0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Spring Clearance Last Chance

Yamaha DSR112 1300W 12" Powered Speaker Reviews

5.0 stars based on 12 customer reviews
Questions about the Yamaha DSR112 1300W 12" Powered Speaker?

Questions about the Yamaha DSR112 1300W 12" Powered Speaker?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Gladwin,Michigan September 12, 2016Music Background:
    Professional musician for 40 years +!

    Awesome sound quality

    I recently purchased two (2) Yamaha DSR112 speakers from Sweetwater. The sound quality is just incredibly good. I use a Neumann KMS 105 mic and MG series Yamaha mixer. My vocals are rich and full with just the right dynamics in sound quality. My Stonebridge guitar sounds soooo good through these speakers. I would have given these speakers a 5 but the weight of these bad-boys deserves some handles. But once you hear them you'll just look at the effort putting them on your poles well worth the exercise!
    I listened to several other brands in the same price range and choose the DSR112's. Jeff Law was really great to work at Sweetwater. I would highly recommend these to anyone looking for live sound quality!

  • from Andrews April 9, 2016Music Background:
    Sound Engineer and Musician

    Best MI grade powered box, period

    The DSR112 is hands down the best MI grade powered 12" and 2" inch box I've heard or used. It gets stupid loud, tear your face off loud in fact, is VERY stable feedback wise for a wedge and has great sound and coverage. Yamaha / Nexo did an excellent job on this box. Weight wise they are not bad and the finish is excellent, very durable and holds up amazing. Major thumbs up on the durability of the finish guys.

    I'd love to see them offer a real pro grade cover option, the slip covers they sell are horrible, they should be fully enclosed and DURABLE for guys who gig these things on a pro level. I own 12 of these boxes and I'm planning to add more to inventory.

    Yamaha are you listening ? pro covers that are fully enclosed with grill protection & velcro, no zippers!

    My suggestions for a second gen version of this box or series would be, a rota-table or a narrow coverage horn option for arraying them. Also the ability to mirror them for wedges, and maybe adding power-con in and through, and foam backing the grille for a more pro look for corporate audio would really step this up to a serious pro grade little *** kicker. Sound and output wise I wouldn't change a thing honestly. Maybe also doing a coax wedge version would be a really cool thing, something similar to a rcf nx12sma or nx15sma , or micro wedge territory...

    None the less, great box, you won't be let down if you buy it. Yamaha make a gen 2 and i'll buy a bunch and I'm confident others will to.

    Cheers!

    Nick -

  • from Melrose Park,IL December 18, 2015

    Wow!!

    Just received 2 of these speakers with 2 of the DSR118W subs. We had in our church the Bose MA12 with M4 bass modules. We did a side by side comparison using our X32 system and there is no comparison. Without touching the EQ on the system the DSR112 brought our music to life. Everytime we panned back to the Bose it sounded like our music was covered under a blanket. The vocals sound clear and balanced. Our drum cymbals,...let's just say we can now hear our drum cymbals clearly. The subs WOW!!! Clear, precise and powerful. This was definitely an upgrade. It's clear at low volume and wow is it clear when you crank up the volume. These things love high volume. The plan for our church was to wait to use them until after the New Year but our pastor loved them so much that he asked for us to install them now. The experience with Sweetwater's customer service, (Wayne), was so good it made the overall transition that much better. Thanks guys over at Sweetwater and if you're skeptical or looking to upgrade your PA's these are great!!! I highly recommend these to any and all.

  • from Taylors SC June 21, 2015Music Background:
    Part time Pro Musician

    DSR112

    The most powerful cleanest sounding pa speakers i have ever owned or experienced. These speakers are amazing and no matter how loud you play them they won't distort. I'd recommend these to everyone who's interested in having the best sound thats possible. And i'd also recommend SWEETWATER MUSIC i mean WOW these guys rock and Andy Plank thanks Bro. i feel like I've known you my whole life. Thanks man you rocking it too.

  • from SF Bay Area June 17, 2015Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Best in Class

    I listened to JBL, QSC and EV's competing models before choosing the DSR112. They are a little heavy, but they make up for it in sound quality. I like the simple rear panel. From what I've heard, I think these are the best thing at this price-point. They are a welcome addition to my inventory.

  • from West New York, NJ October 9, 2014Music Background:
    Live sound

    This Spekers Rock! No one else can compare

    I'm a DJ that dose Small and Big Party's I have had them for 3 years and have never failed me. They have a Tone of Headroom. At all the venues were I used them was never able to put them all the way up as it was too loud. Did 2 Parades last Month and the Only sub's that can realy keep up with them was the Yorkville ls801P. Had One DSR112 with a LS801p on each side of the float and you could hear this baby's 20 blocks away. People close to the on the side would cover their ears as they were really loud. In direct sunlight for more then 3 hours and never clip or heat. This is the best investment I ever made. Highly recomended. Had the best sound of the parade and put the other float's to sham. Still getting calls on how clear the sound was. With this speakers I have no fear were my next gig will take me. DJ Reyes.

  • from United States July 28, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician, Live producer, Church

    Great clarity and power

    We purchased these speakers 8 months ago to use as FOH at our portable church. I wasn't sure how well they would power a 500 seat auditorium, nor how well they'd cover all the seats for clarity.

    I've been very pleased with how they've handled 3 services each weekend. We run 2 services around 85-95db for music and 1 around 100db. No distortion ever, always clear. For anything bigger, I would absolutely get more speakers or move to something more powerful like a line array setup.

    For the price though, we absolutely get what we payed for and would highly recommend these quality speakers.

  • from New Britain, CT November 18, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Rookie

    Yamaha DSR112

    These speakers are absolutely amazing! The sound quality is SO clear and crisp! Definitely recommend this speakers!

  • from N.C. October 25, 2013Music Background:
    recreational and church drummer

    excellent product, great sound

    great sounding speakers. I have a pair along with the same model subwoofer for home PA/electronic drum use. the sounds are crisp, strong and very clear.

  • from January 27, 2013Music Background:
    Musician, live sound, and recording engineer

    Awesome!

    I have 6 units of DSR112. Clear, very loud (up to 134db), good feature, and durability... I have compare with other brands...

  • from Mansfield, Oh. August 13, 2012Music Background:
    Dedicated long time hobbyist.

    Awesome!

    I heard these at my local music store and could not believe the power, clarity, and all that surround sound coming out of one 12" speaker! I wanted to walk out with a pair right then and there. Try these up against all the other best speakers...you may just choose these. Yamaha just gained my trust.

  • from Huntsville, AL February 27, 2012Music Background:
    Live sound engineer, musician

    Amazing!!

    Just awesome! Considered QSC k12s, then EV Live X12s blew QSC away, so it was hard decision. I had never heard the dsrs before but bought them just on what I knew from reviews. They are killllllller!

Questions about the Yamaha DSR112 1300W 12" Powered Speaker?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway