0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Beyerdynamic DT 880 Pro 250 ohm Semi-open Reference Studio Headphones Reviews

4.5 stars based on 20 customer reviews
Questions about the Beyerdynamic DT 880 Pro 250 ohm Semi-open Reference Studio Headphones?

Questions about the Beyerdynamic DT 880 Pro 250 ohm Semi-open Reference Studio Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from February 10, 2017

    Comfortable. Awesome. Made in Germany.

    These phones are comfortable. They are awesome. They are made in Germany. Had them for a couple years now; used all the time. Get em - they're worth it.

  • from December 30, 2016

    Awesome clarity

    I owned a pair of DT770s which had excellent sound reproduction, but these 880s are another level entirely. I now hear even the most subtle nuances with crystal clarity, which is the purpose of monitor headphones. They hide nothing and forgive nothing, so woe be any barely adequate mix--including more than a few commercial releases. Although extremely comfortable to wear for extended periods, they are not designed for "easy listening" any more than a surgeon's scalpel is designed for carving a Thanksgiving turkey. Between my mono Avantone and stereo nearfield monitors, I feel like I have all the tools I need to hear precisely what I'm doing when mixing. Well worth the price.

  • from July 11, 2016

    Incredible

    These earphones are AWESOMEt

  • from September 29, 2015Music Background:
    Singer/Songwriter/Producer

    Realistic lowend = better mixes

    It's a game changer for me. You have no idea how weak your lowend sounds till you hear your mixes on these headphones. They will help you make a lot better tone shaping decisions in the tracking process too.

  • from Fort Worth, TX. USA February 11, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician, songwriter, and mixing engineer

    Great Headphones for Mixing

    I bought these strictly for mixing as my current setup makes it necessary to mix primarily through headphones. Past headphone mixing yielded mixed result. Some good, some bad. I learned to compensate by cross referencing through other sets of speakers and headphones, but it was always a real challenge to get the mix to work.

    Keep in mind that these headphones are not really intended for listening pleasure as much as they are for reference. Listening to professional mixes, you won't hear sizzling highs, pounding lows, etc. like you will through most consumer headphones. The spectrum is relatively flat. But what you will hear, for better or worse, is a LOT of detail. Before you start mixing with these, please do yourself a favor and get used to what the best mixes should sound like through these headphones. This is what you are shooting for when you start mixing.

    My first mix in these was too bright as I was used to listening through hyped headphones. But after listening through these for a while and using reference mixes, the difference was astounding. Now, when I cross reference through other speakers and headphones, everything is almost always dead on and extremely well balanced.

    I have heard these described as surgical and I think this is an accurate description. They enable you to clearly hear what parts of your mix need attention. Great investment for anyone that needs to mix through headphones.

  • from Columbus, GA September 10, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Headphones!

    I found a pair of these sitting on the front desk at work (this actually happens at a miltary band) and I'm currently jamming to some Daft Punk on my iPad. These are good enough that I immediately looked up how much they cost, so that should tell you something!

    The fuzzy earpieces are super comfy and the sound quality is steller - just as clear as the $100 Sennheisers I have at home and somehow a little richer as well. I can't speak for mixing, but so far they're great for listening!

  • from Florida December 28, 2013Music Background:
    Mixing Engineer

    Satisfied

    The closest I've come to being able to mix on headphones. Great for reference. They are flat and open, and unlike most headphones, things like EQ and reverb adjustments usually translate very well. They are pretty clinical sounding, not my favorite for pure listening enjoyment usually, unless I want to hear every little detail, but that's why they work so well. Good mixes sound good on them, terrible mixes sound terrible. My Sony 7506's don't come close to being this accurate, and now they are really only used for tracking. I highly recommend these.

  • from VA, USA December 13, 2013Music Background:
    home studio

    dt 880 pro much better than my beats studio and solo

    Got these for checking when mixing and im very happy.Very natural sound. Much better than my beats by dre head phones (studios and solo) Using straight off the mbox 2 without amp and still sounds pretty loud.

  • from United States February 3, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician, producer, songwriter

    What a joy.

    I find myself choosing to mix and track and work with these on rather than my nearfields. Enough said. They are SO comfortable and sound AMAZING. If there is one negative thing to say, and it's small, it's this: don't expect others to be unable to hear what you're doing--sound leaks out a little bit. That is by design, and par for the course with semi-open cans.

    In a word: KILLER.

  • from Trinidad (Caribbean) April 21, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, Recording & Mixing Engineer

    The sound is amazing

    As The owner of sennheisers, fostex t20 and t40s, AKGs and KRK KNS 8400 I can confidently say that the Beyerdynamics DT 880 Pro I got recently are great!! When you look at the frequency response and hear it for yourself you will ask why didn't I have these headphones before. The comfort is great. Very comfortable and I use it in conjunction with a focusrite VRM Box to mix. The clarity is mindblowing! What got me was a Take 6 song I listened to on the KRKs always had the lead vocalist sounding overly compressed. With these cans the sound is so natural and I heard no over compression. Just nice open sound. NOthing can hide in these cans. Everything is revealed! Spend the money and get a pair. You'll soon realise like me that you want a backup pair in case of anything. I can't mix without them.

  • from San Francisco, CA USA January 3, 2012Music Background:
    bassist, Producer, Engineer

    No Joke, so good!

    I spent some time researching options for headphones to listen to all day at work (architect) in the office, to replace my Sony MDR-V600s that I've had three pairs of over the last 16 years. These 880s are absolutely incredible--I think the semi-open design is perfect for me--the bass is super tight, but not overpowering like the closed Sonys, and the result is a very clear and balanced spectrum. The most impressive thing is the clarity, and how low they go--I'm listening to some super subby dubstep and hearing all sorts of things I've never heard before--the Sony's either couldn't reproduce it, or the other bass frequencies were drowning it out. These things are flat from bottom to top--loving it!

  • from HOUSTON,TX August 22, 2011Music Background:
    PRODUCER

    FOR SERIOUS MIXING

    THESE CANS ARE COMFORTABLE AND NEVER CAUSE AND TYPE OF EAR FATIGUE. I OWN KRK ROCKIT MONITORS AND THE KRK SUB, AND I CAN HONESTLY MIX AN ENTIRE SONG WITH JUST THESE. THEY GIVE A REALLY OPEN SOUND LIKE MONITORS BECAUSE THEY'RE NOT CLOSED HEADPHONES. I RECOMMEND THESE FOR SERIOUS MIXING AND MASTERING. VERY FLAT SIGNAL, THEY PUT OUT WHATS GOING IN. THEY'RE ABLE TO PUT OUT THE LOWEST BASS NOTES WITH EASE. I MIX WITH THE KRK MONITORS, BUT I PUT THESE ON WHEN I NEED TO GET DETAILED, INTIMATE, AND VERY DISCERNING WITH THE MIX. I WILL ALWAYS KEEP A PAIR.

  • from Newport News, VA June 20, 2016Music Background:
    52 years playing guitar, tracking and post-production engineer, pro live concert sound, both FOH and monitor world.

    Biggest Bang For The Buck

    After having spent countless hours in tracking and post-production facilities, having listened to the best and the worst, the DT 880 Pro is KILLER! Granted, there are better can out there BUT, for the home studio these have an extremely realistic soundscape and frequency response. Just got mine, my sales engineer Mike Godlove is great by the way, and I have listened to everything from symphony orchestra to AC/DC and these cans do not lie to you. If you cannot find and correct issues with your mix using these, no amount of money spent on headphones is going to help you!
    Can't go wrong with 'em!

  • from April 5, 2016

    Beyerdynamic DT 880 Pro

    Great headphones! I use the DT 880 Pro headset primarily for monitoring.

  • from Fort Collins, CO USA April 19, 2014Music Background:
    Performaing and recording artist with a home studio

    Fine addition to my studio

    The Beyerdynamic DT 880s are the finest headphones I've owned and I've had several (Focal, AT-M50 others). These are my 1st using a semi-open back design and I'm loving them.

    I use them as an additional review source to my monitors, which unfortunately don't have much response below 60Hz. I don't do bass-heavy music, but I like a solid foundation down there. I get a very clear view of the low-end (and above) with the DT 880s. They have much clearer bass than the Focals which are strong there but a bit muddy. They are very comfortable and I've used them for several hours without any issues. I like that they cover the whole ear.

    The stereo imaging is excellent for headphones - I'm thinking the semi-open back design is helping here.

    I highly recommend these headphones for accurate editing (where I prefer headphones) and mixing (in addition to monitors). My only regret is that I didn't take my Sweetwater sales engineer's advice earlier and get these long ago.

  • from Chicago Burbs, IL June 29, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Live Performer and Semi-Pro Sound Engineer

    Amazing Comfort, Smooth Response, Great Design

    After owning the DT 880 Pros for a few months now I feel comfortable enough to give a review.

    First, these are the most comfortable cans I have worn bar none. They are amazingly comfortable and devoid of the usual pressure points you feel on most cans. As someone who wears glasses I always feel it at my temples, has never happened with these, padded and plush.

    Though comfy they are very sturdy they actually use (gasp) METAL for the supports. No snapping plastic after years of use here. I take good care of mine but I'm sure they would survive the studio well.

    The sound is amazingly clear and smooth. The response is great across the entire spectrum with all the intricate detail you would expect spending this kind of money. The bass is present but doesn't overwhelm the rest of the spectrum and they adapt to any form of music from what I perform and record to what is in my maniacal music collection.

    They are pushed rather easily without a headphone amp. Keep in mind these aren't closed and these aren't DJ headphones so you may want to look to a headphone amp if you need to push more volume. My Apogee Duet pushes them just fine and I tried them on my iPhone just to see and they did well there as well.

    The semi-open design is perfect for what I do - streaming live performance. I don't like closed headphones as a vocalist I think it gives me pitch problems. The AKG K240s have been mainstays in vocal booths for years and they are semi-open, the DT 880s perform the same way and I have had no instances of mic bleed.

    Sweetwater recently marked these down, they are a STEAL at their current price. Yes, you are spending a lot more than the K240s but I believe the quality and sound and comfort make up for the price difference. The only half-star missing is for the price, there are some very good cans for less out there, these are more but have clear benefits.

  • from Arlington Heights IL July 24, 2014Music Background:
    Producer/ SInger/Songwriter

    Headphones

    Very comfortable headphones....great for extended listening. Used for tracking and didn't feel like I was trapped in a box. A little pricey but, you get what you pay for.

  • from February 10, 2013

    Great Headphones, though I've had a reoccurring problem...

    These sound awesome, just as advertised. Great dynamics and frequency response. The problem is I noticed a buzzing, first when the monitoring low frequencies, in the left ear of the headphone. I tried everything, swapping left/right, trying different computers but it turned out to be defective headphones. I got the replacement but those turned out to have the same issue. I researched further and it seemed to go one of two ways. Either you bought a pair of these and they lasted forever, or you got a defective pair that buzzed.

    The sales rep from sweetwater has been very patient and helpful. They offered me another replacement or a different, similarly priced headphone, which ended up being Shure's SRH 940 model. I decided to give the shures a go and I received them a few days ago. Right off the bat I can say that for serious mixing, the Shures are a better option. They're brighter, and much clearer at lower volumes than the DT 880s, and their closed design means they block outside noise very well.

    The problem however, is in the build quality. The Beyerdynamics are comfy, but also have a rugged build quality to them and are definitely capable to stand the rigors of daily use.

    The SRHs however, are not. They are comfortable, but I kind of get the feeling that they put the majority of the money towards the actual cans, and not the headband holding it together, which is a good thing, but the plastic really is crap. Its been three days, and the plastic snapped on me already, making them unusable.

    I'm going to contact sweetwater tomorrow and most likely pay the extra 100 bucks to move up the the Shure 1440s. I'm liking the Shure sound too much I'm willing to upgrade for more durability!

  • from eastern shore December 25, 2012Music Background:
    hip hop artist, producer, engineer & DJ

    great!

    These are good cans for mixing music.

  • from Okinawa, Japan March 8, 2012Music Background:
    Sound Engineer

    DT 880... Great for easy monitor and playback

    I purchased these for listening back to raw tracks recorded of a military band. After using them for various recording styles (Big Band with 2 mics, Big Band with 14 mics, Concert Band with 6 mics, and 5.1 surround), I've discovered they have a much wider dynamic range than an average pair of cans. The open back also allows for great low end support, and prevents ear fatigue from occurring as quickly. Definitely worth the purchase if you plan on mixing to send up to a mastering facility.

Questions about the Beyerdynamic DT 880 Pro 250 ohm Semi-open Reference Studio Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway