make it super durable--good road machine and I don't have to worry about a high dollar instrument getting dinged on the stage. The solid spruce top provides a really nice tone. Can get a little boomy during recording if the mic is near the soundhole. I like a lot of low end so I can work the bass line so the warmth of the guitar is a plus in my book. I put a Fishman Bend system on it and it works well through the PA. My main peeve on this model is the lack of fret dot markers on the face of the fretboard. It only has small dot markers on the edge of the fretboard. If the stage lights back light the guitar it's easy to get lost if you're a visual player like me. All in all, a good value.

  • from tucson May 8, 2015Music Background:
    advanced player

    custom x series

    The custom x series is a good martin for the money. I like the sound, but would prefer the d-28 which im saving up for. I give the custom x series 4 stars.

Questions about the Martin DX1RAE Dreadnought Acoustic Electric - Indian Rosewood HPL Back and Sides?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway