0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Today

TASCAM DP-008 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 12 customer reviews
  • from Waukesha, Wisconsin January 26, 2013Music Background:
    Guitar Hobbyist, 45 years

    Great Service!

    Sweetwater provides excellent customer service. I received the DP-08 within 2 days of ordering it online. I needed to return the item, not because of malfunction, but for an upgrade. Customer service rep. Aaron Rom was very helpful, courteous and patient.
    NOTE: Do not write on any product paperwork unless you are absolutely sure you are going to keep your product.
    Yes, I will purchase again from Sweetwater - class company!!

  • from North Kingstown, RI July 16, 2012Music Background:
    Electronics design engineer, retired

    Great recorder, pro sound and pro features.

    Very impressive! Clean, accurate recording. Flat frequency response, 20Hz to 20 KHz with virtually no distortion. I do recitals, organ concerts, Etc. I need precision. I found the user's manual very well laid out - This all digital with lost of menus and it may take new users some time to figure it out, but it's worth the effort. I own a Tascam 2488 neo and this seems like a 'trimmed down' version of the 2488. Truly professional sound in a portable package. I use external mikes but the internal mikes seem quite good. This battery powered portable even has phantom power.

  • from Brooklyn August 29, 2011Music Background:
    Artist, Sound Collector

    Tascam DP-008

    The Tascam DP-008 is a great portable recorder. I was able to use it right out of the box with a little help from the manual. My prior experience with portable multi-track recording was limited to analog tape so I chose this one for it's streamlined features and familiar layout. Transferring files to the computer was pretty easy as well. The on-board tuner is a plus but I wish it matched a larger range frequencies. I also wish I could dial in the EQ with a knob rather that the digital readout but that would probably compromise the compact size.

  • from MI, USA June 29, 2011Music Background:
    musician-songwriter

    Great Multi-Track Recorder!

    First I would like to say thanks to my sales rep Mr. Matt Masek. The Tascam DP008 is an awesome little recorder and it has re-lit that flame of creativity that I have been trying to light for a long, long time. Let me start by saying that I own and have owned many different multi track recorders from old reel to reel, to old cassette, to hard drive and computer based DAW software. I have had the same problem with a lot of the gear above mentioned; � Portability and ease of use�

    If you want to put down that first riff or couple of tracks or even an eight-track production, this little gem will do it! If you want to pull some 16 bit loops or tracks onto it and fiddle with mixing and engineering it will do that as well. When you have that Idea recorded the way you want you can transfer it to your computer for further mixing and effects. I absolutely love the simplicity of this little device and I am so glad I purchased it words can�t describe how happy I am with it.

    I sold my Boss BR600 because I found myself spending too much time punching through multiple screens trying to shut down unwanted effects and settings that I really didn�t need until the final mix. Unlike the many DAW software packages that I have, I no longer have to roll around on the floor in a maze of wire grimacing the whole time trying to be a recording engineer, stage hand and producer all at the same time, I can just fire up the DP008 and get my Ideas recorded before they are drowned in a sea of frustration and anger.

    Its only 44.1 at 16bit but so what; that�s CD quality and it�s more than good enough for any kind of recording that I will be doing. With 32 G flash Cards this recorder will do a lot more than many people will give it credit for.

    I haven�t covered the two external mics or the reverb and EQ this unit has on board but let me tell you won�t be disappointed at all with its performance. I suggest that you go out on Youtube and watch and listen to what people are able to record with this little gem and I bet you�ll be as impressed as I was. Call your Sweetwater Rep today and buy one of these units, If your old school like me your going to love recording with it, if your new at recording your going to love recording with it. The DP008 is a great little multi-track recorder.

    Thanks Matt and special thanks to Tascam and Sweetwater for having quality products that more than do the job for the serious musician.

    Rob

  • from North Kingstown, RI August 11, 2012Music Background:
    Live sound Engineer

    Works great

    Excellent audio quality - The internal mikes have good sensitivity and clean sound. Audio capture is flawless when using external inputs. I did a frequency response test & found it flat from 20Hz to 20KHz. No harmonic noises like some other less expensive digital recorders.

    One comment - In order to get a recording to the usb you have to 1) Save it as a master (in real time) 2) Copy the master to a special disk area (in real time). Only after all this can access the wav file form your pc.

  • from Ivins, Utah May 11, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    Excellent!

    Great recorder. A little learning curve, being digital and all, but great value for the money...

  • from USA September 4, 2011Music Background:
    46 years playing music.

    I love this recorder!

    I've been using the Tascam for over two years now and have made well over 150 recordings with no problems and with great sounds and results. I play guitars, bass guitar, electronic drums, Yamaha piano player, and vocal using a condenser mic. The power is quite sufficient, the reverb is perfect as well as the volume settings and controls.
    It took a little time, but shortly I was flipping through the sequences of operation easily.
    I have many postings of my recorded music on youtube- it is a great hobby.
    If it ever wears out and it seems it won't- I'll buy another one- maybe two, just in case.
    Thanks for the fun!
    Walt.

  • from R.I. March 28, 2010Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    tascam dp-008

    I called my engineer andy ,and ask him about the dp-oo8 and he said it was a good recorder for what I wanted it for. BOY was he right. It does a great job. Teck support is great. When ever I need advice ,I call my sales engineer and trust him 100%. It is a great recorder and I would recommend it to anyone. I use it alot and it is still going strong. What can I say, sweetwater is the place to buy all your needs when it comes to music.

  • from Charlotte, NC January 31, 2013Music Background:
    Amateur

    Small Wonder

    Love this small wonder! Records like a charm. Professional sound. Only set back is the time it takes to transfer from Tascam to computer. If transfer was faster I would give this unit five units.

  • from Denton TX December 27, 2012Music Background:
    Singer Songwriter

    Keeping it simple, great songwriting tool

    I was pleasantly surprised by this device. It is as simple as it gets, but I think that that is the point. Like most guys who have done this for decades, I have owned and used everything out there, from professional studios to better than average home set ups. My most recent set up was an apogee duet and logic rig.

    It's taken me years to learn and re-learn that engineering is one skill set and making music is another. They don't always go together, and often conflict with one another.

    Is this device for you?

    If you want a simple way to get nice clean sounding tracks without paging through six compressors and 10 presets, then this might be for you. It is not a computer interface. It is made to work as a stand alone. The preamps are clean and quiet if you know how to use them. Just get your levels where you can hear them and you can bump things up in the mastering phase. A lot of newbies try to get all of that volume up front and then complain about preamp noise. I think that this device is great for an acoustic musician, or maybe a guy who wants to lay down tracks one at a time. The great thing about it is that I can lay down music wherever I choose to. There are no settings to dial in, very little in the way of menus. EQ is minimal, and the reverb is decent. File transfer is easy. You can either transfer individual tracks or a master stereo file. The on board condenser mics are better than you would expect at the price point. I think for me they are great for a scratch track. I then go in with a couple of external condenser mics.
    So if you want to focus on the music and not become an amateur engineer, this is a good way to go.

  • from Lancaster, CA, USA September 6, 2012Music Background:
    hobbyist

    TASCAM DP-008

    Just as advertised

  • from Troy, Ohio January 21, 2010Music Background:
    Musician, Hobbyist,

    Easy to use.

    Very fun and simple to use for quickly recording your ideas. You will need the power supply, this thing eats through batteries. Sweetwater, where is a link to this part? Overall a great product I am very happy with it.

Questions about the TASCAM DP-008?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway