0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

TASCAM DR-07mkII Reviews

4.5 stars based on 19 customer reviews
  • from Virginia October 11, 2014Music Background:
    deep

    Great Teaching Tool

    I really appreciate this device for many reasons; ease of use, incredible fidelity, and design but as a guitar teacher I find it invaluable for my students. I pack a great deal of theory into a lesson and much of it flies over my students heads. Recording the lesson to mp3 file and making it accessible via Dropbox allows my students to not have to take notes during the lesson, for later review to fill in any gaps and to have a permanent record of what has been covered. This adds a dimension to the learning experience difficult to quantify but highly recommend this application of such devices.

  • from United States September 25, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great Recorder!!!!!

    Great Sound and easy to use...Still learning some of the features and having a lot of fun with it!!!!!!Speaker is small,but when hooked up to headphones no problem hearing!!!!!SweetWater can't be beat!!!!!!

  • from Southern Maryland February 18, 2014Music Background:
    Student and Hobbyist

    Great Hand Held Recorder

    For a hand held, this is an excellent recorder. Easy to use. Great play back, plus mounts easily to a mic stand for recording practice sessions. I added a 32 gigabite micro card so can easily record as long as I need to,

  • from Cincinnati, OH February 13, 2014Music Background:
    Former audio engineer, re-emerging musician

    Cannot believe my ears

    Picked one up to record my son's band at an upcoming gig. Became familiar with the features at home and took it to the Galactic show last night to give it a test drive. I just pressed the Record button, adjusted the level to just under peak, and it did the rest. I moved around the venue and the sound did not change much as I navigated. Got home and transfered the tracks over to iTunes and played it through my home system. The sound was clear, dense, full range, and no distortion. Back in the day it would take $5K of equipment and a lot of hauling to get what I was able to do with this device, and it is no larger than the average TV/Stereo remote.

  • from Middleton, TN April 26, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Great recorder for the price

    The Tascam DR-07mkll work well as advertised. The recording quality is very good. I'm a bass player, so I use this product for my bass practice. I record songs, use the variable speed playback, to slow the song down without changing the pitch. This help me learn bass lines to my favorite songs. I also use this product to play music in my vehicle through the cd/radio/aux player. For, a great portable device I would recommend this recorder

  • from Springfield, OH August 8, 2011Music Background:
    Vocalist, Instrumentalist

    TASCAM DR-07mkII... works great

    Did ya' ever buy a "pig in a poke?" Well, when my old Sony recorder gave up the ghost, I really didn't have time to do any research on replacements. I saw the ad for the Tascam in my Sweetwater catalog, checked a couple of reviews, and gave it a shot. Paul Lea gave me great advice on the unit and I couldn't be more pleased. It got me through a hurried practice session and ready to sing a wedding (with eight songs I'd never heard before)! Way to go Sweetwater!

  • from NSW Australia July 18, 2011Music Background:
    Producer, Songwriter

    Awesome!

    Impressive response from such a small(ish) unit, crystal clear recording. Very handy for those quick 'grabs' when ideas can strike at any time and you need to get something down fast especially when developing lyrics and tunes. But also superb quality for final takes especially for acoustic guitar. One 'minor' quibble is that 'some' of the info is a bit small on the screen for my ailing eyesight, but all the important stuff is there, the quality and performance though outweigh this minor issue. Recording is easy and quick and there is plenty under the bonnet for more complex tasks. I have not tried recording bands or orchestras so cannot comment on that, but for acoustic guitar and songwriting I don't know how I have lived without it. You won't be disappointed. Fits nicely in the guitar case too!

  • from San Antonio, Tx. October 18, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician and Live Sound Engineer

    Tascam DR-07mkII

    Excellent little unit. Well worth the purchase !!!

  • from Upstate NY June 10, 2013Music Background:
    musician, audio engineer

    Pretty much everything I wanted it to be.

    Never owned a field recorded. Wanted something with...

    -sensitive mics (ie, condensers good enough to record sounds a considerable distance away
    -decent battery life
    -a non-bloated interface

    The lack of an internal battery is kind of a bummer, but beyond that, it nailed all points so far.

  • from Los Angeles, CA USA July 16, 2012Music Background:
    Musician: Singer, Songwriter, Student.

    The reception is amazing!

    Just out the box I'm very impressed. This is my first digital recorder, and
    I love it. The reception is so sensitive and clear. Somewhat of a learning curve on navigating the screens and setting up files, etc, but, overall
    I'm a definite fan. Great price, also.

  • from Los Angeles, CA November 18, 2011Music Background:
    Amateur musician, recording hobbyist

    Great Value

    I've used it for vocal recording as part of an oral history project, and, to a limited extent, to record acoustic music. It's light and easy to use, although some of the lettering on the screen is small and can be difficult to read. The sound quality is very good, especially for a small, relatively inexpensive recorder. There are several options for file format, and the computer interface is intuitive. It is quite sensitive to vibration when hand-held. I use a tripod. and only touch the recorder to turn on and off the recording.

  • from Ann Arbor, MI June 9, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    great little recorder

    I need to record lectures, practice sessions and music performances (both large and small). I wanted something compact and versatile and this was just the ticket. The ability to switch between A-B and X-Y mic positioning lets me record string trios, two guitars and full orchestras. The controls are easy to use, but obviously it's a little bit tough to get around on a small screen. It is easy to download to a computer, but it would be useful to have a small program that could run the recorder from a computer. However, that is a small quibble for a great device.

  • from Lake Tahoe area March 25, 2014Music Background:
    Semi-professional guitar and keyboard player

    This very handy and reliable device is a must for musicians

    I use this for: keeping my backing tracks stored in one convenient place, recording jam sessions so I can go back and pick up on the great spots for future song projects, recording voice notes and transferring files from one location to another. The sound quality is exceptional, even from the microphones. They are extremely sensitive and don't miss a single nuance (or background noise too so keep the dogs and kids away while recording). The controls are intuitive and easy to learn and I am using features on it that I didn't even know it had when I ordered it. Very well thought out and executed device.

  • from Tucson, AZ August 27, 2013Music Background:
    Many things.,

    Great for laying down your musical thoughts

    Fantastic. Features a pretty good range of recording parameters. Works great ion my walk-in closet. Easy to use for inserting tracks to my rec. software on the big computer with USB. Price works.

  • from Indianapolis,In September 17, 2012Music Background:
    Drummer, Pianist, Recording

    Good Performance

    Haven't had it long, but sounds good. used it so far for getting band practice jams and once in a club with a full band, and it sounded much better than i expected actually.

    only thing I don't care for is its a bit too compicated to use--seems like it could be a lot more user-friendly--I am an audio guy and I even had to run to the manual for loads of things.

  • from Oakland, Ca, USA May 18, 2012Music Background:
    40+ years as a performing guitarist

    Tascam DR-07

    This unit comes with a 120 page owners manual, so it's capable of doing much more than I'll ever need it to do. But it's pretty easy to figure out the basics (i.e. setting recoding levels, recording, deleting files, and moving them to a laptop), and the recording quality is really good. Overall, this unit does everything I need it to do for a very reasonable price.Kudos to Sweetwater for their usual great service!

  • from Washingon, DC February 23, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Artist Manager, Synth Player

    Isn't a studio (obiviously)

    Pretty good Frequency response in the Mic's. I like the fact it has a speaker built in. Overall good construction and easy to use. I got it and it was ready to go right out of the box. If you want a cheep easy solution to get down those late night riff's so you don't forget , this is your field recorder. The recordings I've made have all been crystal clear and easy to hear. i give it a b +

  • from McVeytown Pa. September 13, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Tascam recorder

    The recorder works great, It has a great sound. Easy to use, easy to read instructions. But the little speaker isnt that great, When you play back you cant hear it very well. Have to use headphones to really hear the good sound...

  • from Southern Sierra, CA January 4, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    OK for the price

    Would have liked better input and output connections. Would have liked phone plugs or even RCA's, but got the stereo mini plug. Should have noticed in the literature. Too much to keep up with....

    As for the sound, good, but not as good as I had hoped.

Questions about the TASCAM DR-07mkII?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway