rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pro 250 ohm Open-back Studio Headphones Reviews

4.5 stars based on 23 customer reviews
Questions about the Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pro 250 ohm Open-back Studio Headphones?

Questions about the Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pro 250 ohm Open-back Studio Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Minnesota April 18, 2017

    Studio Headphones

    Excellent. I love these head phones. They are very comfortable on the ears and sound amazing.

  • from Monterey July 14, 2016Music Background:
    Music Producer

    Gorgeous Headphones

    I'm really pleasantly surprised in these cans. Super high quality design, really well-made for the money. Best money I've spent in a long time.

    I love how comfortable they are. I have a small head, and very few headphones feel comfortable on my head. But these are always very comfortable.

    At first they sound a tiny bit on the harsh or "tinny" sound, but once you wear them in for about 10 hours (just leave them running, plugged in) they really start to open up and get a lot warmer/silkier, and that harshness goes away... Straight to a golden sound!!

    I really love them! Best headphones I've owned yet, can't believe they're so cheap.

  • from Shelton, CT USA September 26, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome headphone

    I am loving these!. They have an awesome bass. I like how realistic they sound. No amplifier needed. No ear fatigue. I fought that I will have a problem with the coiled cable, but so far so good, no issues! I would totally recommend these for Monitoring, mixing, or just playing.

  • from Gainesville Florida September 13, 2013Music Background:
    Recording engineer, Pro Musician

    Give yourself a treat

    I've got some great cans from reputable companies, but, all are closed back. As a horn player and engineer that sometimes has to rely on headphones, I can tell you that these are the cats meow. Horn players never hear themselves as they are with closed back cans and often resort to one ear on, one off. Also, if you have to work in quiet surroundings (no monitors) with phones then these too are far more desirable than closed backs. If you are a studio owner and don't have a good set of open backs you are short changing either yourself or your instrumentalists, esp horn players. Yeah, you'll have to spend more on these than most Bb headphones, but they are the best I've used, and I've had a few sets that were way more expensive than these.

  • from Midwest February 27, 2011Music Background:
    Recording since 1969

    The Truth be heard!!!

    Like they say in court: Swear to speak the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth....!!! Well, these cans do just that. They are not pricey at all, as a matter of fact they are an incredible value considering their superb construction, amazing comfort, and their stunningly faithful reproduction of the program material fed into them. Very distinct and extremely well balanced clarity across the entire audio spectrum. They perfectly match the sound of my studio monitors so I can mix in confidence knowing I am hearing the truth!!! Call your Sweetwater salesperson today and get 'em!!!

  • from Portland OR October 12, 2010Music Background:
    Experienced amateur

    Good for the long haul

    I've had the same pair of these as my daily headphones for almost 15 years now, hard to believe. Had to replace the ear pads every few years, but they still work great. The sound is detailed and full, and I find them very comfortable even after hours of listening.

    Beyerdynamic customer support is great too, they are very friendly.

    I highly recommend these and would replace them with the same ones.

  • from Chamblee, GA February 18, 2010

    DT 990 Pro

    The DT990 headphones are working great. I've never heard
    such clean, strong bass from a pair of headphones. The DT990 has much fuller/more powerful bass than the Denon D2000, Ultrasone 780, or Grado 80. They're great for computer gaming, too. Very comfortable, with a secure fit but no clamp effect on my head. I'm thrilled with my purchase and will be back when I'm ready to get more great audio gear.
    Thanks!
    Jeff

  • from Maryland USA September 14, 2009Music Background:
    Studio Musician

    AWESOME

    These headphones sound FANTASTIC! They are a bit pricey but worth it!!!! Transparent, natural, infinitely revealing... I use them as a reference in my recording studio. One reviewer wanted more bass? Bass response seems flat to me, the low fundmentals are there and well represented. If you want a good reference from deep lows to high highs in a headphone you can wear and listen to for hours w/o fatigue these are the ones! If you want to thump your skull to death maybe Skullcandy has something for you?

  • from Boston, MA June 30, 2009Music Background:
    Home Recordist

    Awesome

    This my first end of high-end headphones, so I can't compare them them to others' personal favorites, but I can say that these are amazing. Before, I could tell bass problems existed in my mixes, but lacked the ability to fix the problems. Now I can hear the bass spectrum in greater detail and clean up the mud with precision. Mixes are leaving the studio sounding great the first time. The frustration of sitting in the studio for hours only to be disappointed when the mix moves to a commercial system is gone.

    As an added bonus, the clarity across the spectrum allows me to fine tune the timbre of instruments to get really ballsy sounding guitars, drums, and mid-range bass guitar. Making and listening to music is fun again!

  • from Iran November 8, 2008Music Background:
    sound engineer-composer-vocalist

    very comfort

    dt 990 has a warm and full band frequency output( I like its bas response) .you can use it for longtime works without hearing fatigue.has vary comfort and friendly design.
    but too good for monitoring or judgement???
    I don`t think so!!
    It can`t show your coldness and harshness of your digital mixes i think !!
    however best headphone ever i seen for mixing and composing(if you want to mix and compose with your labtop in a cofee shop or jungle or..!!HAHAHA)
    many thanks beyerdynamic...

  • from Dubai June 11, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Too good to be true?

    I'm just blown away seriously! The response of these headphones is truly simply amazing. The way it responds with the High and Mid frequencies is priceless and I have never seen any other headphones do it. The lows are extremely precise and truly make your overall mix and stereo image sound amazing and very polished. If it sounds good on a DT 990 Pro, then it sounds good anywhere. Speechless!

  • from Spokane WA April 5, 2008Music Background:
    Guitar, engineering

    Constant Use

    These sound great. True is a good way to describe how they sound. More than any other headphone I have worn they are comfortable. You can just wear these things for hours and hours. combined with the good sound

  • from Northern VA May 5, 2017Music Background:
    Producer, Mix Engineer, Getting experience mastering

    Neutral Reference For Mobile Mixing

    These are some great cans for getting a mix together away from my studio. These headphones are a must have for a mobile rig because your mix will translate really well. I've had these for almost a year and really enjoy listening to music with them. I took time to break them in using classical music so to have a broad spectrum and dynamically variable sound source.

  • from SoCal, CA, USA January 31, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, Hobbyist, Aspiring Studio Engineer, Student

    An updated review (and w/ an HP amp)

    After having these phone for a while now a couple things have changed. I used to drive them out of my interface. Now keep in mind I have one of the best sub $500 interfaces out there, but I wanted to make sure they got amp'd properly.

    Although I could have picked a more powerful amp, I bought a solid state with 16.2dB of gain that had good reviews.

    When amped, obviously I can make them much louder (although no increase in fidelity, possibly even the opposite.)

    They still sound amazing, however the bass reflex, and loudness have decreased a tad bit. I believe the HP amp (not quite enough voltage swing), and honestly am too bias now to do a non-judgmental test to see if it's the amp. The bass is just a tiny bit quieter overall now, and less "punch/tight/responsive". The other frequencies still sound great, and the mid range has bumped up a tad, but I just feel like the overall punchyness of the cans declined a little bit.

    Still love em, and love the warranty. I try to take care of them best I can. Honestly, I think the amp I purchased combined with my gain staging may have affected it a bit. If you do buy a headphone amp, from my experience and recently talking with a lot of professionals/electrical engineers: get a solid state amp, with 25dB or more of gain if you can. It should come with a decent OpAmp already, but there are some Burr Brown ones that will help a lot.

    These headphones can totally be paired with tube HP amps, but I think the sonic changes from that arent going to mix well with how these come stock.

    Only gripe is: I wish beyer had slightly better protection between the air and the driver. The faux protection: allows hairs, dust etc to get onto the drivers. Also, it makes them fart out easier.

    For under $300, of the headphones I have bought or listened to, these are the best. And as always sweetwater rocked it!

  • from So Cal, CA USA December 19, 2014Music Background:
    A/V tech, Live-sound engineer, audio/production student, amateur producer, professional musician

    Great headphones with many uses

    I will break down the pros and cons, trying not to submit a 25 page novel. Hopefully I can shed my opinion on the "no mids" gripe that surrounds these cans around the internet. Pros and cons also take price into consideration.
    The Good:
    -Amazing bass. The bass extends very low for a pair of headphones, and also extremely tight and controlled. Not only that, but the bass does not seem overpowering what so ever. Let me clarify that: if you are looking for a completely flat reference pair, the bass is definitely more pronounced than it should be, however not at all overpowering, and makes these headphones really shine, and feel like a high quality device. Compared to the less expensive Sony MDR V6 cans, in a side by side test, my V6's sounded like a children's toy... I am serious.
    -The high end (and mid range for that matter) is extremely crisp, detailed, and NOT overpowering or ear-screeching. Many users say the high end is way too sibilant, and eventually hurts the ears. I disagree, but again, if you are looking for completely flat studio monitors, then yes: the highs are too pronounced. But the balance that was found make these great studio cans AND amazing listening cans.
    - Comfort 11/10 To date, these are the most comfortable headphones I have ever worn. Nothing much else to say about this. My head is average size for an adult, maybe a tad bit smaller than average but not by much. I can wear these cans for 8 hours, and not ever feel discomfort. I also never worry about them slipping or not being too tight. Somehow perfect.
    -Soundstage is very good. Since these are open-ear cans, and are also extremely detailed, the ss ends up being very large and clear. I do not have a large amount of experience with open cans vs. closed, however when compared with any of my other current headphones (most of which are closed) these stand out spatially. Don't get it twisted though: the original track has to be mixed well spatially to get the best effect, but if you have zero outside noise, and you close your eyes, it [almost, but not quite] feels like you are at the live performance.
    -Well build, sturdy, seem like that could take a few hits and keep ticking, but I don't plan on finding out :)

    Cons:
    - Sound leaking in and out. Since these are open-ear cans there will obviously be some sound leakage in and out, expect that with any open design phones. That said, these seemed to let in sound from the outside a bit more than I had hoped. For some people this usually won't be an issue at all, however I almost always have fan's running in my room, and occasionally other people in the house doing things. Honestly, the fans in my room penetrate the phones and because of this I have to either deal with the slight, constant bleed in, or turn off the fans while using them. One day I will probably buy the DT770 Pro's, drop the leaking in, and sacrifice a bit of sound stage.
    - No detachable cable; though considering the overall quality and price, I understand not having a detach cable, without charging more. As I started really putting my cans to use more and more, especially in a home studio environment, the need for a detach cable becomes evident. Like I said though, considering the overall quality and price, it would have a higher price tag if it came with a detach cable.
    -[Not quite a con... but] Mids are definitely 'recessed' however I personally hesitate to call them a 'con.' While the bass and highs are more pronounced, there is no lack of the mids, and the final result is amazing sounding, detailed cans. I never found the highs to be sibilant, nor the bass to be too strong. Are you looking for straight reference monitor cans? Then the mid will MOST LIKELY be too recessed for your liking. These aren't really reference cans, but more "extremely well balanced, beautifully sounding headphones".

    That's about all I have in me to type. These are well built, comfy, detailed, amazing sounding headphones & look good too. The bass quality and sound detail are defining features. Just watch out, these are not perfectly flat for reference, and the open-ear design will let a good amount of sound in from the environment Pros. Sweetwater does it again!

  • from Fort Wayne, IN USA October 25, 2010Music Background:
    Audiophile

    Superb for Classical, Jazz, Natural Audio

    I am an experienced high-end classical audiophile. Sweetwater doesn't carry B&W, and I really didn't want to pay $300 for the B&W P5s.

    The excellent sales staff at Sweetwater allowed me to listen to four different headphones in my price range (Sennheiser, EKG, Shure, Beyer). Can you do that at Best Buy?

    The Sennheiser 590HDs were ever so slightly brighter on the high end than these Beyers, but not $50 brighter. If you like classical, jazz, blues and other natural, unenhanced audio, these are the very best $200 headphones you will find. They retail for over $300 on the Beyerdynamics website.

    Oh...! I have a huge head, and these headphones are extremely comfortable! I loved the EKG headphones, but they didn't reach from ear to ear and really hurt the top of my head.

  • from Montgomery, AL November 23, 2008Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Proponent of many notes

    Rattling once solved, always solved.

    These headphones seemed to rattle slightly soon after I bought them--of course, this sort of problem seems to pop up with all my new gear; however, I carefully dismantled them and discovered that the drivers were too close to the shields. Denting them outward gave the drivers a little more space, and some 4 or 5 years later, they're still my rattle-free primary headphones.

    For you who don't mind fixing or modifying your own gear, you won't be disappointed with these and their stupendous sound. Having to tweak them is the only reason I don't give them 5 stars.

  • from Toronto, on , Canada June 8, 2006Music Background:
    Music Producer/Recording Engineer Universal Music Canada

    Derek Must Have BAD luck because..

    I have been using these for monitoring & mixing and they are soooooo comfortable, after a while you forget they're on your head! The sound and imagaiing are as if yu were listening to near feilds. THe pair I have have no given me any trouble thus far and we abuse the heck out of em.

  • from Milton, Florida May 15, 2016Music Background:
    Drummer and Audio Productionist.

    Expensive ear crusher.

    The sound quality is beyond anything I had hoped for. You can actually "feel" the SPL in your head. I use these for critical monitoring and mixing. They do reproduce sound realistically and accurately, and I have no issues with the function of the headphones. The wear of them can be quite painful after a few hours of mixing. I have to take them off of my head whenever possible. It feels as if my ears are being crushed.
    Ergonomics are important for those of us whom require top quality gear. Unfortunately, one doesn't really know how something is going to "feel" until you do.

  • from nyc September 6, 2011Music Background:
    Dance Music Producer/ Performer

    Forgot I had them on!

    I would give these five stars but I expect there are things I haven't come across before that will earn that spot.
    Firstly, I mix in a small space. That being said, these let me hear an accurate and transparent mix in a very comfortable package. I have mixed with them for hours and at times forgotten I was on headphones. Seriously. The comfort and sonic clarity makes these a steal for the price.

    They are durable and have held up very well even through travel. As I save for a studio monitor that will give me the bass I so desire outside of a headphone, I hold these close.

    Be advised, you WILL NOT get a booming bass. Buy yourself some Ultrasones or Beats if thats what you want. If you want a sound that translates well on other systems and can actually be used to mix with, these are a great choice.

  • from Kalamazoo, Michigan August 3, 2009Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    It's great ...

    Excellent highs and middle tone.You can hear every detail, every instrument. Only thing one could wish for is more bass....

  • from fort collins, CO February 21, 2006

    stay away

    these headphones seem nice at first, but they are poorly made. My studio has purchased three pairs of these headphones and they begin rattling and distorting after only a few weeks. I've sent them back to be repaired before and they just send me a new pair... but the same thing occurs again. I am very dissatisfied with thes headphones and would not reccomend them to anyone.

  • from NYC December 1, 2005

    Excellent

    These phones are not cheap but if you need a seriously good quality construction and sound, the 990s are excellent. I`ve been using them for about 4 years now and have found them to give me the best mixes and thats comparing them to the AKG 270s, the Sony 7506s and the Sennheiser HD 280s.

Questions about the Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pro 250 ohm Open-back Studio Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway