0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
#WinYourWestones

Alesis DM7X Kit Reviews

4.0 stars based on 10 customer reviews
  • allan laird
    from marion, OH March 28, 2014Music Background:
    Multi-instrumentalist, Home recording enthusiast.

    Very good!!

    I record original songs in my home studio and I had grown a bit tired of programming drums by hand (EZD/Metal Machine). Drums were one of the first instruments I ever started playing so I thought, why not get an e-kit and save myself some time on the drum parts? This kit provides enough pads to keep me occupied while I brush up on my skills. There are tons of sounds to choose from and many preset configurations as well. Syncing it up with my PC was pretty easy and I'm now using it as a trigger for my drum software. I'm still working out some of the bugs but overall, it's working very well, and it's a ton of fun to play! The product description states that it "sets up in minutes". That's really not the case, unless you've set one up before, several times. It took me 3-4 hours to get everything ready, and then a few days to fine-tune the positions of all the pads to my liking. All in all, it was a fairly painless process. My only complaint is that when I went to set up the last cymbal support, the nut and bolt were missing. But, I made it work. I recommend this kit to any beginner or intermediate drummer.

  • David Porter
    from Clearwater, FL February 22, 2014Music Background:
    Professional musician and recording engineer.

    Very good kit for the price

    I purchased this kit for use in my studio as a means of triggering software instruments/drum libraries and recording percussion parts into Logic Pro. Depending on the software instrument/drum library developer, it does take some effort to map the kit's drum pads to the correct software instrument/drum library sounds, but it's not an overwhelming task. The pads are quite responsive and the module is easy to use. I do not use the kit live, however, the on-board sounds are very good and I would have no fear of taking the kit to a gig. Overall, this kit is a great value and it's quality is far above what I expected for the price! I recommend it to those looking for a great kit at a very moderate price.

  • Robert Alan P.
    from Jasper, Texas August 27, 2013Music Background:
    Sound engineer, guitar player for 37 years

    Awsome Drum, (And Portable) kit

    After waiting nearly 6 months for this kit, (Not Sweetwaters fault) My Alesis DM7 kit arrived!! Very well packed. I was disappointed that the usual candy was NOT present as with all of my other purchases from Sweetwater. Well, I need to lose weight anyway. But the kit is fantastic, my church has a $5000 Roland v drum kit, and the Alesis keeps up with it in tone, and playability, both of our drummers were blown away by the sound samples, we run the Roland thru pro tools with superior drummer, via midi, and we tried the Alesis, no difference, drummers prefer the Alesis because the heads respond better with less bounce
    than the Roland V-Drums, like an old "analog" kit. Sounds that come in the DM7 unit are really good too, for practice we used kit 1 (Default) and it was awsome!!
    Very happy with the purchase, disappointed about the candy, gotta have something the chew on while reading the instructions. The instructions were rather vague, but enough to get up and running. But using the midi out you can use the sounds of many other drum samples. PORTABILITY, the Roland stays in the church but the Alesis will be our live kit, fold it down and carry the pedals, 5 min setup after first assembly, and whole kit can be carried by one man. Thank you Sweetwater, See if you can find out what happened to the candy.

  • Tom
    from Ft. Wayne, IN December 18, 2013Music Background:
    Started playing drums in 1966

    Awesome Little Kit

    WOW! Iwas blown away by the quality and value of a sub $700 kit. The sounds are incredible and the heads play much like the more expensive mesh heads. I get great stick response, roll cpability and really good bounce. If you're looking for a low priced kit with lots of features be sure to try the DM7X. The only drawback is it doesn't have a 3 zone ride cymbal. I was able to get around that by programming a bell sound to one of the floor tom rims.

  • Steven m
    from Fort Irwin ca November 1, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist for 6years on drums

    Dm7x

    I was really excited about this drum set. Super fast shipping. The drum kit was easy to set up, great price, and fun to play. The only problem I have is the drum snare which doesn't always pick every note but I can probably fix that through the setting. I use my rim shot for different cymbals so I got a huge drum kit for a low price. One more thing I wish alesis gave me a voice list when customizing. Going though all the sounds was a nightmare. Other then that gret product. High recommended for people who want to play without spending over 1k. Very quiet when hitting also.

  • Steve
    from Arkansas September 26, 2013Music Background:
    Help lead worship in my church

    Compared to $3000.00 Rowlands

    We recently planted a new church and needed another set of drums so we bought the Alesis DM7X kit. My drummer is used to playing on $3000.00 Rowlands. However, she was impressed with this drum kit especially due to how inexpensive they were compared to what she was use to. The only reason I did't give it 5 stars was because she wanted the crash cymbal to be on the far right but the cord would not reach so she is getting used to it's new location.

  • Raven M
    from Colorado Springs, CO September 14, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist for 9 years

    Great Product

    Was surprised to find a bag of candy when i opened up the big box.
    Easy setup and good sounds for the price. I'm liking the new kick pedal, very quiet! the only thing thats missing that should be added is bell sounds for the ride cymbal. Other than that, this is a great kit

  • Tia Jones
    from Richmond, VA USA September 12, 2013Music Background:
    Drummer, 11 years

    AWESOME!!

    Got the kit today and put it together (the directions were kind of blah so i just looked at the fully assembled kit). I'm in love with it's exactly what i needed, quite. I'm still playing with settings and sounds so I still don't know much but what I've discovered so far has been great. I love this kit.

  • Asher H.
    from Atlanta GA January 21, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Low Quality System

    I like to play the drums as a hobby from time to time (can't put real drums because of the loud noise) so I bought this DM7X in Costco back in Sep 2013.
    Less than a month after I bought it the Stealth Kick Pedal sensor stopped working. I had to ship it to Alesis to replace (they insist I send them all three parts of the Kick pedal).
    A couple of weeks later one of the Cymbals stopped working as well. Again, I had to ship it to Alesis for replacement and shipping cost is not cheap... Alesis then ordered the parts from the manufacturer so it took me about 1.5 month to get a new Cymbal and 2.5 months (!!) to get all three parts of the Kick pedal (they shipped it one after the other as they received them).

    Bottom line, I think this is a classic case where you get what you pay for... low quality system that is sold for a low price. If you're serious about drumming, I would strongly recommend investing more money in buying better quality system from a better brand than Alesis.

  • Josella
    from Stoke On Trent May 7, 2015Music Background:
    Drummer (Intermediate Level)

    ALESIS DM7X - wire issues/pedal is junk

    I had a bad experience with this kit - ALESIS DM7X mainly due to the bad wiring. Just after 1 week the hi-hat stopped working, shortly after one of the crash cymbals, followed by the bass pedal. I sent them off to get repaired. Shortly after receiving the fixed parts they stopped working! Asides this, I was mainly unhappy with the foot-pedal. It's a squeaky rackety piece of junk that falls apart! and sounds it too which is off putting. I strongly disliked how the beater faces and hits a small pad in a downwards position. (imagine the beater hitting facing the floor) unlike a real bass drum pedal that the beater would hit the bass drum (imagine the beater hitting facing the wall) This effected my foot technique massively when I came to play a real pedal on an acoustic. If you want to get your foot technique to a tee do yourself a favour and buy a kit that has a sensitive pad in which you can apply a decent/real pedal. Also the nuts and bolts constantly fall off the kit from everywhere. My concerns are that if you want to adapt to an acoustic drum kit later on I really do not think that this is a good kit to go for. I'd only recommend it to someone that plays in their house for fun, not a beginner to intermediate drummer that just needs a cheap kit and wants to take this serious.

    The positives; It had many drum kit settings which are fun, rims, chokes and one of the advantages is the built in metronome that features a flashing guider telling you if you are going too 'slow' or too 'fast' 'or good'

    Over all I am disappointed. It has now resulted in me buying a brand new kit of a different brand.

Questions about the Alesis DM7X Kit?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway