0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance

Beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO 250 ohm Closed-back Studio Mixing Headphones Reviews

4.5 stars based on 68 customer reviews
Questions about the Beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO 250 ohm Closed-back Studio Mixing Headphones?

Questions about the Beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO 250 ohm Closed-back Studio Mixing Headphones?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Kenny Bergle

    Super comfortable and always accurate! I use and spec these DT770Pros as much as possible because they always provide customer satisfaction! I grew up on the DT100s and have always loved the accuracy and hardiness of the Beyer headphone line.

  • from catonsville,MD. March 23, 2017Music Background:
    proffessional drummer/amature guitarist

    awesome headphones

    these are literally the best headphones i have ever had!! The clarity & depth will blow u away,i practice guitar with these connected to my orange 35rt amp with my i-pad playing songs through them & it's like being in the band man,yes these are the bomb!!!!!! Thanks Sweetwater & to my sales engineer Tommy Winter!! You guys are the best,Sweetwater for life Steve

  • from CA March 1, 2017Music Background:
    BASS PLAYER AND Sound engineer

    PERFECT FOR MIXING

    THESE HEADPHONES ARE GREAT THEY ARE LIGHT AND GIVE A FLAT FREQ RESPONSE WITH NO ENHANCED MID RANGE SO YOUR MIX IS EXACTLY WHAT YOU HEAR.

  • from Chicago January 29, 2017Music Background:
    Recording artist

    HARD TO BEAT

    I have been on a quest for awhile to find a set of headphones with a soundstage that comes very close to approximating a good set of open back reference headphones such as the AKG K 712's or some of the other higher end open back reference headphones I like but refuse to pay for. I have spent twice the price of these while looking for this sound. I have sent more than a few sets right back to where I bought them because frankly they sucked at twice the price for me and I'm talking Shure, Sennheiser and AKG models that indeed cost much more than these so I was dubious when I received these as I had tried the Beyerdynamic Custom One Pros and didn't like them at all. These however are a completely different headphone than those I am happy to say. I mostly use the ATH M50X's to track with. I can't explain it but I love those for tracking. However when it comes to mixing they don't approximate what I hear through my monitors as much as I would like so I was looking for a set that I could mix with and better approximate what my monitors sound like as my monitors always get me the rest of the way there on any mix. With my home studio being what it is I have to pick times to use my monitors sparingly and when I do I at least want to be close on my headphone mix so I can get whatever I am mixing done on my monitors as efficiently as possible. Open backs for me around here is a distraction. Finally this is the set that allows me to do everything I need them to do. You can get all the specs from this site but what those specs won't tell you is what a wonderful sound stage these headphones have or just how close they sound to a great set of open back headphones. I was really amazed. Great crisp response on all levels. They are made well. They sound tight. Nothing flutters. Everything clean distinct and in frequencies that cover it all well without being sterile. These sound closest to the AKG K 712's and how Beyerdynamics did that with a closed back headphone I do not know but the fact is that they did. This set may not be as flat as some headphones I've tried but they are less colored and more defined than my ATH M50X's and my first mix down after burning these in came down to a matter of minor tweaks when I went to my studio monitors. The Beyerdynamic DT 770's are a great set of headphones that rival ones that cost twice the price in my humble opinion. I cannot imagine anyone not being pleased with these. My quest is over!

  • from November 29, 2016Music Background:
    Composer, musician, hobbyist.

    Clean, Comfortable, Light, Perfect

    Notes in the frequency range have all been very clean. The fit surrounding the ear is comfortable, and the headphones are lighter than the others in the studio. One thing I've done with all of my headphones to increase over-the-head comfort is buy a seat belt shoulder pad at Walmart and wrap it around the headpiece. It's a perfect fit, comfortable, and keeps the head dry during long mixing sessions. The phones were ordered on a Tuesday and arrived Thursday. Outstanding! The sound quality was very good from the get-go, but I did find several classical music you tube links with 6-hour music selections, and played them through the 770s while I did other things--every day, several times a day, without fail. The There was no significant volume drop running the 250 ohms through my interface phone output at the same volume level as my 40 ohm phones. I'm a happy camper. Thanks to Will Crisp for his help in this selection.

  • from New Jersey November 22, 2016

    DT 770 PRO Headphones

    Excellent quality! Excellent separation! You feel like you're in the recording studio with the musicians and they're playing just for you!
    Top value for the money!

  • from New York September 25, 2016Music Background:
    Pro Live Sound Engineer/Producer Beats and orignal Music

    Sweet Sound Comfortable

    I'm putting together a budget home studio for production and beats. Monitoring your mix in a flat and accurate set of cans for long periods of time can get uncomfortable. Also the price point makes it hard to find. Not with these cans. There sort and accurate sound make it a pleasure to use. I even forget I'm wearing them after about an hour. And they sound fantastic. And like usual I received them in record time. And for under 200 bucks you can't go wrong.

  • from Malibu, CA April 10, 2016Music Background:
    Voice Over Professional

    DT 770 Pro Headphones - Simply Amazing!

    I'm a professional voice actor and like most in the field today do much of the work from my home studio. That means I spend a lot of my time in ProTools listening, editing, mixing, compiling, and perfecting recordings to send to clients. I've found doing this work on headphones provides a better acuity in the final product than working from monitors so a professional set of headphones is very, very important to me.

    I was satisfied with my current headphones, ATH-M40fs, UNTIL one of the studios I work at in Studio City recently switched from their Sennheiser HD 280 Pros to the Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro (250 ohm). I thoroughly trust the engineers there - they are the best! - and decided to purchase a set for my studio from the pros at Sweetwater.

    Well, simply put, I can not believe the difference in fundamental sound, tonal quality, and subtle differential attributes these headphones bring out in my recordings, which makes a tremendous difference in professional voice over work. These are simply fantastic and without question the best studio headphones I've used - period.

    Yes, of course, you can spend a lot more money for headphones, but at this price point, and frankly at a price point two or three times greater, you cannot purchase a more perfect and accurate playback of professional recordings than these DT 770 Pro headphones deliver. The differences were immediately noticeable to me which, frankly, I did not expect to such a high degree. In fact, I immediately went back to some of the demos and samples on my website and made the subtle adjustments I heard with the new 770's that needed to be made to further improve the tracks my prospective clients will hear and make decisions regarding my work. What really surprised me was the comfort of these headphones. I have a big head (and I mean diameter . . . not attitude! :) and was amazed at how comfortable the 770's felt. I can wear these for many, many hours with complete comfort and no fatigue.

    I am rating these DT 770 Pros a full 5 stars because at this price point and for the purposes I purchased them they exceed my expectations (which were pretty high) and immediately demonstrated sound quality and performance far exceeding any studio headphones I've used before. They look great . . . they feel great . . . they're built great . . . and they sound really great! Big thanks to the engineers at the studio (Jacob!) for making their choice and introducing these gems to me. And a really big shout-out to all the great people and engineers at Beyerdynamic for producing such a spectacular instrument for us to enjoy in the voice over industry.

    So if you're in the hunt for outstanding and true professional headphones, look no further. You just found them!

  • from Savannah, Ga March 21, 2016

    Beyeardynamic DT 770s.....vast improvement

    My main cans for years have been Sennheiser HD280s, which were better than my AKG K240s....But the DT770 leaves them in the dust. What a full, lush sound. I def hear things I didn't hear before. Way more comfortable too. The HD280s kept falling apart with years of studio use, the sound was decent and I got a lot of good use out of them, but the plastic pieces kept exploding across the room until they finally fell apart.

    The 770s are worth the extra few bucks by a wide margin.

  • from Atlanta, Ga February 21, 2016Music Background:
    Musician, Mixing Engineer

    These Are Great

    These headphones sound great, the bass is great and the mixes translate. They are also really comfortable and don't make your ears sore after a few hours of use like some cans. Get them, you won't regret it.

  • from October 2, 2015Music Background:
    Recording enthusiast, 13 years

    Must Buy!

    I've been using these for 8 years now and they really are truly amazing. Excellent build quality, outstanding sound quality and incredibly comfortable. I have no complaints at all. If you're looking for a great set of cans that will last, buy these, you won't regret it.

  • from September 4, 2015Music Background:
    Audio Engineer - 10 years

    Best headphones hands down

    There's many good headphones out there sound wise but when you track or mix for days on end you realise how important comfort is. These headphones tick all the boxes, excellent product!

  • from California July 30, 2015

    I'm Loving These Headphones!

    Crystal clear sound, no background noise, and I don't have to crank everything up to hear clearly. Best bang for your buck!

  • from Doylestown, PA November 3, 2014Music Background:
    Producer, Engineer, Musician

    Love 'em!

    I haven't sampled a large number of high end headphones but I was looking for a set of premium cans for singers in my studio and these things are fantastic. Extremely light weight, the soft pads are extremely comfortable. Outside rejection and bleed is minimal and they actually sound good too. I have Sony 7506, sound good but too much bleed. Sennheiser HD280Pro - Good isolation but not enough bass. These were a big cut above both of those.

  • from October 9, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Pro Musician

    Great sound, incredibly robust

    I just bought a new pair of these after my old ones had to retire, I got so much use out of them and they were incredibly robust. In the end one of the drivers went, but for the amount I used them for the length of time I had them I have no problems with it. I could have replaced the driver (these headphones are very serviceable) but I decided against it because I didn't want one old driver and one brand spanking new one as they could have possible sounded different. also the pads were getting old and the coil cable had seen better days.

    Anyway, I've got my new sets. I'm determined to not drop these multiple times a day like I did with my old set. and to no constantly stretch the coil to full length, which can cause a coil to loose it's elasticity.

    At the end of the day, if you want a pair of headphones that will tick all the boxes look no further.
    -Great for tracking and anti bleed (whether your in the same room as the performer with a portable rig or the performer)
    -Accurate/flat sound reproduction
    -incredibly detailed
    -Value for dollar
    -very available and easy to replace. (Once your used to a set of headphones, you usually want to stick with them. Especially if you use them for referencing and do any mixing.)
    -Closed black blocks out atmos sounds. If you use them in a room next to someone watching TV it won't annoy the heck out of you like open backs will (DT990s)

    anyway would recommend and I would probably say these are my reference headphones for the foreseeable future.

  • from Brooklyn,NY USA June 20, 2014Music Background:
    Music Producer,Recording Engineer

    DT 770's ARE INCREDIBLE!!!!!

    My previous headphones were the Audio -Technica ATH m50. Now those were good but didn't deliver the accuracy and bass response I needed. Having an incredibly bigger and clearer sound stage the DT 770's are now my go to's for mixing in a home studio environment. Don't be discouraged By how they may sound at first like most new head phones Just take the time to break em in. Now the burn in period may vary amongst users so be patient and in due time you will be amazed by how great they sound!

  • from Calabash, NC May 25, 2014Music Background:
    Bass player, home recording hobbyist

    Great headphones

    These are great headphones. Clear, crisp and a nice, wide frequency response range that puts out a deep, full sound. Not to mention they're very comfortable! I use the headphones for everything from late-night bass jams and pounding the electric drum kit to recording, and they always deliver. I have a friend who's had these headphones for years and years and they've held up great. If you're looking for a great set of headphones that will last you and not break the bank, look no further.

  • from Colombia May 16, 2014Music Background:
    Singer, songwriter

    The best I've ever heard

    Very clearly ... you can hear all the details of your favorite music and your recordings.
    Very comfortable and easy and nice design

  • from Haltom City, TX November 17, 2013

    Worth Every Penny

    Accurate frequency ranges and great for dance music productions. Tasty jams.

  • from Crawfordville, Fl September 18, 2013Music Background:
    playing guitar for over 45 years - hobbyist

    Do the research - it sells itself.

    I wanted a quality set of headphones for my home studio I'm putting together. I spent a few weeks reading everything I could find on headphones for this purpose. Made a list and just a/b'd everything. The DT 770 pro came out to be the best bang for the buck. Now, there might be something better out there, but the 770 is just incredible, not only for studio monitor headphones. It took just listening to music to a new level and made it possible to hear things I had missed before.

  • from Miami/Jamaica February 20, 2013Music Background:
    Producer/Singer/Songwriter

    GOOD HEAD PHONE- WICKED!!

    I love this head phone , JR recommended this head phone to me
    THE BEST!!!

  • from Grand Rapids, MI January 11, 2013Music Background:
    Student, Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer.

    Amazing Headphones

    I've had these headphones for about three weeks, and I'm incredibly happy with the purchase. They have an amazing clarity to them, and all things are even across the frequency spectrum. On top of that, they have an incredibly solid build, they are very durable, and they are comfortable. I use these both in the studio for mixing and for live sound engineering.

  • from USA October 10, 2012Music Background:
    Guitar, Bass, Keys, Viola, Film Scoring, Recording and just about anything I didn't have to Blow into

    BD DT 770 Pro - Best Headphones Yet ...For ANYTHING!!!

    In the past 20+ years (most of my life), Ive owned many different headphones, for many different reasons. After my 1st recording session, in Quad Studios Manhattan, I HAD to run out and buy 'Top of the Line' Pioneer of that era. Then, after Criteria(sc), Miami it was AKG. Then Sony, Sennheiser, Shure, etc... Then recently, I call and speak with Aaron Regenald at Sweetwater, who suggested I check out these BD DT 770 Pro. (I asked for something different but he knew what I was looking for) These are by FAR the BEST HeadPhones I've ever had. I started with Blues/Jazz at first, then Heavy Metal, Rock, Contemporary, and now, Film Scoring. But these could have handled all of the above. The Volume level is more than I can handle, the Bass is POUNDING and the Clarity is AMAZING! I could've spent anywhere from $500 to $1200, and he pointed me to a set that's priced around $200.

    That dude has earned my loyalty from here on out.

    Don't look down on these because of the price, and don't think that you're 'settling for what you can afford. Also, to have great HPs, you don't need to spend over $500. These BDs are more than any Professional set I've ever come across! And I can still listen to a variety of music from my iPod to my Stereo. Janes Addiction to John Williams, Eminem to Elton John, Manilow to ManOwaR and everything in between. (Ace of Bass to Anthrax)

    Thanks Aaron!!! You were right!
    Chris Morriah

  • from Warren, Ohio September 20, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, pro musician and recording engineer.

    Best headphones in my studio

    I have many brands of headphones in my studio. By far, the DTPro 770 is the most realistic and dependable sound.

  • from Warren, Ohio September 20, 2012Music Background:
    Producer, pro musician and recording engineer.

    Best headphones in my studio

    I have many brands of headphones in my studio. By far, the DTPro 770 is the most realistic and dependable sound.

  • from Ukraine April 6, 2012Music Background:
    Sound Artist, Composer

    The Best

    I already have this headphones for 6 years and can tell, that I never wanted to change them to another. Very clear and crisp sound, you can hear the lowest and the highest frequency. And after 6 years they still looks like new - no scratch on embouchures or broken. I would never replace them with AKG or Sennheiser much expensive studio headphones. If you need pro quality studio close headphones with great ambient noise reduction, buy them! Also take a look on DT 990 open, if you record in quiet studio environment. Highly recommended!

  • from Prescott, Arizona, USA February 27, 2012Music Background:
    Totally Blind musician/keyboardest who desires to do nothing more tahn home produced independent albums for others to listen to!

    Beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO Earphones Rock!

    The Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro Earphones blew me away! I ordered mine about a week ago, and they arrived today! JR, who was my sales engineer, really knows his stuff, too I might add. Pretty awesome guy to talk to.
    Considering that I've been a totally blind musician all my life, (Not a pro musician) but would like to seriously be an independent artist, I got these to see if they would help me mix stuff better, maybe help me keep time better than the USB speakers I was using-and they sure have! Thanks to jR and the rest of you at Sweetwater.com! What really surprised me more than the awesome earphones though was when I got the candy in the box!!
    That's like, seriously unheard of!
    Who else would send you candy other than maybe for Christmas or something? I doubt anyone would! LOL
    But seriously, these earphones are great.
    A blind friend of mine on Twitter, who si also an indipendent artist, recommended them in general.
    As for Sweetwater, I'd heard aout Sweetwater more than once, so couldn't resist, once I had enough money to get them!
    They even blocked out the wind gusts we have going on hear in Prescott, Arizona here today! I also couldn't hear my phone go off, and as a result, almost didn't answer my mom's phone call though..:) Thanks again for such a cool product!

  • from Houston TX USA February 23, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer @ 360 Recording Studio

    The Best headphone's

    These are the best head phones i have ever used !!!!!!

  • from IA February 8, 2012Music Background:
    Graduate student in music composition

    Solid Buy

    The DT 770's are perfect for error detection and quality control. Of course, they can never replace monitors, but they allow me to mix in monitor-less situations, without feeling like I have to do it all over again in the studio (you live, you learn.)

  • from SLO, CA February 3, 2012Music Background:
    Live sound enginner/ EDM artist

    DT 770

    I have never been in love with my headphones until now. I have owned akg sony yamaha and others and always treated them like a necessary tool. All that has changed with the 770s. I have been using them for live performance for a solid year now anD they just sound better and better. I also use them in the studio on a daily basis. Im able to go to the coffee shop and confidently work on mixes while enjoying every minute. Thanks Beyer!

  • from Ohio January 19, 2012Music Background:
    Home recording, Student

    Great Headphones

    I just got these today and I have listened to all types of generes and all of the music sounds great. I even went back into some home recording files and the range on these really helped me hear some things I missed. The bass is done very well with a nice punch and the highs are amazing without being overpowering. They are very comfortable and after about 2 hours now they still feel great on my head. I recommend these because of the wide range, comfort and price. I looked around a lot before deciding on these and in my studying they had the best range for the price that were closed headphones.

  • from Silverlake, CA December 30, 2011Music Background:
    Older Recording Engineer

    DT 770 PRO

    Great for tracking and mixing.

  • from Indiana December 10, 2011Music Background:
    Mother of two: a Recording Engineer and a Pro Musician

    The Beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO

    I bought these for my son that is a professional pianist, and it was one of the items on his Christmas list. I also have a son that is a sound/recording engineer for a recording studio in Nashville, TN., and swears by these headphones.

  • from United States December 6, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    If you love music you gotta have these headphones!

    Outstanding sound quality! The sound is consistent across the spectrum so you can actually listen to the music and not be distracted by the headphones dropping or enhancing any part of the music. Good for mixing but I use them to just sit back and enjoy my stereo without disturbing the neighbors.

  • from September 26, 2011

    I like these

    Flat frequency, great stereo something or other, amazing soung

  • from Western MA June 28, 2011Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Professional Studio Owner

    Wow. Seriously... Wow!

    These headphones are absolutely mind-blowing. I have never been one to suggest mixing a song strictly through headphones, but one late night I was at home mixing a tune and figured I'd try it with the DT 770 PRO's. When I listened to the mix in my car the next morning, I couldn't believe how well the mix had translated! Next I played the song through my home stereo system, then the monitors at my studio. The mix sounded great everywhere and even the low end was nice and clear, tight and punchy. Needless to say, I was impressed. These are also a delight for everyday listening. All of my favorite albums of any genre sound stunning through these headphones. Why buy High-end Bose headphones when these sound every bit as good (if not better!!)? For the price, these are a steal. Trust me, you owe it to yourself to but at least one pair of these headphones.

  • from Clio, MI, USA April 2, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, Recording Engineer, Sound Engineer, Sound Mastering, Pro Musician.

    These are it.

    These were not in stock when I bought my equipment. The Sennheiser HD 380 Pros were.

    There is no comparison. The Senns were FANTASTIC for tracking, but that's about it (only for the sound isolation). These are great for tracking and, most of all, mixing. Do not get these as an all-in-one monitor replacement. They compliment good monitors, showing you with surgical accuracy what you need to boost or cut.

    I would never rely on ANY pair of headphones for full production. But as an accompaniment to good Studio Monitors they work wonders, showing me in glowing detail where I have went wrong. Sometimes taking the room out of the equation can really help.

    You can spend thousands on headphones if you want to. You can spend thousands on Studio Monitors if you want to...

    ...or just buy a good pair of Studio Monitors and these headphones, you'll be 95% of the way there for a total of $900 or so ($800 for me and I sell commercially).

    The damn-near all metal construction REALLY sets these apart.

    Comfort - I'm wearing them right now and almost forgot I was until this question arose. With the padding on these you will outlast the pickiest of musicians.

  • from Fl April 22, 2010Music Background:
    FOH Engineer , musician

    Accurate & Comfortable

    For live and studio, these are really great. I'm picky about my sound, so the other competing cans I was using colored the mix too much. Low end is warm and deep, not boomy. Mids are really crispy and accurate, and so is the top end. Not to mention they're really comfortable.

  • from ATL January 1, 2010Music Background:
    Producer/Engineer/Studio Owner

    Simply Amazing!!!!

    I've been in the industry for a minute but these headphones are simply amazing to mix on just bought them a week ago and can't wait to break them in for extended mix sessions. Put me down for another couple of pair....AB+

  • from Ashland, Oregon December 5, 2008Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Writer and Recordist

    Beyerdynamic 770Pro Audiophile and Recording in one can

    I own several Beyer DT880s and they represent the ultimate in spatial soundstage and clarity of all of my other phones (including the awesome senn HD650s and AKG 701s) These are all open back designs which promote more airiness as is their nature.

    To find a closed back phone that approaches that kind of clarity and spatiality is not easy. The 770 Pros (250 ohm) do just that. They are every bit as dramatic (in my opinion) as the Denon AH-d5000s (also closed back) and at much less than half the price.

    With a couple of hundred hours of break-in, the mids really come alive in the sweet spot, the highs from the start are pristine and once broken in, blend like liquid with the mids.

    The lows however are the big news. They match the tonal reach one gets from subwoofer compliments. No they don't hit you in the chest (no headphone will) with atmospheric blasts like a good sub but the rich tight and visceral sub tone is there at levels that are outrageous for even the lowest 5 string bass notes and lower. Yet they are not bass heavy. The tonal balance is perfect, and depite the mythology of headphone amps, these and all of the above shine with headphone outputs from good to high quality cd players and changers from Sony, Marantz and Yamaha and the like as long as they have headphone volume controls.

    Yes computer outs can be a bit weak as computers have a lot of other things to do, but even my Sony portable DVD/CD players (DVP-FX820 Series) headphone outs produce spectacular results even while in battery power mode.

    The Denons (which are closed back as well) are the hardest to drive but all the others, again given proper break in time, will produce stellar results.

    The Beyers (including the harder to find DT770 Premium line - Silver earcups, straight cord) are truly exceptional and again my absolute favorites.

    So if you both record/monitor and/or listen to well recorded music for the sheer pleasure of it, the Beyer 770 line (except for the 80 ohm M series with the volume control) and all the 880s are spectacular. The ambient (outside) sound attenuating 770s however, reproduce bass with such power, depth and clarity (and the perfect blend of mids and highs as well) that they have become my favorites over any of my other audiophile cans. And they sound as good (and accurate) in the studio as they do in repose.

    Compressed mp3 audio lower than 320bps (like from IPods) may reveal too many compression artifacts from any good can, but who would listen to mp3s critically anyway (or listen to them at all with a quality can - frankly).

    You will be amazed at what the DT 770 PRO and DT770 Premium line can do for your ears and your general well being. Music can have magical results on humans and never more so than with headphones of this caliber.

    Doug Kennedy
    Fingerpick Magazine

  • from Pittsburgh, PA (USA) April 30, 2008Music Background:
    Semi retired pro musician/arranger/ engineer-Live & recording

    My DT 770's blew me away ! No excessive bass mids or highs

    I've found the Beyerdaynamic DT 770 PRO to be one of / the best listening accuracy for both my studio mnitoring and PA monitoring and tuning for an accurate PA sound check. I've tried every brand out there and for the cost to value ratio they're hands down the best. Even listening to digital versus analog recordins as well as MP3 players on the plane they are comfortable and have an erie 3 dimensional/ Quadraphonic sound without built in attenuation they keep a great deal of outside noise outside. I'll be looking at more Beyerdynamic products, including microphones to compare with the standards and the very "High" end other brands. My vynyl collection vs my cd collection seems so similar , especially the vynyl quad recordings vs digitally enhanced are too close to call. I'm a n engineer and play both keys & guitar among others but the lows of my board commonly require 18" sub woofers to here what I hear in my Beyers. Bose ,Sony, AKG, are no match , but hear for yourself... WOW! Do you make in the ear monitors both custom made and over the counter like some of the competitors?

  • from America April 19, 2017Music Background:
    in one sentence?

    Great Deal

    You cant go wrong for $.

  • from December 26, 2016

    Beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO 250 Studio Mix H-Phones

    Perfect, just what the doctor order. A Great addition to my studio. Physically and most importantly audibly comfortable and accurate.

  • from NY November 22, 2016Music Background:
    multi-instrumentalist, recording artist, engineer etc...

    DT 770 Pro Headphones

    Great sounding headphones, great isolation and very solidly built. Nice large ear enclosures. These things appear to be designed to last. Not the most comfortable headphones ever (thus the 4.5 stars, not 5.0), but not bad in that regard either. Well worth the price, and yes, I'd recommend them and am glad I bought them. (Much preferred over my SONY-7506's and AKG K240's.)

  • from Tampa, FL November 22, 2016

    Headphones & other aural adventures

    These headphones deliver just as advertised. Clear sound and comfort to make recording and mixing a pleeasure. The only reason I gave it 4.5 stars is because at the joint where the headband joins the earpieces can delive a painful pinch. I've learned how to handle them now and haven't been injured since. And I was just kidding, there are no adventures. Sorry about that.

  • from Las Vegas, NV March 25, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter

    Beyerdynamic DT770

    Purchased as a thank you gift to my producer engineer he really loves them.

  • from Indianapolis, IN September 15, 2015

    Great cans!

    I got these for listening at my work desk for hours on end, and they are so comfortable and accurate in playback I have to remind myself to focus on my work - not the music! If they packed better in my backpack (folded, with a hard case) I'd give them 5 stars - but they are durable and I still travel with them.

  • from CA December 23, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Musician

    Great Headphones

    These headphones are troopers! They sound very accurate and will pick out all the little details in your mix. They are by far the most comfortable headphones I have ever worn. I have walked away from my desk with them on more than once without realizing that I have them on. The sheepskin does get sweaty when tracking drummers who play hard. I have used them in many projects and even travelled with them and they have held up nicely. They are somewhat of a studio standard that I have seen in studios oversees and in the states.

  • from Maplewood, MN December 17, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur

    Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro

    I've owned a pair of these for six years. I listen with headphones for music and movies through a Rane headphone amp, and also guitar through a Mackie mixer. These phones are comfortable, sound good, and have only one flaw: the cable is not easily replaceable. I recently pulled the cable loose. It is repairable but enough of a hassle that I've chosen to move on to a new set of phones. I've ordered the KRK KNS 8400. Every headphone that I've ever owned has become useless because of the cable. I'm done buying phones that don't allow easy replacement of the cable. Hence the KRK.

  • from portland, or June 18, 2014Music Background:
    musician // sound designer

    so good!

    best headphone i've heard/worn. the low end is spot on. still trying to dial in the mid range, but with more hours i'll be able to adjust from my previous pair. i wore them for 6 hours without fatigue. incredibly comfortable. highly recommended.

  • from Florida January 13, 2014Music Background:
    Musician and recordist for decades

    Super For Reference

    I was looking for headphones that come close to the sound of studio monitors in overall frequency response. These aren't perfect, but no headphones will sound exactly the same as monitors. These are quite close and well worth the price.

  • from Florida December 20, 2013Music Background:
    40 years musician and recordists

    Accurate Reference For Mixing

    These are very close to studio monitors with just a little mid-range loss. The lows are clear as are the highs. One great frustration with headphones in general is how differently they produce sound compared to monitors. I'm very pleased with how close these phones are to monitors, and they provide a great adjunct reference. JH

  • from USA March 22, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician

    Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro

    Very light weight, great sound, handles low freq to high's with total clarity, flat response for non colored sound reproduction.

  • from Connecticut February 2, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Composer

    Great cans... worth every penny!

    Wow, these headphones are AMAZING. This is my second pair of audiophile grade cans and definitely my favorite pair (had Senn HD598's before these)... Frequency response is very good... There seems to be a slight peak on lower frequencies and a few high peaks around 7k, 9k, and 11k but a simple parametric EQ app on your PC can easily remedy this.

    The isolation is top notch... listening to my music at work with the HD598's was problematic, but with these badboys, ear splitting volume is completely lost on the outside world. That is to say, no one will be able to hear your headphones regardless of the volume level you like.

    Contruction quality seems very good... The earpads are comfortable for long listening sessions, however they're a little heavy and the clamping force is a little too aggressive, in my opinion. Although, that's probably why they're able to achieve such great isolation.

    These have only gotten better as I break them in... After several weeks of listening, the sound has gotten more accurate, more satisfying and the highs have become a little less bright, which is good because they're a little too bright right out of the box I think. I can't wait to hear these things in another 100 hours.

  • from November 16, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, Monitor Engineer, Lighting Designer

    Very accurate, clear cans

    Sound is great, very accurate
    Incredible low-end range, silky highs, mids are a tiny bit lacking.
    Super comfortable
    Nice long, bungie-like cord
    Not as loud as I would like them to be (this should only matter if you use them in a live sound application.studio isnt really a problem.)
    Glad I have them i my arsenal.

  • from NJ August 22, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Beyerdynamic DT 770

    Sound is very accurate. great for mixing. very comfortable.

  • from Austin December 17, 2015

    Comfy Cans

    These headphones are comfortable, provide good isolation, and sound really good. I had hoped they'd be a little more acoustically sensitive, but they do sound spectrally balanced. They seem durable enough to last for years.

  • from Chicago-ish October 11, 2014Music Background:
    Arranger

    The plug.

    Great sound. But if you are planning to plug them primarily into a 1/8" jack, expect to hold the plug and wiggle it constantly to get the contacts to work correctly, thanks to the attached threading for the 1/4" adapter. So annoying to use them with a PC headphone jack.

  • from Vermont, USA July 31, 2014Music Background:
    Composer, Saxophonist

    Hearing and Wearing is Believing

    These headphones have greatly improved the quality of my musical life. I spend 5-6 hours arranging and composing with them on. I can take them off and have no fatigue whatsoever--they are extremely comfortable. Even plugged straight into my laptop without a pre-amp, the low-, mid-, and high frequencies are very balanced throughout. I now hear a high level of detail in recorded music that wasn't being delivered by my Sony MDR's.

  • from OH,USA November 25, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    DT 770 Pro

    These are some to the clearist and most honest headphones that I have used. They allow me to hear all frequencies without blasting my ears off like with some of the other mistaken for studio syenthised/db bostedon the low end without my input headphones. (Beats Studio Pro) This needs power and I am in the process of looking for headphone amp. So I can not give a 5 stars. AWSOME HEADPHONES.

  • from Alma,Ar November 6, 2013Music Background:
    Voice-over

    A New Experience

    I have used Sony 7506's for years. Recently, they were blown out by my headphone amp so I was forced to invest in a new set. With all the great reviews I decided to try these. They are very comfortable and sound much different than what I have been used to. I am adjusting to the sound which seems to be more accurate than the 7506. Especially great when you are wearing them for extended time periods.

  • from January 19, 2013

    BEYOND THE GREAT

    These are some of the most honest headphone that allows you to accurately determine the balances with your highs, mids, and lows. I usually listen to my music at a low level and these you do not have to blast to notice what need to be tweaked. Also there is no synth. To the bass like in the Beats By Dre. I would recommend these to anyone that need a pair of monitor headphones that deliveries great sound and are beyond comfortable. If you have the chance to go to an audio store try these you will definitely consider them to be the best for your studio setup and they are at a reasonable price point. Great Headphones.

  • from Los Angeles March 17, 2017Music Background:
    Songwriter, producer, guitarist

    Requires adequate amplification

    I was running these headphones out of the headphone jack of an RME Fireface UCX interface, and even that was not truly enough to have loud enough volume from the headphones... I would say the volume was just loud enough to use the headphones purely for critical listening or mixing, after tracking is done, but not loud enough to be tracking a loud source in the same room, like a guitar amp or speaker cab. Basically, you find yourself turning the headphones up almost all the way, if not all the way, much of the time, just to get adequate volume. Just keep this in mind, or get extra emplification for them, if you want them. OR, get the 80 ohm version instead (Beyerdynamic DT770 Studio 80 Ohm headphones. I am not talking about the Beyerdynamic DT770 M 80 ohm tracking headphones with black leather ear pads, which Sweetwater sells.)

    Another thing... Maybe it was just the pair I got, but these headphones are almost too harsh or aggressive in the upper frequencies. They are very detailed and the bass is very accurate and NOT over-inflated, which I loved, but there is a harshness in the high range that I think may go slightly beyond just being honest or true to the source... A song played through these headphones sounded more aggressive and sharp In the high frequencies than the same song played through every other speaker set I could try it on... Maybe the mids on these are a bit recessed or something, and that's the cause of the overly-present high's, but I don't know. The mids and highs on the Beyerdynamic DT770 Studio 80 ohm headphones are way less harsh and sound more true to the source, to me. Technically, the 250 ohm version, here, is a bit more detailed in the high's, but that doesn't mean that the balancing of the mids and highs is more accurate, necessarily. I still think the high's are overly pushed in your face with these. These DO have a slightly more accurate, or less inflated, bass sound than the 80 ohm version does, though. That being said, the 80 ohm version is not THAT bass inflated. I like it better than this one overall, I think. Again, not talking about the 80 Ohm version with black leather ear pads that Sweetwater sells.

  • from Quinlan Tx December 20, 2013Music Background:
    Recording engineer, live sound engineer, voice talent

    Comfortable, powerful low end response

    Compared with my other phones, AKG K240, these are very clean on the mids and highs, but a little boomy on the bottom end. They are very comfortable to wear. Evaluating headphones is very subjective and totally a matter of personal opinion. While these are very good, I like my AKG's more.

  • from United States September 24, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound, Drummer

    Great sound, but eats hp amps for breakfast.

    Quite open sounding. Almost unrealistically good. They don't make me work hard on the mix. It just took time to get familiar with them. My big complaint is the 250ohm resistance. I've found that many of my devices need to have their headphone output volumes cranked all the way to the top to get the level I'm looking for. I don't have a nice external/powered headphone amp. Trying to use them with iPhone or iPod in a noisy environment is a joke. Tracking at low levels? Good luck pleasing your artists, especially if they're 'heard of hearing'. These eat standard headphone amps for breakfast. I can't trust a hp amp's coloration if I need to turn it all the way to the top to hear at the level I want.

  • from Virginia March 4, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer/Producer

    Sound Great but Won't Hold up to Everyday Use!

    I own 4 pair of these in my pro studio. One set on each mixer and 2 we allow certain clients to use. These are the best sounding headphones I've found. Period. There is however a severe flaw in the engineering. After you adjust these to fit your head-size a couple dozen times, the screws holding them together just fly out and they are seated in thin plastic sleeves that strip out so you either have to send them back over-seas to have them replaced or repaired, glue them back together (still doesn't last long) or else do like I did and use a roll of electrical tape to hold them together. 3 out of 4 flew apart within a couple of months. NOT WHAT I WOULD EXPECT FROM $300 HEADPHONES !!!!

  • from November 30, 2015

    Great Sound, Dubious Build Quality

    I've had these phones for approx. 2 months, and I would give them 5 stars for the sound. But, they've developed a problem with the speakers already, and now are essentially unusable. Make no mistake, when they work, they sound fantastic, perfect for tracking and working with headphone mixing. But I've had other headphone brands that have held up for years, so I'm disappointed that these have given up the ghost so quickly, and as such, am very hesitant to recommend them.

  • from October 2, 2016

    Poorly made

    What else could I do but pan these things. They barely lasted a year and have developed a bizarre problem. The wiring is somehow shorted out. Can't use a balance control, they sound like hell, no bass, everything sounds like its in the bathroom down the hall. They sounded good at first but just collapsed into themselves. Lets see if they fix them or disingenuously blame me. Meanwhile I have had Sony's for years on end without any problems. Cheap crap masquerading as high end it would seem.

  • from March 12, 2014

    sadden

    very very flat and dull,it's not worth for what i paid for

Questions about the Beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO 250 ohm Closed-back Studio Mixing Headphones?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway