rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev
0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Martin DRS2 - Natural Reviews

5.0 stars based on 22 customer reviews
Questions about the Martin DRS2 - Natural?

Questions about the Martin DRS2 - Natural?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Wi April 25, 2017

    Martin

    Great price for a all wood guitar.Action was good right out of the box,and the case it came with was much better than expected.You won't be disappointed if you purchase this guitar.

  • from NY December 29, 2016

    Great guitar for the money!

    I purchased my DRS2 about 1-1/2 months ago, but wanted to wait for a bit to write a review until I spent some time with it. This is really a great guitar for the money! I spent several months looking around for something that had the sound/tone I was looking for in the $ price range, and I finally pulled the trigger on this after talking to Dan there at Sweetwater. This is the first time I purchased a guitar online, but it came set up perfectly...I would order from you folks anytime!

    I play in my worship band at church, and this thing blends just beautifully when plugged in. We just did an acoustic set for Christmas, and everyone loved the way it sounded. One of the other guys in the band has a D-16 (which is twice the money), and we honestly couldn't tell that much of a difference in sound. I know it's made in Mexico instead of Martin's PA factory, but bottom line, for the money, this thing is awesome! I would buy it again in a heartbeat!

  • from Lawton, Okla. October 23, 2016Music Background:
    Praise and Worship

    Some additional upgrades

    I've owned the DRS2 for over a year now and the sound and wood color gets better with age. (yes it too had the Velcro issue)To my surprise, instead of Richlite, mine came with Marado fingerboard and bridge, replacing the Sonitone Pickup with the Acoustic Matrix pickup and plugging into the Fishman Aura Spectrum Acoustic Imaging Processor will provide the most high quality sounds. It has that just right feel in the neck, plug it in to the Fishman Loudbox mini and your set. Enjoy.

  • from Sacramento, CA August 11, 2016Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Singer Songwriter

    Fantastic for Stage/Touring

    I need to clarify my 5 stars: if you compare the acoustic sound of this guitar to a D18 or D28, of course it will not be quite as good. However, due to my experience in live performance, I am very reluctant to take very expensive guitars out. This guitar sounds beautiful irrespective of price range, and it is absolutely great at its price point. I am an ebony fretboard fanatic and I could not tell the difference between this freatboard and the ebony ones on my other guitars. The acoustic sound is really well balanced and I have used it a few times for recording. Playing it amplified is wonderful as long as you understand how to tame the feedback (I use a soundhole cover and EQ. All in all, I highly recommend this guitar to any hobbyist or any semi-pro or pro reluctant to take their high-end instruments on the road. Well done Martin!

  • from Chatsworth, CA May 15, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur player for 40+ years

    Great Sound, Great Value

    I was looking for a good but reasonably priced new guitar after retiring. To my delight I found the
    DRS-2, a *great* yet reasonably priced guitar. I played a lot of Taylors that cost either same or more but like many people found them too bright.....and the case was extra. (Hey, they are great for bluegrass, but not my style or genre). The DRS2 is much warmer and fuller sounding, with crisp highs without the annoying brightness of the similar Taylors. Very well made guitar and well setup from the factory. Easy to play and consistent tone all up and down the neck. I have friends with more expensive Martins, but the first thing they do when they come over is pick up my DRS-2. As one of them said "Dang! I just can't put this thing down!".

  • from Romeo, MI April 11, 2016Music Background:
    non-professional....

    Love my DRS2

    I ordered my DRS2 about a year ago! I love it. The tone is awesome and love the fingering! Being able to plug in to an amp is great! I'm not a professional, but have been playing guitar for family fun, relaxation and a great hobby/past time for many years, 50+! Owning a Martin has been my dream for many years.....So now that I'm retired, kids are all grown/married/parents themselves, I have more time and decided to treat myself to one of the items on my 'bucket list'!! Never have looked back, yet!....Glad I found Sweetwater and since 'advertising your company on FB, find that a few of my friends who also play guitars have dealt with Sweetwater and have nothing but great things to say about the company!

  • from SC March 13, 2016

    Fantastic all solid Martin

    I wanted a low end beater guitar, so I tried an Epiphone for a hundred bucks and a Taylor 114. I wasn't happy and decided I needed to sell em' and spend a little more. I did my research and decided on a D-16GT. A truly awesome guitar, but mine had a flaw and I had to send it back (not from Sweetwater). Plus, it was a little expensive for my "low end" budget anyway. Then I went back to my #2 choice, the DRS2. SUPER happy with this guitar. Build quality is fantastic. Sounds great plugged and unplugged. Great neck profile and setup was one of the best I've see straight from the Factory (this one is from Mexico BTW). It has great solid wood Martin tone that just can't be beat. The new ones also have a solid neck. Yes, my D-18 looks better and sounds better and is louder, so if you want a D-18, save your money and get one. But if this is your budget or you need a second/third guitar, don't hesitate to try one out. It's gonna be my "take everywhere I go" guitar.

  • from January 22, 2016

    Very pleased!

    Reviews can be misleading and sometime what one person thinks is good, might not be so good in reality. I mostly play electric guitar and sold a nice Taylor 314ce because I rarely played it. I began to wish I had an inexpensive acoustic again and started researching and was torn between the Epiphone Masterbuilt series and a Seagull. Both have rave reviews and had finally narrowed it down to the Seagull. Thank goodness I went and played a few guitars (no Seagulls available) and did play the Epi ( felt and sounded like a low end guitar). I played several Taylors and grabbed the Martin DRS2 and was immediately drawn to the warmth and it played better than the Taylor that I had sold. I went home and ordered the guitar and it aived today. Set-up was excellent and the sound was very warm and rich. It is a very nice all wood guitar and itn is made in Mexico and the build quality is excellent. I own a mexi Charvel and it is as nice or nicer than my American Standard strat. I would choose this Martin over the 2 series Taylors anyday and would say it is as good the 3 series as well.Great buy!

  • from NV August 29, 2015Music Background:
    Off and on for years

    I made the right choice

    I've bought several guitars online through Amazon and others, and this was BEST EXPERIENCE BY FAR'. Chris Lewis my new favorite guitar guy, personally called me at home when my idiocy screwed up my account set up, and he fixed the problem quickly. Not only that, my guitar arrived on time, tuned up, and set up perfectly. Support doesn't end there, but continues long after the purchase. If my old lady ever lets me buy another guitar, you can bet it'll be from Sweetwater, and all my online musical purchases will be from them as well. I cant recommend them strongly enough. A great experience. Thanks Chris and everyone at Sweetwater . As Arnold would say, "Ill be back" OH yeah, I LOVE my new Martin DRS2.

  • from Murfreesboro, TN November 24, 2014Music Background:
    Musician for over 45 years.

    Well worth the bucks

    I purchased a DRS2 a month ago and for the money you can't do better. I picked it up the other day to just work on a couple of songs and when i next looked at the clock I had been playing for 7 hours and didn't even realize it. The sound and action is in comparison to a much higher end guitar. The more than fair. Thanks for another job well done.

  • from SC September 12, 2014

    Martin DRS2

    I was choosing between either the Martin DRS2 or one of the Performing Artist Series. My mind was pretty made up to get the Martin DCPA5 until I played the DRS2. The DRS2 sounds much better than the DCPA5. I had many conversations with people at Fishman Electronics because the electronics in the DCPA5 are "better", but the sacrifice was ok because I did not want laminate wood on the guitar. The DRS2 blows me away every time I play it.

  • from Tennessee August 21, 2014

    Great Purchase

    When looking for a guitar upgrade for my granddaughter, I went to several local stores and finally found this Martin DRS2. The sound was amazing. We are so glad we ordered from Sweetwater as the guitar came right away with FREE shipping. We are delighted with the sound, perfect for her bluegrass tunes and so much louder than the Fender she has. The fact that the case us included made this an even better deal from Martin. Would we but this guitar again from Sweetwater? YOU BET!!

  • from Colorado August 5, 2014Music Background:
    lifetime guitar hack

    Just a real nice gutiar

    Booming base, crystal highs and the low profile neck is so easy to play, I think Martin really hit a home run with this one. The Sapele smell and playability make it very addictive; I can hardly wait to get home to play it each night. Probably one of the best bargains I've ever made.

  • from N. Georgia. USA July 20, 2014

    Made the right choice

    I am very happy i chose this Martin Guitar. It has such a great sound that anyone would be proud of. It has to sound extra good because my wife ask me every day to get the guitar and play some for her, and i will. It would be nice when buying a guitar that a new set of strings and a couple of picks came with it, Oh well, that's just me, Thats what i would have done. All the same though, i am real happy with a good sounding Martin guitar. I did make the right choice.

  • from Texarkana, Tx February 14, 2014Music Background:
    Expert with a comb and waxpaper. So-so with a guitar.

    Great Martin Sound

    Received my guitar about a week ago. I decided on this guitar because it's a solid wood Martin for $800 bucks. My 214 Taylor cost me the same amount but is hpl sides and back. The Martin has a much more mellow sound compared to the brighter Taylor.
    It was perfect right out of the box! Action low and fast. Very easy to play. The medium strings match this guitar well. The case is a quality piece also You will like it! Send it to me if you don't.

  • from Pittsburgh February 24, 2016Music Background:
    Amature

    Batter than my D16RGT

    I have owned a Martin D16RGT for about 8 years and love it. Paid around $1200 new. I decided I needed a built in pick up for performing, cost to install one was about $350. I found a used DRS2 for sale locally with a built-in Fishman and grabbed it. WOW! Very impressed with the tone, feel, sound and craftsmanship. Friends even comment on how nice it sounds and looks! This has become my primary guitar!
    Thinking I might sell the D16RGT one pick up a Gretsch!
    This is an awesome guitar for the money
    If there is any negatives I would say the frets are a little more prominant, if you play lead and slide you will notice this.

  • from December 12, 2015Music Background:
    Worship Leader and life long learner and musician

    That tone though

    The Martin DRS2 was the perfect choice for me after much research, thought, listening and sound honest advice from my trusted rep of over 25 years Jim Swain. I wanted a full bodied sound in a dreadnought model but had a budget in mind and didn't want to spend the kind of money I have on higher end Taylor's. The solid Sitka spruce top and Sapele back and sides provides the perfect sonic balance and warmth we've come to expect from Martin but never in a million years did I think this kind of tone was accessible at this price. Up and down the neck it's consistent and sounds amazingly sweet! And honestly the tone keeps getting better and better. Every time I pick up my Martin to play it I'm blown away and inspired which is paramount for a worship leader and songwriter. Don't get me wrong I still hope to own that D35 some day but in the mean time the DRS2 will provide me and you too when you order yours from Sweetwater hours and hours pure enjoyment.

  • from McKinney, TX June 8, 2014Music Background:
    Worship Leader, Recording Engineer

    Really Nice Martin Acoustic

    Received my DRS2 a couple days after purchasing. Unpacked it from the box and considering how far it traveled I was surprised to find the guitar completely in tune. The fitted Martin hard case obviously protects the guitar very well. The guitar is beautiful, not a single blemish, scratch, or ding, totally filled my expectation in a new purchase. The action was a little higher than I prefer moving up the neck but not so high as to cause chording issues. Overall, the tone is warm and balanced, with better than expected low end. This is the first Martin I've owned and I'm looking forward to many days of enjoyment from this finely crafted instrument. Really nice acoustic for this price!!

  • from Evans City, Pennsylvania December 8, 2012Music Background:
    35+ years (and still trying to get it right!)

    Unmistakenly Martin!

    Bought this ax from Sweetwater a couple of months ago. Very nice. Beautiful tone and "punchy" lows that seem to come right out and grab you. The Fishman Sonitone suits this guitar very well. The neck is as sturdy as a crow bar; no shifting here!! I find Martins a little harder to play than..say a Taylor, but I'm not a fan of the Taylor Expression system. As a result, I like the idea of concentrating a little more deeply on the music I'm playing while enjoying the sound output. The DRS2 is very stable and sturdy. I run mine through a Marshall acoustic amp and WOW!!! This was a great buy; with a case and all. Thanks Martin and thank you Sweetwater for making the purchasing experience so comfortable.

  • from CHARLESTON S C November 11, 2016Music Background:
    NON PRO

    MORE BANG FOR YOUR BUCK

    THE DRS2 IS A FINE AND AFFORDABLE GUITAR AS WELL AS BEING A VERY PRETTY ONE.

    IT HAS GREAT TONE AND IS EASY TO PLAY WITH THE MARTIN FACTORY SETUP. I SELDOM USE

    THE FISHMAN ELECTRIC FEATURE BUT WHEN I DO IT WILL REALLY CRANK UP THE VOLUME.

    IF YOU CANNOT AFFORD A D28 THIS IS THE WAY TO GO..

  • from Berlin, MD November 7, 2016Music Background:
    Garage player

    Nice

    Coming off my Fender CD60 it is a nice step up. The CD60 was nice. But this sounds much nicer. In fact nicer than many more expensive Gibson and Taylor models I tried while shopping.

    Sounds really, really nice. And I always struggled with bar chords. Did 2 tonight first jam on this baby.

    I've read about cracks in some reviews and I'll wait and see about construction quality. But for now I am really impressed with the sound and playability. Appearance is perfect, no bling factor here. Just a classic dread. -Love my new guitar.

  • from Fort Worth Texas August 7, 2013Music Background:
    Student

    Great sounding Guitar

    I just got my DRS2 and it was GREAT right out of the box. Very little tunning. The only thing was very minor scratches on the neck but that's no great issue I'm looking for the great sound.
    The only thing major thing I have is the velcro they used to hold up
    the battery case. It was off and hanging upon shipment. I started to ship it back but the sound of the guitar pulled it back into my hands.
    Carl Martin could at lease bought better Velcro. It's really very minor but come on.

Questions about the Martin DRS2 - Natural?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway