0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

Countryman Type 85 1-channel Active Instrument Direct Box Reviews

5.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
Questions about the Countryman Type 85 1-channel Active Instrument Direct Box?

Questions about the Countryman Type 85 1-channel Active Instrument Direct Box?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from November 23, 2016

    Country Man Type 85 (recording)

    DI's are my preferred methods of producing guitars and bass tones. I've done it for years plugging straight into the instrument inputs of my MOTU 8Pre without any perceivable degradation of quality... Until I got my Country Man.

    The signal is cleaner with balanced and preserved lows and high end detail I didn't know I was missing! I will never seriously record without this magical piece of gear again.

    Buy it you won't regret it.

  • from South Carolina November 5, 2016Music Background:
    Local studio owner, metal screamer

    The di to get !!!

    Plain and simple this is the di to get if you want perfect tight sounding and usable signals for those amp sims you've been using !!! Don't hesitate.....there's a reason so many people use these and I wish I hadn't waited this long to one !!

  • from November 17, 2015

    The Countryman 85

    I have been using the Countryman Type 85 for several years. Initially we used cheaper direct boxes with mixed result. While the Countryman is a little expensive the long term durability and the quality of the input using the Countryman is worth every penny. We wouldn't consider using anything else.

  • from April 12, 2015

    Yep, works for Bass too

    Been using this direct box for Bass, but maybe not as you'd expect. This works GREAT between an Ampeg SVT head and cab using the speaker option. I get complements from both sound guys (clean/warm signal) and from enthusiastic audience members (man your bass sounds HUGE!) In a venue of 800 that's not just my rig that's sounding good but what's going through PA for front of house. I also use it with a small amp (SWR LA12) from the preamp out again with great reviews. I'm sure you can just plug your bass directly in, but if you are trying to get the sound of your rig and don't want to add another open mic for the sound guy to manage then this thing works perfectly!

  • from San Francisco March 20, 2015Music Background:
    Pro

    Countryman Rocks Acoustic!

    I am wary of superlatives most of the time but this box laid to rest any doubts I had on how to get my best live sound. I have tried several DI's as well as the direct inputs into my Mackie DL 1608 and always felt that my Breedlove with LR Baggs active system was being compromised somehow. I got the Model 85, plugged my guitar into the same channel with it's presets and immediately, the level was at least 30% hotter and a much better freq response and sensitivity.

  • from Columbus, Ohio July 22, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Worth every dollar.

    I have not yet been able to compare it with any other DI Box. This thing really added what I needed for recording guitar.

  • from Atlanta GA April 22, 2013Music Background:
    Gigging singer/songwriter/guitarist

    Excellent

    My active pickup finally died and I decided to go with a passive piezo system. Not only to save money, but because I was sick of dealing with batteries and a lot of hum. This box saved the day. With a $50 Martin Thinline 332 and this DI, I would put my guitar's tone up there with anything on the market. Lots of headroom, which is the name of the game when amplifying an acoustic guitar. And when it comes to features, less is more and this thing is as simple as it gets. Sure, I spent just as much total money as I would have with a high-end active system, but this box is not part of the guitar and I can use it for other things. And as I found out, active systems still need a DI anyway. Works off phantom power and comes with a backup 9v battery installed. Highly recommended.

  • from United States April 11, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician

    The one to get for piezo pickups

    I searched a long time to find a DI that would sound good with piezo pickups. Piezos are high impedance (Hi-Z) devices that require a proper high-impedance load in order to sound their best. This little guy delivers with 10 MegOhm input impedance. Most DIs have an impedance of 1 MegOhm or usually less, so even if it's a high-quality ID it can still sound bad with a piezo pickup. Not the Countryman. Sounds great, compact, and built to last. Just make sure you have phantom power because there's no battery or wallwort option.

  • from Wadsworth, OH March 8, 2012

    Ultra clear

    If you have never touched a Countryman product before, then number one, you're missing out. Number two, this box is the last DI you'll ever have to purchase. Tone and clarity are huge for me and this box delivers. The only DI that might possibly outperform is the Type 10 Countryman.

    In short, if you're looking for absolute transparency for your sound, and you should be, then pick one or two of these up, you won't be disappointed.

  • from Bethel, CT February 16, 2012Music Background:
    Bar / Lunge player and singer.

    Countryman Type 85

    Easily the best sounding dbox I have ever used. Built like a tank and as simple to use as a stone.

  • from United States January 11, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-Pro

    Best in the Industry. Enough Said.

    Don't be fooled by the elegance of the Countryman's appearance. It is, without a doubt, the most sophisticated piece of equipment you can find. Works like a dream for recording and does a fine job for playing live as well. The sound man will definitely buy you a beer for making his job so easy.

  • from October 11, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    AMAZING!

    I work for a professional sound reproduction company and have used just about every DI out there and none of them compares to the Countryman. Not only is the sound level bigger but it very warm and full. They hold up very well on the road and sound amazing.

  • from Iowa, USA September 16, 2013Music Background:
    Production Company Owner

    Simple, solid... the best!

    The Countryman direct box is simple, solid, and reliable. It is a real workhorse. We use them live and in the studio. They always work great and last for YEARS! I highly recommend them.

  • from West Palm Beach, Florida November 15, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    CountryMan Type 85 DI

    Sounds great with PA and significantly improves the sound of my acoustic guitar amp.

  • from Hampton Roads August 1, 2004

    Countryman Type 85 Active DI

    I used to think all active DI's were pretty much the same. Boy, was I wrong, I've been through Behringer,ART,Whirlwind,BOSS...none of these DI's holds a candle to the Countryman. I used to use two Behringers for my electronic drum set - the one on the right channel went out and I temporarily replaced it with the Countryman I was using from my mixing board to the house system. I didn't change any settings, and the right channel was hotter and fuller than the left channel. I am replacing all my DI's with the Countryman...

Questions about the Countryman Type 85 1-channel Active Instrument Direct Box?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway