0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Sneak Peek

ADJ DMX Operator 192-Ch DMX Lighting Controller Reviews

4.0 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the ADJ DMX Operator 192-Ch DMX Lighting Controller?

Questions about the ADJ DMX Operator 192-Ch DMX Lighting Controller?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Rick
    from Tampa November 24, 2015

    DMX controller

    So far the unit has been good. Somewhat easy to set up basic controlling of DMX lighting. I'm new to the whole DMX world and still don't quite understand what all the dip switches/channels work on the lights. But for now it was simple enough to get the basic needs out of the unit for our Christmas presentation at church.

  • Ray
    from Louisiana November 15, 2011Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Great, Great, Great!!!!!!!!!

    I bought this controller 3 days a purchasing another brand and it does just what i says it does works like a charm

  • steven
    from fairbanks alaska October 9, 2011Music Background:
    part time recording engineer and musician, now a lighting engineer

    Aalskan tough

    Works well does what it says it will do haven't tried out all the features but will in time. Its about to go through an alaskan winter pretty soon. I am very happy with it when i first tested it out.

  • W.A. "THE NIPPER" NAGY
    from Martha's Vineyard, MA May 10, 2012Music Background:
    Composer, keyboardist, guitarist, engineer

    Update on Last review

    Now having spent time with "Clint' from Sweetwater and 'Ken" at Elation, I have a grasp of how this box works, After finally understanding the terminology (Scenes,chases, fixtures, scanners,etc) and the 255/512 channel allotments and 16 channel per fixture count, I have 18 fixtures up and running scenes, chases,etc with fades and audio control just fine, hope nothing goes wrong on a gig 'cause I will still need the manuals to lookup specific info for fixtures as they all differ...

  • Carl
    from Warwick,RI January 13, 2015Music Background:
    Lighting director

    Great for small club / band light control

    Have been using one for nearly a year as a Lighting director at a small club. I am able to use 24 fixtures with A/B assignment to the functions of the LED cans.I wish any manufacturer would allow random bank access,as this would make it easier to skip from 1 set of scenes to another,rather than having to scroll to the bank I need.

  • John Hume
    from Jacksonville, IL December 26, 2011Music Background:
    Teacher, Worship Leader

    Good choice for a limited budget

    We added to an old set of pars 6 LEDs and this board worked great for controlling them. The initial setup was a little tricky, but once the channels were figured out the unit worked great.

    We are a medium size church that added the board and
    the lights to the old sanctuary. The old sanctuary is now the student/children area.

  • Mad Matt Ike
    from Appalachia January 13, 2016Music Background:
    Regularly gigging musician / studio engineer / apparently "lighting tech" now

    Great product, but assumes too much prior knowledge

    First of all, I would like to send a huge shout out to Sweetwater for the speedy delivery I received! I ordered this on Monday and selected free shipping so that I would receive it by today (Wednesday), and I actually received my order YESTERDAY!

    With that out of the way, I would also like to state that I am happy with my purchase, as it allows me to do exactly what I need it to do. Only problem is, all of the ADJ manuals for the lighting and for the board itself assume a level of expertise that I clearly do not have. The LCD readout is very limited in scope and can be difficult to decipher at times without the manual in hand. After a couple hours, I started to get a decent rhythm with scene and chase programming. This box is definitely a money-saver, but I often feel like I'm trying to program a VHS tape player to run my lights.

    All things considered, I give it a solid 3.5. Build quality is great, just complicated in terms of operation.

  • Chris
    from Portland, OR April 12, 2014Music Background:
    Performing musician, live sound engineer

    Very capable little box - with a learning curve

    I'm glad that this unit was my introduction to DMX control, as it's a confusing field and it seems every brand has its own variation on DMX functionality. I'm currently using it to (successfully) run a mix of 15-channel, 3-channel, and 6-channel flood & spotlight fixtures, plus the occasional special-effect light, from 4 different manufacturers.

    Above all, you have to READ THE MANUAL. Then play around with it & try different fixtures and scenarios, then read the manual again, this time comparing it with the manuals for the different fixtures. I spent a good amount of head-scratching time before it all started to jell and make sense, but once I "got it" everything came together logically. I've still barely scratched the surface of the more involved automated functions but can present a pretty impressive show using just "hands-on".

    My only reservations are:
    1) As another reviewer mentioned, the "wall-wart" power supply seems pretty flimsy. Though I'm careful and haven't had a problem yet, I always carry a spare. It's just a matter of time before the little wires get flexed once too often or somebody accidentally pulls on it wrong.
    2) No power on/off switch.
    3) The range on the fade speed control seems to be way longer than it should be. I only find about the first 3/8" of fader travel useful for cross-fades; any higher setting takes too long unless I want it to hake half a song to go from red to blue. Maybe this works differently with programmed scenes. If so, it would be helpful to make the range switchable.
    4) The manual can be pretty obtuse, especially when you get to the more advanced functions. It assumes a level of familiarity with the terminology and concepts that the newbie (myself included) has to look elsewhere to learn.

    That said, the unit has a LOT of functionality built into a very affordable package, and can be run using as much - or as little - automation as desire and ability call for. It's proven durable and dependable over roughly a year of operation so far. The 16-channel capability makes it very flexible to accommodate different types of fixtures.

  • W.A. "THE NIPPER" NAGY
    from Marthas Vineyard, MA May 8, 2012Music Background:
    composer, keyboardist, guitarist, engineer

    Built well, but confusing...

    read, then re-read instructions. I can program an old DX-7 but can't get this to correctly work with ADJ and Chauvet LED lighting. Also, the fades have a 'zipper' effect when dimming. The build quality seem good, but the flimsy wall-wart power supply will undoubtably fail soon so I will prophylactically order a spare for the gig I am on when it does.

Questions about the ADJ DMX Operator 192-Ch DMX Lighting Controller?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close