0% Interest for 48 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Live Sound Month!

Boss DD-7 Digital Delay Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 20 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss DD-7 Digital Delay Pedal?

Questions about the Boss DD-7 Digital Delay Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

  • from CA January 17, 2017Music Background:
    Died with Rock and Roll

    Great Accessory

    The DD-7 is great. It is easy to use.

  • from ILLINOIS October 14, 2016

    Oh my Lord Jesus Christ of Nazareth

    I have just changed the game with this dd7 oh my Lord I feel so happy I love this pedal I just made 4000 people cry together because of the effects on this thing it is amazing thank you sweet water I love you guys from the bottom of my heart

  • from The wilds of Wisconsin March 25, 2016Music Background:
    Serious guitar player

    Very pleased

    It is feature rich, easy and relatively intuitive to use and reasonably priced. The owners manual is straight forward and easy to understand. I lean toward a clean, straightforward guitar sound. As such I have very few pedals (a grand total of 4), but I'm pleased I took a chance on this one.

  • from Ohio October 16, 2015Music Background:
    30 + years guitarist

    Boss DD-7 Digital Delay

    I had a DD-2 for years, so learning the controls was a smooth transition, but I've just scratched the surface, with all of the new settings options I have. This pedal has also opened up a whole new world when running it in stereo. A great new addition to my pedal-board!

  • from Chester, TX July 14, 2015Music Background:
    Semi Pro Status - Guitar, Piano/Keyboard & Violin

    Big Features Inside This Little Box

    To save time & space I'll just submit that I concur with all the other fine musicians out there that have reviewed this item. Great pedal... love it for practice & seldom perform without it.

  • from Paragould, AR May 26, 2015

    Great Delay

    The Boss delay pedal has set the standard for delay for years. The updates DD7 is no exception. Has all the features of the older models plus a few new ones. For delay this is the way to go. Of course Jeff Barnett and his team were great. The customer service at Sweetwater is what sets it apart from other companies.

  • from January 9, 2015

    Can't beat it!

    This pedal is pretty much amazing, just an overall perfect delay. LOVE the reverse it includes, just by messing around with it you'll have fun. But this seriously is worth every penny, Boss has yet to make a bad pedal, and this one sums it all up. This is a high quality pedal, better than any out there.

    5/5!

  • from akron ohio January 1, 2015

    great pedal.

    I mainly use the analog setting for general playing, its sounds more natural. for practice at home I like to use the hold feature to play a few chords and loop them. that way I can play solos along with the chords i strummed that it plays back.

    You can do allot with this pedal, if you know how to use it correctly. its very versatile as far as the types of sounds you can use it for. you can get a reverb like sound, slap back for surf and rockabilly, crazy echo like sounds, guitar doubling type sounds or just fatten up the sound of your solos, you can get that chicken picking sound (a compressor and a delay really makes the chicken picking sound perfectly) and you can do all kinds of other stuff.

    this a really good sounding pedal, the digital delay modes do sound digital but they still sound very good. I think the analog delay setting sounds allot more dark and natural. that is why i go the DD-7 over the DD-3, i wanted that analog setting. I had a DD-3 for quite a while and decided to upgrade to a DD-7 and I am glad i did. both are great pedals and most people would should be quite happy with either one.

    I am not really a external pedal/effects person, a good tube amp should have a good overdrive and hopefully a good reverb and that is all you really need for most types of music, add a delay and a compressor and you have plenty of effects to play around with. having loads of pedals and effects is really just overkill for most types of music IMO but a few basic ones are nice to have.

    when I play live I really just use the overdrive on my amp and when I play a solo I hit the delay and sometimes compressor to fatten up the sound, that is all I really need to play some rock and roll music, rockabilly or anything else.

  • from Sylacauga, Al August 25, 2014Music Background:
    Musician, Home Recording

    The Perfect Delay Pedal

    I originally ordered the Wampler Faux Tape Echo TapTempo, but playing in a large worship band as well as home recording and playing small gigs the pedal's hiss was too much. Now don't misunderstand me, the Wampler is an incredible pedal; it just didn't fit my needs at the time. I called Andy Rice back and he recommended the Boss. Within one week I had the pedal and all I can say is GREAT JOB ANDY!!!! This pedal does every thing i need and more. With the Boss tap attached I can switch on the fly. The pedal's sound is so transparent to my tone. And it is so quiet my worship leader noticed the difference immediately ( while listening to 8 other instruments and a mid sized choir). If this pedal was lost, etc. I would immediately call Andy to order another. I have bought a few other items from Sweetwater in the past with Andy's help and everything went smoothly. But after this purchase, I am convinced Sweetwater is the best hands down. The staff's knowledge and positive attitude has sold me for life!

  • from Gulf Shores, AL March 15, 2012Music Background:
    Guitarist, Youth Worship Leader

    What I was looking for!

    The DD-7 was the missing piece to my guitar rig! It has so many bells and whistles but at the same time it's still just a stomp box. You can experiment with all of the tones or you can also just tap in the tempo and go with the flow! I would recommend this pedal to everyone! It's a great buy!

  • from Mexico December 13, 2011Music Background:
    Pop rock

    This Boss rocks!

    When I buy gear,one of the aspects I search for is durability.Well,this pedal really stands out in that category.I also like the fact that you can tap the tempo of the song and the classic analog sound from boss.Thank you boss,you made another guitarist happy!

  • from Whitewater, Mo. USA May 29, 2008Music Background:
    Hobbyist, Church worship services

    Gotta Love the Boss DD-7

    I just got mine in today and I think this pedal is worth every penny that I paid for it. I already have a DD-6 that I use with a chorus pedal for chord work, but I can now use one pedal to get the job done. The looper is a great practice tool also. The analog setting sounds good. I thought that the DD-6 was the ultimate delay in a stompbox size, but the DD-7 is exactly what I need in a delay pedal. Just simply awesome!!!

  • from Sarasota, FL March 15, 2017

    Nice delay

    I've used several models of the Boss delay over the years and they keep getting better.

  • from December 10, 2016

    Does what I wanted

    Although I have and do not use this Digital Delay Pedal to its full capabilities, the fact that it has an analog setting and with a few simple adjustments: the length, the feedback, and the level can easily be adjusted, to add a little delay to my guitar's signal path; it does what I wanted.

    I don't use it to do extreme effects, so I can't speak, to that functionality of the pedal....

  • from Ft Wayne June 29, 2016Music Background:
    Songwriter, Recording Hobbyist

    Classic Delay

    This is a very classic sounding digital delay. Recreates some of the great delay sounds from the 80's and 90's. Intuitive controls make it a breeze to use. This baby is quiet too, no appreciable noise added to my signal chain. I'm very happy with it, and I think most others will be too. No nasty surprises. Lots of options and features and all at a good price. I bought this to replace my EH Memory Boy Analog delay, and I couldn't be happier with this Boss product. Thanks, as always, to Sweetwater for their great, timely service.

  • from Redmond, WA June 1, 2013Music Background:
    Worship Leader

    GREAT!

    I love this little dude!! so many options all in a single stomp. Personally I want as many tone variants in as little space possible. I recently used a 2' x 3'6 board, and it drove me crazy... lugging it around in and out of venues was the worst. Using this guy gives me the delay i need, in the space i want. WOO! Thanks Sweetwater!

  • from Canada August 22, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist musician

    Best jam packed delay in a compact format.

    This is by far the best delay in the compact pedal format that's come out of Boss for years. It is jam packed with features, is truly stereo, and even has an analog emulation mode! There are so many different features included, that Boss supplies quick reminders that you can stick to the side of the pedal on how to get access to them.

    No product is ever perfect however. And the surprisingly low frequency response, when compared to other company's similar products, is a little of a let down. But you won't notice it with a guitar. Only with a high harmonics content, like the one from a synthesizer. Also the expression pedal that you can plug in to control delay time doesn't produce a smooth action on the delay, nor does the delay knob on the pedal.

    But these little quirks aside, it's really good.

  • from Westfield, MA May 12, 2016Music Background:
    Bar Bands

    Jack of All Trades

    I have owned this pedal for a couple years, but I am probably going to sell it and get something that is more focused on the analog sound. Obviously this is a personal choice, but I find myself using that effect more than any other, yet there are better analog effects out there. I don't like the sound of the digital repeats.

    This pedal has a lot of useful features, and if you are looking for something to fill a lot of holes in your board (delay, chorus, "reverb" (if you set the delay time reaaaaally low), looper) at once, this may be it. But after some time, you'll probably realize why most guitarists prefer pedals that are made for one or two specific things. And you can only use each effect separately, which somewhat limits its versatility. Triggering on board tap tempo is a bit cumbersome, but it does work better with an extension pedal.

  • from montreal, qc May 25, 2008Music Background:
    musician

    Versatile Delay Pedal

    This is a great little pedal. The analog sounds are very good, the 40 second looper is great for practicing, the tap tempo is useful, and the footprint is small. Those are the key features i was looking for in a digital pedal. I also own a maxon ad999, which i love. but i wanted a digital pedal for longer delay times, tap tempo options, and the looper for practicing. the dd-7 delivers on all counts. and to be honest, the dd-7's analog sound comes close to the maxon. a great swiss army knife delay.

  • from August 1, 2015

    Solid Delay But Average Extras

    I bought this pedal to replace my old Digitech DigiDelay and this was well-suited for that, as it offers nearly every mode the DigiDelay does. The DD-7 offers very usable delay settings with the various Ms and Reverse modes. The modulation mode is somewhat lackluster.

    The biggest disappointment for me was the looper, as any looped music is severely distorted by what you play over it. It makes playing complex loops difficult, as everything blends together into a jumbled mess. Even the replication itself is muffled and lacking clarity. It's sufficient for playing over chord progressions while practicing at home, but probably not well-suited for a live setting.

    Overall, it's a solid delay pedal that will get you the standard delay tones. I was just very disappointed with the loop function.

    A shout-out to Niki Ault and Mark Bruhn at Sweetwater for excellent customer service. I made two orders and a return before I ultimately purchased this pedal and every step of the process was easy and efficient. Niki and Mark rapidly processed the return and even called and e-mailed me to check in during the process, You just don't get that kind of customer service any more, but you still do here.

Questions about the Boss DD-7 Digital Delay Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway