0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
July 4 Financing

Boss DR-3 Dr. Rhythm Drum Machine Reviews

4.0 stars based on 18 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss DR-3 Dr. Rhythm Drum Machine?

Questions about the Boss DR-3 Dr. Rhythm Drum Machine?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Henry Anderson
    from Paducah ky January 4, 2017

    Boss Dr. 3

    haven't had time to really get into it...sounds really good too...The Blues Hopman

  • R. Ligthart
    from Lemont, IL October 8, 2016Music Background:
    Professional Gigging Solo Guitarist Singer

    Perfect

    Been live giging 3 - 5 times a week for probably over 20 years with my DR3. I don't remember when I bought it, but it has been in my travelling gig box for every gig. I learned how to copy its program patterns to user patterns, edited them and have every rhythm and every tempo any musician could want - Waltz, Blues, Jazz, Latin, Samba, Rock, Funk, Classics, Country, Hip Hop. etc. It is all there. Listeners are amazed at the variety of rhythms available and how I go from song to song. Easy to shift from one pattern to another. I use to use the foot pedal, but have eliminated that because the hand use mode works well for me as a solo guitarist. I've messed with and looked at others, even new models from Boss and competitors. I no longer waste time looking at others. I chose this because it is the best for me. Maybe you too.

  • Customer
    from April 21, 2016

    Impossible

    As in many things, this machine is made for the person with a PhD in electronics. It's got many different styles for the heavy R$R person but nothing for the old time music player. It is next to impossible to program yourself. The manual uses words that have no reference so it is impossible to figure out.

  • John Dolan
    from February 22, 2016

    The next best thing to a really good drummer

    I produced 6 instrumentals that I'm very satisfied with within 2 days of it's arrival....and I have high standards!...great features, easy to use and huge sound...light years beyond the DR660 I bought in 1996...and for under 200 bucks...unbeatable!

  • Byron Kinnaman
    from Salem, Oregon July 29, 2015Music Background:
    No drums, lots of melody instruments

    Difficult to program

    I bought this a couple years ago thinking I could create some very simple drum patterns. I play a mountain dulcimer and would like t add some drums to it. Since I'm not used to playing with drum accompaniment I need a very simple 1 2 3 4 beat with accent on 1 to get me started. For the last two years I've been trying to make that simple pattern work. No luck.

  • Customer
    from Orlando June 2, 2015Music Background:
    Jazz guitar

    Richard G.

    Great investment, performed beyond my wildest expectations. Strongly recommend it!

  • Customer
    from United States October 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Boss DR-3 Dr. Rhythm

    This machine is a fine product but it was too complicated for what i wanted and my skill level. I wanted a drum machine that could provide me with basic rhythm patterns to use for practice. It didn't need it to be so comprehensive. Having said that, it was obvious that it was a top quality piece. I would recommend it for serious musicians with a competency in electronics.

  • Bonnie
    from Aquilla, Texas USA May 24, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, local small bands

    "The Boss"

    The DR-3 has slipped right into our rehearsal sessions pretty easily. The variety of styles and patterns, not to mention the sound, is surprising. We're still having some issues with the "Ending/Stop" function. Knowing exactly when to press the button so the ending rhythm pattern terminates at the same time the rest of the band expects to end a song has been a challenge in some cases. Overall, we're quite pleased with the unit and use it in place of a live drummer for small venues.

  • Bobby Bonds
    from Texas May 6, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    An excellent Piece of equitment

    The video is very good, except the guy giving it goes a little fast, so I had to keep going over it several times.
    And I haven't figured out how to mute the bass on the fly yet. Not sure if you can.

  • Customer
    from July 30, 2013

    Boss

    Just bought the DR-3 Boss, lots of drum patterns which is nice. Battery life is horrible! they should make the power supply standard with the DR-3. for sound I had it going through my guitar amp and sounded muffled, So I talked to a sweetwater agent and he recommend M-Audo 40 speakers. speakers are nice but Boss DR-3 doesn't deliver everything sounds the same and seems to be too digitally in my opinion.
    Boss DR-3 isn't too user friendly and display is just too small
    I would recommend this to a nerd but not an average joe

  • Gordy Barrett
    from Twin Lake, MI May 10, 2013Music Background:
    None just play with friends and have fun!

    using the Boss DR-3

    If you're looking for a affordable unit that is easy to operate and sounds good this is the ticket. I'm just and average guitar picker and this machine keeps you in time plus it sounds good. I just use the pre- programed settings which are easy to set.

  • Jack leach
    from Springfield, va. (Washington, D.C. Area) February 5, 2013Music Background:
    80yrs old, only been playing for 70

    If your IQ is 140, it's a wonderful piece of equipment

    This is really amazing, but you better have a PHD in audio engineering if you expect to understand everything in the manual. I highly recommend Rolland,s owner's manual DVD if you hope to operate this gear!

  • mark cowgar
    from midland, MI USA January 5, 2013Music Background:
    guitar, keys, back up vocal.

    The complicity of the unit.

    If your looking for a machine thats easy and not alot of programs you don't need if your doing somthing easy and just need a beat.

  • Scotty K
    from Montrose, Co , USA December 28, 2012Music Background:
    Garage Rocker

    Wanted one for years

    Yes long ago I wanted a Dr Rhythm , they have changed a bit over the years but this little machine will change your life. It is a rhythm section that will play for you any time any where , with no gripes or ego trips. My buddy and i have experimented with reggae and balads and of course the Chicago Blues setting always get a workout. It has a bunch of features I have not used yet because I have spent to much time just having fun with the programs that it comes with out of the box.

  • Terry Hoffman
    from Kansas October 13, 2012Music Background:
    Active Musician

    Simple to use and Great sounds

    This is a very easy machine to use and, really has a lot of Great sounds and beats. I use this live in a duo with my son, I play guitar and sing and he plays bass. Dialing up a program and setting the BPM takes just seconds and were off to doing another tune. With what were doing there isn't time to twiddle knobs and tweak settings and, that's what makes this unit so sweet. You definately have to work with the machine to find the right program for the song that you want to play but, that is what rehearsal is for. When you find the right one make a notation on your song sheet and, dial it in, it's that simple. You can even change the BPM on the fly if necessary. Simplicity is the big selling point here that's why I use it. I use the Boss double footswitch to start and stop the programs and to add fills if I want, also a Boss single footswitch as a kill to stop and start the program at any time that I want or need to. It's about the closest thing to a live drummer that I have used and, the price wont break the bank either. There are more complex machines with many more sounds out there but, you will run into more complex programing and use, not to mention more cost too. This unit works Great for me and, gives me all I want. We do a large variety of songs from hard rock to bluegrass and this little unit does the job.

  • David
    from Los Angeles, CA December 20, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist for 20yrs

    Great sounds period & great for guitarists, etc.

    I had two of these. The sounds on this are very good esp the high hat and kick. They sound better than my Performance Pad. If you want great kick and hi hat get this. This IS more suited for a guitar or bass player and is competent. My Yamaha DD-65, Akai XR20 and Performance Pad are not.

  • Shawn
    from New England Area USA August 21, 2007Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Get a DR-3 and Fire Your Drummer & Bass Player!

    Sounds cruel, right? I am a solo artist and I do mean SOLO. What if your drummer and bass player are late or just didn't show? That's happened to me before. Not anymore guys.

    The drums and bass are realistic especially if you use a powerful sound system with enough bottom end. I use it with the Roland SA-300 (350 amps) and have even tried it with the Fender Passport PD-500, (500 amps). Both systems allow the bass to shine and really carry the rhythm.

    100 presets cover nearly every style and then some. Great for writing and composing too. Just fill in your melody line and lyrics. Super easy to use and adjust to the tempo and key you want to play in. So much for so little money. Definitely buy one and relax. You can stop worrying if your other gig-mates will show.

  • Oliver morton stimpson
    from horsham uk June 1, 2005

    amazin vaule for money!

    Ok , I got this in the post this morning and 7 hours later , I am still using it, u do get a hell of alot for your money here your able to use the 100 presets! which are very helpful, i play allot of muse and placebo and in a band at the moment i can see my timing and overall drumin knowledge building up. like i said i play placebo tons and the main thing about placebo is the drumming i found allot of presets very usefull eg (16th beats) and lots of useful fill in rolls , as for makeing your own drumming beat thats sort of easy i ve still yet to master in but i am sure i will! anyhoo i run this in 2 a boss me 50 and it works amazinly well!

    take care all

    oliver morton stimpson

Questions about the Boss DR-3 Dr. Rhythm Drum Machine?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway