0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

TASCAM DR-05 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 71 customer reviews
Questions about the TASCAM DR-05?

Questions about the TASCAM DR-05?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from WA May 3, 2017

    tascam dr-05

    the recording quality is " super". you can't go wrong for the price.

  • from Oklahoma May 1, 2017

    Awesome!

    It's very nice, it does everything that I was expecting from it. Thanks, keep up the good work!

  • from Pulaski VA April 21, 2017

    Haven't used it much but what I've recoded sounds great

    Great recorded for the price, lots of options, easy to use, love it.

  • from TN March 20, 2017Music Background:
    High School Band Director - Recording Engineer

    Judges' Comments

    These contraptions are amazing. We use them for the local high school band and orchestra concert festival. Judges use them to make comments as the ensembles are playing. The auto gain works great. The sound quality is wonderful.

    We move the files to Dropbox. The director's have their comments within just a few minutes of their groups performance. Works like a charm!

    Long battery life and high quality make the value of this unit first class.

  • from Kingston, N.H. March 6, 2017Music Background:
    Lead guitar, song writer.

    A Little Giant

    Aside from everything else mentioned in this 'comment' section, this 'little devil' is a must for the song writer. It does a nice job multitracking with the 'overdub' function. Takes a little getting used to, but, you'll get the hang of it. The sound is great. With practice, you can get close to professional quality demos.

  • from Okla December 5, 2016

    Tascam DR-05

    I have had one of these for about 5 years! It works very good! I record a lot of music live! Great little device! Would absolutely recommend this item to anybody wanting a hand held portable recorder!

  • from November 3, 2016

    Great value, quality live recording

    I have been using this is a scratch pad but recently recorded my bands rehearsals. Blew me away. Just sat it down in the middle of the room and hit record. No clipping and quality sound . This little device has found a permanent spot in my travel bag.

  • from September 10, 2016Music Background:
    Bedroom musician

    MP3 player too

    TASCAM really hit it out of the ballpark on this one.

  • from June 19, 2016

    Exactly what i wanted

    Good gear. Meets my expectations.

  • from Lower Pottsgrove PA March 19, 2016Music Background:
    Bass player/singer

    Best small recorder for dummies.

    I'm not saying dumb, I mean those of us who don't do well with complicated equipment.This recorder is the easiest I every used and has the sound of one costing so much more.I lost my instructions and I had it working in 10 mins.I play bass and at rehearsal I use it and the sound blew me away. If you need a great recorder at a great price,this is it.

  • from Kalida, OH February 25, 2016

    Happy

    Perfect for what I use it for. I record band practice sessions and gigs for my own personal practice later. The sound quality is good for what I need, and it is easy to use. I especially like that I can put it on a camera stand to get it somewhat isolated.

  • from Toronto February 13, 2016

    Good Editing Built In

    you can record a person Voice on one take, pause and resume recording on the same file.
    this gives way multiple recordings of different takes on the same file. EXCELLENT

  • from October 14, 2015

    Easy yo use

    I really like the DR-05. The Technical support that I received was very helpful.

    I've recorded lots of music and begun to record memories of my youth and growing up. These are for my children when I'm gone. I've got lots of stories ( some fiction and some truth ) which I share with children.
    I'm really pleased with my recording device.

  • from October 9, 2015

    always on hand

    I've used it for recording my performances, sound samples for patchworking with, and actually performing with by just plugging it into a looping pedal with and aux to quarter inch. In every situation it has performed perfectly, only once did I lose a recording and it was because I attempted to record a concert without enough space on the memory card so my fault entirely. Would certainly recommend although i wish it came with a case.

  • from Waupaca, WI March 7, 2015Music Background:
    Pro musician

    A must have tool!

    Easy to set-up, easy down-loading material to your computer. Perfect for recording band rehearsals. Best $100 I've spent in a long time!

  • from United States January 28, 2015Music Background:
    hobbyist (sort of)

    Love my Recorder!

    As a replacement for my older TASCAM (I broke off one of the mics), I am well pleased with the DR-05! It has an incredible battery life on alkaline batteries. Recording and setup are simple. File transfer from the DR-05 can be done in two ways, either with the included USB cable or by removing the micro card and plugging into the PC with an adapter.

  • from December 8, 2014Music Background:
    Amatuer Musician, Audiophile

    Amazing Starter

    First off, first time purchase from Sweetwater. Shipping was quicker than they said, and they have excellent customer service, kudos. I bought this to record my bands practice sessions and shows. We were all blown away by the sound quality. We play in a decent sized room and this thing had no clipping or distortion problems at all. You can hear everything and the level align makes everything sound nice and even. The extras on it are pretty cool too. Seriously, excellent sound quality.

  • from USA October 9, 2014Music Background:
    Music Therapy Undergrad Student

    Wonderful Recorder!!

    Not only was the service I received superb! (Got some goodies on my package that arrived very on time) But this recorder is an amazing piece of equipment. I love to walk around with my head phones on with the recorder set to on because it is amazing how much you can hear through the microphones this Tascam Dr-05 has! It's great if you like to hear yourself while recording, like to do professional home recording, like to record verbal audio, record voice lessons and college courses, and for so many more things!

  • from Brooklyn, NY July 28, 2014Music Background:
    Professional Musician

    Easy To Operate, Great Sound, Makes Live Recording a Breeze

    I received the DR-05 for Christmas but just used it last week. A friend of mine asked me to record his live show knowing I`m a producer. He wanted to capture what he does live so the DR-05 was the perfect choice to capture him. We recorded for an hour with no glitches. All I did was set the levels and sit back and enjoy. Once he was done, I went back to the studio, downloaded the files within seconds and imported them into my DAW. The DR-05 was a easy to operate, sounded great, and made a once complicated recording (a live session) a breeze. Highly recommended.

  • from NEW York , USA May 8, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Excellent

    Tascam DR-05 is a unique small recording machine. it record great and after a few settings it can recrod in MP3. it saves time and effots.
    i love this and have bought one for a present for a friend.

  • from Cupertino, CA March 4, 2014Music Background:
    Professional singer, voice teacher and conductor

    Tascam DR-05

    I am a professional voice teacher and singer, and this Tascam recorder was exactly what I was looking ofr to record students, rehearsals, and performances. I have already used it for many hours, and it records extremely well and downloads to my computer in a jiff. So many wonderful features, but the ability to record in a WAV file or mP3 is the best!

  • from ST LOUIS,MO. January 17, 2014Music Background:
    HOBBY

    TASCAM DR-05

    THIS TASCAM DR-05 IS UNBELIEVABLE. FIRST,IT'S SO EASY TO USE AND THE SOUND QUALITY IS GREAT.I WOULD RECOMMEND ANYONE WHO WANTS TO GET A RECORDER,TO GET THIS.I GIVE THIS TASCAM 5 STARS.

  • from United States September 3, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound, Musician

    Great Product, Low Price

    If you're looking for a basic recording device but are concerned about getting something in a low-price range, no worries! This guy will do the job really well. Check out the extra features on more expensive models and think about if you even need them. If not, this model is highly recommended.

  • from Cambridge, OH August 7, 2013Music Background:
    Have played bass guitar in a band for over 30 years

    Totally happy!

    First, I was very impressed when an hour after my online purchase, I received a call to personally verify my order. Secondly, I was very happy with the free shipping. Finally, I was very satisfied with the product itself- it works beautifully and is just what I needed. Great customer service, great product, speedy delivery and a great company. I won't be shopping for gear anywhere else. Thanks!

  • from Danbury, CT. August 3, 2013Music Background:
    Drums, guitar, vocals

    Absolutely Fantastic!

    This thing is amazing, especially for the reasonable price. This little wonder does double duty. By day I use it to record and document meetings, and by night, we use it to record our band's rehearsals. Just set it down on its four padded feet in the center of activity and let it go. Added an 8 gig sd card and it lasts through the whole session. All of the rave reviews that this unit has received are absolutely true. Can't recommend it highly enough. Great job as usual Tascam!

  • from Central Coast of California July 15, 2013Music Background:
    Musician/ Live Sound Engineer

    Very Inpressed

    Great things DO come in small packages! Easy to use, and an easy to understand manual are just the start. For the size I feel I am getting a lot of "bang for the buck" out of this unit. Very easy to go from a live recording to down loading on my computer in minutes. I have bought a DR-05 for every different venue where I record. Speakers love the fact that within minutes of completing their session I can have it posted online for them. The portability is the best! (it fits in my pocket)

  • from PA, USA July 5, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Awesome recorder!

    At first I would have given this a bad score...that is, until I learned how to really use it. First of all, pretend it doesn't have a built-in speaker, and get a pair of headphones. (or powered monitor speakers) Preferably good ones, to truly appreciate the audio quality of this device. Spend half an hour with the manual, and have the DR5 with you as you do. It seems like a long time in this "out of the box" world, but its time well spent, as once you learn this recorder, and see how well it records, you won't regret it. Worth every penny!

  • from San Dimas CA July 4, 2013Music Background:
    guitar player

    most bang for your buck

    great unit easy to use !!!!!!!!!!

  • from Sturgeon Bay, WI November 26, 2012Music Background:
    Studio musician (Piano and percussion)

    An awesome recording tool!!

    I'm a musician who get ideas for songs all the time. Most of the time I get them at work where I have to try and hum the melody or tap it with my fingers. Since I purchased this recording tool, I've used it every day and am very glad I paid for what I got.I don't need all the bells and whistles in my recording since I can make them later with my DAW. I do need a "scratch pad" (which the DR-05 provides) and a way to obtain those melodies and rythms in my head. The Tascam DR-05 gives me everything I need and delivers an awesome sound. For all the musicians deciding on what recording unit to get, try the Tascam DR-05 for a pleasant surprise. You'll be glad you did!

  • from United States November 12, 2012Music Background:
    Student, musician, composer, sound designer, recording engineer

    Absolutely worth it.

    It is the first handheld mic I've owned so my experience with them is very little. With that said, this mic is great. It is easy to use, menu navigation is straight forward and took no time to figure out. The audio quality meets my expectation for a linear PCM mic of its class. It can also be used as an external mic for computers, which is a feature I hadn't originally planned on using. It makes recording straight onto your computer very quick and easy. All you need is a cable to connect to your computer's imput. So far I haven't found any problems, 5 stars for the Tascam DR-05.

  • from Maui Hi November 24, 2011Music Background:
    Musician

    How can it be so easy

    I just recorded a couple of live sessions with an 8 piece band then again with just my Bass player and myself. I am pretty impressed with the sound and how easy it was to download into my computer. Thanks for making a great hand held recorder.

  • from Sacramento, California October 1, 2011Music Background:
    Future Recording Student

    Amazing

    This product is really good. Recording quality is amazing! I would recommend this to anyone looking for a decent hand held recorder. I currently use this to record our church sermons(line out on the board to line in on recorder).

  • from Eureka, Ca USA September 8, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Great Machine

    Seriously. For the price you can't beat it. I'm a TD at a performing Arts Center. I bought this as a toy and have been really impressed with the quality of the recordings and design of the data storage. It's a simple drag and drop onto your computer once connected.
    If your reading this, you should buy this. You won't regret it.
    A+

  • from Barbados July 8, 2011Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Amazing!!!

    5 Stars for this little wonder!!! Great for live recording with crystal clear results. Can also do inline recordings which obviously come out even better!! An excellent choice for a middle class user, not at all amatuerish but at a very affordable price. I only wish I had bought mine on sale.

  • from Fort Wayne April 1, 2016

    TASCAM DR-5

    Love it! Love the price too. Thank you!

  • from Tennesse January 18, 2016Music Background:
    53 years of performing and recording experience.

    Tascam DR-05 Portable Recorder

    Great portable recorder with many internal options/settings that meet all my songwriting needs.
    I do recommend this unit based on quality, features and price. Easy to upload recordings to other media. I'm glad I made this choice.

  • from Las Vegas August 29, 2015

    Perfect for any application.

    Like others, I was impressed by the sound quality of the recordings, they were true to the original soundscape recorded. It picks up every sound signal and accurately reproduces it. However, it is important to know the following: The true potential of the recorder can be only be accessed by downloading the 112 page resource book available from Tascam Corp. I downloaded it and saved it to my laptop desktop. It has extensive information that will explain everything the unit can do. The instruction booklet that comes with the unit has only 18 pages of instructions in the different languages. It is basically a quick guide for the recorder. The sound card files can be dragged to your desktop and saved in files, folders or briefcases. I am impressed with this little recorder and coming from a time of analog tape from the 1960's, I am astounded by the progress that digitization has brought to the consumer. Of course die-hard audiophile's would probably still prefer analog to digital, but for everyday use and practicality, these units are quite impressive for their small size.

  • from April 10, 2015

    Amazing Bang for the Buck

    Easy to use, well made and great sound. Had a Zoom recorder prior to this one, and this one is much better quality and easier to use.

  • from New England March 23, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter, musician

    Studio you can hold in your hand

    Really a nice piece of equipment... perfect for quick recordings of new songs, practices, etc. Has a lot of features that you wouldn't expect in a recorder this small or at this price. Nice build quality, controls feel solid and fit and finish is excellent.

    As far as recording quality goes, it's hard to believe the great sound quality on playback. You will be surprised at how good it sounds. If you're a songwriter or someone looking for a quick way to record and listen to practices I would recommend this very highly. You won't be disappointed.

    I didn't give it 5 stars only because I never give anything 5 stars... but it really is a great little recorder.

  • from OKLA. March 17, 2015Music Background:
    2 YEARS IN. STILL LEARNING

    TASCAM DR-05

    THIS RECORDING DEVICE WORKS GREAT FOR ME. HELPS ME BY PLAYING BACK MY GUITAR AND SINGING PRACTICES SO I CAN HEAR MY FAULTS AND CORRECT THEM.

  • from North Carolina November 30, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Love the TASCAM DR-05 Handheld Recorder

    This stereo recorder is so simple to use but loaded with extras that allows even me, a casual hobbyist, to record live events like a pro. Easy to use front controls allows quick set-up without having to pull out the manual every time. The recording quality exceeded my expectations. The only con about this is that there is not a menu item to allow download to my PC without turning the unit off then back on.

  • from Gillette, Wyoming April 23, 2014Music Background:
    Recording & Mastering Engineer, Multi Instrument Musician, Pro Sound Tech, Mac guru.

    DR-05 Great Sounding Recording Tool

    The Tascam DR-05 recorder is exactly what you need when you want to record well... just about any type of sound. It's a veritable "Swiss Army Knife" of a recorder. I have used it for notes, live recording the live worship music at church, but mostly; I use it for those moments when I get those awesome lyrics or music riffs in my head and I need to record them so I can remember how they went at a later time. Amazing how long you can record using the better quality format. Of course the mp3 format is always available if you need to record many hours of material. It's well built and really easy to name and save files for download to your computer later... or just listen to through the onboard speaker or even through headphones and earbuds. Can't imagine how many great ideas were lost because I couldn't remember the ideas for songs I had! Really a sturdy unit.

  • from Ladysmith, WI USA March 13, 2014Music Background:
    amature musician

    This device does exactly what I wanted it to do

    I was looking for a digital recorder that would allow me to plug in to our church sound system and record whatever we were doing in high quality MP3 in an easy to operate way, and that would allow me to download those files directly to my computer. This device does all those things, and the quality is far better than tape. Thanks.

  • from United States January 26, 2014

    TASCAM DR-05 worked right out of the box

    I used it untested on the night of my usual monthly meeting of the Digital Discussion Group. I hand held it to record the question & answer session and photo comments. I was able to review the recordings later and write the proceeding of the meeting without any trouble. I will use a tripod during our next meeting though.

  • from Austin, TX August 2, 2013Music Background:
    Sound Director

    TASCAM DR-05 RECORDER

    Great Performance - Excellent!
    The DR-05 recording was fantastic - clear; crisp; and no clipping nor distortion. We tested the DR-05 with other MP3 recorders and had superb performance. The other MP3 devices clipped and picked up other external noise.
    It's a great portable tool to carry.

    Sweetwater takes excellent care of its customers!

  • from New York, NY December 4, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Tascam DR-05

    Bought it to record band rehearsals. Works extremely well for this purpose.

  • from July 18, 2011

    Great recorder.

    This is a great recorder; especially for a novice in this area. The manual was readable and precise and allowed me to get going immediately. A great item!

  • from Mankato, Mn USA June 8, 2011Music Background:
    Life long guitarist and songwriter, withThe Murphy Brothers Band

    DR-05

    I found the DR-05 a great little unit for a great price and is perfect for those live gigs you don't want to lose because of not having the time for set up, the DR-05 can be up and ready to go in a couple of minutes.
    It is also a must for songwriters to help keep track of those bits and pieces of songs you come up with day or night that you don't want to forget, or record an arrangement that you don't want to lose before you get it down on Pro-tools.
    The sound is great and with a little reading easy to use.
    Great tool, Great price and a Great sound.

  • from January 9, 2017

    Good value

    Does what it's supposed to and is very intuitive. Good purchase for recording on the fly.

  • from Santa Rosa November 6, 2015

    Very Good

    I have been very pleased with this recorder, the sound quality is very good when listening to recordings through headphones and great when the recordings are downloaded to a computer. I researched a few different recorders and I figured the Tascam DR-05 would work well for my recording needs. It is a very good recorder and a great price.

  • from Texas June 30, 2015Music Background:
    Pedal Steel Guitar

    Success

    I had a little trouble operating the DR-05 until I called the Sweetwater tech support and got me straightened out, not the recorder. Since then I have been able to use my recorder as needed and am improving my style. Thanks Sweetwater....jr

  • from Birmingham March 25, 2015Music Background:
    Songwriter

    Tascam DR-05

    The sound quality using the built in mics was surprisingly good. Just laid it on a Grand Piano & it was pretty good just like that. Picked up an acoustic guitar nicely too. For my purposes, I realized I needed to place the mics better so tried to use the mic input. It is a stereo input which created a problem. It cuts off the internal mics & so far, I haven't found an adapter that will take 2 -1/4" mic mono inputs in & use both left & right channels. If I can work that out, the unit will be much improved. If you're thinking 2 mics as the unit supplies, you would think the two were for some separation which isn't practical sitting on the little unit. It still sounds great & is most useful for the money - no doubt I'll rig something to use 2 external mics eventually. Good product & yes, it was advertised with a stereo input, I just didn't forsee the problem.

  • from colorado February 5, 2015Music Background:
    Musician

    TASCAM DR-05

    Easy to use, and works great for recording practice sessions.

  • from Michigan January 13, 2015Music Background:
    Guitar player

    Sports

    I needed it to record my kids basketball games off the radio while we r at the games works great for that prolly was nothing they had intended someone to use it for but it's perfect

  • from San Diego, Ca July 11, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Easy to learn with great results

    Easy to learn with great results. Intuitive controls provide access to a recording process of high fidelity.

  • from North Left Coast August 13, 2013Music Background:
    Intermediate hobbyist.

    Works Great!

    I'm just using this for home recording. It was a bonus to discover that I could use it to play mp3 and .wav backups on gigs. The file system is a little cumbersome so I manage it via usb which works just fine. If you want to use single play for playback, you have to be aware that it starts playing immediately when you open the folder with the song files. So, as soon as you hit enter, you better be ready to play. I haven't done much with the record function, but it's easy to use and works quite well.

  • from Salt Lake City, Utah July 29, 2013

    Pleased

    I found the set up easy and the reception great even in a large room with speakers sitting around the room. I use the device for recording public meetings.

  • from United States March 27, 2013

    LOVE it!!!!!

    This little fella has been my best friend lately! The quality is fabulous! I'm very happy with it.

  • from Thoreau, NM November 28, 2012Music Background:
    Songwriter-Keyboardist, Pro

    DANDY LITTLE POCKET BUDDY

    I was very surprised at the amount of features along with the ease of use of them on this little unit that fits nicely in your pants pocket. Was able to start recording right out of the box with just a short reading of the instructions.

    Sound is very accurate and mics are very sensitive. I have not had the chance yet to explore all the great features but so far I know I will use this unit for test recordings and also for quick and easy play-out recordings. I tested the DR-05 in my studio by using the mics and it was very accurate. also used the input with a 1/8 jack to my piano setup and it was also very accurate and sensitive. You just have to make sure your recording input volume is set properly so you don't get distortion as it is very responsive.

    Great little studio helper for the bucks.

  • from Hamburg PA October 16, 2012Music Background:
    Professional organist/pianist

    Real nice

    The Tascam DR-05 records very nicely once you set up the proper volume for recording. It is not automatic. I think it should have come with an electric adaptor so you don't have to use up so many batteries. It does not go long on a set of batteries. That is a disapointment that you should have known about and should have included in the package. When you plug it into the computer or speakers you get a rich full sound, very surprising and pleasing. I will keep mine because I like it!!

  • from Fort Wayne, IN August 16, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-Pro and Hobby Guitarist

    TASCAM DR-05

    I really like this recorder. The feel and appearance of quality is as good as the performance of the recording. I've used it to record conversations as as well as music with great results.

  • from New York NY June 22, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist Musician

    DR-05 basic and reliable

    I bought this recorder to use at a lecture hall where few people have skill to operate recording equipment - and it works perfectly. I set it to make MP3 files that anyone can download and use. The mics are good enough and make clear recordings. It's easy to set the levels and press the big record button. I use the line-in feature too, from a PA mixer - also with excellent results. For the price this is an nice device. You can feel Tascam's years of experience in the design.

  • from San Francocisco, CA, USA July 17, 2012Music Background:
    Preforming Artist, keyboards, guitar.

    Tascam DR-05

    Very good for my use. I record original songs that come to me. This is a good way to keep your mind moving and come up with something you like and then play it back and improve on it. I can also record songs with my group and practice them on my own. I took it to Hawaii and had a good time with it. Nice and small !

  • from ventura, ca September 14, 2015Music Background:
    guitar learner

    tascom dr-5

    has great sound and easy to use.

  • from Clearwater Florida April 1, 2014Music Background:
    life long musician I record and sell original music

    take your time and this is fun

    I found this fun to use but I got one for my sister and even
    though she is good with her cell phone she had problems
    with the following.
    1) You need to hold the on button for 6 seconds for led to activate
    2) to play back you scroll through and turn on the speaker on first
    3) setting play back repeat time is also difficult because of extra
    steps involved.
    spend a half hour going through the menu and trying it all
    and you will enjoy this recorder.
    The digital recording and playing back sound is good quality, really
    blows away the old tape records no one uses anymore.

  • from NY NY July 22, 2011Music Background:
    Pro musician.

    Recording quality good, ease of use good...but...

    much larger than I expected. I own the Yamaha which is much smaller. Make sure you use the manual to understand. When you first record the volume level is set much too low. You must change the record volume setting, not just raise the volume.

  • from United States January 28, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    TASCAM DR-05

    Very poor instructions on the practical application to recording. My speaker stopped working. The recording is OK but not great. The built in limiter makes it easy to record live music with out distortion. I would not buy this item again and I would not recommend it to a friend.

  • from lawrenceville, new jersey July 25, 2014Music Background:
    hobbist, and some guitar

    my DR-05 needs more audio output

    as stated above I have to put the device close to my ear to hear it,
    and my hearing is normal

  • from Knoxville TN October 13, 2016Music Background:
    Drummer 30+years

    TaskcTaskcam. DR-05

    the recorder is very complicated to use we need something as simple as record, rewind and play that's is complicated as it needs to be come on guys simplify

  • from Chattanooga July 30, 2014Music Background:
    Field recordings, journalist

    Great quality, but troubling design and fragile

    I have been using the Tascam DR-40 for 3 years and the DR-05 for three months. I love the quality of sound from the internal mics on both these machines. I rarely use external mics now. But I am so frustrated by the need to hit the record button twice: first for paused recording, and then a second to actually record. In bright light, on both recorders, its nearly impossible to see if the record indicating light is blinking, solid or lit at all. I've lost hours of material by conducting entire interviews on paused recording. Perhaps I've been spoiled by Marantz field recorders, which have a separate button for pause and record, but when I hit "record," I would like to think I'm recording.

    The second huge problem is these Tascams are terribly feeble when it comes to jarring when recording: entire files are lost if the machine is bumped or tips over on a table. I haven't found a way to recover these files without write-out. Again, I hate to compare to my Marantz PMD660, because it's so much bigger that it's kind of a different category--I can't carry it the way I can carry these Tascams nearly everywhere. But these loss of files are very serious drawbacks. Sad thing is no amount of reasonable professionalism or compensation helps beyond a point. The longer I use these machines, I know the more files and potentially great interviews I'll lose.

  • from N.Y. February 17, 2017

    Handheld recorder

    Tascam DR05, pretty neat little package, but, it's not right for me. Nothing wrong with the product, it's just more complicated than I expected. Had I had access to the manual beforehand, I would have chosen an easier to use recorder. It all has to do with my age, eyesight and frustration level and no fault of Sweetwater or Tascam.

Questions about the TASCAM DR-05?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway