0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale! Ends Today

TASCAM DM-3200 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
Questions about the TASCAM DM-3200?

Questions about the TASCAM DM-3200?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Kenny Bergle

    Unbelievably hard to beat! $3K for a mixer that sounds 10 times more expensive. This mixer does it all, digitally! Whew! (My hint - Get the meter bridge, it reminds you that you are not dreaming.)

  • from York, PA June 30, 2015Music Background:
    Musician, Engineer

    DM3200

    Bought this machine last month and haven't been disappointed yet. It's crazy that this has been around for almost a decade and it still is an amazing machine. Firewire card is a must as it makes the DM3200 an audio interface supporting 32 I/O channels up to 96khz without a hiccup! Extremely flexible routing, beautiful summing when you route your DAW tracks through the mixer. Get it before they are gone!

  • from Orem, UT September 3, 2010Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Producer, Musician, Teacher

    Awesome! Highly recommended.

    I have now owned this board for 4 years. Being an audio engineer is my full time job and I use this board all day every day. I finally had to get a few buttons replaced this year because of regular wear and tear, but it is still running great and has been the heart of my studio.

    Preamps are great, AD DA is great, the control surface using HUI is great too.

    I have mainly been using this board with a Pro Tools HD system. I have had a 192 Digital connected to the board through the TDIF connections and it has worked flawlessly.

    This board has been an awesome board to grow into through the few years as I have purchased high end outboard gear as well as a Lynx Aurora 16 and etc. But I have to say, that when I compared the high end Preamps and converters to this board, I realized how good these preamps and converters really are. Sure, the outboard preamps and converters are still better, but the gap between them are probably a lot smaller than most people would expect.

    Teamed up with an Argosy desk, this board feels and looks expensive which has been a big part of convincing clients to use my studio.

    If I was making the decision all over again, I would definitely purchase again.

  • from Lusaka, Zambia, Africa October 27, 2012Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Record Producer and Studio Owner

    Work Horse!

    This sound board works wonders and sounds very good and clean especially when you use it with the firewire card that you have to buy separately. Superb mic preamps. The routing was not easy at first but once you get the grip of it, you can do anything on and with this Work Horse! I like the smooth motorized faders, I intimidate clients with that all the time, Client:"Did those things just move on there own?", Me:"Yep they did!" ;-). Works with almost all the widely use DAWs. Awesome Board for both Live and Studio.

  • from Queens, NY March 1, 2011Music Background:
    Musician, Engineer

    DM3200

    I've owned mine for a little over a year now and I am still in love with it!
    Once you learn the logic behind the routing, you can make it do anything you want it to do. I use Cubase 5 with it and a modest PC and I haven't had one problem with the combination since. You can't go wrong if you buy this unit. It makes recording very easy and sounds great. You really need to buy the firewire card for 32 channel I/O.

  • from Orem, UT September 27, 2006Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound Engineer, Composer

    Awesome Board for the Price. Good Luck on the Firewire Card and Support.

    This board is just absolutely amazing for this price! This board feels and sounds great. I love the routing flexibility that can be stored in the presets. The integration with software is great. However, there are a few minor bugs that still need to be worked out between Sonar 5.2 and the control page.

    It is impressive to clients for smaller budget studios. I had a client ask me if it was more expensive than my house.

    The biggest downside is that it is from Tascam. The word is that their support is suppose to be getting better. I hope so. I purchased this board the end of June with a firewire card. I haven't had any problems with the board yet, but all stores are still waiting on the firewire cards and I am hoping that they will actually arrive the week of October 15th, 2006. However, they have changed their date so many times on us, I will believe it when I see it. I understand that they have had problems supplying the firewire cards before in the past. So if it is critical to have the card, make sure they are actually available before depending on it.

  • from October 11, 2016Music Background:
    Engineer, musician

    10 yrs of great sound, reliable, flexible, feature-rich

    When I bought the DM-3200 about 10 years ago it (and the DM-4800) had the best feature set and reviews of competing digital mixers. I've been using it reliably over Firewire (via Thunderbolt converter cable) with Logic on the Mac Pro (late 2013), now under OSX 11.11 El Capitan. I also eventually bought the meter bridge for it. PROS: It has a very large number of inputs and outputs for its size and price. I use the very good (if somewhat sterile) 16 onboard mic preamps plus up to 8 channels of outboard mic preamps connected to the analog option card. I use the line level returns for additional line level inputs from the studio, and if I need to connect more, I switch some of the 16 mic inputs to line inputs. A/D conversion seems of high quality. I also use one pair of the stereo mix outputs plus the 4 send outputs to feed a headphone mixer in the studio, giving each musician a custom mix. All inputs and outputs are balanced +4 dB pro level (except for tape return inputs) so with careful routing and grounding my entire recording setup is almost dead quiet noise floor. Finally, I use the SPDIF digital input to connect an old Alesis sound module (and there are more digital inputs if you need them), and the MIDI I/O to connect two keyboard controllers. In terms of the automation and routing, I've set up many 'scenes/programs' for various recording situations which makes it extremely convenient. I typically do not use the mix surface for mixing, as I do that in the box with Logic. Support has been good via the Tascam forum (thanks to Tascam tech 'Redbus'). CONS: The mixer is feature-rich and flexible, however, it is not logically or intuitively designed regarding some aspects of its user interfaces, and the manual is pretty terrible. But if you can put up with some initial frustration, the long term usability and quality is hard to beat. Not sure of how it stacks up against new offers in 2016, but if you can get it for a good price, it may be worth it. However, as this is now an older model, it is not clear how good future support will be for it, as there seems to be only one Tascam tech assigned to providing updated comm drivers (e.g. newest driver is still Beta). I hope Redbus is there for us for many years to come!

  • from Maryland June 9, 2016

    9 Year User

    I have been using the DM-3200 for nine years. I came over from a Ramsa DA-7 (still my fav digital mixer) and really have enjoyed the DM-3200 for what it does.

    I have used it a few different ways - with the Firewire card via DP and then I switched to ProTools when 9 came out and used it as a 32 channel interface.

    I now run 12.5 HD on a Native HD card and I mainly use the DM-3200 for a control surface, transport control and monitoring setup.

    It has some features most people won't use. Built in effects which are a little dated, an onboard automation system that isn't all that necessary when using a DAW.

    Some things I wish it had more of - Direct Outs, additional analog sends and the ability to compare monitors, but that being said it's still a bargain.

    I have one TDIF line going into a Digital 192 that returns the signals for monitoring and I have a couple ins/outs setup to use the Analog expansion card for when it's needed. The pres are clean and are solid. Nothing to write home about but are certainly sterile and usable.

    All in all a great console all these years later.

    Note to Tascam - Develop a Thunderbolt/USB4 card for these and you'll sell them for 10 more years.

  • from Seattle, WA USA July 10, 2006Music Background:
    Pro Musician, TV Producer

    Familiar and friendly....

    We have been working with a DM-24 in one of our video post edit suites for about 3 years. We added the firewire card and an additional ADAT card and used it with DP5 for quite some time for scoring as well. Great setup for the application---but we decided to retire it this year.
    =====================
    With the purchase of the DM-3200 as an upgrade/replacement---the 3200 is everything we expected and more. First however...if you are a DM-24 user...be prepared to be surprised....the DM-3200 looks the same in the photos, but it is SIGNIFICANTLY bigger. It looks ho-hum in the photos (appears to be painted white or something..)---but is incredible in person (all brushed STAINLESS STEEL!!).
    ----
    All in all they took the functionality of the DM-24 and made it better. The REMOTE layer is perfect for DAW use. Simple to set-up--easy to use. We swapped the FIREWIRE and ADAT cards (from the DM-24) right into our console with no issues. (NOTE: We had purchased a later model FIREWIRE card that has jumper options to allow it to work in either the DM-24 or DM-3200.)
    =====
    This thing rocks (OSX). The new companion software is useful and responsive. It provides individual channel metering if you did not purchase the meterbridge as well as the ability to save/backup configurations on your PC. Navigation is better and overall and functionality is much more intuitive (than the DM-24). For $3k this is an amazing buy (bang for buck!)

  • from Seattle, WA, USA October 1, 2005

    Tascam DM3200

    I just recieved my DM3200 after the long awaited release and found out that the firewire card that is advertised was developed for the DM24 and does not work with the 3200. After three days of trying to get through to Tascam I was told the firewire card has not yet been implemented for the 3200. So I removed the fire wire card and returned it to the dealer for the $400.00 I paid for it and purchased a MOTU 2408 MK3 for $1,000.00 to interface with the computer. So far so good now I can get down to learning the 3200.

Questions about the TASCAM DM-3200?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway