0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Wechter Guitars DN-8118 Mahogany Dreadnought Reviews

5.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Chris McCown

    I was blown away by the tone of the Wechter DN-8118 Dreadnaught. It was on par with another guitar with the same body style and wood materials costing many times its price. Very even tone throughout, and plays very well too. The Select Series is an amazing value!

  • from Knoxville, TN May 23, 2013

    Amazing solid wood Dreadnought

    First off, let me state that I donít write reviews, ever, for anything. That being said I felt that I had to say how great this guitar is, especially for the price. I was willing to roll the dice for a $400.00 acoustic with the understanding that Sweetwater is great about returns. Having never seen, heard of, or played a Wechter, I bought the DN8118. Let me start by talking about the quality of this guitar.

    Forget the price, its very, very well made. After seeing and playing this instrument, I would have paid more for this guitar. I have been playing for over 25 years, and worked in a guitar shop, so I know a little. I have some very nice electrics and decent acoustics in my collection. This guitar is top notch. I have played many different Martins, Taylors, Guilds, etc. What you get for the price I think rivals these in most ways. No, its not a $2500 Martin, but wow for this price I donít think you can get a better dreadnought, especially under a grand. They claim to PLEK these guitars, and I have played guitars that have had the PLEK treatment, and it plays as good as those guitars so I have no reason to doubt this claim.

    Now for the negative: It is really great that they include a case with this instrument at this price point, but the case quality is poor. Donít get me wrong the case itself seems sturdy but the faux crocodile print or whatever it is seems lame and is poorly done. It will rip off the wood in no time. I would have preferred a basic black sturdy covering, but again at this price I was blown away that I EVEN got a case. So take this complaint as a minor quibble. I will be buying more Wechter guitars in the future.

  • from Seattle Wa May 23, 2013Music Background:
    Semi pro muscian

    What a Guitar

    Excellent guitar, Flawless and sounds Great..Perfect buy!

  • from stewartsville, NJ May 22, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Worship

    Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!

    beautiful guitar...build quality is great, satin neck is really sweet. sounds awesome. this was my third wechter. I also have the nashville and the grand auditorium. All of them are beautifully made, sound great and play like butter. Love these things...and my salesman, Matt Adams is the man!

  • from Lubbock TX USA May 21, 2013

    Love this guitar

    This is a great guitar setup is good strings a little high for me but not bad at all .Has good tone highs and lows plays realy well its just a realy great solid wood guitar at a realy good price.If you don"t check this one out you will be hateing it.

  • from Chicago, IL USA April 5, 2013Music Background:
    Enthusiast

    Unbelievable Sound

    I would have been skeptical of a solid wood dreadnought at this price but has read about Abe Wechter in ToneQuest Report. This guitar sounds and plays as well as guitars many times its price. The craftsmanship is excellent and the wood quality is very fine. It booms when picked hard but is sensitive enough for fingerpicking. All and all I couldn't be happier with the guitar.

  • from Phoenix, AZ March 26, 2013Music Background:
    Played a bit everywhere for the past 48 years and am continuing to play another 48!

    One heck of a guitar!

    I have owned quite a few guitars in my 48 years of playing and this Wechter is a real treat. The opinions of the Sweetwater crew and the praise for Wechter guitars in general is very well founded. Besides being a top notch player, the action was perfect. Only needed some minor tuning and was good to go. It is also a very good looking guitar with the attention to the details being first rate. I am especially blown away by the service from the first contact and all the way to my doorstep. Outstanding! If you are looking for a top of the line guitar for a fraction of the price, get a Wechter. They are the real bargain. Thanks Sweetwater.

  • from Columbia,SC October 29, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    GREAT VALUE/BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE

    PREFACE:
    This is my second Wechter, my first is a GA-Acoustic Electric with solid spruce top and laminated rosewood back and sides I bought from SWEETWATER 2 years ago. It certainly is a great guitar for the price, but recently I decided I wanted a SOLID wood pure acoustic with a little more bottom end punch and an overall richer sound like a MARTIN D 18. That's where my new WECHTER DN8118 comes in. After researching for 3 months(I enjoy the process) and considering other brands, I bought the WECHTER for $599 which includes a fantastic perfect fitting hardshell case.***I still play my GA-E either unplugged or plugged into my acoustic amp as it has excellent FISHMAN electronics.

    The DN 8118 looks much better than some of the pictures indicate with a golden amber solid spruce top and deep solid mahogany back and sides finish. It's a good looking guitar even though it doesn't have any extra "bling" on it. I couldn't find a single flaw on the guitar. I also like that since it is solid wood with no electronics, it's lighter than my GA. And the headstock and tuners are smaller which also lends a " comfortable to hold and play feel" to the guitar.

    SOUND/PLAYABILITY: It definitely has a deeper bottom end "martin" tone and the midrange has superb articulation and an overall "rich" sound that I really wanted and got. As for playability, as others has stated, it is PLEKED by Wechter on their Quarter million dollar machine. It plays great all up and down the fretboard and is ready to play on arrival.(no extra set up fees needed)

    SERVICE: I like smaller companies as a whole and/or at least companies in which the OWNER is actively involved. This is the case with Abraham Wechter. I have emailed Wechter many times over the last 2 years and have always gotten a response usually within hours from Abe Wechter himself or his sales manager, Gerson. I feel that Wechter really does care about offering a great product with personal service at an affordable price. And the same goes for Sweetwater's personal service and my sales engineer, Andrew Stryffeler who has been great to correspond with and get feedback from.

    VALUE: I believe in the "laws of diminshing returns" or BEST VALUE. In this case I feel that for $599 I got a guitar as good as or Nearly as good as others that may cost 2-4 times as much and certainly as good as I need and want.

    CONCLUSION: There are so guitar companies and models available and obviously many good guitars that I could be happy with. But after factoring in all of my personal criteria, I decided that WECHTER offers the best all-round package of quality product, price and service.

  • from GANADO,TEXAS December 30, 2011Music Background:
    HOBBYIST

    WECHTER DN-8118

    STARTED LESSONS A FEW MONTHS AGO AFTER ABOUT 20 YEARS OF NOT PLAYING. I AM NOT A REAL GOOD PLAYER BUT WANTED TO PICK UP A FEW THINGS THAT MAYBE I COULD PASS ON TO MY GRAND KIDS IF THEY SHOW SOME INTREST. I WAS PLAYING A WASHBURN (OSCAR SCHMIDT) MY WIFE HAD GOTTEN ME SEVERAL YEARS AGO. THE GUY I AM TAKING LESSONS FROM SUGGESTED I UP-GRADE. ORIGINALLY LOOKING FOR EPIPHONE MASTER BUILT, BUT DELIVERY WAS A FEW WEEKS OUT. THE SALESMAN AT SWEETWATER SUGGESTED TO MY TEACHER TO TRY THE WECHTER. WE DID AND I AM VERY PLEASED. THE SOUND IS GREAT AND IT IS SO MUCH EASIER TO PLAY BECAUSE OF THE SET UP FROM THE FACTORY. I AM 60 YEARS OLD AND LIKE I SAY, AM NOT A REAL GOOD PLAYER BUT THIS GUITAR HAS GIVEN ME MORE INCENTIVE TO STAY WITH IT AND MAYBE PASS THE GUITAR AND A FEW SONGS DOWN THE LINE TO MY FAMILY.

    TIM
    GANADO, TEXAS

  • from Columbus, OH November 6, 2011Music Background:
    yes

    Wechter 8118 was made for me.

    I really love this instrument. Played a lot but not for a long time. First guitar since the 80's. I decided I needed a guitar, thought I wanted a Martin. My Sweetwater engineer/friend guided me to this guitar and I couldn't be more pleased. Seems crazy to have someone else choose your instrument, but this worked beautifully. It truly does feel as though it was made for me. All my player-friends are very impressed .
    Many thanks to Robert Williams.

  • from PA October 29, 2011Music Background:
    Played 15years/ Bluegrass band/Home picker

    Mighty Hog!

    When I get a new acoustic I wait at least a month before I do a review. With this new Wechter DN8118 I can't wait. Why? I almost talked myself out of it because it was an import and the price. I have a D28 rosewood back and sides made in Pennsylvania and wanted a mahogany back and side acoustic. Really wanted a D18 or D18V but right now they didn't fit the budget. I bought the Wechter DN8118 thinking if I didn't like it send it back..Well the DN8118 shocked the heck out of me. Man does it sound good as good as the D18V I tried at a local dealer. First I noticed how light it is built meaning good wood and construction and the low end had the same deep tone of the D18V and the sustain was very good. The high end has the quality sound you get with higher priced acoustics. The set up is amazing the action is low with no fret buzz and it plays easy up the neck. The fit and finish is top notch. Wechter sets these up here in the USA with the Pro Pleck and it works wonders with the playabilty. The only change I made was replacing the plastic bridge pins with ebony. Would I buy another Wechter? In a second I'm already thinking about the rosewood model. I can't believe a acoustic that priced at $599.99 can be this good. But it is !! This out plays the #1 import Eastman by a mile and yes I tried that model to and the DN8118 is equal to my D28 in fit and finish and sound quality plus the set up much better.

Questions about the Wechter Guitars DN-8118 Mahogany Dreadnought?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway