0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart

TASCAM DP-24 Reviews

4.0 stars based on 35 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Scott Augustyniak

    The Tascam DP-24 has really become a great addition to my studio. I've always been based around a computer, but since I started tracking with this standalone recorder, I've been more creative than ever. With it, I can record, mix, and master my whole project without getting a computer involved. I can also transfer my recordings from the SD card to the computer for final editing - this option makes it a breeze! It's also easy to transfer audio files from my computer to the DP24 using a simple USB cable. I highly recommend it!

  • Davey Love
    from San Francisco September 20, 2015Music Background:
    guitar, bass, vocals, songwriting, rock, motown, jazz, punk, blues

    Tascam DP-24. No Computer Needed!

    I'm new to digital recording and think analog sounds much much better and is far more hands on creative. This machine is eady to learn and tracks sound amazing. You can record 8 tracks at once, with XLR mics! I still however am trying to figure out recording properly with my new Boss 770 drum machine. What I love about this deck is that you do not need a computer, and after mixing you can even copy and print a cd! Very cool unit, Tascam and Teac had great analog tape decks for the home recording musicians of the 70s! Higly recommended!

  • Isaac Vernon Smith
    from November 15, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, recording Engineer.

    Tascam DP 24 harmonica fex rack

    I think this recorder is good. I just got it a few weeks ago. I am still learning how to use it. I am trying to get some guitar effects but I don't hear any different in the sound. I ordered the DVD tutorial MR David Wills will help me to operate it. thanks again good recorder.

  • ChinaLake
    from the Southern Sierra, CA June 19, 2013Music Background:
    Musical muckitymuck

    What a steal!

    This is premature, since I've only started recording this past weekend. However, since Sweetwater asked me what I thought, I'll give my preliminary thoughts.

    In somewhere around 1973, I purchased a TEAC 3340S. I did some great recordings on that 10 1/2 inch monster (which I still have in the wooden box I built to house it). But it was limited to four tracks and was noisy. Still, it was a marvel and extremely handy.

    This machine blows anything I've used in the past. And it costs a fraction of what the 3340S cost-- and that doesn't even factor in the huge inflation over 4 decades.

    The voices, guitars, keyboards, and bass I ran into it this weekend recorded with pristine clarity and only the bleed from my neighbor's weed wacker-- not the fault of the unit!

    I am tired of computer DAWs. Too many hoops to jump through, and I am good at leaving out important steps. The sessions were quick, but not dirty. So while in theory Sonar and Artist One are much more powerful, the ease of use of the Tascam made this boy happy.

    I may edit in the DAWs or master, but that is yet to be seen. I'm off to a fast start and honestly enjoyed the analog type interface with the digital results.

    Thanks to Stuart and Sweetwater for solid advice and astounding service.

  • Dale
    from Illnois June 19, 2013Music Background:
    Pro fun hobbyist of music

    Tascam DP-24

    The Tascam DP-24 is truely a remarkable with it's 8 inputs very user friendly. The hands on dials and recording funtions are fanstastic for mixing all your tracks together.Love all its power an all in one unit all the way to the mix down and everything else you can do with. Great Job Tascam truely a great recorder.

  • Thomas Gustaitus
    from Pennsboro, WV April 28, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbiest of 45 + years

    Great Recorder

    Such a GREAT recorder and at the right price too !!!
    Very easy to use, just follow the book. Plenty of features. I received the unit in the afternoon and multi tracked our jam session that night with SUPER results !!!

  • Mike Schlicher
    from Fairfield Ohio April 5, 2013Music Background:
    Live sound

    Just plane WOW WOW WOW

    Received Tascam DP-24 last week and was blown away with the quality and the ease of operation. My first time dealing with Sweetwater, but it will not be the last. The Portastudio is everything you said it was.

  • Eric Vaughan
    from Sarasota, Florida March 28, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician... Music Store Mgmt

    LOVE my Tascam DP-24

    Not only am I blown away by the sound and especially the ease of operation but this is the first time I have done business with Sweetwater and could not be happier with their customer service during and after the purchase. This is my 4th Tascam recorder and it is taking my creative juices to a new level...

  • John Hoyt
    from Conway, Nh February 9, 2013Music Background:
    Radio Announcer, Song Writer, Guitar Player and Vocalist

    Tascam DP-24

    This machine is AWESOME!!! I'm learning more each day I use it, but from box to use it was simple. The users manual is easy to undrstand and the features on it are incredible. I would HIGHLY recommend this unit for any voice over work, music enthusiast or band looking to record your music. I previously had a Tascan 2488 and LOVED that unit, but it went down and I wanted to upgrade so I researched and found that the DP-24 would (and does) fit all my needs. I have sent my 2488 in for repairs and will continue to use both units in tandem.

  • Charlie Fowler
    from Clarksdale, Missisippi February 7, 2013Music Background:
    Songwriter/Singer/Guitarist/Producer

    Unbelieveable

    Thank you Robby R. for suggesting this instrument to me once I was able to explain what I was going to use it for.
    I'm a DUMMY when it comes to reading a 'users manual', so I had to call TASCAM support with a stupid question. They were friendly, patient, and helped me get the ball rolling. AND, told me to call back anytime.
    Our first ' test ' upload sounded GREAT on the internet.
    Again, thank you Robby R. , SWEETWATER and TASCAM.

  • Stan Kimble
    from Kansas City, MO January 15, 2013Music Background:
    Christian Musician

    One Amazing Machine

    First off, KUDO's to Michael at Sweetwater, I received it Lightning fast. As for the recorder, it's one amazing machine. Very user friendly and easy to start recording out of the box. I would suggest you purchase the Tascam approved dvd that was a HUGE help. I would buy this again. Great experience and great product. A++++++++

  • Russ Keeney
    from Marion, Iowa December 28, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Lots of BANG for the buck

    I've had this unit for just over a month now and really enjoy it. It is very easy to use and is layed-out nicely. It is very well built and I believe I got a lot for my $$$. If you want to get a song down and on to CD quickly, the DP-24 is the way to go. I also turn it on and record some of my jam sessions just to capture those inspirational momemts. I owned a Tascam 244 porta studio about 20 years ago and have always felt that Tascam puts out a quality product.

  • James R.
    from MICHIGAN September 29, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, composer

    Fantastic range

    I recently had some demo material uploaded to a very popular DAW environment. Sure enough, it was surprising that this baby sounded great, levels, master, almost no effects or EQ. This machine is great !! Tascam struck gold on this one !

  • Scott
    from Michigan May 7, 2012Music Background:
    Semi-pro/Hobbyist

    Very nice

    This is a very nice unit. The sound reproduction is on par with more expensive units. With the Audio-Tech 2050's IM using its a very nice unit. I cant find anything bad to say about this unit. Highly recommended.

  • Brad
    from algonac / michigan March 7, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    After 3 months

    First... I am a hobbyist.. My goal is to record an acoustic duo with some modest muilti-tracks and production values.
    I have gone through 3 different software/computer interface recording systems and ended up frustrated with the complexity of them all. The Tascam DP24 was my last attempt at this hobby.
    The DP24 still has a learning curve but for a self teaching rookie like myself, at least it's an achievable learning curve.
    NOTE: the Tascam approved tutorial DVD is a must!
    After a couple months I am very comfortable, and have had success with the recording aspect. I am now working on applying effects and mixing. This part is a little harder. What I like about recording with the DP24, and what is different from a software program, is that I can look down on a board and see what is going on. The effects and mixing on the DP24 are not quite as out in the open but is doable. It will just take some time & effort.
    Sidebar: A have a long distance friend who is just the opposite. He is a knowledgeable pro with all kinds of experience. He purchased the new TP32 and is very happy with it. He is particularly impressed with the built in pre-amps. If he is pleased, I sure should be too.
    .
    From the start I have been looking for a system where you did not have to be a recording engineer to learn it. I think I've found one.

  • George Dreger
    from Mesa, AZ USA February 18, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician (Drummer)

    Very Cool!

    I haven't totally explored everything on this machine but I am very happy with my purchase! The design of it forces one to individually optimize each track, which is a very good way to work actually. This is going to make mastering easy as you will have little to do- if one makes good recordings on each track one will pretty much be watching it play back at the end. Get good studio monitors to use for mixdown, I purchased some Tannoys- made a world of difference.I don't see an easier, less expensive way make semi-pro recordings at home than the DP-24.

  • Richard Kyser
    from Olean, NY USA January 7, 2013Music Background:
    25 year musician

    TASCAM DP-24 PORTABLE STUDIO

    I've only just started using the TASCAM but already found it to be very user friendly and versitile. As a songwriter, ease of recording fundimental ideas before the thought vanishes, is a must. I enjoy all the things it will do and the ease at which I can do it. Thanks Tascam. R

  • Tim
    from January 3, 2013Music Background:
    Hobby recording artist,broadcaster

    I'm in love

    I use this Portastudio for everything from recording LP's to CD, to producing radio shows and promo bits . Have not used it for live music or music recording from multiple instruments. Totally noise free recording ,great pre's ,very logically laid out . I was very intimidated when I first ordered it and was viewing the manual PDF online ,but once I got it I was pleased to find it was very intuitive . Though I did freeze it on the first day,but that was my fault for pressing TOO many wrong buttons at once . A simple reboot was all I did and no data was lost. For sure need a bigger SD card I only get 1.7 hours of audio on their before it's full. Minor detail and easily solved .LOVE the waveform scope for editing ,as I was coming from Audacity to this which made the transition easier . The ability to transfer files back to the computer with USB is fantastic .
    For me the only drawbacks are the lack of some of the things that I have to use software to do after using the DP-24 . Like Fade In and Fade Out ,amplification factor editing , some of the stuff I use for effects . But I have no idea technically if they could incorporate those in at all.
    I really love this thing and I hope it lasts a while . It looks and feels like something that should and so far so good ,but have only had it a few weeks.

  • peter saladino
    from NYC area July 25, 2014Music Background:
    pro bassist, music educator

    Very nice rsults so far

    I have been learning the DP-24 like everything other "techie" thing I encounter....by doing projects and reading the manual later. I sense that the machine has great potential beyond the basics I'm doing now, but the manual isn't as much help as I would like. It assumes a fair amount of prior knowledge, for example, about the use of effects. I'm guessing there are others like me who know their music but need a little more of a "for dummies" approach in cases like this. Overall. though, I am pleased and up for working with the DP-24.

  • Michael
    from Tucson, AZ July 1, 2014Music Background:
    Singer Songwriter

    For the money it's a fairly good deal.

    The DP-24 uses SD card for memory.....it came with a 2 GB card. I don't know how many songs a 2GB card holds. It appears there is no internal memory to store songs. I like the ease of setting up to record and applying effects and EQ. I also like that it can record 8 tracks at once. I am still getting familiar with the unit but it appears that it does everything I got it for. So far so good! Yes I would recommend the DP-24.

  • Landonious Bunklitton
    from California May 12, 2014Music Background:
    Recording Artist and Song Writer

    Traditional analog-style recording in a modern box.

    If you're like me and you prefer not to work in a window of microscopic mouse clicks while recording your music, this will be about the best alternative you can find.
    I have a musicians approach to recording, so I like the hands on tactile experience when I record, and the DP-24 provides that workflow.

    You have to think of the DP series more in the traditional sense of home recording machines, and not so much as an extension of your DAW.
    However, you can export individual tracks as WAV files (including the finished mix) onto your computer via USB, but you will have to spend time putting the separate tracks into synch, they won't magically latch together for you.

    Another reason you have to think of the DP-24 in the traditional analog sense is that there isn't much it has to offer in the effects department. You are very limited as to how you can use them. I like to think of them as a part of the starter kit to get you going when you open the box. If you want more control, you're looking into getting some outboard effects processors, and if you already have them, or are fine with going that route, you shouldn't have a problem. Also, there's some built in dynamics, like a compressor, and exiter that you can use that are a great addition to the 'starter kit.'

    With this machine you HAVE to be okay with printing and committing to the sound as it is when you record it. You don't record something and then pick a different sound after the fact on a machine like this. It's just the nature of the beast and some people like it that way.

    The construction is very solid and feels very sturdy. All of the buttons, knobs, and faders are smooth and satisfying.
    The controls are slightly encoded, but that is to alleviate the need for a large panel of knobs and faders in order to cut costs and make the design more compact. It takes some getting used to, but it's not counter productive. The one function that bugs me that isn't as accessible as it should be is the on/off switch to the effects sends for the individual tracks. With the EQ, for example, you click the track you want to EQ, and there's anon/off button near the EQ panel that toggles the EQ on or off without going into the mixer screen. You'll have to get used to doing some bouncing around the menu screens to make adjustments which isn't that big of a deal once you get used to it, and you really can't complain at the price these are going for.

    I've recorded a number of tracks insofar and the DP-24 seems to have a nice workflow once I adjusted myself to it, but like any decent piece of gear you're in for a learning curve before you become efficient in using it. There's 8 XLR / 1/4" inputs that you can easily assign to whatever track you'd like which makes it a solid device for recording live bands or DJ performances that use multiple instruments. The built in CD-R/RW burner is a nice addition, but be careful of the settings you use when you create a song that you want to master to a CD. This machine is particular when it comes to making CD's, and you'll have to resort to the manual on that matter. It took me some trial and error before I got a grip on it. I would also recommend getting the fastest SD card you can afford because nobody has patience to wait a few seconds for something to write after they messed up the 15th take and want to immediately go back and start over again.

    The only thing that stops the DP-24 from being an absolute powerhouse is that it doesn't also act as a controller for your DAW, and that the internal effects are very limited, but again you can't complain at the price range these are going for. It's a very sleek and well built recording machine that I don't feel I have to baby every step of the way. The sound quality is great, it doesn't hog all of the valuable desk space, and it's quite an attractive centerpiece that encourages you to turn on, plug in, and drop out.

  • Michael Bauers
    from United States March 25, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    All I need, really

    I make music mostly for my own amusement. Have a Yamaha Motif XF, Access Virus and Roland MC-808 and wanted a mixer/recorder which needed no computer.

    I found this device did what I wanted. The pros are - (a) The price (very reasonable I thought,) (b) The features are pretty good, (c) Build quality is better than expected for the price. The cons are - (a) Not intuitive, you might need to read the manual (which did tell me what I needed mostly,) (b) No automation

    Addressing the no automation thing...seems you can't really record level changes, so you must change your levels when creating the master mixdown file. This might be a showstopper for some people - for me, I just needed to learn a different way to do my mixing (and I tend to apply level changes less often than I might if I could change levels while recording.)

    I am pretty happy with the 8 physical inputs. 3 for my synths, and one extra if I want to assign some of the Motif parts to it's assignable outputs ( a nice thing, if you want to put all the drums on their own track for example.)

    To move the files to my PC for loading to soundcloud, I just burn a CD-RW. I can even normalize right on the DP-24 saving a step in Sound Forge. I could plug in laptop and do it that way, but I don't have Sound Forge on the laptop, so burning a CD seems simpler. Would have been cool to have been able to write to a USB stick, but I have not seen a way to do that.

    For my needs, this is a good product.

  • Barney Fellure
    from WV April 29, 2013Music Background:
    To go where no one has gone before. Still trying !!

    Great recorder but...

    I'm not going deep into this someone gets paid to do that but it's a great recorder the record 8 tracks at once is a blessing, the mixing is very good I like the EQ don't use any other effects from on board so I can't comment on them. It's easy to just plug in some gear and start recording, the CD burner has done fine also . So if you can live without automation you might take a look.

  • Charles
    from Oakland, CA February 15, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Despite Some Limitations, Solid Recorder

    I've had the DP24 for more than 2 months now, so I have a pretty solid grasp of what it can and cannot do. There's a bit of a learning curve at first (the online David Wills video is moderately helpful), but once you get the hang of it, the DP24 is very fun to use, especially if you're like me and prefer knobs and faders to mouse clicks.

    Soundwise, the DP24's internal preamps are ok, a bit thin at times, but overall clean and transparent. What's nice is it doesn't have that digital harshness you hear from a lot of cheap interfaces these days. There is no way to bypass the internal preamps, but if you want to use your own fancy pres, just keep the DP24's trim knob at line level and boost with your outboard pre.

    The headphone jack is slightly noisy/hissy. I actually exchanged the first unit I got because I thought the jack was defective, but the new unit still had some noise. However, it's just in the headphones; the mixdown files (as well as the signal from the monitor outs and stereo outs) are super quiet, so it's something I can live with.

    My biggest problem with the DP24 was latency (resulting in noticeable phasing) when you use the external effects send. But I found a solution: after you assign the return signal to the stereo bus, don't mix down using the stereo bus; instead, record onto an open track using the same input(s) you assigned to the stereo bus. The new recorded track will not have the phasing.

    Track editing is pretty easy on the DP24. Of course, it's not as precise as most DAW editing programs, but in a way, I wanted to get away from that kind of obsessive 1000% zoomed-in micro-editing. (I mean, how is that even remotely about making music?) You can still go pretty deep into the waveform, jog through, find precise points to mark and cut, move, copy, etc. It might take a bit longer than with software, but once you get used to it, it's not gonna hold you back.

    The EQ is surprisingly useable (there's a sweepable mid) and sounds pretty good, and the DP24 saves your EQ settings on each channel for every song.

    The dynamic effects (compressor, gate, de-esser, exciter) are fairly useable, but you can only use one at a time, and ONLY ON THE INPUTS. In other words, you can't record a track with no dynamic effects and then apply a dynamic effect later. Some folks are aghast when they learn of this. But there's a way around this using the external effects send: just run a patch cable from the effects send back into one of the DP24's open inputs, assign a channel to the input, and this time record with the dynamic effect engaged. It might sound phasey while you're recording, but the recorded track will sound fine.

    The internal send effects (delay, reverb, chorus) are kind of cheap-sounding, and the DP24 doesn't allow you to use more than one effect at a time (but given that they sort of suck, this is no real loss). Amp sims in general are foul and unnatural creations, and the DP24's amp sim is no exception, but it's useable if you need to get a guitar idea down and don't wanna wake the neighbors.

    After you mix down a song, hook up and engage the USB cable, find the mix file in the corresponding song folder, drag and drop it into your computer, and there you go. Very very easy to move files. You can also use the Audio Depot to transfer individual tracks to a computer for mixing, or even some good ol' obsessive 1000% zoomed-in micro-editing.

    Mastering on the DP24 is pretty neat and simple. You can EQ, compress and normalize, and there are a lot of different compression presets in the library to choose from.

    Ok, so that's a lot of information. The bottom line is this: the DP24 makes it easy to make music. DAWs are powerful, but sometimes they get in the way of the creative process. Once you get the hang of the DP24 (and find ways to deal with its limitations), it can become a useful tool in your creative process.

  • Tim
    from December 24, 2012

    Lots of bang for the buck

    Recording is great. Effects are not great but given price point cant have everything

  • Kurt Henry
    from Lyonsville, NY USA November 28, 2012Music Background:
    Bandleader/Songwriter/Guitarist

    Tascam DP-24

    This portastudio is an inexpensive way to get up and running with good demos in no time at all. Between the clear manual and the Tascam video, most musicians will be quickly at home. I am using it to introduce songs to my band and as a tool for composition. Prior to going into an expensive studio I can try multiple guitar lines. Basically the fact that it's a dedicated device, it' fast when ideas happen. Amazing for on location recording.

  • Heinz Lips
    from Greenback, TN November 27, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician (Pianist, Bandleader,Arranger)most Europa

    Tascam DP-24

    for my privat use the DP-24 is just right.

  • Bobby Harris
    from Byron, GA USA November 19, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Good recorded with small drawback

    This is a great little recorder and cd burner! The only consit is that 1) The input jack for the footswitch is a small 1/8" jack and not the standard 1/4 TRS. 2) It is very difficult to add vocal effects after the initial recording as they are hard to get to . I previously had the tascam 2488, and replaced it with the 2488. The 2488 is much better except for the two things noted above. This is a great recorder for a visually-impaired person.

  • Johnnie
    from California May 29, 2012Music Background:
    Christian Singer, Songwriter, Composer

    A Composer's Workhorse

    Love this machine. Great for demos and auditioning parts, when song building. Easy to use and understand just from the quick guide. Knobs and buttons are laid out nicely too. A built in drum machine would have been a cool bonus but my DR-3 is picking up the slack. Sweetwater's price, service, and delivery are the best among internet retailers IMO.

  • Zella
    from Albuquerque, NM May 1, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Happy with Tascam

    I've been playing around with our new Tascam it seems to do everything that I want it to do. I do wish it had 4 headphone inputs instead of 1. We had to purchase a multiple headphone unit. We did buy monitors but in our situation we wanted to use headphones when recording. I have no recording experience and it easy to use and learn from the manual. Good unit!

  • Studio 139
    from Kalamazoo, MI USA August 9, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer

    Solid Portable

    What I like, build quality is good, mic preamps are decent, assigning inputs to tracks is easy, in-line dynamic effects are usable. What I love, is the SD card recording as it is economic, and basically makes the unit light and quiet. The color screen is a nice addition. Recording to eight tracks at once is great. What I don't like, half the tracks are stereo only, the CD can only burn 16bit 44.1kHz master files, and there is no way to convert your tracks sample rate. So if you want to burn a disc, the whole project has to be done at that rate. There is no way to set the BPM of a song. You can set the metronome to a tempo, but it doesn't appear to actually retain that information as part of a song.
    I got this to track outside the studio and it seems reasonable good, but it is no replacement for a good audio interface and a DAW.

  • Marc Chapman
    from Rouses Point , NY December 27, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician , recording engineer

    Tascam DP24

    I wish the instruction manual were a bit more user friendly , such as taking you thru a mock up recording session step by step.
    You have to do do too much cross referencing to carry out some specific functions.

  • Lowell Palmer Hornung
    from Los Angeles December 13, 2012Music Background:
    Singer/songwriter /Pro musician

    Keep your tuner handy

    This recorder seems to work well and is easy to use.However,be aware that the tuner feature is not functional in these units.I have had 4 of these so far, and the guitar tuner has failed to work in each one. Apparently it
    is a firmware glitch for which Tascam is trying to come up with a fix.Still the DP 24 is a nice unit -since I have several tuners that work great.Just surprising since Boss /Roland makes some of the very best guitar tuners out there!

  • Hertz
    from Cali, USA April 7, 2014Music Background:
    little bit of everything

    Poor design. Usable but disappointed.

    I hate this machine. It looks nice and is sturdy, but it has a lot of limitations. Primarily, It only allows the use of one post onboard effect at a time. It wonít allow chorus, reverb and compression or any other kind of combination. Itís one or the other. It took me forever to figure this out. Iíve had several other units that do this easily. I read the words several times in the manual thinking, ďitís gotta be a mistake. It should read you CAN use more than one effect at a time.Ē But it was not a mistake. You can add an outboard effect but you shouldnít have to. Now I have to buy a couple separate effects units and a mixer in hopes of working around this glitch. That means more time and money.

    The main display screen also only shows the meter level a signal was recorded at. It doesnít show the mixing levels on the main screen. The faders move, but the screen levels donít change. I have to check each track level individually, but canít check the levels together against each other as a whole. This is simply stupid. Iím an amateur trying to learn and this feature makes recording that much more cumbersome and frustrating. This thing isnít as intuitive as advertised.

    There are some good things. It has eight assignable inputs to 18 tracks and the last six tracks can be split into stereo tracks controlled with one fader. To me that means less submixing and more control over each signal. Other than the aforementioned post effects glitch, the mixer looks engaging and is fun to play with. The effects screen gives you everything right there and some knobs to twist (though they donít twist smoothly like a real mixer, they twist in-and-out of tiny little notches like a digital mixer. Itís petty, but after the post effects thing, Iím really ticked). It is pretty easy to record, mix, master and burn to a CD. Only done it once, so there may be more glitches coming. I donít know, weíll see.

    Overall, Iím a pretty industrious guy and can work around the limitations of this thing. But Iím also a broke musician who wouldíve liked to have known about these limitations before I spent the cash. Unfortunately, Tascam has the market on affordable machines that record 8 tracks at once. The Zoom R24 is out there for about the same price. I own that and itís a toss-up between the two. The Tascam is sturdier but the Zoom seems a bit more flexible, though the graphics are poor. Letís hope Boss brings back the BR1600 or something new. Maybe Fostex can figure something out.

    I might have a higher view of this machine if I didnít feel so insulted over the post effects thing. A lot of other people here are giving great reviews, but I just get depressed every time I try to do something with this because I know I still have to go spend more money so I can rig something for post effects. The DP-24 makes me long for the days of a Tascam four-track Portastudio/Mixer.

    Tascam, youíre going to have to win me back after this one.

  • Dana Hales
    from Ohio November 12, 2012Music Background:
    playing guitar for 30 years,contemporary bluegrass and finger style

    Tascam DP24 vs Roland BR1600

    I sold my BR1600 (version 1) because I wanted to try something different.I purchased the Tascam DP-24 and I began missing the BR1600 right away.One of the biggest disappointments is the Tascam will not record a cd to the hard drive unless its an r-w.The Br1600 recorded both r and rw.While I cant bash the DP-24 because it is worth the money and nearly half the price of the BR1600 it really is a matter of getting what you pay for.The Boss is more user friendly and offers quicker access to effects as well as simplicity in recording multiple tracks on the same song...

  • Frank Francois
    from Fenton, MI USA November 25, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Bad investment

    I would advise you to spend your money elsewhere,you won't get two years use out of it. The first one I had, three off the channels stopped
    working at about two years. The one I have now cuts the song off before its finished recording the master track, it's just a little over a year old. When I turn it on a message appears in the screen that says a malfunction has incurred internally and the machine shuts down.
    It's a shame because it make a great sounding recording, and you do get a lot for your money, but it's not a reliable recorder.

Questions about the TASCAM DP-24?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close