0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 5

Mackie DLM12S 2000W 12" Powered Subwoofer Reviews

4.0 stars based on 8 customer reviews
Questions about the Mackie DLM12S 2000W 12" Powered Subwoofer?

Questions about the Mackie DLM12S 2000W 12" Powered Subwoofer?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • Delza
    from Baltimore MD May 9, 2017

    Mackie DLM12S Power Consumption Confusion

    I recently got a great deal on a average used DLM12S. I do small gigs with small venue crowds (30-80 people, inside). It's mostly reinforcement of vocals, DI's, kick. Paired with EON 612's main and 510's monitor.
    Pros: Light weight, smallish, not awkward to carry, solid plastic construction, sounds fine (it's a sub...), seems to have plenty power, clip light on the front (never clipped yet), ADC input level meters (assume they are calibrated)
    Cons: Don't get "fast button pushy" (DSP gets tripped up and makes full power pops), can't find a replacement metal grill
    Question: Back panel states 250W @ 120V. Is it a typo and it should really say 1250W? How can you get 1000W program only using only 250W power in? Is this really a 200W RMS amp? Please, I know my electronics - you cant magically "make" more power than you use. At best in/out would be equal, assuming the amp was 100% efficient - which it's not (though D mode amps can push 90%). Be careful, any argument may lead down the perpetual energy rabbit hole.

  • DJ Sokin
    from June 28, 2016Music Background:
    DJ

    Mackie Blew it

    I love these speakers, but my latest gig somehow when I plugged them in at a venue the Sub did not work. The display showed 2+2=5 Error message. I have my other mackie sub and speaker turned on and it worked fine. I had only one sub to carry me on through the whole night and I was disappointed. I was hoping maybe it just needs to reset itself and later on the night I could turn it on for the dancing part... no luck. I called mackie tech support and the hours of service is the hours that most people work and by the time people get home... they are not able to pick up your call. I had to wait very long on hold to get in contact with mackie tech just to tell me that I need to take it to an authorized mackie dealer.... and even the authorized mackie dealer technician don't know what the display message means.. So they built a speaker that they can't fix... I hope they know how. There are speakers out there that would eat this little guy up for its price rage... but for size, weight, and a nice clean tight bass... its been great when I use it and I still can't get over the fact on how small and light these things are. I laugh a bit when i pick these up.

  • Mike Brake
    from Corning ca April 12, 2016

    Mackie dlm12s

    Most awesome compact sub made great job Mackie

  • DJ Espee
    from Fairfax, VA February 14, 2015Music Background:
    DJ

    NOT FOR DJs !!!!

    When I saw 2000 Watts & powered I had to see what it was about, besides having the buttons come jammed and unresponsive, this sub is not for a DJ who wants to have superior bass at their gigs. My Mackie SRM450v2's were at 1/4 cranked up & this was on damn near full crank and the lows had virtually no impact. Great for a guitar soloist, not good at all for a DJ that has packed dance floors of 100+ at his gig. I am returning this immediately.

    I can't even foresee live rock bands using this woofer, could it be the 12" cone??? I don't know what it is, but Mackie failed on this one, and alot of reviews failed me on here because it was the 5 stars everyone gave it here that made me purchase it.

  • james getman
    from EXETER, CA January 15, 2015Music Background:
    Pro , Full Time Gigging!

    The Mackie DLM12S

    A power house! 2000 watts and I run it on -4 volume, great for shows up to 100 people! with two you could cover 200 people with ease! light wieght, easy to program! great sound! You don't have to hall around a huge sub to get the job done! check it out at sweetwater youtube video, goes great with the dlm 12 mains!

  • Duncan Jones
    from Detroit, MI USA August 5, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Lifted my system to new heights

    Our system consisted of two QSC K10s and a Mackie Pro-FX16 board thru which we play acoustic jazz with a vocalist. Our first performance adding the Mackie DLM12s powered subwoofer was at a park with a covered stage and the audience on an amphitheater type hill. Suddenly we could push this huge warm full bodied sound across the whole hillside.My drummer was so excited about the sound of his bass drum!
    What a difference this has made for us

  • Mel Burnside
    from Amarillo, TX February 13, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound / Worship Band

    Happy little subs

    My church recently replaced their old system. I play in the worship band and generally run the sound. We were using some old rat fur covered subs...not even sure who made them.

    We were instantly happy with the DLM subs. For their size, they are really powerful. We sometimes take the rig out on the road for location worship services and I am really glad that these subs do more than what we need for sound but are light and easy to move compared to any sub I have ever had the displeasure to load in or out.

  • dylan nudo
    from chicago, il January 8, 2013Music Background:
    sound engineer

    Potent PA

    Just put these into an Irish Pub. Two of the DLM12s and 2-of the DLM12S subs replacing a pair of old huge EV 15" 2-way boxes. The sound was immediately improved 110%. These small subs fitunder the stage and really improved the low end of the room. Mind you we had no subs before but didn't have room for 15s or 18s so these worked out great!

Questions about the Mackie DLM12S 2000W 12" Powered Subwoofer?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway