0% Interest for 36 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
Presidents' Day Sale!

Boss DD-20 Giga Delay Digital Delay Pedal Reviews

4.5 stars based on 10 customer reviews

Sweetwater Advice

  • Charlie Davis

    The Boss DD-20 has found a permanent place in my pedalboard. Delay is a big part of my sound and I love how quickly I can dial in sounds for new ideas with this. It's easy to use, there are a lot of options, and most importantly, the sound is great.

  • Jim Watson

    One of the best things about the Boss DD-20 pedal is how easy it is to use. Having actual knobs that you can tweak with your hands makes dialing in your sound super fast, and saving that sound into one of your four available presets is just a button push away. Once you've got everything saved and sounding great, you can cycle through your presets cleanly by stomping down on the footswitch to the right, and toggle between having the delay on or off by stomping on the left footswitch. (And when I say stomp, I really mean it - these things are built to take a beating!)

  • from Ringgold, GA September 6, 2014Music Background:
    Hobbyist, casual player

    Excellent Delay

    Great delay pedal. Had a difficult time trying to decide . I consulted with my sales engineer., Phill Schwan discussed several options with me. In the end I decided to go with Boss DD-20 It is very versatile and has some of best delay sounds I have heard! Thanks Phil for all help! Great service that have learned to expect!

  • from USA July 12, 2012Music Background:
    intermediate musician

    Great purchase

    The DD-20 is by far the best delay pedal I've used, I just love the array of modes.. I have no negative comments about this pedal.....

  • from Indiana November 28, 2011Music Background:
    hobbyist

    Still the best delay available

    I had this pedal for years and didn't grasp it's full potential until I watched a 10 minute you tube video of a guy demonstrating all the features. I was even more impressed than ever. Use an external footswitch to tap in the beat so you don't have to mess with holding the right side down for 2 seconds to get the tap feature.
    I recently went to a concert of one of my favorite bands with a guitar player that is extremely cutting edge with delay and slide techniques. I saw his pedalboard on stage after the show.... thought there would be some mega expensive boutique delays. Nope. But I did see the DD 20!!

  • from Van, BC, Canada March 13, 2010Music Background:
    Professional Composer and Touring Musician

    Simply The Best

    As a guitarist who relies heavily on delay, I've always found it frustrating to have one - or even two! - delays, and since I've had the DD-20, I've been a very, very happy man. I will admit I use a small fraction of the features (one could argue it has too many for a unit that only has 4 presets), but it always sounds exactly, or better, than I want. The modulation is beautiful and helps turn your delays into thick gushes that transcend mono signals, and being able to have 4 presets (plus 1 manual setting) really helps to maintain a strong live set.

    If you buy this, I must insist you shell out the $29 for the Boss FS-5U switch; this is the REAL life-saver, being able to tap in any tempo you want. It brings this unit to life! And as always, there's the lovely Boss design, with the big, raised foot switches that steer far clear of the dials, a problem with almost every other make of pedal (that doesn't copy Boss!)

    For me, there was life before the GigaDelay, and life after. It's that good.

  • from Wynyard, Tasmania, Australia September 25, 2006Music Background:
    Church MD

    The best floor pedal delay available

    This is a fantastic pedal! It is great to have the backlit LCD screen to enable you to accurately dial in the delay time in either BPM or milliseconds. The delays sound really nice, and the Smooth and Modulate options (adding either reverb or chorus to the delay sound) can sound really awesome. The loop sampler is great for short loops, although if you want to do more than 23 seconds, (anything longer than four bars, and also slower stuff) you should consider a dedicated loop sampler. With the addition of an external tap tempo footswitch, this becomes the ultimate tap tempo delay machine. I highly recommend this product!

  • from Oceana, WV March 27, 2014Music Background:
    20 year hobbyist

    Finally! The last delay pedal I'll ever buy!

    I've gone through at least 10 delay pedals, searching for one that met my needs. The DD-20 is the one! Organic sounding delay with very tweak-able settings. 10 different delay types to choose from, very natural sounding decay, ranges from one repeat to infinite repeats. Set delay time with a tap tempo option, by milliseconds, or you can set the tempo type by note. (Dotted 8th note delay is finally easy to do). The pedal doesn't color my tone at all, unlike most of the digital delays I've used. Up to 23 seconds of looping is available with this pedal...which is awesome. You can shuffle between different delay times in the same song with the 2nd foot switch...you don't have to stop playing and adjust knobs to do it, which makes it great for live settings. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because you NEED to use an AC adapter, because (like most Boss pedals), it absolutely eats batteries up in no time. I usually use a one-spot anyway so it's not a factor for me, but it may be for someone who uses batteries in their pedals. All in all it's by far the best delay I've ever had...better than a Line 6 DL4 even.

  • from Asheville, NC September 20, 2008Music Background:
    Drummer, Analog Synthesist, Composer

    Great For Drummers Too!

    Sometimes I look for ways to enhance my drumset sound. About 9-months ago, I thought about using a delay effect. After doing a lot of research, I bought the Giga Delay. Why?... 23-seconds of delay time, the Boss brand, Memory Slots, Tap Tempo and Stereo INs and OUTs. Since this type of pedal works with "audio", even the audio from my Roland V-Drums works great! Set the Time to 1-second or shorter and play the echoed sound within your standard drum pattern. Set the Time to 10-seconds or longer and play duets or "question / answer" with yourself -- alternating between a standard beat and a drum fill.

  • from Orrville, OH June 15, 2015

    Boss DD-20

    A must have pedal for any guitarist looking to add a versatile delay pedal their board.

  • from Charlottesville, Va October 12, 2014Music Background:
    Pro Musician

    DD-20

    I am a working musician and have used this pedal for two years 3-4 nights per week. The pedal has always "lived" in a protective pedal board case. Lately I have noticed the pedal is very very noisy and is making a sound similar to "dust/crud in the pots" of a volume knob. This occurs everytime I step on either the on/ off pedal, OR the tap delay pedal.
    :-/

  • from Arcata, CA June 1, 2005

    Most flexible delay out there

    The DD20 is a little pricey, but in this case you get what you pay for. It takes a little time to explore the different options and program your sounds (including the manual setting, you have 5 different settings you can cycle through without using a separate footswitch). The tone control is great for making your delay repeats fit in your setup, and you can turn down the tone for more of a vintage feel. It does a GREAT Memory Man-style delay with chorus that gives you an instant U2 sound, and the Smooth setting is nice if your amp doesn't have reverb.

    I use it in my effects loop, and it works great with a power supply. It's quiet and reliable. By holding down the right-hand pedal you can switch between cycling between presets and using tap tempo to set your delay without bending down to use the tap tempo button. I have a bunch of other delays (H2O, EchoDrive, Lexicon rack units, etc.) but the Boss is the one I like to use best. I run it in mono, but you can run it in stereo with two amps if you want. It's an altogether sweet delay pedal.

Questions about the Boss DD-20 Giga Delay Digital Delay Pedal?

Sweetwater's Sales Engineers are regarded as the most experienced and knowledgeable professionals in the music industry, with extensive music backgrounds and intense training on the latest products and technologies. They are available to offer you personalized product advice any time you need it.

Type your question below or call us at (800) 222-4700

Thank You!

Thank you for your request. A Sweetwater Sales Engineer will get back to you shortly. You can also call us toll free at (800) 222-4700, Mon-Thu 9-9, Fri 9-8, and Sat 9-7 Eastern.

Close
Enter the Giveaway