0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Microphone Month 3

Yamaha DGX650 88-key Arranger Piano with Stand - Black with Rosewood trim Reviews

4.5 stars based on 9 customer reviews
  • from Wesley Chapel florida November 17, 2015Music Background:
    Keyboard player for a very long time (accordion too)

    DGX650

    I am very happy with the keyboard. It is truly amazing. I just wish that is was a little lighter. I am not a big guy and do not lift weights. LOL. Very good sounds and options,

  • from North Las Vegas, NV November 3, 2015Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Perfect for the Family

    I had been looking for a suitable keyboard/piano for general family use for at least two years now, and finally settled on this one. The requirement was that it had to be relatively compact, have good enough sounds for me to goof around with when I didn't feel like powering on the high-end synths and workstations upstairs, be robust enough for guests to tinker with at parties, and have a keyboard that was suitable for my children to practice their piano playing. I initially looked at the Yamaha YDP series and similar offerings from other brands. I thought about this one, too, but wasn't too sure about the quality and feel of the keys and the foot pedals. That all changed when I got to play around with a DGX650 in person a couple months ago. This thing exceeded my expectations. The build quality is very good, the sounds are excellent, the quality of the speakers is perfect for the house, and it is very fun to play with. For the price, which is significantly cheaper than the YDP series, the keys and sound are more than adequate for piano playing on a budget. Highly recommend this model for those with similar needs. And don't forget the foot pedal unit!

  • from Ashland, Kentucky August 3, 2015Music Background:
    Amateur Guitar player for 35+ years

    Great Piano

    I've been looking at this model piano for the last year or so. Overtime I would go into a store where it was displayed folks were on it playing it. Everyone I talked to loved it. I am a guitar player who always wanted to hack around on a piano and this is a great one. I received it in the mail only 2 days after ordering on line. I assembled it relatively quickly and started banging on it right away...truthfully, I am in love with it. Outstanding value, I see why everybody likes to play it in the stores. This was a very good purchase. This thing has the feel and the sound of a real piano, and all the extras...it's amazing.

  • from March 17, 2015

    DGX-650 Keyboard

    I received this keyboard a couple months ago and I can't believe how nice it sounds, I play it almost every day, in fact I can't leave it alone.

  • from San Diego December 23, 2013Music Background:
    Musician

    Awesome Keyboard

    Feels and sounds like a real piano, doesn't get much better then this!

  • from Frazier Park, CA December 28, 2015Music Background:
    Semipro

    The gift of music

    The perfect keyboard for practicing piano. I think a keyboard is better than a piano, especially for practice because it stays in tune. The sounds aren't professional wow, but they are very good and for the price I guess I was a little wowed. The presets have too much reverb for my taste, but that can be adjusted out. The unit was actually a gift for someone else. It is very beautiful keyboard with a key-bed that is very much like a piano if that is what you are seeking. All the well designed styles will inspire you to practice, and that is what it is all about. I've used a number of Yamaha keyboards over the many years and they are always well built and sound good. If they break, you can always get a service manual and parts, and all can be ordered from the web. Try to get a service manual and parts from the other manufacturers---good luck. You don't get a lot of updates like the other K companies but you get a solid well designed unit that will work for years to come. Actually, all the companies are making incredible products these days especially compared to the offerings in the 50's, 60's and 70's. And even with that we were able to make some great music. The DGX650 is wonderful product and inspiration to start playing music or to practice your trade with styles that are way better than a metronome.

  • from United States April 16, 2015

    Excellent instrument for the home

    I'm a professional musician whose first instrument was piano, which I began playing about 55 years ago. I also made my living tuning pianos once upon a time. In other words, I'm not a novice where pianos are concerned.

    This instrument is an excellent choice for a home instrument. It looks good in a living room, sounds remarkably good for an instrument in this price range, and is a pleasure to play, with an action more like a well-maintained upright piano than a concert grand. I bought it for my grandchildren; I spent hours playing it on a recent trip to their house, and had a lot of fun doing it. (They clearly had fun with it too.) The sounds on tap amount to a high-quality general MIDI set, i.e. fairly conventional in scope and well-rendered. Features for recording and playback are simple and thoroughly functional.

    The instrument is designed for high-quality sample playback rather than synthesis; it is NOT designed for the pleasure of expert synthesizer players and programmers. It is also clearly NOT designed to hold up to the stresses of road work, so I wouldn't buy it for that purpose even though many players in traditional styles would find the sound set perfectly usable.

    Good-looking, good-sounding, highly playable, and equipped with the essential features--all in all, high value for money. I may buy another for myself as a replacement for an aged upright piano in my home.

  • from Topeka, KS USA January 16, 2015Music Background:
    Father of a section leader of mellophones in high school marching band, first chair in horn section of Wind Ensemble, member of school varsity choir, member of elite singers group made up of 12 couples, member of worship team at church

    Yamaha DGX650 88-key Arranger Piano with Stand

    My son really likes it. He says it plays and sounds like a real piano. He can play the organ on it as well and several other instruments.. He uses it to practice for his vocal performances as well as his AP Music Theory class.

  • from Clearwater Florida February 8, 2016Music Background:
    Playing a Technics PR-305 Digital Piano and Technics SX-KN7000 keyboard.

    Yamaha DGX650

    I saw a Yamaha DGX650 awhile back at a store called Sam Ash. This digital piano seems to have all kinds of sounds, and it`s portable to take anywhere. It has a USB port jack and line in or out. The only thing is that they don`t have a midi jack which seems very odd. Sam Ash music has some midi cords and insert cords that they sell. They should put in midi jacks to it once again. The Technics SX-KN7000 keyboard has Midi Jacks on it, and an aux line in and out as well as a USB port. The Technics PR-305 Digital Piano has Midi jacks in it as well as an aux line in and out.

Questions about the Yamaha DGX650 88-key Arranger Piano with Stand - Black with Rosewood trim?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway