0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month Giveaway!

TASCAM DP-32 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 15 customer reviews
  • Customer
    from April 3, 2016

    constant problems!

    This recorder is easy to use, but has lots of problems. I bought one which had the problem of popping sounds when punching in. The popping sounds were then scattered throughout the recording in multiple places that I didn't attempt to punch in. When it returned from repair, nothing worked correctly at all. In other words, there were problems that weren't there when I sent it in. I was awarded a second one. It had the same problem. My money was returned.

  • Glen
    from Houston, Tx October 10, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Simple

    This unit arrived and I just recently have been able to use it. It is amazingly simple. The ONLY complaint I have is that the throw on the sliders be a bit more but it is a "compact:" unit so that is that.

    Chris at Sweetwater was awesome in his help with this choice and even though he is a DAW based tech he helped me to look at some of the pros and cons of both.

    In the end the unit is transportable and that was the reason why I decided to go with it. It can easily move with me which a DAW does not do.

    I am grateful to Sweetwater for their quick delivery and help with everything.

  • Dan Engle
    from Tallahassee, FL September 9, 2014Music Background:
    Pro bass player.

    Intuitive

    I like knobs and buttons that simulate old style analog recorders. I have a Roland VS1880 which is a fine machine, but I had to consult the manual every time I wanted to do anything. With the DP-32, just press record and one is off and running. I like the multi color display rather than just blue on white. One thing I'm not sure about yet is the memory card thing. My band used one up in four multi track songs. Yes it can be saved and all, but it is inconvenient to change out cards in the middle of a performance

  • HaveMercyMissPercy
    from TX August 8, 2014Music Background:
    Years of playing,recording,writing,

    We bought it for one thing,use it for another thing-WHAT A DEAL!

    We were looking at a stand-alone "Finalizer" type CD recorder. All were twice the price of this 32 track recorder. Hmmm, didn't have the $$$ for one of those, but we did for this unit. Since we didn't need a rack-mounted 2 track recorder,anything with EQ/multi-band comp/FX 2-track to disc would work. Man, look at all the other things our 2-track Finalizer does!

  • Roy Kirk
    from r.I. August 5, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist- and then some.

    TASCAM DP-32

    the dp 32 is great. NO MORE LOOKING AT a pc. great price, great recorder mixer.. I would buy it again and recommend it to anyone. And of cause buy it from sweetwater. great tec support. They are there when ever you need them.

  • Roy Kirk
    from R.I. July 22, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist- and then some.

    tascam Portastudio DP-32

    So far it is a great recorder. I only scratched the surface of the DP-32. I AM learning the in's and outs so far, but will let you know how its working out. So good to be away from a PC when recording. I gave it 41/2 stars because I haven't really used it yet. I am loosing some recording things, but like I said, good to be away from the PC. But this dp32 is loaded with everything. The price is way down,so buy one now, and buy it from sweet water. they take pride in there shipping to.

  • David Murabito
    from Cape Haze, Florida July 9, 2014Music Background:
    Many Years

    So Far So Good

    Let me say up front I am no expert in recording. Although I have been involved in many recording sessions over the years this is my first attempt at pushing the buttons and I still have much to learn. However I have been able to make my way through recording around 5 songs all with a number of different tracks and have found it to be pretty easy so far The manual is up front with the instructions and I haven't gotten stumped so far. The quality sounds good and I know it has the capability to make it all sound even better with all the effects so, like I said, I still have a lot to learn and play with.

  • David Perez
    from Sylmar, CA June 11, 2014Music Background:
    Punk, Punk Rock, Reggae, Hobbyist, Future Pro Musician

    One of the best multi-track recorder!

    I use this for Punk Rock. I am still a beginner at tracking and mixing but the ease of use with this unit help me with that. It offers studio quality sound and sturdiness. This definitely doesn't feel cheap in anyway. I recently recorded the full length album "Down For Life - Comin' Out Swingin' "all on this unit. Mixing and mastering was done via Computer, but with the quality of the tracks i would have never had an easier time with the final stages. Also, i'm glad i didn't settle for the 24 track unit because I definetly needed more tracks. My favorite feature on DP-32 is that it saves all your tracks even when you record over them and best of all it saves the wav files on an SD memory card. Listen for yourself and do yourself a favor and get one already! Thanks to Ryan Darmos & Chris Carter my personal sales engineers for helping me along the way.

  • James Nelson
    from Columbia, SC USA September 30, 2013Music Background:
    Experienced singer/songwriter and project production man

    The DP-32 is truly a STEREO multitracker with more than enough tracks for a great sound.

    I discovered in this multitracker a great amount of flexibility in assigning inputs to tracks, and a muting feature that is very handy while tracking. All 32 tracks can easily be configured as up to 16 stereo tracks, more than I need. I rejoice, in a Christian way, that this unit is available and at a greatly reduced price. JN

  • Mark H.
    from VT June 11, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Better than any DAW

    The DP32 is an easy machine to operate. Makes my music life easier. If I have an idea or creative moment. I just turn it on select the track set the input arm the track and record. To finish I mix down and burn the CD. I am sick of the unreliable DAW's. Resource hog, crashes, constant updates, and every few years the money shell out for a new computer because the new software does not work with the old operating system. Thanks Tascam.

  • Andrew Van Es
    from April 29, 2013Music Background:
    Jack of all and master of none

    happy owner again

    I used to own the dp-24 and loved it. Had to sell due to financial problems.

    When the Tascam DP-32 came out 6 months later and I was financial again then I knew right away what I had to get.

    If silent recording is what you want then this is your baby.

    No software issues, driver updates

    This gives me the scope to up my own playing skills by practise.

    This is basically a little mini mixing, recording console and portable.

    Did I say the price is 899 and the service is top notch from Sweetwater.

    Dennis Konocki is my sales engineer and he has never let me down with any purchase or advice.

    Be placing another order very soon Dennis and it could be another new product from Tascam.

    I have owned Tascam products since I was 18 and technically and sonically have never been disappointed.

    Cheers

  • Canadian Alex
    from February 20, 2013Music Background:
    pro musician home studio

    tascam dp-32

    So far so good . After a month of playing around with all the knobs and features I am very pleased with the unit. It's intuitive and well laid out .The manual is concise and most importantly it sounds great. I am using outboard preamps before the input with great results on both vocals and guitars. The internal effects are a bit limited but sound fine . I use external effects anyway and this is the rub...You cannot send a stereo track for processing only mono through the TS sends. However this is not a dealbreaker for me and overall the machine has exceeded my expectations and then there is the price....do you remember when an 8 track hard drive recorder was 10k ? I do ..... I still have it too .

  • Dick Eadington
    from Grass Valley, CA January 10, 2013Music Background:
    Past studio owner. Project studio for hobby in retirement.

    DP-32

    Purchased DP-32 after a year or so with 2488NEO. (Great machine, by the way). Liked the ergonomics of the 32. Tweaking EQ, panning and effects sends with knobs rather than jogging. Like working with solid state. I can pop in different cards for different needs. Had small problem with optical reader not recognizing cdr's, but Sweetwater techs had a new unit to me overnight! Happy about that one! Everything seems to be spot on at this point. We'll see if time allows me to be as pleased as I am now.

  • Vino Harris
    from Detroit MI November 19, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician

    MY TASCAM DP-32

    Man this board is awesome! I use it as my backup studio. So tired of updating software everytime a pc goes from 32bit to 64 bit.
    Not going to buy all new software again so this is my solution.

  • JIMMY ALOHA
    from HALEIWA, HAWAII November 4, 2012Music Background:
    COMPOSER,RECORDING ENGINEER, MUSICIAN

    TASCAM DP -32

    I DONT HAVE TO BUY THIS MACHINE TO KNOW THAT TASCAM MAKES A RELIABLE RECORDING MACHINE. WHAT IS UNBELIEVABLE IS THAT THEY DON"T OFFER A VGA CONNECTION TO A LARGER SCREEN FOR RECORDING/MIXING ON THIS UNIT OR THE DP -24. COME ON TASCAM ....IT CAN'T BE THAT HARD TO DO...A LITTLE ROLAND HERE ...AND WHEN YOU DO ....I'LL BE THE FIRST PERSON TO BUY IT!

Questions about the TASCAM DP-32?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway