0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
February Giveaway

Boss DD-3 Digital Delay Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 16 customer reviews
Questions about the Boss DD-3 Digital Delay Pedal?

Questions about the Boss DD-3 Digital Delay Pedal?

Or call us at (800) 222-4700

Sweetwater Advice

  • Mark Magdich

    The DD-3 delay pedal is one that has become an industry standard. The delay modes and hold function allow for some interesting effects as well as a full 800 milliseconds of delay.

  • from February 19, 2016Music Background:
    Hobbyist and Performer for over 20 years

    My favorite delay pedal!!

    The DD-3 has been my go-to delay for over 20 years now. I have tried a few others but they never lasted very long. This delay is very simple and straightforward, without the multiple modes found on newer designs. In my opinion the DD-3 is very warm sounding for a digital delay and holds its own against more expensive models. I also have a DM-2 analog delay but the DD-3 is my favorite. Simply put, the DD-3 strikes a good balance between warmth and clarity - especially for a digital design. If mine ever quits I won't hesitate to buy another one.

  • from Newport New Hampshire... February 13, 2016Music Background:
    Been playing Guitar at ageof 10.. I am now 80 and still enjoying my instrument....

    dd-3 delay pedal

    My dd-3 boss pedal worked great.. The Pedal comes with a 9 volt battery built in ... I realized the battery works well but only when the pedal is not wired to a voltage feed from an AC outlet at the same time ... when the two 9 volt sources are feeding the Boss pedal at the SAME time , the pedal acts strange and pumps radical noises.. I realized later that you should use one or the other source separately .. cure is>either use the 9 volt battery OR..THE OUTLET SOURCE....INDEPENDENTLY.... WORKS GREAT NOW....

  • from Texas January 14, 2016Music Background:
    Van Halen, Judas Priest ,Metallica, Ac/Dc ect.... I have been playing for over30 years

    Boss Digital Delay

    I had one of these when I was younger and wound up selling all of my gear to get married and I am now getting it all back and this pedal is just like the old one I had back in the day . sounds good , very good construction , and I just has to have one again and it brings back some good memories....

  • from Anchorage Alaska December 1, 2015Music Background:
    Working musician

    It's boss. Nuff said

    Boss is built tough. Boss sounds awesome. You can always expect that from them.

  • from Dallas, TX June 15, 2015Music Background:
    Run-o-the-mill musician

    Wow!!!

    They still make this!?!? I thought the DD-7 replaced the DD-3. I still have my DD-3 and find it to have great tone quality. I love the hold feature. Very clear and pristine sound.

  • from Maryland December 11, 2014Music Background:
    Musician for 39 years. Playing live most weekends.

    sweet sound and great investment

    Great embellishment to my sound.
    Nice to be able to control my effects without having to rely on anyone else.(ex: unfamiliar sound stages)
    Great controls and nice wide range of options for just the right amount of effects. Very user Friendly. Compatible with D-vote violin mic

  • from fort wayne indiana January 23, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    boss dd-3

    Im so glad I have this boss unit!! It has such a great delay sound and so clean and crisp sounding.Thank you mark magdich for your trust in the way it sounds.

  • from Twin Cities, MN November 29, 2012Music Background:
    Hobbyist

    Everything you could want in a digital delay

    For as much flak as BOSS takes for some of their lineup, it's important to remember that they also make some very excellent pedals too, including the DD-3. The DD-3 is really everything you could ask for in a digital delay. It doesn't have tap setting, but the knob is easy to use, and does everything from slapback rockabilly echo to longer U2-style rhythmic delay at 400 milliseconds and beyond.

    BOSS has since released the DD-5 and DD-7, but I think the additional features on those pedals act as a detriment. Unless you're REALLY obsessed with delay, the DD-3 will do what you need in a compact, easy-to-use box. It sounds great, and has knobs to control the loudness of the echo as well as how quickly the echo fades away. Highly recommend it!

  • from Just outside of Boston May 27, 2015Music Background:
    Singer, Song-writer, Guitarist

    DD-3 Boss DD

    I have used this pedal since it first came out back in the late 1980's--early 1990's. Every pedal I have is Boss (with the exception of Wah-wah made by Vox). All of these Boss pedals are fantastic.
    The reason I am rating this is beyond the pedal itself. I just think that Sweetwater goes above and beyond customer service--they are by far the best music store out there. In my decades of going to music stores, there was always a pretense of (false) bravado or "peacocking" within the various stores that I went to. I am now an online purchaser (of Sweetwater products) so I can only speak about Sweetwater based on email, phone-calls and online help, but that is all that I need to know that these people at Sweetwater stress customer care to the highest degree. No arrogance, no wait for three days to get back to me—they are on top of it and that is why I wrote this review because this is the best place that I have ever dealt with in the three decades of buying equipment.

  • from East coast February 17, 2014Music Background:
    Guitarist/ engineer

    Industry standard

    It does the job. Nice clean delays, simple to use, very sturdy, best footswitch design ever. A very flexible and useful delay box.

  • from Bowling Green, Ky. November 15, 2013Music Background:
    Pro Guitarist

    Great Pedal!!!

    Love this pedal. Great delay time. Perfect for anything from reverb effects to supper stereo slap backs. And as always Sweetwater customer service is awesome.

  • from February 8, 2012

    Works well

    Works well. Alters tone a bit, but easily compensated.

  • from 61 M, Gulberg III, Lahore, Pakistan. April 10, 2007Music Background:
    Chemical Engineer and playing guitar as a hobbyist for the last 27 years.

    Feel the excitement with Boss DD-3

    I bought since it was first released probably in early 91's. It was really a unique addition to my Boss effects collection. I was totally surrounded by the magnificient sound quality of this pedal. The delay sound is smooth and almost natural with right amout of compression. There is no such anoyying hissing sound or peaks whatsoever and furthermore I found its delay sound with very even decay. I mostly use its long delay setting for solo work but nevertheless its other short delay settings are equally very interesting. The slap like echo is just great which adds a real power behind your guitar sound. One thing which I misses in this pedal is the TONE control for its Wet signal. However it is a least drawback and overall sound variety and quality is very impressive indeed. The very short delay settings are capable of generating some of the most exciteing sounds/noises you ever desired, for instance you can produce metallic, sitar and reverberatory type of sounds with just a few simple settings and of course the HOLD mode is a real treat to play. The control panel is very neatly printed with no jumble of parameters values to confuse you and I am sure you will find it very friendly both sound and handling wise. Before ending my comments I must bring it to your knowledge that when someone is investing so much money he needs to be sure of its reliability as well and here I must say that Boss is extremely reliable and the proof is that I have been using DD3 since 1991 and it is still standing beside me like a rock. I have seen some pedals having four or five settings but only half of them has the worth for your valuable money, but with DD3 you will not be disappointed and found each setting full of fun and excitement. All the best and regards.

  • from July 28, 2016

    DD-3

    very happy with the DD-3

  • from Junction,Tx April 29, 2014Music Background:
    Worship leader, and hobbiest

    Boss DD-3 delay pedal

    I'm new to pedals and I'm an acoustic guitar player, but I have to say this pedal has really become a great asset. At this point, I'm setting it at 800ms. and I keep the delay time almost all the way down. I set the feedback at about 3/4 full and adjust the effect level where I want it. It's almost like a sustain and adds a fullness that I was lacking. A good clean acoustic tone that hangs a bit. I'd recommend it to my friends. The guys at Sweetwater are amazing as well. Adam Chesi has been a great help.

  • from Tazewell,TN March 8, 2011Music Background:
    21 Year Musician

    Extreme Delay for Small Footprint

    When I added the Boss DD-3 to my pedalboard and it sounded like having my own personal back-up guitar player twining my notes as they rolled off. Once you dial in the amount of delay that you want, you can use the "E.LEVEL KNOB" to set how much of the slap back or echo you want in your mix almost like a Dyna effect controlled by your guitar pick. I play alot of Blues and rock music and could not imagine not having this pedal in my mix .

Questions about the Boss DD-3 Digital Delay Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway