0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

TASCAM DP-03 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 17 customer reviews
  • from Texas man. May 27, 2015Music Background:
    I was in bands. We made CDs. We rocked.

    Freakin sweet

    This thing is SOOO much better than using a PC. Actual faders!! Tactile interaction during the creative process!! I love it. But then again I'm an old fool from the old school. When I was an active gigging, touring musician it would have cost many times more than this to come remotely close to what you can achieve from this tool. (And it would have filled half a 10X10 room) You can also export your wav files for further manipulation in a software of your choosing should you so desire.

    Modern studio quality, no. But it doesn't claim to be either. Can you make your own music for sale, yes!

    On board compression, mics, and normalize effects are nice. CD burner is a nice bonus. Very easy to use. Very clear instructions. Now the whole band can go home with a great recording of the session in digital format in minutes. Buy it now. That is all.

  • from San Francisco, CA November 13, 2014Music Background:
    Bass guitar, singer-songwriter for The Silvers

    The Silvers recommends TASCAM DP-03

    I previously tried using computer software to do what the TASCAM DP-03 does so easily. This is one of the best investments I have made in my music career! The instruction walk-through is one of the best I have ever seen. It walked me through the basics in less than 30 minutes so that I was recording my demos in no time at all. Thank you, Sweetwater, for making this product available at such a great price!

  • from New York, NY USA September 11, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Tascam DP-03 incredible.

    What cost me ten thousand dollars to outfit a studio in my apartment twenty years ago now costs $350, fits on a dinner tray, and sounds fantastic. What more can I say? Thank you Katie at Sweetwater!

  • from Oak Island, NC June 28, 2014Music Background:
    Long-Time Multi-Instrumentalist, Former Semi-Pro, now just aggravating my family!

    DP-03...Fantastic!

    I haven't had a multitracker in years...my last was a Fostex 4-track cassette unit...as I'm sort of old school, and not really very savvy with software recording, I wanted something familiar-feeling, so I got a demo model of this from Sweetwater not long ago. Wow....what a difference in technology! The effects...reverb/compression...and even the on-board mikes...are great. Takes a while to get the hang of this amazingly capable, inexpensive unit, but the quality, and common sense approach to producing seriously great quality recordings make this a worthwhile investment! I am very pleased. Thanks, Sweetwater, and as always...props to my amazing Sales Engineer, Ike's Taylor. A superb professional!

  • from Hibbing, MN May 15, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Awesome!!!

    This unit is awesome! Very simple to use and you can start recording and creating your own CDs in just minutes. The recordings sound great! If you are just staring out like me or a seasoned pro, this unit is the one to buy. What a price too!

  • from Huntington , W.V. USA February 19, 2014Music Background:
    Home studio musician

    Perfect!

    Very easy to start up and get going with!
    Excellent sound quality. Mix down and Mastering
    features make it that much better. Built in mics have
    phenomenol pick up. CD burner is fast and I love
    being able to use all types of blank CD's.
    Sleek and Sturdy design. It's a solid mainstay in my
    music career. Absolutely love it.

  • from San Diego, CA May 14, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    PERFECT!!!

    Listen ... I've been recording my music for 40+ years ... it is fantastic, first, relax and take your time to learn the machine ... it does everything, You just have to learn/understand the digital lingo ... (a 2gig card comes with the machine, average 2 songs ...) I'm upgrading to a 32gig memory card and also getting the RC-3F footswitch for the recorder ... only downfall? Can this machine run off of batteries? :o)
    Have had the machine 30 days now and have recorded 14 songs ... KA-POW now on CD's passing them out as Demo's and the sound quality ... well ... GREAT!!! Thanks Tascam ... THANK-YOU ... :o)

  • from Auckland, new zealand August 14, 2012Music Background:
    musician, recording engineer, producer

    tascam dp03 amazing

    purchased one 3 months ago. very easy to use, sounds great! blown away by its features. built in condensor mics are so good i use them as my main vocal mics!

  • from Birmingham, AL August 8, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    I'm very pleased with the TASCAM DP-03

    The sound quality is excellent when you play back the tracks. Also, the EQ, reverb and compression effects are excellent. I am very pleased with the machine over all. It does everything I expected very well.

  • from Chino Hills, CA March 30, 2011Music Background:
    Professional Saxophonist

    Tascam DP-03

    I love this recorder. It does everything I need and it's easy to use and intuitive. It produces studio quality recordings. It's only drawback is that the reverb doesn't allow over 3 seconds time.

  • from CT February 26, 2015Music Background:
    Life time player; Hobbyist

    Excellent Multi-Track

    After my MT120 4 track died i tried the computer recording thing. After a year or so i threw in the towel and wanted to get back to playing and recording music versus tinkering with my computer and the software. I did a ton of research. (maybe too much: i am very type A). My decision came down to the dp03 and the dp008ex. Here are the 4 reasons i went with the dp03.

    1) Faders
    2) The headphone volume is on the face of the dp03 vs on the back of the dp008ex.
    3) The EQ knobs are actually knobs on the face of the unit versus on the dp00ex they are in the menu and digital.
    4) To select the on board mics on the dp03 you use toggle switches on the face of the unit. For the dp00ex you have to go into the menu.

    The dp03 is an amazing unit. It is built well; Very easy to use (i had a 6 track demo recorded in the first 45 minutes of opening the unit); Has great sound quality; The on board mics are better than you think they will be; and it is fun to use. It was exactly what i was looking for.

    My only con is that i wish i was able to record more than 2 tracks at the same time but, i knew that going into it and have gotten creative to work around it.

    If you are thinking about getting this unit go for it. I don't think you will disappointed.

  • from Solomon, Kansas March 13, 2014Music Background:
    Semi Pro

    Tascam DP-03

    Great portable SD recorder! Since I converted from the DAC and cassette era, I find putting song information on a CD is much better. However, the "how to do it" manual that comes with the DP03 is a bit confusing for us old timers from the tape era. Thumbs Up for this piece of equipment

  • from San Francisco, Ca. USA June 3, 2012Music Background:
    Musician/Hobbyist

    Looking at the Tascam DP-03

    I DON'T WANT TO SOUND OVERLY ENTHUSIASTIC BUT.......IT'S EVERY THING IT'S CLAIMED TO BE & MORE. Even though i have to actually do any recording ,other than Testing it's features and Sound checks, it's a lot more than i expected. Recording equipment has come a long way since i first started way back in 1970. If this stuff were only around back then!

  • from Asheville, NC July 15, 2014Music Background:
    Musician

    Not too bad

    I think I like the DP-02 better. It does not have a 1/4" headphone jack that I liked on the DP-02 but the DP-03 has its advantages over the 02. All in all I am happy with this unit and for the price I don't think you can beat it.

  • from Mt Shasta CA April 4, 2014Music Background:
    Amatuer musician (20 years exp.)

    Tascam DP-03 performs very well

    The DP-03 is pretty user friendly and results in great quality sound. The EQ and compression functions during mastering enhance sound quality per several options, and burning song list to CD is a breeze. The manual is a little daunting, but remember is was probably written by an engineer in china; they can make tying your shoe sound hard!

    Great product and excellent customer service from Sweetwater.

  • from Rochester NY April 11, 2011Music Background:
    25 year guitar

    eh

    Its a really nice system but, It takes a really long time to burn a cd,
    When your at the jam room and want get some cd's to take home you better plan on at least 2 hours for burning time

  • from Southport, NC August 3, 2014Music Background:
    Amateur Singer/Songwriter

    O.K. while it lasted, but . . . It didn't.

    I had to return the machine to TASCAM's repair facility -- and it cost $100 to get the processor replaced. Their product support was a very arm's length operation and difficult to deal with. Six months after I got it back, the guitar input no longer worked and that entire channel soon went bad. I wrote to TASCAM twice and never heard back from them. I needed a machine, so I bought the smaller DP-8 portable to help me get by. Now one of the inputs no longer works. The 8 channels are now just 7. I'm finished with TASCAM.

Questions about the TASCAM DP-03?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway