0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month

Mackie DL1608 Reviews

4.5 stars based on 43 customer reviews
  • from St. Louis March 31, 2015Music Background:
    Self taught with help from friends. Run sound for my wofes band.

    DL1608

    I found about the DL1608 from a friend and absolutely love it. The Ipad app is easy to use and user friendly. It's good to be able to save the venue and go back to it when we are there next. would recommend this to everyone!

    The other part of the equation is the customer service that Sweetwater’s Team gives each and every time I purchase something. Ask for Matt Fawcett, the guy is great!!

  • from EXETER, CA January 15, 2015Music Background:
    Pro , Full Time Gigging!

    The Mackie DL1608

    Yes Yes Yes! Amazing Board! Can't Go Wrong! Read Up, you will be amazed at what this can Do! This Is Geek Heaven! Buy It! You Will Be Blown Away! No If Ands Or Buts! Best Move I Made On A Mixing Board!

  • from Laguna beach July 13, 2014Music Background:
    Semi pro musician

    Can't live without it!

    Absolute no-brainer. The pre's sound amazing, and it's so simple to use. It is so nice to make all the connections, turn on the board, recall your last settings, and instantly be ready to play. Also, the 6 monitor sends are very nice to have on such a compact board. Mackie outdid themselves on this one.

  • from Orlando June 21, 2014Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer, Latin Percussionist

    You'll Never go back

    If you don't have a dedicated sound man or if you have to mix from the stage because of venue limitations, then this is the mixer for you. I've used this mixer a few times with my band and the band has never "sounded" so good. Just being able to walk in front of the band for a minute, listen and adjust the mix is priceless. No longer do I need to listen to somebody's (usually a stranger) opinion of what is wrong with the mix while I'm playing the drums. In fact, mixing is now a joy instead of the pain in the butt it use to be. Setting up the monitor mix is also easier. Once you get use to the idea of using a touch screen to mix, you begin to appreciate the beauty of having total control of everything from anywhere. The amount of time you will save by recalling preset scenes is also great, not to mention how easily you can add a compressor, gate, EQ or reverb to any channel. Mackie has really put a lot of thought into this mixing application. This mixer replaces racks of processors and patch cables. This is a great mixer for a road act that doesn't need more than 16 channels and likes to travel as light as possible. Once you try the Mackie DL1608 you'll never go back to a traditional hardware mixer.

  • from United States December 23, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-Pro Musician

    Mackie DL1608

    This product can and will revolutionize the way Sound Person's can do their job IMO, and ultimately save a band time and money: NO more need for a Snake. NO more need for additional Outboard Gear like a Compressor,Gate, Reverb or Delay. NO more need for a dedicated FOH location or your Sound Person MIA during a gig when you need to up the volume in your monitor. That you can use the wireless function to walk around a room/club/venue, and mix on the fly completely optimizes the efficiency of PA, ultimately making the band sound as good as it can ever hope to sound. That a band can hire a real pro Engineer to do sound for them at the venues they play often, and that those mixes can be saved exactly, so no sound person is needed for future gigs is reason enough to own this. Easy to use, extremely intuitive, super light & portable....I'm sold.

  • from Garrison, n.d. October 4, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend picker, country and rock

    Nice, very nice!

    I sold my analog sound system and got this. I went from two 12 space racks to one 8 space rack. Main power amp, monitor power amp, main outboard processor and a Furman power conditioner. I hooked this up for a test drive and wow, so much control over the sound. I can't wait to try it at a gig. Set up and take down time about 1/2 hour. Less equipment to carry and more processing power. If you have not made the move to digital you better do it soon because your analog rig will be out of date and worthless. I highly recommend this for all the weekend giger's out there playing small to medium venues.

  • from Memphis, TN June 29, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend Warrior - Older

    Replaced rack of equipment!!!

    Have not used live 5 times, 4 four times with the same setup, and 1 time with a different setup. Using 2 ipads and 3 iPhones. Works great

  • from United States April 11, 2013Music Background:
    Semi-pro musician

    Get it!

    For a small to medium sized band mixing sound from the stage this makes life easier and your band sound better. Great sounding preamps, effects and processing. The new 'vintage' processors are especially good! The software interface is intuitive and Mackie keeps improving it with each app release. This little mixer saves me two trips on every load-in compared to my previous rig and setup/sound checks go much faster now. Plus we've finally been able to tame the sound of an unruly resonator guitar that always gave us fits in the past. So happy with this!

  • from Beaumont Tx March 22, 2013Music Background:
    Musician / live sound engineer/ recording engineer

    Easy and awesome

    The money you save on outboard eq gates and compressors alone will pay for this unit. Sounds great. Easy interface. And I can create snapshots of a band so that the next time they play my venue. The monitors and levels are right where they were the last time they played. Cuts sound check down to almost nothing. And when my band plays I can make adjustments from the stage. 24 channels would have been nice but this unit is well worth the price. Get ya one.

  • from Livonia, Michigan January 7, 2013Music Background:
    Recording engineer, musician and song writer.

    Gear lust overload!

    Very very good sounding preamps, very easy to use format. A little funky getting used to "Touch-Control surface" mixing. DSP is way better than expected and the overall clarity of my sound system is almost too good to be true. The master fader app has froze up a few times but I was able to re-start the software and Wi-Fi connection with no drop outs or noise while the band was playing through it. I'm looking forward to a better app upgrade with much needed stuff such as, shows & snapshots are not highlighted when engaged. You don't rally know which show or snapshot you are working with, kinda stupid don't ya' think! Anyway I don't even want to think of going back to my old analog board.

  • from Long Island, NY December 9, 2012Music Background:
    Musician, Live Sound

    The best 16 channel digital mixer available (as of q3 2012)

    This mixer does have its limitations. Only 16 channels, no inserts, blah blah blah.

    each channel has HPF, sweepable eq, comp, gate. 6 aux sends + LR (mains). Ability to record to the ipad, and the ability to undock the ipad and walk the room is incredible. Not only that, but multiple ipads can be wirelessly connected to the mixer, which makes mixing monitors a breeze

  • from Kalamazoo, MI November 23, 2012Music Background:
    Live sound technician

    Great mixer

    Just plain a great mixer. I'm an old school sound guy so anytime a digital unit is this easy to switch to I'm all for it. Very easy to learn and setup. The wireless works great. I use this mainly for corporate type gigs and not needing a snake alone is worth it. Compressors, gates and effects all work really well so no more effects rack!! Bottom line, I love this mixer and will be adding another one soon.

  • from Florida November 6, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    DL1608 Way Cool!

    Made the move and WOW! This mixer is a great value and easy to use. When you first get it, plug in your headphones with a microphone, sit back on the couch and take a spin. This mixer is very intuitive for the most part and is a serious mixer. Using the on board pre-sets made it easy to get up and running fast.

    Please note that the Ipad channel next to the master fader is pre-fader as explained to me by Mackie and in my unfortunate experience cleaned my ears out when I hit the solo button while monitoring through the headphones. It would be nice to have foot switchable effects. I use the Apple Airport router and have suggested a possible software update that would allow you to use the USB port for that and other functions.

    Just get one.

  • from Santa Cruz, CA USA November 2, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician & Recording Studio Owner

    Mackie DM1608 Rocks!!!!

    I can't believe how much easier mixing my bands has become. And how much less gear I have to drag along. Using only powered speakers (QSC K10's and K12's), connections are quick, and setup time reduced. With the snapshot function, I can bring up a previous setup, and away we go. The EQ sounds great, but I am still working on using the compressors. The effects work well, and the simplicity of how all of it works together has me appreciating this product over other digital mixers. I think a musician designed it, not an engineer.

  • from Saratoga Springs, NY November 1, 2012Music Background:
    Musician

    In ears !!

    Ok I love this mixer, I replaced my Allen and Heath 12M monitor console with this. first the weight and footprint is hands down better. Second ability to have 6 aux mixes controlled remotely by the members of the band totally rocks. Third FX's, no more out board gear! it's great. simply buy a splitter snake and take control of all those house sound guys that make the FOH mix sound great all the while you're back on stage going WTF I can't hear the guitar!!! our sound engineer uses the Presonus rig, and it's great but set up it a bit more complicated that what we need to just in-ears stage side, this is great. We're testing it on FOH next week too.

  • from Tulsa, OK October 24, 2012Music Background:
    Audio Engineer

    Better than StudioLive for less $$

    I owned a StudioLive before I purchased the DL1608 because it allowed me to mix wirelessly with an ipad. The preamps on the DL1608 sound better & the app is WAY better than SL Remote for wireless mixing. It is much more intuitive and has a better work flow. I also love the fact that I do not need to haul a laptop with a FireWire connection around with me to mix wirelessly. FireWire will be dead soon & thus the StudioLive will have to change. How many computers have you seen lately with FireWire?....even new Macs are getting rid of it. This product from Mackie sounds wonderful, is super easy to use, and has a great price. Best thing I've bought in years!

  • from Kennett, MO October 22, 2012Music Background:
    Pro musician

    Wow.....about sums it up

    Tried this mixer this past weekend for the first time, and I can say I'll be keeping it. The whole band was blown away with the crisp, clear sound, and the funny thing was I bought it for the ease of use....lol

  • from Cleveland, OH October 21, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Get rid of the snake!!!

    I don't know how much time I have wasted in the past running a large snake out to the FOH mixer. If you are lucky, the bar or venue you are playing at has actually thought about a band needing a place for a FOH mixer but most of the time they have not. Also, trying to run the snake to the FOH mixer can be a challenge: does it need to be taped down so no one trips over it, are you wearing yourself out before the show, etc. Well, my days of running a snake are over. After getting this mixer my setup time has gone down dramatically. The board goes on the stage so all of the mic runs are short and that is it. No plugging the mics in then running out to the FOH to plug all of that in too. I don't notice any latency between the iPad and the board and now our engineer can anywhere he wants to control the mix. Also, we now have complete control of our monitor mixes. Easy to use and worth every penny.

  • from October 7, 2012

    2012 Gear of the Year...

    This mixer from Mackie is awesome. Easy to set up and use and the software is idiot proof. We are using it solely as a monitor mixer for the monitor rack. All 4 band members are on IEM's. Two guitar cabs, Bass DI, 6 drum mic's and 2 vocal mic's go through a rack splitter. Directs go to the Mackie and split to the FOH snake. Each individual can control and EQ his own band mix in the IEM's and make changes on the fly. This thing is so easy and simple to integrate into the system. You will need to get you a small WIFI hub to keep all your ipads near the band members or just use an ipad in the Mackie. You download the app from itunes to your ipad. All settings are stored and synched from the Mackie. The Onyx pre's are great.

  • from Elkin, N.C. September 10, 2012Music Background:
    Recording engineer, musician, live sound engineer.

    Great mixer

    The DL1609 replaced a whole 12 space rack full of equipment and it sounds better. I have used just about every mixer on the planet and for me nothing is better. I now have: the DL1608, two amps, two speakers, and four monitors. That's it. I don't have to have all the cabling I had before either. I couldn't be happier. You will not go wrong if you buy this.

  • from Puyallup, WA September 10, 2012Music Background:
    church

    Buy this

    Great price and produces a great mix! It's super easy to work with the iPad and the built-in effects are top knotch.

    For the price, you can't beat what this bad boy can produce!

  • from Bmore, MD September 8, 2012Music Background:
    Live sound hobbyist and bass player

    Finally got it!

    Just got the DL1608 yesterday and I'm blown away. I have only tried it out in a practice setting, but the whole band was blown away. We are upgrading from an old mackie vlz pro. I've been running sound for my band for about 3 years now.

    First, the interface is amazing. It's very intuitive and simple to use. The defaults for the various instruments are an excellent starting point. I dialed in the sound on my bass in about 3 seconds and it sounded great.

    The processing power on this thing is incredible. There are compressors and gates on every channel. It's so easy to make everything sit in the mix with the extensive EQ on each channel.

    The onyx mic pre's def. sound better than the old VLZs two.

    We even recorded one of our songs and the stereo recording sounded pretty good.

  • from itala April 23, 2012Music Background:
    hobby drummer

    the dream

    i have a blues trio .
    this is the little best mixer in market: i want it!

  • from Laguna beach January 6, 2015Music Background:
    Musician

    Almost Perfect

    Sound - 5 stars (excellent warm sounding pre's)
    Simplicity - 5 Stars
    Quality - 5 stars
    The only reason I gave 4.5 stars, and not 5, is because the software is still a bit glitchy. I have used this board in over 25 live shows, and it has always worked perfect. Only thing is sometimes, you need to re-boot in the middle of sound check.....so be sure to save 'snapshots' as you are dialing your mix, so in case it does freeze, you don't lose everything. This has never happened during a show, but seems to happen often during sound check for whatever reason....would still absolutely recommend.

  • from Fayetteville, AR November 20, 2014Music Background:
    FOH Engineer, Bass Player

    Exactly what we

    As a bass player running sound from the stage, I've felt performing this dual-function took away from my playing and enjoyment of the gigs. As a 32-ch digital board user for running FOH/Monitors for other bands, I was tired of lugging that monster around, and realized we didn't need all the patching, routing, chaining, onboard plugins my main board provided. I researched the DL1608, watched YouTube vids, and downloaded the app before I bought it. Had our first show created/saved to the app the day the DL arrived, I pulled it out of the box, docked the iPad, and we were rocking and sounding great in 30-minutes. Big bonus points for iPad interface app and iPhone monitor mixing app. Very intuitive with "swipe" function to move horizontally between channels and vertically between screens. Dynamics/Gating section, EQ, and Rev/Del options are visually straight-forward and super-easy to manipulate. Loadable channel presets need very little tweaking and sound great. I now run mains from the iPad attached to my mic stand and enjoy every moment of the gigs. One bit of advice...if allowing other bandmates to control their own monitor mixes, be sure to enable the lockouts for mains from their iPhones...LOL

  • from Cerritos, Ca. March 29, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist musician and audio tech

    Near Perfect; needs refinement

    Since all the other reviews have raved about the DL1608’s virtues, these comments are to make potential buyers aware of a few underdeveloped features.
    1) being a digital mixer, the user needs to know what to do when the app freezes up, especially during a show; I’ve reported it to Mackie but have not received a response (I had to turn the iPad off and restart to unfreeze the app)
    2) playing backtrack music to vocals requires getting out of mixer’s app (Main Fader), getting into iTunes (or wherever you have you music), starting the music, getting out of iTunes, and back into the mixer’s app to control the sound; then you can pull up the iPad’s scroll menu to stop, start, pause, advance, etc.; very cumbersome; I would like to see backtrack music played directly from Main Fader; an alternative would be to use an external device (iPad, iPod, iPhone, cd player) plugged into one or two channels then you’ll be able to see/control the songs more confidently with less fumbling
    3) when recording, the actual recording is not stored in Main Fader but will be sent somewhere into one of iPad’s music apps; I found mine in iTunes but could not play it back; Mackie has not responded on a fix; again, not as convenient as you might expect for your rehearsals

    I hope Mackie will resolve these issues soon. Other than these comments, all the positive comments from the other reviewers are true. For $1,000, the DL1608 delivers a package matched by no other. Excellent but needs refinement.

  • from Chicago, IL USA November 7, 2013Music Background:
    Weekend musician

    Strong features, Modest Price, Easy to Use

    I think the Mackie DL1608 blows up the Digital market area. I'd like a few more features for it, but I think if you are frankly scared of spending $2000 on a digital mixer, or the complexity of running, but want to be able to mix from stage - this is great. I've run other boards that cost twice as much, and for most features enjoy this interface.

    I would recommend getting the Apple Airport Express router to go with this - it works flawlessly in my experience. Sweetwater sells them too!

    I wish it had direct outs. I wish the app was updated with a few features that I know are being addressed, I wish there were a few more aux sends, but otherwise I think the price matches the features and the needs of bands like mine that run their own sound.

    This would be a great board to get into mono in ear monitoring as well.

  • from Buffalo, NY August 27, 2013Music Background:
    Musician and sound man for local blues band.

    DL1608 very cool !

    Nearly perfect. Great sound. Fairly easy to control. The software takes some getting used to, is not totally intuitive and sometimes hard to locate instructions. The software should leave the name of the show and snapshot on the main screen. What's with the overly-friendly space-wasting dialogue in the instructions anyway? The inputs opposite the controls are upside down. I am willing to bet hardly anyone looks at the inputs from the back on this mixer. The lightning to 30-pin adaptor does not align with the DL1608 and you have to slightly bend it up. I have seen the input break on someone else's because someone was not aware of the misalignment. Ouch.

    Sweetwater is an excellent company to deal with. They often go above and beyond. Five stars for Sweetwater and Dan V.

  • from Washington, DC August 22, 2013Music Background:
    Live sound/recording engineer

    Mackie digital

    Works great. Sounds good. Saves set up time and back muscles on the load in/out. Looks cool when standing in audience mixing the band. Love the vintage mode. Wish mackie would make some upgrades -Ex. Channel linking capability, gain memory settings. But for the price point I'm being picky.

    This wouldve been a game changer if it was a 24 channel instead of 16, but I can use 16 just fine if I don't have to lug a bunch of equipment around to achieve my sound...

  • from Nashville, TN area June 26, 2013Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Great little board

    I've been using the 1608 for about 8 months for a small fellowship that meets in rented facilities and thus needs to set up and tear down completely for each meeting. This board has made the process MUCH easier by eliminating the snake as well as compressor/limiter and DriveRack from my setup. I mix exclusively via wifi, so the board sits on stage with an Apple Airport Express router and Monster power conditioner. Wifi control has been flawless so far, though we are operating in areas with very little possible interference. Being able to mix from anywhere in the venue is extremely helpful, and it's great to be able to mix while sitting with my family rather than confined to a booth somewhere. I recommend the AirPort Express as it's DA converter and minijack analog out provide a convenient way to stream break music to the board via Airplay from your iPad or iPhone.

    One hardware limitation is the analog gain knobs. It would great to have gain be adjustable over wifi...hopefully in the next generation. The Behringer models should have this feature. But, it hasn't been a huge problem in practice. Repeated use has given us a feel for roughly where gain needs to be set for various sources. The outboard power supply makes me somewhat nervous too. It would be great to have an internal supply, but it hasn't been a problem so far.

    Sound from the board is very good and clean; mic pres seem quite good. Having recall-able presets on each channel EQ (as well as dynamics) and 31-band output EQs is a big help as we meet in several venues regularly. With our previous analog setup we only had compression available on 4 channels using an outboard DBX unit. It's great to have compression available on every channel with the 1608. In my opinion, the 1608's reverb is usable but not great. I choose to loop in a Lexicon MX400 instead--a big improvement at the cost of a couple channels.

    Hopefully the iPad app will continue to improve, but it's very good even now. Sync is fast, and I have yet to have the app crash (I use iPad 3). Being able to mix from multiple iPads/iPhones simultaneously has been very helpful for controlling monitor levels from the stage or just trading FOH duties back and forth between users. This has also been a good learning tool as less-experienced techs can watch in real time what a professional engineer does to improve a channel's EQ, etc. I think one of the greatest features is having such a visible, easy-to-use EQ for each channel; it's just easier for me to dial in EQ when I can see the frequency spectrum rather than just turning knobs. It does take steady fingers, though! Having full mixers for each aux send (rather than knobs like an analog board) is helpful. For our use, the one big missing feature in the app is the ability to merge two channels into one stereo channel. We run several stereo sources--keyboard, electronic drumset, AV DI, and Airplay music--and it's a bit of a hassle to move two faders all the time. Sub-groups would be great too. It would also be nice to move the mute buttons to the bottom of the channel or something...I often go to mute and end up on the EQ page instead.

    Certainly there are shows more complicated than the 1608 can handle, but for our use it has been really stellar. We run this board with QSC K10s for mains and are very pleased with the sound, reliability, and ease of setup.

  • from JAckson,MS June 26, 2013Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Amazing Mixer

    This is a phenomenal mixer. It is so light weight my 3 year old can carry it. I was torn between this and the Presonus 16.4.2 and I made the right choice. Besides having 16 channels, EQ on every channel. Compression and Gating on every channel, it has a main EQ built in! No need for a rackmount anything with this beauty! The only thing I dislike is the swiping to see all the channels. Other than that GET IT!! you and your band will be happy. The Myfader app is great too for the band members to mix their own monitors. Did I mention scene recall? Love it!

  • from North Kingstown, RI February 26, 2013Music Background:
    25+ yrs experience live sound & recording engineer

    Many functions in one box. Roam the room/stage wirelessly!

    First - great Mackie sound, plus Efx, Eq, Compressor - this box has it all. Freq response is sub-sonic to over 20K with no distortion or harmonics.

    I'm new to i-pad so it took me a while to get the 'feel' of operating the touch controls and not being able to view all the channel settings at once. (If one channel is set incorrectly it may take a while to find it.)

    I'm doing stage musicals - if your show has many 'scenes' you can pre - program the scenes and call them from memory during the show. Careful - a light tap in the wrong place can distracting or maybe real trouble.

    problems -
    1) Mains fader control is very close to main/aux output selector; you have to be attentive when using the touchscreen.
    2) Wish it had a mains mute button.

  • from Las Vegas, Nv February 6, 2013Music Background:
    Musician,Engineer, Gear nut.....

    Im VERY pleased!!!!

    For all the reasons previously mentioned, this board is Great!!! Im especially interested in getting the new "MYFADER" app installed on my iphone. Ipad minis create wireless mixing stations all over the stage. OR maybe a combo of iphone and ipad mini to make everyone smile. I have a rack configured so that I can simply hand out wireless mikes and IEMs. My setups are quick and trouble free. Happy band, happy gig!!!

  • from Charlotte, NC December 16, 2012Music Background:
    FOH Engineer

    Exceeded Expectations

    My first outing was using this live in a 2,700 seat church venue a week ago as I had run out of channels on a M7 with two outboard submixes already and the client still wanted a 14 piece jazz band on stage for a 4 song set. I set the Dl1608 up onstage with 2 outputs into the house snake for mix and monitor routing, and controlled it all in the sound booth in a balcony about 100 feet away. I'll admit I was nervous but thru 2 sound checks and performances it was absolutely rock solid - highly recommend using Apple Extreme router. The jazz segment was one of the highlights of the evening with many compliments on the sound quality so very transparent in operation. This is so much more useful than SL 16.0.2 and given you don't need a PC, much easier to use wireless. Also Mackie is actively coming out with updates virtually every month - if they add stereo linking and DCA/VCA/Groups this little thing will be off the charts and I'd give it over 5 stars. (they say it's in the works)

  • from South central Iowa November 15, 2012Music Background:
    Hobby musician, home studio, run the sound live.

    DL1608, I like it!

    3 things I REALLY like about it:
    1. The 4 band EQ on each of the 16 channels. Toggle Shelf or bell on 1 and 4 and full parametric EQ on 2 and 3 and all so easy to visualize what your doing with EQ on the big touch screen of the Ipad. Totally better and more versatile sound for all types of inputs for me than on my analog mixer.

    2. 6 aux outs. I never really knew what a difference individual monitor mixes could make both for the better mix for each player and for the better shaping of sound per monitor for the enjoyment of each player. 31 eq on EACH aux and main outs. (try dragging 7 of those babies around along with all the wires and potential bad connections)

    3. And of course, being able to walk anywhere in the venue and mix sound/monitors from the wireless connection on the Ipad. No snake needed, no computer needed, just plug your router into the mixer and that's it.

  • from North East October 4, 2012Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    Great Addition

    Room to grow but a pretty neat product for $999. and really has made set up a breeze. Hopefully Mackie really builds on it and allow others to sell effects at the App Store.

  • from Seattle September 15, 2012Music Background:
    Serious hobbyist with 25+ years of keyboards

    Amazing hardware, software needs some work

    First off the hardware is top notch, it has a solid feel to it and sounds fantastic. The Onyx preamps are what you have come to expect from Mackie, top quality. Reverbs, delays, compression, gating all works great.

    My only complaint (and 4.5 start rating) is that there could have been a little more thought put into the software but I'm sure this will change with future updates. There are a few bugs such as scrolling from the parametric EQ page, no ability to copy/paste tracks, no sub-groups, and a whole host of other small annoying things, much of which that can be fixed in future updates.

    I've done a few band practices and everyone was delighted with the sound. This board is simple to use, yet can go deep with the flexible routing and processing features.

    Buy this thing...you will love it!

  • from CA September 12, 2012Music Background:
    Eveything but a student

    A Home Run!

    I haven't figured out the wireless setup enough to set it up without fumbling, but that's probably me. I'm also a little baffled by the presets, but I'm figuring things out. So much capability and so many options add up to a lot of new tricks for this old dog to learn. The interface and workflow are very intuitive, so I will get there. In the end, live sound is about SOUND. The sound of this thing is impressive. The compressors are absolutely first rate. The EQ is excellent. The mic pres are quiet and clean (not brittle-clean, buttery-clean.,

  • from Livermore , CA January 10, 2014Music Background:
    Long time pro player

    Effects please!

    First one failed after three turn ons. Sweetwater great customer service , swap out for another with in a week. The whole idea of this mixer is fantastic. Wireless + ease of use. One BIG concern is how bad the reverbs are! There so karaoke. In this day of DSP.... Really? Other than that I love it!

  • from Sarasota, FL October 11, 2013Music Background:
    Singer, Mixer. Ham Radio operator, Ex-motorola radio tech

    Works great

    Quite happy with the mixer. Simple to set up with our existing wireless mics. Mixer is hidden in the organ loft so only wires currently currently in the worship area are for our monitors.

    Wish I could control which sends get effects. Very pleased with the output and mic equalizers.

  • from Liberal Kansas July 29, 2013Music Background:
    Recording Engineer, Live Sound

    A great, and very easy to use mixer.

    This is a great board ! Sure, do I wish it had busses, yes, but for the money this board works great ! To me the only down side I saw was on the DDL FX it doesn't show your delay in ms. I like to dial in exact delays. The tap works good. I just got it, and used it a couple times, and I haven't had any problems. The setup of the wifi, is very simple. And I never opened up the manual.
    I have used it with my band, and a remote television transmit.
    The mixer is very easy to get around on, and I love not running a snake !
    it's a basic mixer with a lot of great features.
    I would recommend this mixer .

  • from Falls Church, VA January 15, 2013Music Background:
    Recording/Live sound Engineer, Commercial ProAudio Guru, Drummer, Singer

    Mackie DL1608- Serious bang for buck

    Preamps are decent, package size & flexability are ridiculous. My only complaint is the quality of DSP... not very robust. If you're not really careful with your gain staging, the compression/gating on every channel will leave horrible artifacts on some of the more active channels, ie. kick drum, snare, bass, etc. That being said the versatility, for what you pay for it, is bar none the best deal you'll ever find on the market today. I've replaced my entire FOH/monitor rig with this small unit, now I can downsize my trailer and even get better gas mileage in the long run. How's that for auxiliary benefits?!

  • from United States December 11, 2012Music Background:
    Live Sound Engineer

    Digital Explosion

    Great buy, for the price you just can't go wrong.......gr8 pre-amp sound, the effects are also good. Its a gr8 sound desk for small giging bands!!!
    Sexy size, i also got the gator water proof case to secure it!

Questions about the Mackie DL1608?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway