0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

DiMarzio The Tone Zone Humbucker Pickup - F-spaced Black Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the DiMarzio The Tone Zone Humbucker Pickup - F-spaced Black?

Questions about the DiMarzio The Tone Zone Humbucker Pickup - F-spaced Black?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from Alabama June 8, 2015Music Background:
    Professional rock guitarist for 37 years

    Tone Zone rocks

    I've used a Tone Zone before so I knew they were great pickups. I needed this one for a brighter, bolt-on style Charvel Custom Shop guitar. It just need that little extra low-mid and low end punch that TZ's are known for. That, couple with sweet but still screaming highs, make the TZ a killer pickup for these types of guitars. As always, Sweetwater and Justin Sunday were fantastic to deal with. Sweetwater reminds me of the "mom and pop" music stores I'm used to dealing with from back in my early years (been playing for 37 years). They are very knowledgeable, friendly, and show genuine concern for the customer. The Tone Zone is what you need if you have a brighter guitar. It will give it punch and a killer tone.

  • from Peoria, Az. April 10, 2015Music Background:
    Pro. Mostly rock

    Great Pickup!

    Considering that buying a pickup is sort of a crapshoot I did a lot of research. I have a Jackson Adrian Smith model and couldn't stand the pickup in the bridge position so I figured it was some generic thing. I bought the Tone Zone and pulled out what ended up being a DiMarzio Super Distortion!! I went ahead with the swap any way and the tone of this thing sings! A very balanced sweet sounding pickup in all applications and a great improvement in tone!

  • from usa May 11, 2012Music Background:
    Church Musician

    A Truly Great Pickup

    I have never had a pickup with just the right amount of power and balance as the Tone Zone. It can cut through any mix and has the perfect balance of treble, mids, and bass. I don't know about other guitars, but my Tone Zone loves my Les Paul. Any LP I buy now will have the Tone Zone in the bridge

  • from Tunnel Hill, Ga April 18, 2012Music Background:
    Performing Musician

    Get in the Zone, Tone Zone

    Put this pickup in a cheap epiphone lp junior I bought used for $60 with a duncan sh-1 as a backup to my DiMarzio hot roded strat. It really brought out the beast in the little Epi. Thick bottom end, super clear high end and thick mids, this pickup is awesome. I highly recommend it for any bridge pickup replacement.

  • from Cambridge, MN February 21, 2012Music Background:
    Lead Guitarist and aspiring Luthier

    Really Raised the Bar!

    I was worried that the tone zone would be really muddy and gross when I ordered it, since I read mixed reviews and always assume the worst. But when I got it and had it installed, it sounded fantastic! I play Metal Core, Hard Core, and punk, and it nails all styles, with style! When I start building my own guitars, I'll definitely be throwing these in em!

  • from November 7, 2013Music Background:
    Major: Neoclassical shred, hard rock, Minor: rock, classical/baroque

    Tone zone on Ibanez Rg (bridge)

    Got this for a basswood bodied Ibanez Rg Prestige for the bridge position.

    It replaced a Super Distortion pickup I had for a while. So some of the observations that i made are in comparison with the SD pickup.

    I was a bit worried since on paper it has slightly less output than the S.D. Plus the S.D is a legendary pickup for a good reason, so the tone zone had very big shoes to fill. In reality though the difference in output is minuscule and this babe can rock just as hard.

    But that's where the pickups part ways. In every other respect they are different. Unlike the the "in yer face" sound of the S.D this pickup has a very sophisticated tone. I didn't think that such an intricate tone was possible on a v high output pickup, i thought you cant have your cake and eat it too, but apparently you can.

    The T.Z is very open sounding, playing hard or soft on your pick will make a ton of difference. It is also very sensitive to how and where you choose to pick. It does this equally well for interpreting your fingering hand, you can have your legatos just as pronounced and loud (though tonally different) as picked notes, or have them legatos subtly whimper in that bluesy kind of way.
    This results in a very expressive pickup. Play it smooth and soft and it will sound sweet, ritch and heartwarming , get aggressive and hit it hard, it will sear off the top of your scalp/set hair on fire. On these aspects I give the pickup a solid 5/5.

    Rhythm: while the volume and tone are at 10, and keeping the amp settings fixed, I can go from that subtle yet colorful "pro" background rhythm tone, the one that doesn't drown out but rather compliments the bass and other instruments, all the way to something that reminds me of Slayer Raining Blood. On this aspect I also award it 5/5

    I tried it on clean channel with reverb for classical music (Bach and Chopin). It can get a little too hot in full humbucking mode, you can pluck hard with no issues , but if you just smack/brutalize the strings it actually gets even louder, it feels like your ears will get pierced. This is not necessarily a bad thing because if you want to express something THAT epically, you actually can, but i dont do that in clean only on distortion so its not for me. In coil split mode however, perfection. It really sounds like a legit single coil, sweet, bright and chimy, transparent, simply amazing. In my experience most humbuckers fail miserably once you coild split them, just a few sounded half decent and this is the only one that actually sounded great in coild split mode (even in high gain). On this aspect i give it 5/5.

    So why the 4.5 stars? For me personally the Fender American Stratocaster rules the world when it comes to clean sound (and everything else). So it would be illogical to give 5 stars, because then how would I score an equally nice pickup on a STRAT? there is no 6 star rating...

  • from Seattle May 17, 2013Music Background:
    funk, blues and gospel.

    Tone Zone HB for an HSS Strat

    I've been looking for a pup single coil or HB that would work in the bridge position of my Strat and deliver some grit under gain without the shrill ICE PICK sound. I went to my favorite Strat forum and the DiMarzio Tone Zone kept popping up. So i got it wired it up and it gives me exactly what i was looking for WITHOUT PICK PICK.

    The TZ keeps you in the warmer lower ranges of sound and when you apply some OD it has a very warm and textured sound. You can even crank it up into the Metal territory. Strat purists say I will burn in heck for putting a HB in a Strat, but I accept the risk. I now have a the best of both world in a HSS configuration and NO ICE PICK. I hate ice pick.

    This is my first time Swetwater deal and it wont be my last. Top shelf service.

  • from United States April 11, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician / audio engineer / rocker

    Roght P'upp for the right guitar

    Perfect Pickup when looking for a great rock tone on a bright guitar. I put this in a Custom Shop Ibby Sabre w/ Maple cap from the early 90s. It sounds incredible. Cleans up well too! It bites, it cuts it growls it snarls it feeds back in a killer rock way.

  • from Peoria, Az. January 13, 2015Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Pickup

    Pick ups are a crap shoot as far as what will sound good with what guitar, especially when you have never had any exposure to it. I can say the Tone Zone by DiMarzio nails it for me. I'm a Duncan JB guy, and still hold the JB in high regard. I was looking for a JB-ish sounding pickup with a little more warmth and found it with the Tone Zone! As usual Sweetwater came through with the order with flying colors, great customer service and follow up. My Jackson sounds like I hoped it would.

Questions about the DiMarzio The Tone Zone Humbucker Pickup - F-spaced Black?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway