0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
NAMM Show Report

Line 6 DL4 Delay Modeler Pedal Reviews

3.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews
Questions about the Line 6 DL4 Delay Modeler Pedal?

Questions about the Line 6 DL4 Delay Modeler Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Carson McClain

    The Line 6 DL4 is a staple in modern rockabilly music these days. If you don't have one you're missing out on one of the best tape delay emulations.

  • Customer
    from December 2, 2016

    Total Dummy, Totally Happy

    I am a total non-musician w/ no guitar-playing ability. And I'm very aware of the fact that one should not buy pedals to make up for their lack of being able to actually play guitar; however, I do enjoy making sounds with my guitar and this unit has allowed me to make some stellar sounds and tunes. I seriously have no idea how to play guitar (besides a few chords) and how to use GarageBand (besides recording basic tracks) and I've somehow already created some songs that I find personally inspiring (as far as giving myself the needed oomph to continue to try). For full disclosure's sake: I'm playing a Danelectro Dead-On 67 Hornet Reissue through a Vox AC15 w/ a Wharfdale speaker, with the DL4 as the only pedal. Long story short: This pedal is versatile and rad--it's ubiquitous for a reason (see Kurt Vile's and every other bada** guitar player's pedal board).

  • jeremy
    from billings mt November 5, 2014Music Background:
    indiejazzadelic

    effin gnar bar

    I keep buying more and more pedals to get different sounds and this is pretty much the only delay you'll need, unless you're even more beastly in the shoegaze world then get two.

  • andrew
    from lawton,ok May 29, 2012Music Background:
    playing in band my while life just about. metal,progressive etc

    great pedal

    Did exactly as it said. No extra feedback or noise, almost all effects it offers are legit. Tried many others and once I got this....the shopping was over. Would take over boss etc all day believe it or not

  • HJN
    from west Texas January 4, 2013Music Background:
    Hobbyist of 40 years

    DL 4

    Pretty cool device. I have a Line 6 distortion modeler and have been very impressed ... Actually , it is the only distortion device I now use. So... The delay modeler.... Is.... Well... Even better.... Love it!
    I especially like the reverse mode.... Way cool... Now I can enjoy playing Hendrix's "Are you experienced".... This device sounds just as good with either single coil or humbuckers..... No complaints here.... All praise ...

  • Mario
    from NYC July 9, 2015Music Background:
    Guitarist, 12 years

    Definitely buy this pedal

    If you're serious about your craft, and are looking for THE delay pedal...this is it. ESPECIALLY for recording.

    I've played with it live and it's a bit clunky---sometimes when u step on it, it doesn't click...thats why i gave it 4.0...as messing up a live set due to clunky pedal switches is def worth a full star...but this pedal makes up for it in the sheer sound quality and number of options available. the delays it replicates (with 99.99999% accuracy) are all legends. this pedal itself is no doubt legendary. GET THIS PEDAL IF YOU WANT MIND BLOWING DELAYS THAT WILL LAST YOU A LIFETIME.

  • bassman8er
    from United States April 17, 2013Music Background:
    Seasoned Musician

    Still some Mysteries about this pedal

    First off, I'm a bass player.. Okay, those of you who are left... This pedal is cool but I have a hard time getting to the sounds I'm looking for. Once there, it's great, but I usually have to do a lot of fiddling with the knobs. Tweak and Tweeze both act differently depending on the model you choose, so don't throw away those stickers that come in the box.

    Looping with it is great! However, you can't erase your last loop like you can on most real Looper pedals. It is still the easiest looper I've used.

  • Jonathan
    from NJ, USA April 27, 2011Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    Great Delay unit, improved now in the line 6 m5

    This is a great delay unit, but times have changed and new products are available by line 6. If you are looking for the same delays, consider the line 6 m5 - where you get all those delay types, better functionality (able to set particular note value delays, yes dotted eigth delays!), and 24 save presets. You also get 80+ other effects from the other line 6 stompbox modelers and verbzilla. The only things the dl4 offers, that are not available on the m5, is the looper and its massive hulk like appearance.

  • David
    from Boca Raton, FL December 10, 2010Music Background:
    Muscian, Worship Leader

    Great delays, bad lay out

    You cannot beat the vintage delays you get from this thing. The problem is that it is very difficult to use live with modern music. Tap tempo doesn't cut it when you need to dial in 16th note delay and the song starts in 5 seconds. Also when you turn the delay off it doesn't save your last tapped tempo, so if you turn the delay off in a song and then turn it back on, you will have to re tap it (unless it was one of your 3 presets). Great pedal, just not the right one for me.

  • Customer
    from December 30, 2015Music Background:
    Recoring, song writer and guitar player

    2nd one to Die

    Great sounding delay and easy to use. The drawback is they just stop working. I had two of them die on me and they want almost the cost of a new one to fix it. I am switching to the TC Nova Delay.

  • Kohl Fixari
    from Gahanna, OH September 15, 2015

    not worth it

    I've had 2 go bad on me, all the while they're over-priced

Questions about the Line 6 DL4 Delay Modeler Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close