0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

Marshall DSL15C - 15/7.5W 1x12" Guitar Combo Amp Reviews

4.5 stars based on 25 customer reviews
Questions about the Marshall DSL15C - 15/7.5W 1x12" Guitar Combo Amp?

Questions about the Marshall DSL15C - 15/7.5W 1x12" Guitar Combo Amp?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from TEXARKANA ARKANSAS April 18, 2016Music Background:
    SINGER SONGWRITER

    WELL WELL WELL WHAT DO WE HAVE HERE

    WELL WELL WELL WHAT DO WE HAVE HERE. I WAS WANTING A SMALL AMP THAT HAD SOME CRUNCH. FIRST OF ALL LET ME TELL YOU I HAVE A 65 DELUXE REVERB FENDER THAT IS AN AMP THAT WARMS MY HEART. I JUST LOVE THAT AMP AND NOTHING WILL EVER TAKE IT'S PLACE . WELL I WAS WANTING ANOTHER AMP WITH SOME DEEP SOUNDING SOUNDS THAT HAD SOME CRUNCH BUILT IN AS AN EXTRA AMP. WELL I RAN ACROSS A USED ONE OF THESE LITTLE CLEAN/CRUNCH DEEP SOUNDING BABIES AND BOUGHT IT ON THE SPOT FOR JUST SHY OF HALF WHAT A NEW ONE WOULD COST. WHAT A DEAL. WELL I BROUGHT IT HOME AND PLAYED MY STRAT THROUGH IT AND IT WAS HORRIBLE BECAUSE OF THE SINGLE COILS MADE IT HUM SO LOUD WHEN IT WAS SUPPOSE TO BE QUIET. SO PUT THE STRAT ASIDE AND I REACHED OVER TO THE GUITAR THAT IS ALSO MY HEART AND SOUL. IT IS A LES PAUL STANDARD WITH HUMBUCKERS. WELL I PLUGGED IT IN THE AMP AND THERE WAS NO I REPEAT NO HUM AT ALL, I MEAN NO HUM FOR REAL. I AM SURE THIS BECAUSE OF THE HUMBUCKERS IN MY LES PAUL. I COMMENCED TO HAVE A BALL EXPLORING THIS SMALLER CRUNCH MONSTER. IT IS A JEWEL. SO NOW I HAVE TWO WONDERFUL AMPS. MY HEART THROB THE CLEANER MUSICAL SOUNDING AMP WITH IT'S TREMELO "VIBRADO" THAT WARMS MY HEART. AND NOW THIS DSL15C AS AN ADDITION TO MY AMP'S WITH IT'S WONDERFUL CRUNCH WHEN I WANT IT. TRUELY JUST LIKE MY FENDER DELUXE 65 REVERB DELUX IT NOW HAS A COOL CRUNCH BROTHER THAT I TRUELY ENJOY PLAYING. NEITHER ARE VERY HEAVY AND BOTH ARE JUST A BARREL OF FUN. AND IF YOU LIKE CRUNCH YOU WILL LIKE THIS LITTLE MARSHALL CRUNCH MONSTER. BUT BESIDES I CAN CLICK THE SWITCH IN THE BACK FOR HALF POWER AND BLAST AWAY AT HOME. NOTE YOU MUST UNDERSTAND A FENDER SOUNDS DIFFERENT THAN A MARSHALL. AND I NOW LOVE THEM BOTH FOR THEIR DIFFERENT WONDERFUL SOUNDS. SO ONE WILL NEVER TAKE THE OTHER ONES PLACE. THEY BOTH HAVE A PLACE OF THEIR OWN WITH THEIR OWN UNIQUE SOUNDS ON THE MOUNTAIN TOP.
    HAVE FUN GUYS.
    PS CHECK OUT MY ALBUMS ON ITUNES UNDER "DOC PEARSON"

  • from Montague, MI. August 12, 2015Music Background:
    Intense and discerning enthusiast.

    This amp will blow your mind!

    I've been a Peavey amp guy since 1987. I still love solid state for the cleans but let's face it, the history of rock was written by Jim Marshall. The thundering lows and screaming highs of this little amp will make your head hit the cieling. It's great looks are known and envied worldwide. Now I know what true, full-bodied distortion really is and it cannot be modeled by other digital processors! THERE IS ONLY ONE TRUE MARSHALL SOUND. This surprising little combo puts that power in your hands. Rock out.

  • from Valparaiso, IN July 30, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar Player(Primarily Acoustic but recently more rhythm electric), Singer, Small Home Studio Owner, Independent Producer,

    15 Watts of Marshall Tone

    I went to guitar center with my R9 Les Paul and played through several combos before making my tentative decision on a low budget combo for the studio, running out of their before a sales rep could get me and ordering from sweetwater. To me, I felt like I had my heart set on a Tube Marshall but knew the cost and the high power was going to deter me. Played through several Fenders, Blackstars, Orange and other Combos before plugging into the 40 Watt DSL Combo and fell in love with the tone and the price, but not the power. I knew in order to get that 40, or even 20 Watt Tone, I couldn't be playing into the wee hours of the night without bothering the neighbors. I then plugged into a DSL15C. I expected a tone loss from going classic EL34's to 6V6's but I was dead wrong. I guess one could attribute this to the otherwise identical circuitry and pre amps, minus a few features of the 40W DSL. The only things I noticed lacking were more tonal variations in the 15W, being different channels and effects loop capabilities, including the built in single digital reverb, vs the 40W which has two independent build in Reverb Effects. But even so, this thing had the exact tone I wanted of the 40W, Fantastic Cutting Crunch, crisp cleans and all the marshall richness without the loud volume. An amazing deal in my opinion.

  • from Fort Mohave, AZ July 20, 2015

    Just the right size

    I have a lot of amps, both valve and solid state/digital from many companies, but at least half of them
    are Fender. The only other Marshall I have is actually one of the first amps I purchased 13 years ago, which
    is an MG100 half stack. I loved the sound, but this could never go in my bedroom, and resides in my studio, which
    I call the blues room.
    Anyway, I was looking for something around the size of my Fender Champion 40 in a valve amp, and low and behold, up
    popped this Marshall which sits next to the bottom of Marshall's DSL lineup.
    The DSL15C is only a bit larger than the aforementioned Fender, and fits right into the small space I had to house it.
    This is a great sounding all valve amp on both Classic (clean) and Ultra (dirty) channels, and I do prefer the 7.5 Triode setting
    over the full 15 Watt Pentode, as I can practice using the Ultra channel without blowing the walls down, and it does sound a bit warmer; this could just be the lower volume needed to get where you want to go.
    This is a great addition to the rest of my gear, and gives me a different sound from a Fender valve amp.

  • from Fresno, CA April 30, 2015

    Little Monster

    I have been playing electric guitar since 1979. I have owned many amps, Fender, Mesa Boogie, GK & a few Marshall's along the way. The DSL 15c has the best tone out of all the amps I have played through. Small in size but monster tube sound. The only thing I added to this amp was a Celestion G12M 25 Greenback speaker. This modification is the key that really unleashed this Little Monster. Perfect Marshall tone & now very loud volume at a unbelievable price. Thank you Sweetwater.

  • from Ohio, United States February 23, 2015

    Great amp, Classic Marshall Sound!!

    The all tube amp sounds amazing!! The Classic gain, is a clean channel, with the gain up it is great for Blues. The Ultra gain Channel adjusts from mild crunch to a Heavy Metal sound.
    I have the amp on 7.5 watts, and never have to turn the volume more than half way. You get a cranked amp sound at lower volumes.

  • from York, Pennsylvania April 7, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist with part time gigs.

    It's About Time!

    Lets face it, not many players get to to gig at a stadium so owning a 50 to 100 watt Marshall usually means over-kill. Not any more, thanks to the DSL15C. It really does sound like it's bigger brothers and is certainly loud enough for home, practice sessions and smaller venues. It's an awesome amp well worth the asking price. I bought it for it's size and the web reviews particularly Mitch's review at Sweetwater. This one's a keeper!

  • from Hawaii October 29, 2013Music Background:
    Lead vocal/guitarist

    DSL 15C

    As a beginner electric guitarist, I had nothing to compare what to listen for when playing my Squier Classic Vibe 50 on the Marshall DSL15C. I just turn-up the volume and play. Even though it only pushes 15w, my neighbors aren't happy with the FREE concert I provide them daily.

  • from Atlanta, GA August 24, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    A a perfect Fit!

    I purchased this amp to use with my Gibson Les Paul Standard. What a perfect combination!

    After talking to Josh at Sweetwater, and watching the demo video, I didn't have to look any further. One of the biggest attributes is the fact that I can cut the wattage from 15 watts to 7.5 watts, with just a toggle of a switch. This is perfect for an apartment, but don't let this fool you, at 7.5 watts, this amp still sound strong and powerful.

    The sound is amazing, in both clean and ultra gain. It works perfect with my arrangement of BOSS pedals, purchased from Sweetwater of course, and if you decide to use the internal reverb and ultra gain, you won't be cutting yourself short.

    Overall, it is a great amp, great size, outstanding sound, at an excellent price!

  • from Morada, California August 6, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    LOUD and PROUD

    This 15 watt all tube monster packs all the punch you'll ever need in a home or practice amp. 90% of the time I'm at half power, in my studio at home, 7.5 watts. At 15 watts it will ring your ears and keep up, volume wise, with any drummer. The 12 inch speaker is a big plus! Hit that "Deep Switch" and oh ya, loud deep thumping power! This is a true and pure Rock and Roll amp. It will go Rock, Metal, Blues, and even Country. But for the 70's & 80's Rockers and Headbangers, this is the one! Thanks to Sweetwater and my personal tech Patrick Schaefer for providing the confidence and support to buy a great amp, at a great price.

  • from Pittsboro, NC USA April 30, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbist

    Marshall DSL 15C 1x12" 15 Watt Tube Amp Combo

    I love this amp. I needed a low watt amp to play in the house. When I found this 15 watt Marshall I thought this one might be for me. When I found out you could lower it down to 7.5 watts I knew it was for me. I can play this amp while my wife is in the house and she's ok with it. It doesn't take over the whole house unless you want it to. The tones are great. I've always been a Marshall fan and never much cared for the sound of Fender so the clean channel really works for me. It's not super clean which is just fine. You can get a nice gritty surf sound that is more on the Link Wray side of the street. The digital spring reverb is ok but not great. Nothing replaces springs. I've ordered a Danelectro Spring King to try out with it. The DSL 15C isn't gonna rattle your pants legs like a 100 Watt Marshall half stack but it's got some really good tones from clean to beautiful V8 Engine over driven tubes just plugging straight into the amp. Yes, it's made in Vietnam but it's made well and the price is reasonable. The Marshall DSL 15C really fit my needs. It can get loud enough to make it fun and then you can cut the volume, keep the tones and not drive everyone else in the house crazy.

  • from Czech Republic December 20, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Little Marhall Beast

    I bought this little devil and I fall in love with him. I used Laney LC15 before and it was very nasal. This combo is awesome bright and agresive. The best way for hard rock and harder styles. Good job Jim!

  • from Dover September 12, 2015

    Nice Package for the $

    I'm mainly a Fender '65 DRRI & '65 PRRI guy for the classic cleans, reverb and trem. Decided to add this to the stable to add some dirt without pedals. This DSL15C was a good purchase. Clean enough on the classic clean channel and the dirt on the drive channel can be reined in. I pullrd the stock ECC83's and replaced V1, V3 & V4 with GT/JJ ECC83's and a JAN Philips 5751 in V2 to drop the drive gain a tad. Although the stock Celestion was OK I splurged on a Celestion alnico Cream speaker -- even though it was half the cost of the amp. Most of you know tone is eveything and imho it was worth it. Marshall tone on a 6V6 power plant, my favorite power tubes. Enough muscle for home, band practice and small venues. You can mic it if need be for larger venues once you dial in your sound. Half point off for the price of the cover, which should have been included. Unless you live in an apartment or have a less than supportive/tolerant significant other I don't see the need to drop it down to half- power.

  • from Frederick, MD April 5, 2015Music Background:
    Rock, Funk, Blues

    Great amp

    Great little amp, love the 1/2 power cut feature. Gives all the tones you expect from a Marshall and can actually turn it up to get to natural breakup of the amp. Reverb is only average, but I don't use that much anyway. Perfect for jamming and mid sized clubs without a PA. Also fairly light, very nice for jamming.

  • from Kansas City February 26, 2015Music Background:
    Independent Artist, Song Writer/Composer, Guitarist

    Excellent portable tube amplifier

    This amplifier surprised me honestly, I picked it up as a practice amp/possible recording option because I primarily use the 100watt head version of the marshall DSL line.
    I have to say I was not expecting it to be every bit as versatile a piece of kit as the DSL heads, but despite the lack of a crunch, lead 1, or resonance control this little amp delivers!

    It's classic gain channel is essentially a 1959 plexi clean channel, it is still possible to dial up the gain and get some pleasant break up even though it's not a crunch channel like the head has.

    The ultra gain channel is essentially a hot rodded JCM800 2203 (it will differ slightly obviously because this is a 1x12 combo not a 4x12 close back cab. It can do everything I needed it to do from modern hard rock tone to a bluesy warm driven by simply using the tone knob on my guitars.

    The deep switch works splendidly for giving you that gut rumbling deep boom many of us like in a marshall, it's a more than competent replacement for the resonance knob on the 40/100 watt variant of this line.

    The tone shift offers a modern mid scooped tone to the eq while still a fording you the ability to dial in the mid freq knob to your liking it's one of the best features of these DSL Amps in my opinion, so many other amps dont offer this versatility, you can switch between a more classic marshall and modern tone from song to song in a live setting very easily.

    I had only expected to use this amplifier at home practice, demo tracking, and maybe a back up for myself or the other guitarist in my band but I took it on the road recently and it proved itself worthy of being a primary amp for some of the smaller venues we play from time to time.

    One simply cannot understate the pleasing warmth of a valve/tube amp, and the fact that the DSL gives you so many tonal options at this price range is invaluable to me as an independent recording artist.

  • from Mission Viejo, California May 9, 2014Music Background:
    Musical Hobbyst

    Marshall Crunch and Sweetness

    I found out about this amp when I used it to demo my 2010 Gibson Les Paul Standard I purchased. I wound up getting the DSL15C about eight months later because I could not get the sound out of my head, that I got when I played with this amp. The clean channel actually impressed me more when I used it at home. I like both the half power and full 15 watts. The ultra gain channel with the Les Paul was the reason I purchased this great beast of an amp. I only had it about half way up in the store and, this thing just made that Les Paul sing. The 6V6 work great with this circuit. I like the way the 12" Celestion speaker sounds as well. If you have to play at lower volumes put an Ibanez TS808 in front of it in the clean channel. You will feel like you're back in the early 70s. If it had a send/return I would have given it 5 stars. I love this amp! Buy one from Sweetwater, you won't be sorry!

  • from JustoutsideNashville, Tn September 24, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Whats not to like?

    This amp is perfect for the house.. love the switchable power option, and the foot switch. Paired with my Les Paul, this thing has such versatility, and tonal variations, it's ridiculous! Buy it.. You can't go wrong for practice or even recording.

  • from Ponce, PR August 16, 2013Music Background:
    No longer in a band, just jammin for fun

    DSL 15 watt combo

    This little amp is great for practice and may hold its own in a small club setting. Its plenty loud and has a good range. It has a really nice clean sound and the lead channel covers everything from blues to AC/DC to Metallica. Very versitile with plenty of punch. I would highly recommend checking this little amp out. I play a LP standard and this is a great match.

  • from Atlanta, GA July 10, 2013

    Great Bedroom Amp!

    I think Marshall wanted to provide a hard rocking amp that could get you good rock and metal tones at a reasonable bedroom volume, and if that is the case then mission accomplished. I play mostly metal and classic rock and this thing can cover both well. I also have an Blackstar HT5r and prefer this, especially when trying to get into metal territory. I should also mention that the cleans are awesome, and the clean (green) channel takes pedals well.

    I see some people say it is too bright, I'm guessing those are people who don't know how to turn knobs. It can be bright, but it is not difficult to tame.

    The other complaint I hear is that it is made in Vietnam. I don't see why this matters. Are people upset that the amp is affordable? Marshall has to be competitive with other brands, and many of its competitors are making stuff in China, Vietnam, Korea, etc. (Think Orange, Egnator, Peavey).

  • from Port Coquitlam B.C.Canada October 30, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great little amp

    Small amp ,huge sound.Simple with two Chanels and great British sound.

  • from Texas August 8, 2016Music Background:
    retired touring guitarist turned bedroom player

    Nice little amp!

    I've had this amp for a few weeks now and I'm really enjoying it.

    The green channel has a nice crunch sound when the gain is up but cleans up nicely once you turn down the gain. You're not going to get pristine cleans with this amp, but you'll get close enough.

    The red channel can take me anywhere from classic rock to searing leads and metal. You get that classic Marshall growl. The distortion gets very compressed once the gain knob goes past 12-1 o'clock though so I never go past that.

    I don't find the Tone Shift button very useful. Maybe if I was going to play some Metallica or something that was very scooped I would use it. The Deep switch is what I use to go between classic and modern metal tones as it really pushes out the bottom end.

    I use this mostly in triode mode and it is still loud for at home use. I would say that in pentode mode you could easily gig with this with a little help from the PA.

    My only real complaints are the stock tubes and speaker. It was VERY fizzy when I first plugged it in. I finally swapped out the speaker for a WGS Veteran 30 and changed the preamp tubes to be a mixture of Mullard and JJ and the fizz problem was solved. The speaker swap was the real solution to the fizz, the tubes just dialed back the gain a bit and made the gain knobs have a bigger range to work with. I could have kept it completely stock and enjoyed it, but I had the parts laying around and found that using them fixed the couple of small issues I had with the amp.

    If anything happened to this amp I would more than likely buy it again.

  • from April 28, 2016

    New Amp

    This amp is great you can tweak and play around to find lots of tones, good tones. The thing is that like most amp there is a learning curve in terms of how to set the controls to get the sound you want. The eq controls and the gain in the ultra gain channel are super sensitive and this could be good or bad it depends on your knowledge on how they interact with each other. Right know Im learning and reading a lot about the eq sections in amps. But is a great amp, loud for 15watts. Im happy with it, is one of those amps that you cant turn off once you start playing and thats what a good amp is all about.

  • from Faribault, MN USA January 31, 2014Music Background:
    15 years drums, beginner electric guitar, casual

    Great Beginner Amp

    15/7.5 watt switch is great, foot pedal is great, digital reverb is weak, two channels are great, deep mode is great, no effects loop is weak, loud enough for rehearsal and small venues, quiet enough for playing in the house.

  • from valencia, ca. January 20, 2015Music Background:
    45 years playing guitar.

    dsl15

    I bought this for the low power rating for my apartment. The overdrive channel is the problem, it's too much! I've replaced all the tubes and put a Creamback speaker inside which helped at the lower watt setting.
    I should have paid more attention to the description, there's no efx loop, this amp needs it to clean up the fizzle on the overdrive with a delay pedal. I'm going to say this amp is $250 overpriced, that's how much extra I had to spend to clean it up.

  • from Connecticut October 13, 2015

    Not for me

    I realize alot of the reviews are overwhelmingly positive on this amp here, but I tried adjusting this amp to my tastes which are mostly 80's metal and I could not get good tone out of it. In my opinion based on numerous hours of adjusting the EQ and tone buttons, I could not get rid of the bassy/muddy tone. I tried the treble on 10 and the bass on 0 and I still thought it was too bassy. I actually kept checking to see if I was using the neck pickup by mistake. Maybe mine was defective, or it just doesn't do metal well without a pedal. In any case, I swapped it for a Peavey 6505 + combo and couldn't be happier.

Questions about the Marshall DSL15C - 15/7.5W 1x12" Guitar Combo Amp?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close