0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

DiMarzio Model J Bass Pickup Set Reviews

5.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the DiMarzio Model J Bass Pickup Set?

Questions about the DiMarzio Model J Bass Pickup Set?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from NY June 25, 2016Music Background:
    Amateur player 20+ years, rock, blues, country, jazz.

    DP123 JBass Pickup is GREAT

    I just installed DP123s in a MIM JBass. What a difference! No hum and much better tone that the stock pickups. The lows are rich and thumpy and the highs ring clear. Highly recommended.

  • from Navajo NM USA September 28, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist bass player

    DiMarzio DP123 J bass pups

    I installed these in an old pawn shop Korean clone bass, along with new pots, caps, and changed it from a V-V-T setup to blend-master vol-master tone. I expected nice lows from these pups...I was NOT prepared for the wide range of tonal capabilities, from a deep, low, playin' a bass like ringing a bell Johnny B. Good sound to punchy, sharp bass notes throughout the entire range. Nowadays, my Thunderbird sleeps quietly in my guitar rack as I play my Frankenbass!

  • from Navajo NM USA September 28, 2014Music Background:
    hobbyist bass player

    DiMarzio DP123 J bass pups

    I installed these in an old pawn shop Korean clone bass, along with new pots, caps, and changed it from a V-V-T setup to blend-master vol-master tone. I expected nice lows from these pups...I was NOT prepared for the wide range of tonal capabilities, from a deep, low, playin' a bass like ringing a bell Johnny B. Good sound to punchy, sharp bass notes throughout the entire range. Nowadays, my Thunderbird sleeps quietly in my guitar rack as I play my Frankenbass!

  • from Camden, SC March 3, 2014Music Background:
    43 Year Musician...(Yes, I'm 60 and still rocking better than ever)

    DiMarzio DP123 Model J Bass Pickups, OUTSTANDING!!!

    I replaced my stock pickups on my 2002 Fender Standard Jazz Bass MIM after hearing many good comments about the DiMarzio DP123 J....I wish everyone could hear the difference these pickups have made....My Fender MIM bass now sounds like I always wanted it to with plenty of punch and that beautiful Fender sound....Great for Rock, Slap or anything you want to play....
    I have always had a problem with hum, but not anymore....These pup's are hum-bucking design using 2 coils in each, wound in opposite directions to cancel hum....This makes these the quietest pickup's I have ever used....Do yourself a favor and try these out....You want be disappointed, I know I'm not.....Loving this new sound!!! Thanks DiMarzio

  • from Kingwood, TX October 11, 2013Music Background:
    professional bassist, recording engineer

    Truely Awesome

    I have played bass now for 25 years, with the Pbass being the top choice for me. I was always been underwelmed with the bridge pickup in the P/J setup I use. I talked with Tony Frankiln about this (I own his signature fretless and the tone is amazing). He pointed me to the DP123. I put them in and WOW! The tone is incredible. Unfortunately I couldn't find an opportunity to just purchase the bridge pickup so I had to buy the neck along with it, but $100 for this sound is well worth it.

  • from Peabody Ma USA September 28, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    DiMarzio DP123 Model J Bass Pickup

    I have a 72 J bass. I had replaced the original single coil pickups with
    Fender Samarium Cobalt Noiseless a few years back ,but they never lived up to the hype. They killed the tone and removed what little punch the original single coils had. Talked to a seasoned guitar repair guy who also plays a J bass. He turned me on to the DP 123. It totally transformed my sound quality and punch. This is one nice set of pickups for all kinds of music. Highly recommend them and the price is very reasonable.

  • from Pittsburgh, PA, USA February 7, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    70's funk

    Exactly what I was looking for to complete a Jazz Bass project with a 75 RI body and original 1973 Fender neck.

  • from South Haven, MI March 10, 2016Music Background:
    Church Worship Team

    Nice and quiet

    For years our Fender Mexican Jazz bass had this annoying hum, we thought it was cabling, the Line 6 settings; we even lined it with copper foiled under the pick guard and wiring cavity, which helped a little. In the end we decided it was the pickups after all the testing. Being that it's a church instrument it was cheaper just to turn the volume down between songs. Finally we just decided to purchase the DP123 after readings various reviews. Had to modify the pick guard a little, to make the hole longer by about 4 mm. Wired it all up with the included instructions and it sounds great and absolutely no more humming. Wish we would have replaced the old pickups years ago.

  • from Huntsville Alabama November 17, 2009Music Background:
    40 years as bassist

    J Bass with a New York Vibe

    Sort of best described as J-Bass without the hum and a big dose of New York attitude. I have used it in an 8 string bass at which it ruled, a regular Jazz where it got sold to a funk slapper who adored it, and as an install into a couple Squier Jazz basses where it totally transformed the bass. Night and day improvement. Those basses with decent setup and very minor upgrade are amazing.

Questions about the DiMarzio Model J Bass Pickup Set?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway